Home solar 4 months in.

thankyou
post Feb 15 2024, 10:38 AM

1,941 posts

QUOTE(bee88 @ Oct 3 2023, 10:56 AM)
My friend just consider change from this to solar.

He said not worth the effort to adjust meter. Everyday live in fear.
Yeap... My house, we kena RM12k for the penalty... Somemore they start calculating from 2016-2021 only...

Not worth...
yeapsc73
post Feb 15 2024, 10:41 AM

384 posts

had my home solar commissioned in Dec2023 so last month was the first full month generation and usage, summary as below:-

1) System Capacity - 7.2kWp, micro-invertor
2) Cost - RM23k, on 48 months EPP
3) Generation in Jan 2024 - 714kWh
4) Export to TNB in Jab 2024 - 525kWh
5) Own consumption of solar energy - 714 - 525 = 189kWh
6) Import from TNB - 557kWh
7) Total energy usage - 557 + 189 = 746kWh
8) TNB bill if no solar - approx RM315
9) TNB bill with solar - RM3
10) Saving - RM312/month
11) ROI - Around 6 years (23000/312*12)

For my consumption, actually a 5kwp system is sufficient. But i was quoted about 20k for that so for a little bid more, i opt for a 7kwp system. This give me flexibility to add another EV for the family in the near future.

This post has been edited by yeapsc73: Feb 15 2024, 10:42 AM
MGM
post Feb 15 2024, 10:50 AM

18,432 posts

QUOTE(yeapsc73 @ Feb 15 2024, 10:41 AM)

had my home solar commissioned in Dec2023 so last month was the first full month generation and usage, summary as below:-

1) System Capacity - 7.2kWp, micro-invertor
2) Cost - RM23k, on 48 months EPP
3) Generation in Jan 2024 - 714kWh
4) Export to TNB in Jab 2024 - 525kWh
5) Own consumption of solar energy - 714 - 525 = 189kWh
6) Import from TNB - 557kWh
7) Total energy usage - 557 + 189 = 746kWh
8) TNB bill if no solar - approx RM315
9) TNB bill with solar - RM3
10) Saving - RM312/month
11) ROI - Around 6 years (23000/312*12)

For my consumption, actually a 5kwp system is sufficient. But i was quoted about 20k for that so for a little bid more, i opt for a 7kwp system. This give me flexibility to add another EV for the family in the near future.
Generated-714kWh VS Usage-746kWh, where got allowance for another EV? Shouldn't u opt for higher kwp?
yeapsc73
post Feb 15 2024, 10:58 AM

384 posts

QUOTE(MGM @ Feb 15 2024, 10:50 AM)
Generated-714kWh VS Usage-746kWh, where got allowance for another EV? Shouldn't u opt for higher kwp?
We enjoy super low tariff for first 300kWh usage. So if my usage reach 1000kWh per month, it is still within the 22c/33c per kwh bracket which is super cheap
nikitaaa
post Feb 15 2024, 12:10 PM

83 posts

Hi. Can I ask you .. since your gross usage is higher than 1500 units.
Do u get extra charged for the surcharge for touching tat level even though your true usage has been brought down by solar ?

I'm also using solar system now. My usage is around 1300kwh (gross). And my bill after inport export calculation is around rm40.
My worry is if I wan to buy ev car, will my total bill kena the new surcharge since it touches 1500 since I will need to charge the car at home.
bee88
post Feb 15 2024, 01:41 PM

303 posts

QUOTE(nikitaaa @ Feb 15 2024, 12:10 PM)
Do u get extra charged for the surcharge for touching tat level even though your true usage has been brought down by solar ?

I'm also using solar system now. My usage is around 1300kwh (gross). And my bill after inport export calculation is around rm40.
My worry is if I wan to buy ev car, will my total bill kena the new surcharge since it touches 1500 since I will need to charge the car at home.
Impor figure if no more than 1500 u will avoid the icpt charges.
yeapsc73
post Feb 15 2024, 01:54 PM

384 posts

QUOTE(nikitaaa @ Feb 15 2024, 12:10 PM)

charge your car in day time during weekend/off day. Should be sufficient to fully charge the car unless u drive super far weekly
nikitaaa
post Feb 15 2024, 03:23 PM

83 posts

QUOTE(bee88 @ Feb 15 2024, 01:41 PM)
Impor figure if no more than 1500 u will avoid the icpt charges.
Looking at my previous tnb usage, my import is 1100kwh. So likely I can have a quota of 399kwh to charge the ev car at night right..

nikitaaa
post Feb 15 2024, 03:24 PM

83 posts

QUOTE(yeapsc73 @ Feb 15 2024, 01:54 PM)
charge your car in day time during weekend/off day. Should be sufficient to fully charge the car unless u drive super far weekly
Ur tip to charge during daytime is to avoid the 'import meter' from going up right ?

yeapsc73
post Feb 15 2024, 04:02 PM

384 posts

QUOTE(nikitaaa @ Feb 15 2024, 03:24 PM)
Ur tip to charge during daytime is to avoid the 'import meter' from going up right ?
yup. more self consumption, less import
Roadwarrior1337
post Feb 15 2024, 04:04 PM

979 posts

47k upfront with that kind of savings …5 year only break even not considering things might break in that 5 years
yeapsc73
post Feb 15 2024, 04:47 PM

384 posts

QUOTE(Roadwarrior1337 @ Feb 15 2024, 04:04 PM)
47k upfront with that kind of savings …5 year only break even not considering things might break in that 5 years
got EPP. got warranty
TSnetflix2019
post Feb 15 2024, 05:07 PM

414 posts

QUOTE(archief @ Feb 14 2024, 09:41 AM)
hmm i dont understand TS... u have installed 26*550 = 14.3kwp
in your bill only see you generate 1071kWh... ada sikit rendah isn't it?

14.3kwp should generate around worth of rm1k electricity dy... why only export rm552?
Because during daytime the solar energy is consumed first before exporting to TNB. Means my house consume roughly rm300-400 electricity during daytime.

QUOTE(bee88 @ Feb 14 2024, 02:31 PM)
Calculated already. Not really worth it. Need to pay average 47cent.
Can give more detail? my sixth sense telling those company will charge a fee for solar rental and maintenance. They don't charge upfront fee, but they will leech u off every month.

QUOTE(machomama @ Feb 14 2024, 05:29 PM)
for a tropical sun drenched country like us...
solar power generation should be made available to all (with a roof/space) irrespective to how much the current household TNB bill is

current target group are those with bills amounting to above rm500
where got fair
suruhanjaya tenaga pon lg satu.......make it such that those however small be able to save laa a lil - the concept of saving is important
buatkan yg sudah kaya jadi lagi kaya butter toast watpe
okay your statement very kuat bau tongkat. lol

short answer. I heard TNB don't want the electricity to fluctuate too much, solar is volatile depending on the weather. Too much energy generated they have a hard time regulating production vs usage. Ideally they want to keep the production as efficient as possible, to prevent wastage. The main reason why they limit the solar generation to your monthly bill. This also serve to prevent ppl to install solar in empty houses for the purpose of passive income.

QUOTE(nikitaaa @ Feb 15 2024, 03:23 PM)
Looking at my previous tnb usage, my import is 1100kwh. So likely I can have a quota of 399kwh to charge the ev car at night right..
When u install solar there is two component that cost u money.
- solar panel to collect sunlight
- inverter to convert solar to usable electric.

The panel is relatively cheap when compared to inverter. So when u install solar system. It's recommended to sumbat as many solar panel as possible for one inverter. What i want to say is the system generation is not decided by how much u want to generate. Instead it's how many solar panel ur roof can handle, then u choose the number that a single inverter can fit.

The supplier will guide u in this.
bee88
post Feb 15 2024, 05:29 PM

303 posts

QUOTE(netflix2019 @ Feb 15 2024, 05:07 PM)

Can give more detail? my sixth sense telling those company will charge a fee for solar rental and maintenance. They don't charge upfront fee, but they will leech u off every month.

Apparently u wil need to pay two bills instead of one. One to Tnb. One to solar companies.

When u total up both bill, ur saving is about 10% of ur existing / supposed to be bill.

Unless you are very very big consumer, like few thousand units, the saving is negligible. U are better off paying ur bill using credit card and get 5-10% cash back straight.
TSnetflix2019
post Feb 15 2024, 05:37 PM

414 posts

QUOTE(bee88 @ Feb 15 2024, 05:29 PM)
Apparently u wil need to pay two bills instead of one. One to Tnb. One to solar companies.

When u total up both bill, ur saving is about 10% of ur existing / supposed to be bill.

Unless you are very very big consumer, like few thousand units, the saving is negligible.  U are better off paying ur bill using credit card and get 5-10% cash back straight.
figured. haha.

But many will think 10% "free money" better than nothing.
fourzee
post Feb 15 2024, 05:41 PM

388 posts

QUOTE(dudester @ Oct 3 2023, 10:47 AM)
mind sharing your appliance usage to reach 800rm tnb bill?
A Meths Lab maybe ??
contestchris
post Feb 15 2024, 05:48 PM

5,558 posts

QUOTE(yeapsc73 @ Feb 15 2024, 10:58 AM)
We enjoy super low tariff for first 300kWh usage. So if my usage reach 1000kWh per month, it is still within the 22c/33c per kwh bracket which is super cheap
Soon this will be removed, solar users will not be entitled to this. The subsidy is meant for poor but rich are benefitting from it!
bee88
post Feb 15 2024, 05:52 PM

303 posts

QUOTE(contestchris @ Feb 15 2024, 05:48 PM)
Soon this will be removed, solar users will not be entitled to this. The subsidy is meant for poor but rich are benefitting from it!
If they remove this, it doesn’t affect much. Any increase in tariff is welcome. Coz it’s across board. Poor will be affected too. But for solar user, The roi will be faster. Now it’s the bullshit icpt charges that they manipulate to punish solar users.

bee88
post Feb 15 2024, 06:05 PM

303 posts

QUOTE(thankyou @ Feb 15 2024, 10:38 AM)
Yeap... My house, we kena RM12k for the penalty... Somemore they start calculating from 2016-2021 only...

Not worth...
Total damage is more than that. Coz installation fee is at least 3k. So total is 15k. If divide by 6 years, it’s rm208 per month.

bee88
post Feb 15 2024, 06:07 PM

303 posts

QUOTE(netflix2019 @ Feb 15 2024, 05:07 PM)

When u install solar there is two component that cost u money.
- solar panel to collect sunlight
- inverter to convert solar to usable electric.

The panel is relatively cheap when compared to inverter. So when u install solar system. It's recommended to sumbat as many solar panel as possible for one inverter. What i want to say is the system generation is not decided by how much u want to generate. Instead it's how many solar panel ur roof can handle, then u choose the number that a single inverter can fit.

The supplier will guide u in this.
Actually, it depends on usage and ur single and three phase of your house. Too many pnels , u sendiri rugi coz over generation.

255 Pages « < 18 19 20 21 22 > » Top

0.0172sec    0.44    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 11th December 2025 - 12:54 PM