Home solar 4 months in.

nikitaaa
post Feb 15 2024, 12:10 PM

83 posts

Hi. Can I ask you .. since your gross usage is higher than 1500 units.
Do u get extra charged for the surcharge for touching tat level even though your true usage has been brought down by solar ?

I'm also using solar system now. My usage is around 1300kwh (gross). And my bill after inport export calculation is around rm40.
My worry is if I wan to buy ev car, will my total bill kena the new surcharge since it touches 1500 since I will need to charge the car at home.
nikitaaa
post Feb 15 2024, 03:23 PM

83 posts

QUOTE(bee88 @ Feb 15 2024, 01:41 PM)
Impor figure if no more than 1500 u will avoid the icpt charges.
Looking at my previous tnb usage, my import is 1100kwh. So likely I can have a quota of 399kwh to charge the ev car at night right..

nikitaaa
post Feb 15 2024, 03:24 PM

83 posts

QUOTE(yeapsc73 @ Feb 15 2024, 01:54 PM)
charge your car in day time during weekend/off day. Should be sufficient to fully charge the car unless u drive super far weekly
Ur tip to charge during daytime is to avoid the 'import meter' from going up right ?

nikitaaa
post Feb 25 2024, 04:12 PM

83 posts

Why is everyone so sceptical over solar.. am I missing something .
Btw I on nem , this is my 26 months..
I'm using 24 panels and it's really helping me save. Rm 700 bill to rm0-10. However since the past 3 months , I'm paying around rm20-40 each month.
It's not cheap I admit, but wit cc epp 24 months, n it u don't intend to move houses every few years, I do think it's beneficial.

Btw I also gotten myself insurance for solar around300 per year to cover accidental damages to the system.

My only issue right now is, my monthly import is 1100 units and my worry is If I buy an ev, my entire bill will be jacked up due to the surcharge . And charging in the afternoon might not be v feasible for me since I need to drive to office every other day.
nikitaaa
post Feb 25 2024, 04:15 PM

83 posts

My post might be long, but if ur bill is consistently high, and if u can afford it( u can , if not u won't be racking such high usage each month), den consider solar.. unless it's something I'm really missing..

0.0197sec    0.56    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 9th December 2025 - 06:08 PM