255 Pages « < 8 9 10 11 12 > » Bottom

Home solar 4 months in.

herpaderp
post Oct 3 2023, 01:29 PM

52 posts

everyday we turn on aircond 1 hour on timer before sleep.
average bill is rm40. sometimes open aircond during daytime if too hot.
but same only for 1 hours lidat
2 person, both working.
TSnetflix2019
post Oct 3 2023, 01:30 PM

416 posts

QUOTE(WaCKy-Angel @ Oct 3 2023, 01:22 PM)
Well he just recently changed gate + shift meter. TNB contractor didnt suspect anything so i guess its good to go
Because Malaysia boleh. The guy job is to shift meter not catching ppl steal electric. Much like PDRM won't catch u no wear seatbelt while driving. They can, and some do, but super rare.

If your bro area a lot ppl curi electric they will definitely come. My housing area kena raid 2 times i think, most of them also end up using solar after digital meter switch. It's just not worth the daily anxiety and the risk. Also super bad karma. Malaysian complain about BN songlap, but the truth is almost all Malaysian songlap from government/workplace one way or another. The next time ur bro talk about politician corrupt etc, tell him he is not any better. Just amount smaller, got less zero.
bee88
post Oct 3 2023, 01:30 PM

303 posts

QUOTE(ycs @ Oct 3 2023, 01:22 PM)
pray your roof dont have leaks later on laugh.gif
Actually nowadays the leak is rare because the Instalwtion is non invasive. They usually slide in the bracket through the gap between tiles.

But if it leaks, they got cover with warranty anyway.
SUSseraph00
post Oct 3 2023, 01:32 PM

3,322 posts

Well he just recently changed gate + shift meter. TNB contractor didnt suspect anything so i guess its good to go
Wow tap? Winrar
it is all good until it isnt.

gl to your bro.
kenny B
post Oct 3 2023, 01:37 PM

846 posts

QUOTE(WaCKy-Angel @ Oct 3 2023, 11:24 AM)
Yeah why not
cause its same like looting
mushigen
post Oct 3 2023, 01:39 PM

4,954 posts

QUOTE(bee88 @ Oct 3 2023, 11:37 AM)
Problem is we can’t put 47k straight into year 1. Coz we don’t have the money upfront.  Solar don’t need 47k upfront. Just need monthly commitment. 

U don’t do solar, the 47 k goes to Tnb anyway.  And in fact , over 10 years 90k goes to Tnb.
QUOTE(netflix2019 @ Oct 3 2023, 11:45 AM)
Can get 0% installment 36 months for solar installation. That alone win epf liao.
47k/36=RM1306 pm.

Put in epf at 5.5%, you'll earn rm4208 interest and will have RM5,1224 after 36 months.

After this 36 months, for the next 7 years, you will earn rm23,989 in interest giving you the total rm75213.

For year 11, you will earn RM4242 interest, translating to RM353 per month.

If you're not able to extend NEM, your PV must offset RM350 pm to break even. Don't forget that your EPF money is still there for you to withdraw, whereas your PV and its peripheral hardware are considered sunk costs and are basically worthless if you decide to give up on it (no/low resale value). Will it add to your house market value? Not sure.
This write-off is not taken into account in the untung-rugi calculation. It essentially means at the wnd of Year 10, your TNB savings is just RM15k (at current tariffs and consumption) more than your EPF balance, but your epf continues to grow while your solar panel system continues to deteriorate in terms of performance and resale value while requiring maintenance.
bee88
post Oct 3 2023, 01:39 PM

303 posts

QUOTE(netflix2019 @ Oct 3 2023, 01:08 PM)
Again i will reiterate. My latest 3 months bill before solar installation is RM800+ and RM900+.

After installing solar my consumption drop to RM500-600. I theorize that it's because during daytime all the solar energy i generated get consumed by the house first before diverting the excess to TNB. In short the price difference probably is the amount of electricity i used during daytime which is about rm200-300.
1. probably because during daytime the energy generated get consumed first before sending the excess to TNB.

2) Yes need to remove panel only repair. so u have to arrange them to come buka, then roofer repair, then arrange them come pasang back . that's why it's very important to make sure your roof no such issue before install. They recommend new house stay few years no issue just install.
yes. in fact it didnt degrade. Because my uncle installed them 2010. Until now he said the energy produced same only. Already 10 years no different. Main reason why i feel confident to install.
From the solar app, get the monthly generation

Then from monthly generation, minus the export.

That is your morning usage.

Add your morning usage with import.

That is your total kWh usage.

From total kWh usage, go to Tnb calculator.
Key in An’s get the estimated bill of the kWh.
bee88
post Oct 3 2023, 01:43 PM

303 posts

QUOTE(mushigen @ Oct 3 2023, 01:39 PM)
47k/36=RM1306 pm.

Put in epf at 5.5%, you'll earn rm4208 interest and will have RM5,1224 after 36 months.

After this 36 months, for the next 7 years, you will earn rm23,989 in interest giving you the total rm75213.

For year 11, you will earn RM4242 interest, translating to RM353 per month.

If you're not able to extend NEM, your PV must offset RM350 pm to break even. Don't forget that your EPF money is still there for you to withdraw, whereas your PV and its peripheral hardware are considered sunk costs and are basically worthless if you decide to give up on it (no/low resale value). Will it add to your house market value? Not sure.
This write-off is not taken into account in the untung-rugi calculation. It essentially means at the wnd of Year 10, your TNB savings is just RM15k (at current tariffs and consumption) more than your EPF balance, but your epf continues to grow while your solar panel system continues to deteriorate in terms of performance and resale value while requiring maintenance.
First, we don’t have the money to put in kwsp one lump sum like that.

So your calculation lari by a lot dy.

Second. , we are using money we set aside monthly. to pay Tnb. So that money is not for investment for kwsp also.

So your calculation become irrrelevant dy.

The analogy is

I need to pay 300 bus lrt pass every month to go to work

I use thr 300 to py for a cheap car, kancil and the total maintenance for then car monthly and petrol is only rm300

So I my transportation method just changed. But my commitment still same. The money is never for epf coz it is a necessary spending to work.

End of the payment , I got a car, and I can save a bit, and maybe hook up an awek in the kancil. Hahahah.

WaCKy-Angel
post Oct 3 2023, 01:47 PM

PeACe~~
21,962 posts

QUOTE(bee88 @ Oct 3 2023, 01:43 PM)

Second. , we are using money we set aside monthly. to pay Tnb. So that money is not for investment for kwsp also.

The analogy is

I use thr 300 to py for a cheap car, kancil and the total maintenance for then car monthly and petrol is only rm300
So I my transportation method just changed. But my commitment still same.  The money is never for epf coz it is a necessary spending to work.

End of the payment , I got a car, and I can save a bit, and maybe hook up an awek in the kancil. Hahahah.
Ur calculations incorrect too.

Usually for solar panel installation u need to pay deposit, then balance via installment i think 24mths or 36mths only.

So u need to pay monthly installment plus the monthly electric bill.

That is excluding maintenance charges too (if any) and that mostly new subscribers are unable to provide the info.
bee88
post Oct 3 2023, 01:50 PM

303 posts

QUOTE(WaCKy-Angel @ Oct 3 2023, 01:47 PM)
Ur calculations incorrect too.

Usually for solar panel installation u need to pay deposit, then balance via installment i think 24mths or 36mths only.

So u need to pay monthly installment plus the monthly electric bill.

That is excluding maintenance charges too (if any) and that mostly new subscribers are unable to provide the info.
No la. Nowaday it’s already zero entry. I don’t know if some company still charge deposit but the one I got into no deposit la. Even if got also can be 60 month.

For me, The total cost is divided to 48- 60 months.
I paid everything via installment. No deposit at All.

My new Tnb monthly bill only rm3. So insignificant la.

WaCKy-Angel
post Oct 3 2023, 01:53 PM

PeACe~~
21,962 posts

QUOTE(bee88 @ Oct 3 2023, 01:50 PM)
No la. Nowaday it’s already zero entry.  I don’t know if some company still charge deposit but the one I got into no deposit la. Even if got also can be 60 month.

For me, The total cost is divided to 48- 60 months.
I paid everything via installment. No deposit at All.

My new Tnb monthly bill only rm3. So insignificant  la.
Mind to share how much was ur electric bill before using solar?
And how much total paid for solar?
And how long u using solar already and any maintenance ?
ShadowR1
post Oct 3 2023, 01:59 PM

Im still HeRe ...
1,883 posts

QUOTE(netflix2019 @ Oct 3 2023, 12:30 PM)
tell your bro don't play. He will get caught. So far i surveyed most friend/family who adjusted meter kena. You just need to ask when no one is around, they will confess.

Malaysia is like that. Before kantoi they tell 9 street what they did how they untung. After kantoi they keep quiet only cos face more important than anything else.

I just glad they changed to digital meter never kantoi me. This adjusted meter thing is a major hindrance that is preventing me from installing solar years ago. I could have gotten NEM2.0 if not because of it.
I hear from kopitiam blow water session that there's this someone who adjust the meter n year ago -> tnb sent letter wanna change smart meter (whole taman) and he normalize back the meter -> tnb lai change smart meter -> readjust the smart meter laugh.gif

Psst ... he very diam bout this, very the diam unlike those lak kaw bu chiet mouth like a loud speaker.
I hear he's been on the tnb discounted rate for > 10 year. Duno what usage is before but after discount its around Rm150+-

Kasi bakar the meter and get tnb to install new one -> install ur solar.
h@ksam
post Oct 3 2023, 02:00 PM

@ is a
3,460 posts

ni on aircond macam hotel
azarimy
post Oct 3 2023, 02:01 PM

mister architect: the arrogant pr*ck
10,672 posts

My monthly bill currently is around RM200. I'm not sure if getting into solar is a worthy venture.

Is there any option if my consumption is just RM200?
mushigen
post Oct 3 2023, 02:02 PM

4,954 posts

QUOTE(bee88 @ Oct 3 2023, 01:43 PM)

The analogy is

So I my transportation method just changed. But my commitment still same.  The money is never for epf coz it is a necessary spending to work.

I have made a mistake. My earlier calculation did not include the RM750 monthly TNB savings from the PV installation. Let me get back to my drawing board laugh.gif
angelgemini
post Oct 3 2023, 02:02 PM

1,751 posts

Wow tap? Winrar
those normal TNB contractor will not able to catch.
cause they no access into the meter.

only extremely limited people and the manufacturer know how to access into the meter to get the data,
all running DLMS with Security suite 0 or 1.

actually no way to hack or break inside.
bee88
post Oct 3 2023, 02:03 PM

303 posts

QUOTE(WaCKy-Angel @ Oct 3 2023, 01:53 PM)
Mind to share how much was ur electric bill before using solar?
And how much total paid for solar?
And how long u using solar already and any maintenance ?
Okay. I got calculate every month how much I actually saved.

Many ppl just say before solar how much after solar how much.

A bit vague. But I can confirm it’s 80% true. The 20 % is the actual amount saved

So far, after 6 months of usage. My actual saving is rm3803.29 and the total kWh I used is 8249.633kwh

My system is about 38k. So. I am already hitting 10% of the system cost after 6 months.

So far maintenance I haven’t encounter.

Later when got free I try send u the calculation I make every month. I keep track all the production and import

Some ppl just want rough figure, so they use 8099.63(production) and they multiply with 0.571. Highest tariff.

That will get a figure of rm4624.

So depend on how u look at it. I stick to my calculation.

Clueless07
post Oct 3 2023, 02:05 PM

1,372 posts

QUOTE(snimple @ Oct 3 2023, 11:39 AM)
My bill rm250 max

Living area 2 airconds but very seldom on
3 airconds rooms 12 hours usage daily
Kitchen everything electrical no buy gas tangki
Water heater 3 bathrooms

2 big 2 small

RM800 normal?????? hmmmmmmmm
Well…. I hope we can be like u.
Rm250 is a steal.
My was around 500-600. For 2 airconds. Only on at night.
The aircond is well maintain…. Dunno where the leakage
Zhik
post Oct 3 2023, 02:09 PM

eeerrrmmmnnn, stupidity has no limit?
1,227 posts

QUOTE(netflix2019 @ Oct 3 2023, 10:38 AM)

Can we do this on commercial shoplot?
WaCKy-Angel
post Oct 3 2023, 02:12 PM

PeACe~~
21,962 posts

QUOTE(bee88 @ Oct 3 2023, 02:03 PM)
Okay. I got calculate every month how much I actually saved.

Many ppl just say before solar how much after solar how much. 

A bit vague. But I can confirm it’s 80% true. The 20 % is the actual amount saved
So far, after 6 months of usage. My actual saving is rm3803.29 and the total kWh I used is 8249.633kwh

My system is about 38k. So. I am already hitting 10% of the system cost after 6 months. 

So far maintenance I haven’t encounter. 

Later when got free I try send u the calculation I make every month.  I keep track all the production and import

Some ppl just want rough figure, so they use 8099.63(production)  and they multiply with 0.571. Highest tariff.
That will get a figure of rm4624.

So depend on how u look at it. I stick to my calculation.
Wow saved 3.8K means every month average saved RM633.
So do u still paying for electricity bill now?

Does your solar has battery? If yes, which NEM are u on now?
I understand how much u "saved" is actually depending how much u "sold" the generated electricity back to TNB right?

This post has been edited by WaCKy-Angel: Oct 3 2023, 02:13 PM

255 Pages « < 8 9 10 11 12 > » Top

0.0207sec    0.71    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 13th December 2025 - 07:24 PM