4 Pages  1 2 3 > » Bottom

Dvico TViX media player owner, pls come in

kkm
post Dec 31 2007, 10:45 PM

1,258 posts

Well, I just got the 4100SH, cost me SGD 856 (on offer with 500GB, tuner and HDMI cable).

Look forward to see what we can learn from each other here.

Unfortunately, I'm in KL, so tuner no use yet (unless can check out RTM test digital Tx, but probably no HD...)
kkm
post Jan 1 2008, 04:27 PM

1,258 posts

Bought from Memory World in SimLim - their Christmas promo.

Could have saved even more by getting the harddisk in KL, but wanted to make sure the hdd functions (including FW upgrade) were ok...

Abt the Tx, I don't really know, only heard somewhere that RTM was testing out digital TV in various parts of the country...
kkm
post Jan 1 2008, 08:06 PM

1,258 posts

rx330:
Yes, using 1.3.15 now. Having some problems with some avi files using mp3 audio, expected from the forums, working on solving them. Maybe we should compare notes....

ronnie:
iinm, price was SGD 655, slightly more than the current ideatools offer (rm100 off till end January, I think). But the clincher was the free tuner/HDMI cable offer... You should check with them, it was supposed to be a Christmas promo...

Similar delta of SGD100+ for the 5100SH.

kkm
post Jan 2 2008, 01:55 PM

1,258 posts

One way is to convert to divx, helps to correct some of the sync problems. Only thing, very leceh!!!
kkm
post Jan 2 2008, 02:18 PM

1,258 posts

Just got it, so still using the HDMI audio. I route the sound from my LCD to my amp as a temporary measure. OK for the mkv/h264 stuff.

Plan to set up the amp and networking later...
kkm
post Jan 2 2008, 04:49 PM

1,258 posts

At the moment, sound from 4100 to TV thru HDMI, then from TV audio out to my sound system. Just temporary measure...
kkm
post Jan 2 2008, 05:55 PM

1,258 posts

I will probably connect to my AV amp either by coax or optic, much easier...
kkm
post Jan 3 2008, 03:45 PM

1,258 posts

Plus I read somewhere that the hdmi audio on the 4100SH is not so good as the audio outs, after all the rushed firmware upgrades...
kkm
post Jan 4 2008, 01:19 PM

1,258 posts

I find the traditional receiver/amp setup better, more flexible with the sound setup. My friend's got an expensive Bose kit, but sound not so good unless the source is real good. This may not be the case with some of my d/l stuff...
kkm
post Jan 4 2008, 02:19 PM

1,258 posts

Memory World are at SLS #04-12, along one of the back alleys.

5100 is cylindrical, more stylish and looks nicer.

I prefered the block-shaped 4100, about SGD100 cheaper and easier to stack, especially with my portable harddisk.

Functions are the same.
kkm
post Jan 4 2008, 04:04 PM

1,258 posts

QUOTE(ronnie @ Jan 4 2008, 02:59 PM)
6500 series seem to be very good specs.... 4100/5100 will drop price after 6500 is release....
Yes, I know. It's always the same, I was looking at 4000 and the sarotech 570hd, then the 4100 came out. There will always be something better round the corner. I suppose, buy now if you want it now. We'll probably see the 6500 around March or later.

There are also some China brands coming out soon with similar 6500 specs, but support will be doubtful. I have an old hd video player that stated "online firmware upgrade available" but alas, no such thing...

1080p? Well, I don't plan on a BD or HDDVD drive yet, and D/Ls will be humongous! Sticking to 720p for the time being...
kkm
post Jan 5 2008, 09:51 AM

1,258 posts

QUOTE(JKEC @ Jan 5 2008, 02:04 AM)
juz asked the price RM1899 for 4100 +dvb module (can receive HD5 spore) at audio planet in nusa bestari...
they have 5100 but i didn't ask.
Is that without hard disk?
kkm
post Jan 5 2008, 10:17 AM

1,258 posts

Well then, if you are in JB, should contact Memory World to see if the offer is still on. The box is relatively easy to bring in... brows.gif brows.gif
kkm
post Jan 5 2008, 05:43 PM

1,258 posts

QUOTE(valensi @ Jan 5 2008, 05:32 PM)
Currently there are two reseller in malaysia. 1 in penang and another in KL.
The penang reseller quote me RM950
Can post name/contact for KL reseller please?
kkm
post Jan 7 2008, 12:09 PM

1,258 posts

QUOTE(rx330 @ Jan 7 2008, 10:15 AM)
niamah... so cheap only, god damn it

i try to search for some pics, but i dun have actual shots of the A100, but seems like it look hideous, no?
Why, what price did you get? (I hear it should cost a bit over USD200 landed here.) As to looks, well look at the price!!
kkm
post Jan 7 2008, 03:58 PM

1,258 posts

QUOTE(rx330 @ Jan 7 2008, 01:10 PM)
im more interested in where i can see the unit here and try it
In fact, that's how I decided to go with the 4100.

I brought a portable hd with different kinds of avi, divx, divx6, h264, mkv and anything else I had to Memory World and plugged it into the demo box to check it out. Everything flawless except for 1 file, which had an mp3 soundtrack, so I was convinced. Especially running the 720p and 1080i files direct off USB without any lag!

Interesting thing about this place, they are so strict on copied files that even MW did not have any HD files to show off its capabilities, except stuff recorded off Singapore HD5 and HD8... (I think I actually helped sell 2 boxes for them while I was there!)
kkm
post Jan 7 2008, 04:44 PM

1,258 posts

You can buy USB based DVB tuners quite easily in SLS or Funan. Here, a bit difficult, nothing being broadcast... Could try lyp, I've seen some stuff like that in some of the back shops in Level 2 (or was it 3??)...
kkm
post Jan 7 2008, 05:22 PM

1,258 posts

We are talking about different things. 4100/5100 are media players that can play files on internal hdd, usb drive or on network. If you add a tuner to it, it becomes a PVR and can play and record digital broadcasts. These can be in SD or HD.

The DVB tuners are just tuners, and if you wish to record the broadcasts, you need to use PVR software to do it. They do not play media files per se. Recorded files will normally be played with WMP or any other player you have on your PC.

kkm
post Jan 7 2008, 10:37 PM

1,258 posts

QUOTE(JKEC @ Jan 7 2008, 06:05 PM)
icon_question.gif  what is so great about dvico tvix player? as the computer can be done/simulated as well...  hmm.gif 

only keen to dvb part..can receive digital channels
Well, picture this...

I have a small box plugged into my LCD. With this box, I can watch my collection of HD movies and TV series, watch my DVDs (D5 and D9), play music, stream music and video off my NAS, etc., etc., all without a HTPC or any other gadget in sight. All I need is a small remote control.

That's why we go for dvico, A100 and such devices...
kkm
post Jan 8 2008, 01:39 PM

1,258 posts

QUOTE(rx330 @ Jan 8 2008, 12:06 PM)

wats ur main needs

That's exactly what you need to ask yourself.

In my case, I had a collection of media files (movie, docu and music) as well as a number of dvds that I wanted to watch. But watching on my PC was so unsatisfying.

I also had a 40" LCD sitting downstairs, so I wanted to see the HD stuff on a larger screen (although only 720p, 1080p LCDs were sooo expensive).

Do the sums...

4 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.0469sec    0.48    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 8th December 2025 - 09:09 AM