Problem to upload photo for passport renewal

TSalexandersuk
post Sep 11 2023, 05:31 PM, updated 3y ago

177 posts

I went to take passport photo at the professional shop just now to renew my passport.
I came home and tried to upload the photo, but it was unsuccessful.
I also don't know what's wrong with my photo since it's already been taken by professional and the photographer knew it was for passport renewal.
Anyone ever encountered this problem when renewing passport?
Is it possible to walk in to Immigration to renew passport?

EDIT: [SOLVED] I went to the photo shop that offers help to upload photo to the immigration system. They only charged me 5 ringgit lol.

This post has been edited by alexandersuk: Sep 12 2023, 01:11 PM
apis_jay
post Sep 11 2023, 05:55 PM

145 posts

refer to this: https://imigresen-online.imi.gov.my/eservic...inePassport.pdf

Foto mestilah dalam format .jpg dan sila pastikan foto yang dimuat naik adalah antara saiz 100kb dan 300kb.
FishGuts
post Sep 11 2023, 05:57 PM

23 posts

park here. i am having the same problem. payed the rm200 fee then got an email have to reupload another photo.
TSalexandersuk
post Sep 11 2023, 06:05 PM

177 posts

QUOTE(apis_jay @ Sep 11 2023, 05:55 PM)
refer to this: https://imigresen-online.imi.gov.my/eservic...inePassport.pdf

Foto mestilah dalam format .jpg dan sila pastikan foto yang dimuat naik adalah antara saiz 100kb dan 300kb.
Aiya.
Just now the photographer from that shop already said they are specialist in taking picture for passport renewal.
I should have gone to another shop that offers taking picture+service for helping the customer to apply online.
gashout
post Sep 11 2023, 06:22 PM

⭐ My stars are growing ⭐
5,741 posts

QUOTE(alexandersuk @ Sep 11 2023, 06:05 PM)
Aiya.
Just now the photographer from that shop already said they are specialist in taking picture for passport renewal.
I should have gone to another shop that offers taking picture+service for helping the customer to apply online.
Use passport photo editor app. It works beautifully.

I took a photo of myself against the wall. Then edit using app.
TSalexandersuk
post Sep 11 2023, 06:25 PM

177 posts

QUOTE(gashout @ Sep 11 2023, 06:22 PM)

Already tried everything but all results are just the same.
My photo failed to get uploaded.
Might want to go to photo shop near me that will take my photo and help me apply online with small fee.
It's better than headache I'm having now.
bourse
post Sep 11 2023, 06:36 PM

304 posts

is the photo with others things in it? like wear spectacles, dress with picture/wording, necklaces, hair color etc?

TSalexandersuk
post Sep 11 2023, 06:38 PM

177 posts

QUOTE(bourse @ Sep 11 2023, 06:36 PM)
is the photo with others things in it?  like wear spectacles, dress with picture/wording, necklaces, hair color etc?
No.
I took the photo at professional photo shop.
The photographer knew the requirements for passport photo renewal. cry.gif
I should have gone to another shop that offers help in applying for passport renewal though.
Sha91
post Sep 11 2023, 07:01 PM

236 posts

I just shrink my photo by using paint last time just to get through. Ibet your file is too huge?

Most of the time you have to retake after all, which I did.
s@ni
post Sep 11 2023, 07:30 PM

Gambar Di Lesen Kereta Saya
2,842 posts

QUOTE(alexandersuk @ Sep 11 2023, 05:31 PM)
I went to take passport photo at the professional shop just now to renew my passport.
I also don't know what's wrong with my photo since it's already been taken by professional and the photographer knew it was for passport renewal.
Go back to the shop to inform them. Normally they will re upload. If still fail, needs to go to imigresen to personally take pic there..
SUSceo684
post Sep 11 2023, 07:34 PM

Component Burner
11,667 posts

QUOTE(alexandersuk @ Sep 11 2023, 06:25 PM)
Already tried everything but all results are just the same.
My photo failed to get uploaded.
Might want to go to photo shop near me that will take my photo and help me apply online with small fee.
It's better than headache I'm having now.
Have u tried irfanview (and plug-ins pack) to resize?
Knnbuccb
post Sep 11 2023, 08:03 PM

118 posts

Last time I do for myself no problem

When help someone keep having issue
Last last pay professional studio they settle everything

Looks like there maybe some trick they know....

This post has been edited by Knnbuccb: Sep 11 2023, 08:03 PM
ZforZebra
post Sep 11 2023, 08:39 PM

172 posts

whats the error for fail to upload? photo size too big?

resize to smaller size. cause i have error too due to filesize too big.

resize it to their requirement, upload, success, collected.
SUSskyblack4492
post Sep 11 2023, 09:37 PM

1,342 posts

Cannot walk in buat passport? So hectic
SUSskyblack4492
post Sep 11 2023, 09:38 PM

1,342 posts

Mana pergi travel thai or vietnam scambodia or indon hggghhhhhhh?
croydon
post Sep 11 2023, 09:58 PM

533 posts

resize to 50mm X 35mm

tvcat
post Sep 11 2023, 10:20 PM

Mr. Dumb Dumb
2,921 posts

If you want to walk in, you can ask here to confirm.
https://eapp.imi.gov.my/

I also failed the photo upload last time, in the end I just walk in but that is way before covid.
mushigen
post Sep 11 2023, 11:10 PM

4,954 posts

QUOTE(gashout @ Sep 11 2023, 06:22 PM)

Did you have to retake photo at immigration office when you went to collect the passport?
gashout
post Sep 12 2023, 04:08 AM

⭐ My stars are growing ⭐
5,741 posts

QUOTE(mushigen @ Sep 11 2023, 11:10 PM)
Did you have to retake photo at immigration office when you went to collect the passport?
No. Everything is good

At this age, you have a handphone, you can take photo yourself against the white wall. Brightness ok. Then edit using app.

All for free. Don't need to go to studio to take anymore. I last went studio many years ago.
cucubud
post Sep 12 2023, 07:16 AM

Super Moderator
3,076 posts

QUOTE(alexandersuk @ Sep 11 2023, 06:38 PM)
No.
I took the photo at professional photo shop.
The photographer knew the requirements for passport photo renewal.  cry.gif
I should have gone to another shop that offers help in applying for passport renewal though.
After you have uploaded the photo, you need to do 2 more steps.
1. Adjust the face within the guidelines.
2. Adjust the brightness of the image to get a white background.
Then submit.

0.0203sec    0.54    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 16th December 2025 - 04:41 AM