Is smart meter compulsory?

yongkt
post Aug 30 2023, 09:29 PM

109 posts

QUOTE(voscar @ Aug 30 2023, 09:20 PM)
One of my neighbor locked the gate when they went out for work, so their legacy meter still the wheel spinning type, skipped previous digital meter and recent smart meter installation.

I'm not sure will TNB take any action or just ignore those on older meter type?
I live in apartment, there is one unit which is still using the old meter when everyone else changed to smart meter. When I ask the TNB guys doing maintenance one day, they say if they are using the old meter 'mesti ada sebab'.

So I think it is not compulsary. But you probably not allowed to opt out if you ask TNB.
vez
post Aug 30 2023, 09:52 PM

4,622 posts

https://www.nst.com.my/amp/news/nation/2023...ngs-penang-june

read this news for Penang, but ask around nobody in that area get install yet
tancyew
post Aug 30 2023, 10:15 PM

69 posts

yeah and with smart meter we can monitor the actual usage which is quite helpful, recently changed my room ac from 1.5hp non inverter to 2.0hp inverter. The bill significantly dropped again snd can monitor real time which is good
pokchik
post Aug 30 2023, 10:19 PM

I'm getting too old for this sh*t
1,304 posts

QUOTE(lindtra @ Aug 30 2023, 12:56 PM)
Or can people choose to opt out of the installation?
Not asking for why it's good etc. Just want to know if people want to opt out... can.. or cannot? if can, how? If anyone went through a proper procedure, then just share, if not...

I will remove all trolling comments like asking to cut TNB and live in jungle, offgrid etc...
some of my neighbours 'opted' not to change (when the neighborhood changed to smart meter before COVID).

but I did see the TNB 'enforcing' them to change a few weeks back.

funny thing is.. there's still meter reader walking around every month..
The.Lucas.DaY
post Aug 30 2023, 10:27 PM

671 posts

My community has around 600 houses, has replaced to this smart meter since 2 years ago, I don't face issue of 'new meter increase your bill $$', so far didn't heard anyone else complain about this problem as well.
billyboy
post Aug 30 2023, 10:30 PM

2,220 posts

i prefer old meter. 3-phase. can see the load on each phase.

surprisingly, new meter, cannot see phase-by-phase. only lump sum. i confirmed with tnb.

useful for load balancing.
geelim77
post Aug 30 2023, 10:36 PM

181 posts

TNB oredi say new smart meter more accurate reading....so yeah, 1 way or the other, they will insist you must change to new smart meter
WaNaWe900
post Aug 31 2023, 02:28 AM

చąហ ąచҽ™
1,397 posts

QUOTE(geelim77 @ Aug 30 2023, 10:36 PM)
TNB oredi say new smart meter more accurate reading....so yeah, 1 way or the other, they will insist you must change to new smart meter
indeed for them... higher pay for me doh.gif bill increase tremendously after change rclxub.gif
WaCKy-Angel
post Aug 31 2023, 02:33 AM

PeACe~~
21,963 posts

Heard some says bill increased while some says decreased.
Probably due to old meter calibration not correct.
JLA
post Aug 31 2023, 09:00 AM

2,786 posts

small current leak below RCCB rating but detect and bill by smart meter 24 x 7 x 30
Pikichu
post Aug 31 2023, 09:34 AM

2,278 posts

QUOTE(pokchik @ Aug 30 2023, 10:19 PM)
funny thing is.. there's still meter reader walking around every month..
they will notice any obstructions on wire poles, like excessive tree growth.
eclectice
post Aug 31 2023, 10:30 AM

2,734 posts

QUOTE(yongkt @ Aug 30 2023, 09:29 PM)
I live in apartment, there is one unit which is still using the old meter when everyone else changed to smart meter. When I ask the TNB guys doing maintenance one day, they say if they are using the old meter 'mesti ada sebab'.

So I think it is not compulsary. But you probably not allowed to opt out if you ask TNB.
TNB won't change until the situation is settled while a case is ongoing if the old meter is discovered and suspected of being tampered with. It is not because the customer can choose to opt-out.
hksgmy
post Aug 31 2023, 10:32 AM

Doraemon!
7,847 posts

Would these smart meters stop the rampant meter tampering devices?
Icehart
post Aug 31 2023, 10:59 AM

14,899 posts

QUOTE(yongkt @ Aug 30 2023, 09:29 PM)

Apartment meter should be all in one central place?
Actually they just need use clamp meter then can know if there's any "special activity" going on.

QUOTE(hksgmy @ Aug 31 2023, 10:32 AM)
Yes it is still possible.
zuozi
post Aug 31 2023, 11:23 AM

1,267 posts

Old meter mechanical, smart meter everything mostly digital and electronic, both can be tempering, just smart meter after being tempering much more significant obviously and easy to Trace

Possible your old meter degraded so reading not accurate or being tempering usually tnb will closed one eye when their ppl replace to smart meter those guy just lucky

Smart meter any billing missing or wrong premise delivered you still can via app/mytnbportal to check your current transaction, as usual any overdue bill gonna extra charge from next bill

Tempering meter problem should avoid i see a lot new shop owner rent a shop without knowing meter has been tempering, 5 year later tnb come and check and found out so tenant buta buta kena fine from the first day they rent

So if anyone who first time rent a shop/house should ask tnb have a meter check first after you moving in , at least you have prove you just move in anything ask your landlord to settle and non your problem

Anyways I'm not pakar tnb and wireman just sharing my experience what i know
adamw
post Aug 31 2023, 01:57 PM

Back to serve justice to those PKHKC corrupted Ex-ministers!
3,355 posts

QUOTE(hksgmy @ Aug 31 2023, 10:32 AM)
No.

3 Pages < 1 2 3Top

0.0166sec    0.31    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 15th December 2025 - 03:27 AM