Short food trip to Taipei..TW summer not for human

kira_88
post Aug 13 2025, 08:58 AM

Hello, is it me you're looking for?
1,153 posts

QUOTE(cempedaklife @ Aug 12 2025, 03:50 PM)
quite easy in big cities but rural place i'm not sure..
but please expect certain teman sepuak will eat non-halal food openly.  laugh.gif
Dont care u want eat babi go ahead just dont put it inside my mouth.

But then this is last year, my review is taiwan food macam sucks. I wented china they have much better food eventho the food look similar.
Baconateer
post Aug 13 2025, 09:02 AM

Meh..... (TM)
5,088 posts

QUOTE(cempedaklife @ Aug 12 2025, 04:52 PM)
actually its quite cheap if you dont take driver and cars.
apart from flight, which you can book in advance and know price.

hotel, food, train/subway within city is not too dissimilar with local spend.
of course, you go travel you splurge more. but thats another topic. the price is about there.

I went last year and 3 adults 2 kids. all in i think 20k. including flight, hotel, driver and car, which, kids no kids dont matter.
so 3k for me and my wife should be more thn enuf provided we dont spend extravagantly
aPiT_OxyMoxy
post Aug 13 2025, 09:14 AM

432 posts

nice sharing TS, remind me back then my Taiwan Trip

BTW is their milk tea better than us?
TSquadcube
post Aug 13 2025, 09:29 AM

1,924 posts

QUOTE(cempedaklife @ Aug 12 2025, 04:43 PM)
kaohsiung macam nothing. or maybe because i bz taking wedding photos and fast hand fast leg go back taipei to continue the trip.
oh damn... laugh.gif maybe i should consider travelling out instead of spending a week in Kaohsiung..but at the same time i felt like no longer can rush here n there see things like last time, now oldfag i prefer slow-paced travel

QUOTE(cempedaklife @ Aug 12 2025, 04:56 PM)
dammit i just realize i replied to 2023 thread. who necro?  ranting.gif
sorry bos..i just want to tanya about some liquor to previous poster laugh.gif

QUOTE(cempedaklife @ Aug 12 2025, 05:46 PM)
considering i'm a fellow father myself, and a cheapskate, here's some tips i personally practice.
1. if you are going oversea trip (and expensive one) when your baby is still small, dont hide behind your baby and say "oo..its for the baby experience", they dont have clear memory maybe a bit but not clear. if you want to go, yes go, but its for either you or your wife's wants, not the baby.
2. airlines usually have kids ticket when they are 2 yo or younger. its like 10% of full ticket. maybe depends on airlines. check ahead. take a flight trip at least once. coz anything beyond 2yo, its a full ticket price. take advantage of it for everyone, when its closer to 2yo then they might have better memory of it.
3. as above, better save the money. imagine. if your kids are teens, you already no money cause keep spending on them. they told you they never been anywhere. you talk them you all went europe, japan, etc when they 3-4-5 yo, what do you think their response is? of course they say it doenst count coz they cant remember or enjoy so small. you might as well save the money for when they are older and can create clearer memories.
4. but that should not stop you from going on trips, do lotsa road trip, that's cheaper and enjoyable. its a time to get out of norm and relax. when they are older, maybe can go furrther, like thailand, etc.
5. locally, many attractions have different kid's ticket requirement, mostly is like 90cm, o 2 or 3 yo. so check it out and go those zoo, park, etc when they are still eligible for children ticket. dont baru birthday kena bayar full price baru tau. start prioritize and go to places like 90cm first, then 2 yo, then 3 yo.

my kids are now 9 and 6yo. sometimes they say the last trip is their best trip ever. it doesnt matter if its hatyai or melaka or cameron lol. even if we have brought them to taiwan, etc. might be due to going with friends.
i better plan for swiss trip soon laugh.gif laugh.gif

QUOTE(Baconateer @ Aug 12 2025, 05:48 PM)
whn is the best time to go Taipei and how much to bring?

RM2000 ish per person more thn enuf?
as long not summer should be ok..amount to bring idk, i planning to bring like 4-6k there later for my 1 week trip next month
TSquadcube
post Aug 13 2025, 09:30 AM

1,924 posts

QUOTE(aPiT_OxyMoxy @ Aug 13 2025, 10:14 AM)
nice sharing TS, remind me back then my Taiwan Trip

BTW is their milk tea better than us?
yes their milk tea superior wub.gif wub.gif wub.gif
aPiT_OxyMoxy
post Aug 13 2025, 09:33 AM

432 posts

QUOTE(quadcube @ Aug 13 2025, 10:30 AM)
yes their milk tea superior wub.gif  wub.gif  wub.gif
my gf told me thai is d best

nanti ada rezeki lagi nak gi taiwan boleh la cuba

BTW dia panas tapi very windy kan
TSquadcube
post Aug 13 2025, 09:43 AM

1,924 posts

QUOTE(aPiT_OxyMoxy @ Aug 13 2025, 10:33 AM)
my gf told me thai is d best

nanti ada rezeki lagi nak gi taiwan boleh la cuba

BTW dia panas tapi very windy kan
tbh it's just preference of which u like better...thai one strong taste but i felt it's not so much of my expectation of "milk tea"? laugh.gif
thunderkingkong
post Aug 13 2025, 10:00 AM

hope i can revisit taiwan again before CCP invade taiwan.
Jenn77
post Aug 13 2025, 10:02 AM

Look Ma' Im Flyin! Gee~
3,121 posts

Necro thread but I still enjoy reading the travelling experience. Im planning for next year trip together with my fam (mother, 2 boys and waifu + sister's fam) taking note of avoid summer time. Its a 5D4N trip mainly focusing on Jiufen, Ximending & Shillin market area. Any tips of Do and DONTs appreciated guys..
hoonanoo
post Aug 13 2025, 10:02 AM

1,782 posts

QUOTE(quadcube @ Aug 19 2023, 10:51 PM)
both me n waifu been craving hard for some good chinese meal..while taking a short weekend to visit MY would never be enough, we set our eyes on Taiwan.

it's very convenient as the local airport (Komatsu) 20 min away has direct flight to Taipei, and best part of the airport is free parking (for like ~2+ weeks) when taking international flight

quickly put together a 3 days 3 night trip, only need take one day leave.

Komatsu airport

Very nice stained glass at the departure area

short and smooth 3 hours flight, imigration suck ass, very long queue..
both unlucky, didn't get anything from the lucky draw sad.gif

Airport express straight to Taipei main to check in and drop off the luggage first before first round of dinner.
Transport fare are pretty cheap, but got too used to JP's JR gate speed, felt the fare gate was pretty slow.

Nice Taipei main station

Walked over to the nearest night market, Ningxia Night Market 寧夏夜市

since no particular plan of what to eat, so simply walk one round and decided on braised meat rice. seems pretty popular store, no place to sit and many ppl queue but not sure why the auntie just let me and my wife sit in front of the shop, skip queue and order makan laugh.gif

ordered vege n a bowl of braised meat rice. holy fuk..one spoon already worth the trip, super nice gelatinous fat sticking all over that smacking lip, ichiban! thumbsup.gif
and so damn cheap, 40 NTD only sweat.gif

next meal, wanted to try taiwan fried bee hoon

40 NTD also, cheap af but i prefer MY "economy" bee hoon better

also, I never been to a hotter city than Taipei, even at night, it's so fking hot rclxub.gif
I don't find Taiwan nice. Very salty.

the only thing i find pleasant there, is the streets r clean, the taiwanese people are very down to earth people.
cempedaklife
post Aug 13 2025, 10:12 AM

Master Decoy
4,359 posts

QUOTE(Jenn77 @ Aug 13 2025, 10:02 AM)
Necro thread but I still enjoy reading the travelling experience. Im planning for next year trip together with my fam (mother, 2 boys and waifu + sister's fam) taking note of avoid summer time. Its a 5D4N trip mainly focusing on Jiufen, Ximending & Shillin market area. Any tips of Do and DONTs appreciated guys..
5d trip for me too short la..better extend it to 8 days or so.
but if you stay in taipei only maybe okay la. still longer a bit better, with kids you will "waste" abit of time.

i do recommend taiwan zoo, ticket is cheap + enjoyable. plan to be there for a whole day, no joke.
there's also cable car beside the zoo.. mao kong. but nothing there la..maybe i dunno what to explore. for its like penang signal hill, overhype, go up. nothing.
frequency
post Aug 13 2025, 10:32 AM

我要挑战十个!
2,567 posts

summer....thunder storm etc not gooding for sight seeing

but nice time to hang around their night market near universities campus see mei mei
KcX35
post Aug 13 2025, 11:11 AM

ㄨㄨ
2,364 posts

snap using phone?
TSquadcube
post Aug 13 2025, 11:44 AM

1,924 posts

QUOTE(hoonanoo @ Aug 13 2025, 11:02 AM)
I don't find Taiwan nice. Very salty.

the only thing i find pleasant there, is the streets r clean, the taiwanese people are very down to earth people.
Tbh, I find Taiwan like going back to Penang, except the food sucks… laugh.gif only boba tea & minced pork rice nice IMO

QUOTE(KcX35 @ Aug 13 2025, 12:11 PM)
snap using phone?
Yea, iPhone 12
hoonanoo
post Aug 13 2025, 12:04 PM

1,782 posts

QUOTE(quadcube @ Aug 13 2025, 11:44 AM)
Tbh, I find Taiwan like going back to Penang, except the food sucks… laugh.gif only boba tea & minced pork rice nice IMO
Yea, iPhone 12
its not as hot and humid as Penang lah

they have nice quality umbrellas and phone accessories, worth buying.

a lot of local clothes brands.

9 Pages « < 7 8 9Top

0.0176sec    0.83    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 17th December 2025 - 05:37 PM