Never ever borrow money from Ah Long - UPDATE 9/8, My friend experience here

zeist
post Aug 10 2023, 11:46 PM

Mivec 1800cc
15,182 posts

Deswai need to know some underground people for help

I dare to say your friend is into online gambling. A lot of people are addicted to this

Don't come tell me borrow money from ah long to eat and buy things. Lancau

Use money wisely
Pugface
post Aug 11 2023, 03:14 AM

522 posts

QUOTE(hksgmy @ Aug 10 2023, 04:38 AM)
Yeah. Been back for 1 month. Was super busy during COVID and it was also that time that we started our long talked about move Down Under.

Came back to update the forum on the Porsches I said I wanted to buy previously and also to write a Review about how they drive… and decided to stay a while.

Good to see you too bro.
wahseh living the life doc
glad to know you are doing great! thumbup.gif

poco loco
post Aug 11 2023, 05:48 AM

611 posts

QUOTE(Takudan @ Aug 10 2023, 08:48 PM)
Living far below your means is a good thing only if you're happily doing it...

I was driving a Kancil that was older than my youngest colleagues in the office and I occasionally held back on eating good stuff even though I wanted to, just so I could save more.

All that for what? It's been years since then, but I don't think they ever understood how I felt when I clicked my hard earned money away for their mistakes... Why make myself so miserable just to be even more miserable right?

At least now happier la I spend whenever I can and I want. I got a new local car after I rebuilt my finance, ok la everything is a huge upgrade from the old tin can, cukurrrr.
live not to impress other
hksgmy
post Aug 11 2023, 06:54 AM

Doraemon!
7,847 posts

QUOTE(Pugface @ Aug 11 2023, 03:14 AM)
wahseh living the life doc
glad to know you are doing great!  thumbup.gif
Thanks mate. COVID and the lockdowns changed my mentality a little and made me realise that life is just too short. So I decided to let loose the purse strings a little bit. After all, we have enough to outlast us.
flying_manatee
post Aug 11 2023, 09:55 AM

210 posts

Lemme try and explain the loan shark's logic here (based on my conjecture).

I think maybe TS's friend borrowed money at say 7 pm on the first day. Then, 30 days later, 7 pm is the cutoff time. Since TS's friend only paid back at 10 pm (again, all times are examples only), the ah long counts it as 3 hours late, hence the 1-hour x RM 1000 penalty.

So even though date-wise, it is the same day, the ah long counts it as have surpassed 30 days.
TSNapalm_man
post Aug 11 2023, 10:05 AM

723 posts

QUOTE(flying_manatee @ Aug 11 2023, 09:55 AM)
Lemme try and explain the loan shark's logic here (based on my conjecture).

I think maybe TS's friend borrowed money at say 7 pm on the first day. Then, 30 days later, 7 pm is the cutoff time. Since TS's friend only paid back at 10 pm (again, all times are examples only), the ah long counts it as 3 hours late, hence the 1-hour x RM 1000 penalty.

So even though date-wise, it is the same day, the ah long counts it as have surpassed 30 days.
That's a good explanation, the problem is from the text he showed me, some thing like this,

Name: My friend's
Loan amount: RM3000
Get on hand: RM2400
Loan date: 9/8/2023
Due date: 8/8/2023
Agent: ah long name, pretty sure it's a made up name

You see they didn't mention the time, as my post written also no paper no sign no black and white. Logically, after 12am is tomorrow already and since this ah long didn't write down the time, he still managed to pay his debt within 30 days. But these fuckers ah long, twist here twist there all they see fit, demanding another RM4000 because of late payment even though haven't cross 12am. I really want to show the ah long text here but again my friends now in miserable state, it's best not to as I already shared a lot about what happened to him.

I really hope people will stay away from ah long no matter what, these fuckers charge interest rate all they want, no law no limit. Exactly like we all heard, borrow RM1000 pay RM15000.
TSNapalm_man
post Aug 11 2023, 10:14 AM

723 posts

QUOTE(teslaman @ Aug 10 2023, 02:10 AM)
Tell him to withdraw from credit card lo
If he can do it then, why is he go to ah long instead?

QUOTE(cuddlybubblyteddy @ Aug 10 2023, 07:10 AM)
You can sell those item yourself, probably profit +10% - 20% after you give him rm3k

Not sure why you are not willing to do so, since you can have his stuff as collateral anyway (or just sell it and tell him anything more than 3k it’s yours)

Still, you’re a good friend to help him sell all his item …
Are you serious? Dude already in deep shit, yet you sees this as an opportunity to earn some cash for yourself?

Why I'm willing to do so? Because I'm his friend, and friend should try help each other, not betraying or took advantage on them.

QUOTE(BrookLes @ Aug 10 2023, 03:45 PM)
My insurance agent was a very nice guy as well.
Your point?
Avangelice
post Aug 11 2023, 10:20 AM

5,274 posts

QUOTE(prophetjul @ Aug 9 2023, 10:24 AM)
Thing the biggest problem is Ah Long has no rules and make their own rules as they see fit.
My friend dating an ah long. But he will tell you upfront that you need to pay daily on top of interest. I think it's 20%. If you don't pay give me your car.

prophetjul
post Aug 11 2023, 10:21 AM

12,282 posts

QUOTE(Avangelice @ Aug 11 2023, 10:20 AM)
My friend dating an ah long. But he will tell you upfront that you need to pay daily on top of interest. I think it's 20%. If you don't pay give me your car.
There are comments that their children are born without arses. laugh.gif
heLL_bOy
post Aug 11 2023, 10:30 AM

1,350 posts

your friend fall into online loanshark scam.

never ever borrow from any online platform loanshark 90% are scam and money-su*cker.

will rip you off no matter you fully settle them or not they will come with alot excuse that you owe them and they keep disturbing you.
flying_manatee
post Aug 11 2023, 10:36 AM

210 posts

QUOTE(Napalm_man @ Aug 11 2023, 10:05 AM)
That's a good explanation, the problem is from the text he showed me, some thing like this,

Name: My friend's
Loan amount: RM3000
Get on hand: RM2400
Loan date: 9/8/2023
Due date: 8/8/2023
Agent: ah long name, pretty sure it's a made up name

You see they didn't mention the time, as my post written also no paper no sign no black and white. Logically, after 12am is tomorrow already and since this ah long didn't write down the time, he still managed to pay his debt within 30 days. But these fuckers ah long, twist here twist there all they see fit, demanding another RM4000 because of late payment even though haven't cross 12am. I really want to show the ah long text here but again my friends now in miserable state, it's best not to as I already shared a lot about what happened to him.

I really hope people will stay away from ah long no matter what, these fuckers charge interest rate all they want, no law no limit. Exactly like we all heard, borrow RM1000 pay RM15000.
Oh so your friend received 2400 and had to pay back 3000 within a month is it?

In that case the ah long already got a interest amount of 600 - pretty solid already.

These "late charges" nonsense are just screwed up...
purplefellow
post Aug 11 2023, 10:49 AM

198 posts

I got a relative who borrowed from ah long before running overseas leaving their family to deal with the harassment.

Michael Chong helped settle the issue by calling a press conference with the family announcing they are "disowning" the borrower there. I don't know how much they have repaid since it's kind of a taboo to ask, but yeah, don't do it.
gogocan
post Aug 11 2023, 11:46 AM

486 posts

The 3k he need to pay back is the interest portion..need to read the t&c
TSNapalm_man
post Aug 11 2023, 02:14 PM

723 posts

QUOTE(flying_manatee @ Aug 11 2023, 10:36 AM)

In that case the ah long already got a interest amount of 600 - pretty solid already.

As per the text, yes he is. Late charges just pure ridiculous, these guys simply charge and their reason are not logic at all.

QUOTE(purplefellow @ Aug 11 2023, 10:49 AM)
I got a relative who borrowed from ah long before running overseas leaving their family to deal with the harassment.

Michael Chong helped settle the issue by calling a press conference with the family announcing they are "disowning" the borrower there. I don't know how much they have repaid since it's kind of a taboo to ask, but yeah, don't do it.
Knowing my friend's parents, I sure hope they won't disown him...

QUOTE(gogocan @ Aug 11 2023, 11:46 AM)
The 3k he need to pay back is the interest portion..need to read the t&c
Read again my thread again, slowly this time.
cuddlybubblyteddy
post Aug 11 2023, 02:24 PM

218 posts

QUOTE(Napalm_man @ Aug 11 2023, 11:14 AM)
If he can do it then, why is he go to ah long instead?
Are you serious? Dude already in deep shit, yet you sees this as an opportunity to earn some cash for yourself?

Why I'm willing to do so? Because I'm his friend, and friend should try help each other, not betraying or took advantage on them.
Your point?
You are good friend to help him sell at below market price rather than take his item and pay him rm3k , in the end he still has to borrow from other when you could help right away

You are indeed good friend 👍

TSNapalm_man
post Aug 11 2023, 02:39 PM

723 posts

QUOTE(cuddlybubblyteddy @ Aug 11 2023, 02:24 PM)
You are good friend to help him sell at below market price rather than take his item and pay him rm3k , in the end he still has to borrow from other when you could help right away

You are indeed good friend 👍
Maybe I'm not telling the full story about how we get the RM3000, here it is.

When I propose we sell off his gadget below market price, at that same time he already start making some call to borrow a small amount of money from others. While me selling his gadget, he already get the other few hundreds and there we get RM3000 to pay off the debt.

I don't know if you're being sarcastic or just me being paranoia or over thinking, but I do hope the above short story make a clearer scene.
gogocan
post Aug 11 2023, 02:51 PM

486 posts

CC easy cash plan only 4% a year..why laa pinjam along.
TSNapalm_man
post Aug 11 2023, 03:01 PM

723 posts

QUOTE(gogocan @ Aug 11 2023, 02:51 PM)
CC easy cash plan only 4% a year..why laa pinjam along.
Another one, if he can get from CC then why borrow ah long? Apa la
gogocan
post Aug 11 2023, 03:22 PM

486 posts

QUOTE(Napalm_man @ Aug 11 2023, 03:01 PM)
Another one, if he can get from CC then why borrow ah long? Apa la
Your friends modus operandi is gali lubang tutup lubang only...to pay ah long borrow from others..neverending cycle.
SUSBrookLes
post Aug 12 2023, 06:58 PM

1,354 posts

QUOTE(flying_manatee @ Aug 11 2023, 10:36 AM)

That's why never tell full story in the first place.
25% interest in 1 month. And your friend so stupid go take this type of deal instead of asking his family for help.

I hear already I definitely will not help. This kind of stupidity cannot cure one.

Even my internet online betting bonus, I definitely try nego 15% one. But your friend is opposite

This post has been edited by BrookLes: Aug 12 2023, 07:00 PM

12 Pages « < 5 6 7 8 9 > » Top

0.0226sec    0.58    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 22nd December 2025 - 02:43 PM