Never ever borrow money from Ah Long - UPDATE 9/8, My friend experience here

TSNapalm_man
post Aug 9 2023, 09:36 AM, updated 3y ago

723 posts

Guys, the purpose of me opening this topic is to remind all of you and please inform your friends and family as well, to avoid borrow money from Ah Long. For those who wonder how these Ah Long squeeze people, here's the story, quite long and I'll try to make it short.

Yesterday 8/8/2023, a friend of mine call me asking if I can meet him, urgent he said. So we meet up at a place, then he ask me to borrow him RM3000. I ask him why? He told me the whole story about he borrow RM3000 from Ah Long via online, no paper work no signature no black and white. I ask again how can he be so careless, agreeing to this kind of crazy deals. Now my friend here aren't an alcoholic, a gambler, or addicted to any negative stuffs. He know it's a stupid idea but he needs money that time, found out about this loan online and go ahead with it. Within 30 days, he must pay off the RM3000 in lum sum, simple to said borrow RM3000 but must pay back RM3000 within 30 days. So yesterday at 8/8/2023, is the due date. I helped him sold his computers, ipad and some other gadgets. We collected about RM2000+ because we sell these items dirt cheap, instantly got call and PM from various buyers. He manage to borrow few hundreds from his friends to make it RM3000.

Now here's the most fucked up part, by logic before 12am, the date will still remains 8/8. So he still have couple of hours to pay up the RM3000 right? Nope, the Ah Long literally said this "If follow market, other people charge interest RM1000 per hour.". I don't want to share the chat between him and the Ah Long here because he's already in miserable state, but that's the message he showed me. That text is before 12am, the date still 8/8 but to the Ah Long it's times up. They ask him to pay another RM4000 even after he paid the RM3000 before 12am 8/8 because of his "late payment", so it's RM3000 + RM4000 = RM7000 to them. You see, to this Ah Long, after 12am or no, they still charge you late interest because they feel you late to pay them back. All this in whatsapp and I ask him to screenshot all the chat as the Ah Long later might delete it, and if that happened he might get into trouble as he got no evidence against the Ah Long. Yes I know, our law aren't so good against Ah Long but I still ask him to do so just in case. After that I told him don't pay the RM4000, go to PPIM and tell them what happened. He paid on the last day of the 30 days, yet because the Ah Long feels like he's late to pay and they simply ask him to pay another RM4000. I think now he already in PPIM office, hope they can figure something out.

You guys might have question,
- What he did with the RM3000? He don't want to tell me but he assure me that the RM3000 aren't for those bad things, I know him for so long, so I believe him.
- Why he never ask his family, friends or company for help? He said he did, but non of them able to help that day before he go to Ah Long.
- Did I borrow money to him yesterday? No I didn't because I also needed money as I will be buying another car soon. But I did help him get around RM2000+ by helping him selling off his computer and gadgets.

This thread is to raise awareness, if you guys have any Ah Long stories, feel free to share it here so that others know how fucked up these Ah Long are in reality.

UPDATE 9/8
He went to PPIM, they help him checked with the company they claim they're from and surprise, the company said they do not have any record from my friend at all. PPIM said 2 possibility, 1 is this person are playing ah long, meaning they just some scammers pretending ah long plus all these usual threats. 2 this person could be the old school type of ah long, yes they do have the man power and they will causing trouble like throwing red paint etc. PPIM advise him to file a police report which he did afterwards, in the mean time PPIM try to contact the ah long but they never answer the phone call. In the police station, an inspector was assigned to assist him. Inspector advise him to change his phone number and deactivate his social media for a time being, until everything as cool down. Yes the inspector also try to contact the ah long and same, not answering the phone while he still receiving threats via whatsapp. Worse parts is that the ah long get to his mom, I don't know what his parents will do to him but I do know his parents won't go easy on him. He even told me he's ready if the family disown him over this, man this sure is fucked up. For now the inspector inform him to stay alert for any suspicious individual in his place, call the police if someone ever came to harass him. The inspector also said they're now tracking down the caller and found the caller aren't in KL/Selangor, also tracking down the bank account owner. I sure hope the police will get to them so that my friend and some other poor victim no longer have to worry about these bastards harassing them, imagine sleeping with one open and looking over your shoulder every time you going out.

UPDATE
To those who thought borrow RM3000 get RM3000, here's the text my friend get,

Name: My friend's
Loan amount: RM3000
Get on hand: RM2400
Loan date: 9/8/2023
Due date: 8/8/2023
Agent: ah long name, pretty sure it's a made up name

This post has been edited by Napalm_man: Aug 14 2023, 09:22 AM
TSNapalm_man
post Aug 9 2023, 09:48 AM

723 posts

QUOTE(ycs @ Aug 9 2023, 09:45 AM)
got such ah long lend money 30 days free interest + no paperwork? you believe ke?
I read his text between him and Ah Long, what you think?
TSNapalm_man
post Aug 9 2023, 10:50 AM

723 posts

QUOTE(Akaashi @ Aug 9 2023, 10:33 AM)
I'm more impressed ts managed to help friend sell off his stuff and get the money so quickly, when u could just lend him that 3k and sell his stuff later with better price.
Like this, a gaming laptop market selling at RM2500 - RM3000, I put RM1900. iPad gen 8 now selling around RM800 - RM1000, I put RM600. Gopro hero 4 now selling RM400+-, I put RM250. You do the math then.

Why not give him RM3000 instead? He cannot guaranteed me that he will pay back before I get my car, you still think it's a good idea?
TSNapalm_man
post Aug 9 2023, 12:11 PM

723 posts

QUOTE(Heroicage @ Aug 9 2023, 11:22 AM)
buying 3k of stuff that have nothing impacting your live....when you cannot afford...

well...should have known earlier....

example:  2k handphone is a "must" these days?....sigh. prioritize la...how you gonna retire with such attitude, or when have family/kids.....
I don't know what he did with the RM3000, pretty sure he's not using it to buy fancy stuff. That gaming laptop he bought on 2021 during pandemic, iPad also, Gopro hero 4 like many years ago. He might've need that RM3000 for something important.

QUOTE(WaCKy-Angel @ Aug 9 2023, 11:45 AM)
3K also need to borrow along. Sucks to be him.

If he got abit brain, he would have sold his stuffs before he borrow along.
Atleast then he only need to borrow few hundred.

Ohh waiiiii
Calm down and think, to you RM3000 might be nothing. To others, RM3000 is a lot of money. Before you "Sucks to be him/her", at least use your little brain to think, if a small amount also need to borrow, then that person might've been desperate or could be an emergency.

Oh wait, this is LYN, since when users here are civilize. My bad...
TSNapalm_man
post Aug 9 2023, 12:50 PM

723 posts

QUOTE(Roadwarrior1337 @ Aug 9 2023, 12:31 PM)
Agree

Let abang sado deal with it
He passed away in bike accident, or maybe there another abg sado?

QUOTE(WaCKy-Angel @ Aug 9 2023, 12:32 PM)
Like i said.....since he can sell his stuffs to pay loan, why didnt he do that before going for a loan?

Emergency where? Can sell stuffs within 24 hours what?
What u go along 10 mins get money is it?
He tried, but didn't work because he follow the market price. It was my idea who lower down the price so he can sell his stuff faster, I can't give him RM3000 but I at least helped him sell off some of his stuff. So yea he did tried other way to get money before the online loan AKA online ah long, if he didn't call me yesterday night he probably selling off his car now. Based on that suka2 naik bunga attitude, I figure the debt now goes up to 5 figures.

Again, it won't cost you a cent to be tolerance and put yourself on someone's else shoes instead insulting or making fun of others. You need to change your attitude.
TSNapalm_man
post Aug 9 2023, 12:54 PM

723 posts

QUOTE(V12Kompressor @ Aug 9 2023, 12:47 PM)
even if your friend pay off the 3k before 6pm on the 30th day, the Along will still find ways to collect extra. coz they need to profit also.

3k return 3k, basically like doing charity business.
I won't doubt if they do, based on the text these ah long simply increased RM1000 of interest for late payment. Won't be surprise if they debt get into 5 figures.

QUOTE(ctys2012 @ Aug 9 2023, 12:47 PM)
hope he learnt his lesson

i am sure most people here are aware what capabilities these thugs have and the limit our law has

live within means, never borrow unless from banks
He better be now, parent could've disown him if they knew about this. Went to his house few times, his parents really not those tolerate with embarrassment.
TSNapalm_man
post Aug 9 2023, 01:33 PM

723 posts

QUOTE(WaCKy-Angel @ Aug 9 2023, 12:58 PM)
Sometimes ppl needs to br insulted only they can become woke.
Wake i mean.

Nope not gonna be white knight. Ppl needs to learn the harsh of life.

Sorry but someone got to be the bad guy.
He already in miserable state, no need any harsh thing on him now. That somebody can think and choose, a person already felt into serious trouble do they need anymore harsh words?

QUOTE(Virlution @ Aug 9 2023, 01:12 PM)
I have dealt with ah long cases like you, but relative one.

Did you see the T&C or your fren hiding the T&C from you? Nowadays ah long got give out detail T&C one, not simply naik harga like you see in TV one.

Your fren got sign a document somewhere that got the fine print, probaby have to pay before 8/8/2023, like date due by 8/8/2023. Usually they get Rm2700 and have to pay RM3k before the month is up, else the interest will add 10% or something like that.

Ask them how to settle, you can help your fren to pay out, but of course have to be reasonable amount or will involve PPIM or Micheal Chong Dept, etc because you are also not rich to bail him out.
As per what he said, no documents of black and white. I did ask him why he agreed on this, he told he was desperately need the money. How much he got I don't know, but I know he only borrow RM3000. Start at 8/7 and 8/8 is the last day, but at 8/8 night the ah long suka2 say market now charge RM1000 per hour for late payment, I don't know what "market" they're talking about, now he's in police station as per his update just now around 12pm.
TSNapalm_man
post Aug 9 2023, 02:08 PM

723 posts

QUOTE(Natsukashii @ Aug 9 2023, 02:02 PM)
If are the kind of parents that can disown him, parents must be financially fine on their own too.

But they didn't help TS friend when he needed 3k..
I would say they're financially stable from what I've seen, go to their house for CNY and they always got lost foods and drinks. For me angpow RM50, that's still a lot even until today. But the parent really strict, you literally can see what type of parents they by the way they spoke with their kid.

QUOTE(mushigen @ Aug 9 2023, 02:03 PM)
Trouble is, those who don't need a loan, banks keep offering them one. Those who resort to Ah Long can't qualify for bank loans.

If course I am not ruling out cases of borrowers who do that because they're sure they can make some fast cash using that borrowed money.
You sir, got my like. Not many people like you, a person who understand the issue and instead of bashing you explain properly. The world needs more people like you...
TSNapalm_man
post Aug 9 2023, 04:05 PM

723 posts

QUOTE(poco loco @ Aug 9 2023, 03:52 PM)
pinjam rm4k

miss 2 month rm600

so total rm4600

not yet pay single sen.....he take down the bideo aready after i told him that
Thx for yr sharing, lots of people don't know how ah long operate and attract people.
TSNapalm_man
post Aug 9 2023, 04:58 PM

723 posts

QUOTE(InitialB @ Aug 9 2023, 04:53 PM)
Why not pay 7/8 ? Why find problem 8/8. If you know it's free with no interest by 8/8, why wait till the date?

Should have paid on 7/8 so they don't have the reason?

By the way, loan without interest? You gotta be kidding me.
One of LYN user said that is how ah long attract their victim
TSNapalm_man
post Aug 9 2023, 05:08 PM

723 posts

QUOTE(InitialB @ Aug 9 2023, 05:01 PM)
No such thing as loan without interest.

I've learned it from experience
You're right, but they pusing2 and actually make ppl believe there's no interest.
TSNapalm_man
post Aug 10 2023, 09:14 AM

723 posts

QUOTE(gashout @ Aug 10 2023, 04:27 AM)
I'm sure ts doesn't know the full story. Friend hush hush but wants help.

Very rare for even fam members or relatives not to help, he surely has messed up a lot even before this happened.

Also to the rest who is financially ok. Never be a white knight. People will beg you as if you're their only hope. Truth is. Once money reaches their hand. They'll forget about your kindness and good deeds. You end up having to beg them.

Aka don't fight other people's battle, kindness doesn't work that way

Guard your money well. In general it also means be wise in your spending so you don't need to deal with ah long one day.
That's why I help him selling off his computer and gadget, I can give him the RM3000 but since he cannot guarantee me to pay it by this month, so I won't risk it because I need that money to buy car.
TSNapalm_man
post Aug 10 2023, 10:03 AM

723 posts

QUOTE(gashout @ Aug 10 2023, 09:17 AM)
Yes. You did the right thing in how you helped him. Well done 🙂
I might be not the best friend, but I'll try help whatever I can because that's what a friend do. Hence he's a genuinely nice guy, just got unfortunate that's all, it happens to everyone.
TSNapalm_man
post Aug 11 2023, 10:05 AM

723 posts

QUOTE(flying_manatee @ Aug 11 2023, 09:55 AM)
Lemme try and explain the loan shark's logic here (based on my conjecture).

I think maybe TS's friend borrowed money at say 7 pm on the first day. Then, 30 days later, 7 pm is the cutoff time. Since TS's friend only paid back at 10 pm (again, all times are examples only), the ah long counts it as 3 hours late, hence the 1-hour x RM 1000 penalty.

So even though date-wise, it is the same day, the ah long counts it as have surpassed 30 days.
That's a good explanation, the problem is from the text he showed me, some thing like this,

Name: My friend's
Loan amount: RM3000
Get on hand: RM2400
Loan date: 9/8/2023
Due date: 8/8/2023
Agent: ah long name, pretty sure it's a made up name

You see they didn't mention the time, as my post written also no paper no sign no black and white. Logically, after 12am is tomorrow already and since this ah long didn't write down the time, he still managed to pay his debt within 30 days. But these fuckers ah long, twist here twist there all they see fit, demanding another RM4000 because of late payment even though haven't cross 12am. I really want to show the ah long text here but again my friends now in miserable state, it's best not to as I already shared a lot about what happened to him.

I really hope people will stay away from ah long no matter what, these fuckers charge interest rate all they want, no law no limit. Exactly like we all heard, borrow RM1000 pay RM15000.
TSNapalm_man
post Aug 11 2023, 10:14 AM

723 posts

QUOTE(teslaman @ Aug 10 2023, 02:10 AM)
Tell him to withdraw from credit card lo
If he can do it then, why is he go to ah long instead?

QUOTE(cuddlybubblyteddy @ Aug 10 2023, 07:10 AM)
You can sell those item yourself, probably profit +10% - 20% after you give him rm3k

Not sure why you are not willing to do so, since you can have his stuff as collateral anyway (or just sell it and tell him anything more than 3k it’s yours)

Still, you’re a good friend to help him sell all his item …
Are you serious? Dude already in deep shit, yet you sees this as an opportunity to earn some cash for yourself?

Why I'm willing to do so? Because I'm his friend, and friend should try help each other, not betraying or took advantage on them.

QUOTE(BrookLes @ Aug 10 2023, 03:45 PM)
My insurance agent was a very nice guy as well.
Your point?
TSNapalm_man
post Aug 11 2023, 02:14 PM

723 posts

QUOTE(flying_manatee @ Aug 11 2023, 10:36 AM)
Oh so your friend received 2400 and had to pay back 3000 within a month is it?

In that case the ah long already got a interest amount of 600 - pretty solid already.

These "late charges" nonsense are just screwed up...
As per the text, yes he is. Late charges just pure ridiculous, these guys simply charge and their reason are not logic at all.

QUOTE(purplefellow @ Aug 11 2023, 10:49 AM)
I got a relative who borrowed from ah long before running overseas leaving their family to deal with the harassment.

Michael Chong helped settle the issue by calling a press conference with the family announcing they are "disowning" the borrower there. I don't know how much they have repaid since it's kind of a taboo to ask, but yeah, don't do it.
Knowing my friend's parents, I sure hope they won't disown him...

QUOTE(gogocan @ Aug 11 2023, 11:46 AM)
The 3k he need to pay back is the interest portion..need to read the t&c
Read again my thread again, slowly this time.
TSNapalm_man
post Aug 11 2023, 02:39 PM

723 posts

QUOTE(cuddlybubblyteddy @ Aug 11 2023, 02:24 PM)
You are good friend to help him sell at below market price rather than take his item and pay him rm3k , in the end he still has to borrow from other when you could help right away

You are indeed good friend 👍
Maybe I'm not telling the full story about how we get the RM3000, here it is.

When I propose we sell off his gadget below market price, at that same time he already start making some call to borrow a small amount of money from others. While me selling his gadget, he already get the other few hundreds and there we get RM3000 to pay off the debt.

I don't know if you're being sarcastic or just me being paranoia or over thinking, but I do hope the above short story make a clearer scene.
TSNapalm_man
post Aug 11 2023, 03:01 PM

723 posts

QUOTE(gogocan @ Aug 11 2023, 02:51 PM)
CC easy cash plan only 4% a year..why laa pinjam along.
Another one, if he can get from CC then why borrow ah long? Apa la
TSNapalm_man
post Aug 14 2023, 09:19 AM

723 posts

QUOTE(gogocan @ Aug 11 2023, 03:22 PM)
Your friends modus operandi is gali lubang tutup lubang only...to pay ah long borrow from others..neverending cycle.
Yes gali lubang tutup lubang, but in this situation you got other better idea than withdraw CC or ask parent which he can't/don't have?

You really think he want borrow other's money to pay ah long is it?

Before comment, use your brain. If he can do like you mentioned, he won't be borrow ah long right?

This post has been edited by Napalm_man: Aug 14 2023, 10:23 AM
TSNapalm_man
post Aug 14 2023, 01:51 PM

723 posts

QUOTE(jojolicia @ Aug 14 2023, 11:43 AM)
A week passed, any update? Seatle?
No news from him, I told him to update me if anything. I can't contact him now, he changed his phone number and also deactivated his social media as instructed by the inspector. I also passed him my business card that day, see if he'll contact me again.

0.0368sec    0.70    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 19th December 2025 - 03:39 PM