Insurance Premium Naik!

Ramjade
post Jul 29 2023, 04:36 PM

24,421 posts

QUOTE(Natsukashii @ Jul 29 2023, 04:08 PM)
Maybe I'm not smart, but it is still not making sense to me. I got premium increase letter, and I spoke with my agent. My agent told me a lot of stuff, some examples.. "a lot of people claiming, and also medical cost gone up, with ringgit performing very bad."

I was there like .. "a lot of people claiming, and I never claimed but they want to increase mine also? why not just increase only those who have made claims?"

Medical cost gone up? I was like, "well, medical cost up or down, if I claim, I still will only get within my limit/plan which they've already allocated. In case ringgit starts doing well, will my coverage increase? no right?" "if my plan is 500k, then doesn't matter cost up or down, I should entitle for max 500k."

So this:
As long I pay the agreed price today, even 20 years from now.. they should be able to provide coverage for RM1m per year.

But after years paying, they say to continue providing the agreed coverage, they have to increase premium!

I'm not asking for RM1.5m coverage because of medical inflation right? So they shouldn't increase!
That's not how insurance work. Insurance works by collecting everyone money into a pool which is use to pay someone whenever claims are make.

Now if everyone don't claim then the pool remain constant. If people start claiming, it will come a time when there is not enough money for everyone. So because you are in the pool, you are also forced to pay up even though you never claim. Cause not everyone so good hearted don't want to claim.

Think of it as a reservoir. When reservoir no water, water rationing affects everyone.

Imagine you already pay so much for insurance, to get back some of the money back, you need to get yourself admitted or else money wasted right? So if one person think like that, you bet there will be others who also think like that.

Also the coverage amount is the same but the sustainability (means the insurance can last until xyz years) will decrease if you don't agree to increase the premium.

This is what my agent said not I said, standalone tends to follow the projected rate increase and yes there are some years which are exception while ILP won't follow the timetable. So some people get increase in price as early as 2 years.

That's why I didn't go with ILP. I was like I already pay so much and you want me to pay extra money every now and then when the insurance company request? Nope. Not going to happen.

This post has been edited by Ramjade: Jul 29 2023, 04:37 PM
Natsukashii
post Jul 29 2023, 05:35 PM

^^
1,084 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Jul 29 2023, 04:36 PM)
That's not how insurance work. Insurance works by collecting everyone money into a pool which is use to pay someone whenever claims are make.

Now if everyone don't claim then the pool remain constant. If people start claiming, it will come a time when there is not enough money for everyone. So because you are in the pool, you are also forced to pay up even though you never claim. Cause not everyone so good hearted don't want to claim.

Think of it as a reservoir. When reservoir no water, water rationing affects everyone.

Imagine you already pay so much for insurance, to get back some of the money back, you need to get yourself admitted or else money wasted right? So if one person think like that, you bet there will be others who also think like that.

Also the coverage amount is the same but the sustainability (means the insurance can last until xyz years) will decrease if you don't agree to increase the premium.

This is what my agent said not I said, standalone tends to follow the projected rate increase and yes there are some years which are exception while ILP won't follow the timetable. So some people get increase in price as early as 2 years.

That's why I didn't go with ILP. I was like I already pay so much and you want me to pay extra money every now and then when the insurance company request? Nope. Not going to happen.
You made the right choice. ILP was told will never have premium increase.. now different story from them.
Ramjade
post Jul 29 2023, 05:54 PM

24,421 posts

QUOTE(Natsukashii @ Jul 29 2023, 05:35 PM)
You made the right choice. ILP was told will never have premium increase.. now different story from them.
In theory. But in reality different story. I was luck I did research here and on Reddit and found out the truth.
SUSSihambodoh
post Jul 30 2023, 12:25 AM

436 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Jul 29 2023, 04:36 PM)

Just sharing here. My parents non ILP, when they reached a certain age and issues started to come like diabetes and all, the insurance company refused to insure them anymore.

Now i asked my agent what if my ILP when I reach a certain age they don't want to insure me anymore. My agent said in ILPs there are clauses stating to what age I must be insured whether or not I have made claims before that age.

So in a way, that is the advantage of ILP according to my agent.
Ramjade
post Jul 30 2023, 01:09 AM

24,421 posts

QUOTE(Sihambodoh @ Jul 30 2023, 12:25 AM)
Just sharing here. My parents non ILP, when they reached a certain age and issues started to come like diabetes and all, the insurance company refused to insure them anymore.

Now i asked my agent what if my ILP when I reach a certain age they don't want to insure me anymore. My agent said in ILPs there are clauses stating to what age I must be insured whether or not I have made claims before that age.

So in a way, that is the advantage of ILP according to my agent.
Yes what you said is true but that's for the old plan. Nowadays all new plan does not have that clause anymore. That's the not guaranteed clause. Nowdays insurance only won't cover if you
1. Don't pay on time/fully pay
2. Commit fraud
3. Surrender policy

That was one of my main criteria make sure there is guaranteed renewal. I said I don't want your word, I want black and white from company. She pull up the contract and it's stated there policy will be renew unless the above happen (can't remember the whole terms an condition)

This post has been edited by Ramjade: Jul 30 2023, 01:14 AM
Pain4UrsinZ
post Jul 30 2023, 02:31 AM

1,861 posts

QUOTE(karazure @ Jul 28 2023, 10:07 AM)
Unker just go this, 1 of my policy wanna charge me extra 80 per month le.

any maha /k can advise mau up or maintain.

I read say can maintain but will effect sustainability wo...wtf do that mean. is this scam?

inb4 /k all kaya, no need insurance
Same these 3 years keep Naik, I don't agree so they reducing my insured years from 85 to 72, next year not going to reduce I guess since investment link fund start doing well

You don't pay they will reduce years of insured

This post has been edited by Pain4UrsinZ: Jul 30 2023, 02:33 AM
nihility
post Jul 31 2023, 01:26 PM

1,596 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Jul 29 2023, 09:56 AM)
You buy from what company is the same. All ILP will have this problem. Only way to avoid this problem is buy standlaone. But standalone can also have this issue if say not enough money in the insurance pool already.
Their PA don't think it's under Generali.
Personally, I'm ok if the conditions are made / declared upfront. What I'm pissed off is more on the way the SA carried out their sales talk.
Ramjade
post Jul 31 2023, 01:28 PM

24,421 posts

QUOTE(nihility @ Jul 31 2023, 01:26 PM)
Personally, I'm ok if the conditions are made / declared upfront. What I'm pissed off is more on the way the SA carried out their sales talk.
Or else how will they make you buy? Many people got hook to ILP because if so call stable premium.
bigduck
post Jul 31 2023, 01:30 PM

156 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Jul 30 2023, 01:09 AM)
Yes what you said is true but that's for the old plan. Nowadays all new plan does not have that clause anymore. That's the not guaranteed clause. Nowdays insurance only won't cover if you
1. Don't pay on time/fully pay
2. Commit fraud
3. Surrender policy

That was one of my main criteria make sure there is guaranteed renewal. I said I don't want your word, I want black and white from company. She pull up the contract and it's stated there policy will be renew unless the above happen (can't remember the whole terms an condition)
You bought ILP or term?
SUSBrookLes
post Jul 31 2023, 01:55 PM

1,354 posts

QUOTE(prdkancil @ Jul 28 2023, 11:05 AM)
The premium remain at RM3600 annually , wat i mean the medical card fees is increasing thn thy will auto readjust from RM3600.
Example from RM3600 , 1.6k go to pay medical card fees and 2k investment thn now auto adjust 2k on medical card then 1.6k for investment like that lur .
The reason thy wana increase the premium because thy forecast in future investment not enuf to cover medical card fees because the medical fees is increasing .
Wow. You spend around 10% of your income on insurance.
No wonder.
SUSBrookLes
post Jul 31 2023, 01:57 PM

1,354 posts

QUOTE(bill11 @ Jul 28 2023, 11:23 AM)
Anyone bother to check the fund performance for investment link ?

seems like all the funds performance suck balls, better they just create one fund that buy malaysian local banks, that at least have dividend to rebuy back the fund.
Why can't you just buy yourself?
You do realize you have to pay fees so you?

Unless, you can claim income tax. Then investment linked might be worth it if they focus on low risk investment.
SUSBrookLes
post Jul 31 2023, 01:58 PM

1,354 posts

QUOTE(Accord2018 @ Jul 28 2023, 12:12 PM)
No such thing lock. Sure got clause you din notice similar to " we can revise the price from time to time reasonably"

If the economy gets worse and higher inflation, then the premium will keep increasing. Recently a person had a stroke, 36 age only, medical cost hospital and Physiotherapy already more than 200k. And that person previously only pay 200++ per month like TS.
I am pretty sure the insurance did not cover everything.
SUSBrookLes
post Jul 31 2023, 02:00 PM

1,354 posts

QUOTE(MrBaba @ Jul 28 2023, 12:19 PM)
Good luck with GE , they famous for making yr life hard when want claim .
Only thing good about ge is, you can claim for income tax as well. And they even give you voucher and your surrender value increases each year. Taking into tax account, it's not too bad actually
SUSBrookLes
post Jul 31 2023, 02:01 PM

1,354 posts

QUOTE(xpole @ Jul 28 2023, 12:32 PM)
I'm on AIA medical insurance. I take pure medical insurance only. No investment link.

Already 3 years I'm on this insurance and no increase. I hope can stay the same amount for a while since I have other commitments.
Well. If your medical bills more then the max coverage good luck.
bigduck
post Jul 31 2023, 02:09 PM

156 posts

QUOTE(BrookLes @ Jul 31 2023, 02:00 PM)
Only thing good about ge is, you can claim for income tax as well. And they even give you voucher and your surrender value increases each year. Taking into tax account, it's not too bad actually
other insurance companies also can claim for income tax no?
bigduck
post Jul 31 2023, 02:10 PM

156 posts

QUOTE(BrookLes @ Jul 31 2023, 01:57 PM)
Why can't you just buy yourself?
You do realize you have to pay fees so you?

Unless, you can claim income tax. Then investment linked might be worth it if they focus on low risk investment.
I don't think he purposely wanna invest in those funds, those are only the available funds when you purchase an ILP
SUSBrookLes
post Jul 31 2023, 02:11 PM

1,354 posts

QUOTE(bigduck @ Jul 31 2023, 02:09 PM)
other insurance companies also can claim for income tax no?
Can claim. But surrender value increasing?
You see. I am more interested that I put in and then get more out after income tax considerations.

My surrender value always increasing at the same amount as the premium that I pay.

I end up saving after claiming tax relief.

This post has been edited by BrookLes: Jul 31 2023, 02:13 PM
prdkancil
post Jul 31 2023, 02:15 PM

219 posts

QUOTE(BrookLes @ Jul 31 2023, 01:55 PM)
Wow. You spend around 10% of your income on insurance.
No wonder.
10% of income rclxub.gif
Dont get wat u mean hmm.gif
TSkarazure
post Jul 31 2023, 02:24 PM

70 posts

QUOTE(Pain4UrsinZ @ Jul 30 2023, 02:31 AM)
Same these 3 years keep Naik, I don't agree so they reducing my insured years from 85 to 72, next year not going to reduce I guess since investment link fund start doing well

You don't pay they will reduce years of insured
I think that what it means.
SUSBrookLes
post Jul 31 2023, 02:31 PM

1,354 posts

QUOTE(bigduck @ Jul 31 2023, 02:10 PM)
I don't think he purposely wanna invest in those funds, those are only the available funds when you purchase an ILP
Yes and why would you want to invest in those funds when you can diy and buy those bank stocks yourself.

Only advantage for investment linked is if you can save on taxes and they invest on only fixed income investment.

I dun mind paying them fees if my tax saved is more then the fees.

6 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 6 >Top

0.0239sec    0.62    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 18th December 2025 - 10:47 AM