15 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 6 > » Bottom

Protip - just buy icloud for your iphone, never lose data. 64gb phone also enough

p4n6
post Jun 25 2023, 09:51 PM

5,974 posts

QUOTE(tolongking @ Jun 25 2023, 07:37 PM)
i don't understand why people keep complaining phone storage not enough. dO YoU GuYs NoT hAve ClOuD SToRaGe?

i keep all my shit on my shitty 2021 128gb iphone with 2TB family icloud subscription (USD9.99 a month). every photo gets uploaded immediately. I never run of of space despite having thousands of full res videos.

and I never worry about losing my phone. if I did lose it, a restored iphone with all my data is in my hand within 2 hours.
2TB storage let say SSD about RM300-500 one time.
With cloud storage 2TB is RM45 per month or RM540 per annum.

Let say you use for next 30 years, you will spend RM16k for subscription.
Meanwhile the physical storage you bought still RM300-500 (let say with lifespan of 10 years for physical storage), so RM500*3=RM1500.

So in 30 years, total cost for cloud storage is 10x higher.

Also note that physical storage /GB is cheaper over time but cloud storage service does not drop price over time (in fact may increase).
danielcmugen
post Jun 25 2023, 09:52 PM

5,538 posts

QUOTE(alpha33 @ Jun 25 2023, 09:27 PM)
took 50gb icloud just to backup whatsapp.
and it doesnt work. till now cant backup whatsapp.
apada........
Sometimes can sometimes cannot right? Or need to click “Backup now” then only can work?
Ayer
post Jun 25 2023, 09:56 PM

206 posts

QUOTE(alpha33 @ Jun 25 2023, 09:27 PM)
took 50gb icloud just to backup whatsapp.
and it doesnt work. till now cant backup whatsapp.
apada........
This one Whatsapp problem, I tried restore backup from GDrive last time also like corrupt file. Total lost smh
a13solut3
post Jun 25 2023, 09:58 PM

Whiner FTW!
1,759 posts

kek onedrive only rm180/year with 1tb shareable to 6 different accounts and comes with microsoft office 365.
adam71
post Jun 25 2023, 09:58 PM

88 posts

QUOTE(tolongking @ Jun 25 2023, 07:37 PM)
i don't understand why people keep complaining phone storage not enough. dO YoU GuYs NoT hAve ClOuD SToRaGe?

i keep all my shit on my shitty 2021 128gb iphone with 2TB family icloud subscription (USD9.99 a month). every photo gets uploaded immediately. I never run of of space despite having thousands of full res videos.

and I never worry about losing my phone. if I did lose it, a restored iphone with all my data is in my hand within 2 hours.
I am using Huawei ...and cloud service 1 TB is only RM84 per year.
SUStolongking
post Jun 25 2023, 10:09 PM

20 posts

QUOTE(p4n6 @ Jun 25 2023, 09:51 PM)
2TB storage let say SSD about RM300-500 one time.
With cloud storage 2TB is RM45 per month or RM540 per annum.

Let say you use for next 30 years, you will spend RM16k for subscription.
Meanwhile the physical storage you bought still RM300-500 (let say with lifespan of 10 years for physical storage), so RM500*3=RM1500.

So in 30 years, total cost for cloud storage is 10x higher.

Also note that physical storage /GB is cheaper over time but cloud storage service does not drop price over time (in fact may increase).
talk cock lah you. even the cheapest centOS server from vultr is USD2.5 a month. don't tell me it'll be cheaper if you host your own server using your home unifi.

then you gonna write the app that can sync with your own server without bugs? like as good as the native app? backup every new photo the instance you take it that kind of good. and deal with the maintenance whenever there is an os update? get out of here

if you're talking about offline back ups...... man we're not in 2009 anymore. this is why we pay RM50 a month for a family package to do real time automatic cloud back ups. imagine the time wasted everyday just to manually transfer your photos. from one place to another. you do it every week, risk of losing a week worth of photos if you lose your phone. even when you do it every week, it becomes a major hassle. can you do it religiously, non stop for 10 years?

This post has been edited by tolongking: Jun 25 2023, 10:50 PM
SUSpetpenyubobo
post Jun 25 2023, 10:13 PM

1,030 posts

QUOTE(adam71 @ Jun 25 2023, 09:58 PM)
I am using Huawei ...and cloud service 1 TB is only RM84 per year.
Sound interesting how's the experience? Is the connection and uploads reliable and fast? Privacy?
kembayang
post Jun 25 2023, 10:16 PM

1,441 posts

Let me check shopee any unlimited storage icloud account
blabla987
post Jun 25 2023, 10:17 PM

749 posts

i rather pay haha let them sort out the backup... i just use.... unless you got sexy picture inside then ownself host lo
SUSifourtos
post Jun 25 2023, 10:18 PM

2,256 posts

QUOTE(tolongking @ Jun 25 2023, 07:48 PM)
congrats you genius. but most people value convenience. once i realize how convenient it is to use airpods (like pop up case, immediately gets connected via bluetooth), i never look at other brands anymore, despite having a cheaper price tag or better sound quality. the smooth user experience cannot be replaced. you gonna write a custom app and back up manually every day? not for me.
the most expensive thing is :

Become a power user.

in tech era, equipe high-level software-skill is just like having superpower.

not just everything become smooth..
you even can do what average human cant even imagine.

just like becoming mutant.

this is become more and more real after the emerge of AI...
our mutant power level just tripple fold.
gnc88
post Jun 25 2023, 10:19 PM

145 posts

I’m a strong supporter of this. Shared across 5 family members.. supporting across multiple iPhones, iPads etc. if phone hilang, I can still sleep well at night 😁

blabla987
post Jun 25 2023, 10:19 PM

749 posts

QUOTE(danielcmugen @ Jun 25 2023, 09:52 PM)
Sometimes can sometimes cannot right? Or need to click “Backup now” then only can work?
my whatsapp 200gb also cant backup..
-kytz-
post Jun 25 2023, 10:22 PM

12,573 posts

QUOTE(a13solut3 @ Jun 25 2023, 09:58 PM)
kek onedrive only rm180/year with 1tb shareable to 6 different accounts and comes with microsoft office 365.
Is Onedrive able to backup every single camera picture/video after being taken? I'm comparing this to Google One which is around RM10/month (annual plan) for 200GB.

One thing I like about Google Photos is that almost all my family members has a google account so I can easily add them to a shared family folder for all the pictures/videos

This post has been edited by -kytz-: Jun 25 2023, 10:39 PM
trojandude
post Jun 25 2023, 10:24 PM

117 posts

QUOTE(rooney723 @ Jun 25 2023, 09:50 PM)
wow, didnt expect my simple 1 line reply can trigger hardcore apple sheeps so much until write an essay to counter me bck laugh.gif

feeling so insecure huh? yaya you very smart i get it whistling.gif

btw im not gonna pay close to a thousand of ringgit a year to sync data across my phone, laptops, tablets etc, there are many free alternatives out there whistling.gif , but well i guess apple users are rich so they wouldnt mind paying so much for convenience whistling.gif , and also they seems to be short on EQ also laugh.gif
You sure are short on IQ. It’s rm40 a month for 2TB and that’s rm480 a year.

That’s not even half of a thousand but somehow it’s “close to a thousand”. I called your response dumb because you oversimplified everything, and you said I lack EQ and triggered instead.

You’re the one with low EQ and IQ.

This post has been edited by trojandude: Jun 25 2023, 10:25 PM
-kytz-
post Jun 25 2023, 10:40 PM

12,573 posts

QUOTE(gnc88 @ Jun 25 2023, 10:19 PM)
I’m a strong supporter of this. Shared across 5 family members.. supporting across multiple iPhones, iPads etc. if phone hilang, I can still sleep well at night 😁

I love the convenience of cloud storage as well but really I take so many 4k videos and they take a ton of space which I think 2TB will be full in a few years time. I'm on Android btw
SUStolongking
post Jun 25 2023, 10:48 PM

20 posts

QUOTE(ifourtos @ Jun 25 2023, 10:18 PM)
the most expensive thing is :

Become a power user.
in tech era, equipe high-level software-skill is just like having superpower.

not just everything become smooth..
you even can do what average human cant even imagine.

just like becoming mutant.
this is become more and more real after the emerge of AI...
our mutant power level just tripple fold.
i'm a programmer i agree with you. now with chatgpt i code a lot faster than before. but you don't create everything yourself la.. the backup app is very complicated. you have to deal with schedules (cron?), conflicts, compression, different file types, then encryption, haven't even go into maintenance and debugging.. walao. I'd just pay USD10 a month and get a piece of mind. its USD3.33 per person when it's shared with 3 family members.

trojandude
post Jun 25 2023, 10:51 PM

117 posts

QUOTE(tolongking @ Jun 25 2023, 10:48 PM)
i'm a programmer i agree with you. now with chatgpt i code a lot faster than before. but you don't create everything yourself la.. the backup app is very complicated. you have to deal with schedules (cron?), conflicts, compression, different file types, then encryption, haven't even go into maintenance and debugging.. walao. I'd just pay USD10 a month and get a piece of mind. its USD3.33 per person when it's shared with 3 family members.
USD is American region pricing. It’s RM40 a month in Malaysia actually.

Can consider AppleOne subscription too because it comes with Apple Music (can switch from Spotify or YM. The bundle is pretty bang for buck.

I personally don’t like AM UI so I stick with just iCloud plan.
SUStolongking
post Jun 25 2023, 10:56 PM

20 posts

QUOTE(trojandude @ Jun 25 2023, 10:51 PM)
USD is American region pricing. It’s RM40 a month in Malaysia actually.

Can consider AppleOne subscription too because it comes with Apple Music (can switch from Spotify or YM. The bundle is pretty bang for buck.

I personally don’t like AM UI so I stick with just iCloud plan.
wow. apple one is RM78.9 / month. i didn't know. for RM40 more you get apple music + apple tv. i also wouldn't get it cos entertainment is non essential. real time back up is essential for me. the peace of mind is priceless. i don't worry about losing my phone anymore. just get a new one and you're good to go. at most lose a few thousand riggits. and I'd get the one with the lowest memory.
Avenger_2012
post Jun 25 2023, 10:59 PM

197 posts

Instead of paying rm600/year for Icloud storage like a sheep, this is what i do.
1. Buy a SSD.
2. Purchase Photo Transfer App at price of RM80 (lifetime subscription).
3. Whenever my storage is full (256 gb phone storage can last me for 2-3 years), I just need to transfer the photos & videos to SSD. No need to do this regularly, just once every few years.

There you, save yourself thousands of RM.
SUStolongking
post Jun 25 2023, 11:01 PM

20 posts

QUOTE(Avenger_2012 @ Jun 25 2023, 10:59 PM)
Instead of paying rm600/year for Icloud storage like a sheep, this is what i do.
1. Buy a SSD.
2. Purchase Photo Transfer App at price of RM80 (lifetime subscription).
3. Whenever my storage is full (256 gb phone storage can last me for 2-3 years), I just need to transfer the photos & videos to SSD. No need to do this regularly, just once every few years.

There you, save yourself thousands of RM.
what if you lose your phone? 2-3 years back up once means the last 2-3 years data gone. memories can't get back anymore even with all the $$ in the world.

15 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 6 > » Top

0.0210sec    0.82    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 18th December 2025 - 08:33 PM