Resignation & my 2 notice period
TSwesternkl
Jun 23 2023, 07:11 PM, updated 3y ago
Hi guys, i just tendered my resignation letter few days ago on 19/6, and i write there i will work until 30/6, because i need to join new company by 3/7.
However my boss keep pujuk me ask me to stay & grow with company, so he rejected my resignation letter.
I am seriously wanna leave this company & join new company by 3/7.
According to my offer letter, my notice period is 2 months.
Since now i only serve 2 weeks, will my company sue me? What will happen to me?
Pls advise, thanks.
I seriously need advise & opinion.
LiQuID2
Jun 23 2023, 07:17 PM

U have to compensate the balance notice. For your case..u have to compensate 1 and half month of your salary
This post has been edited by LiQuID2: Jun 23 2023, 07:17 PM
Eulm585
Jun 23 2023, 07:18 PM
Hold back your salary then sue u depending on how much the hr or manager want to cover their backside
markgreenham
please write name of company and what position you're currently in to better advise.
will/can company sue? as long as you break contract - answer is yes.
can they reject based on the notice time or breaking contract clauses like bonds - answer is yes.
nargcore

Your offer letter states 2 months notice but you are only giving your current employer 2 weeks. As you can see yourself its not justified.
He cant reject your resignation letter but you are required to serve the notice.Is there any salary in lieu option? If there is you can opt to pay the company the remaining outstanding notice.
Companies generally wont sue but one could never say never.
TSwesternkl
Jun 23 2023, 07:19 PM
QUOTE(Eulm585 @ Jun 23 2023, 07:18 PM) Hold back your salary then sue u depending on how much the hr or manager want to cover their backside What do u mean "cover their backside"?
elm0001
Jun 23 2023, 07:21 PM
lol you know you have to serve 2 months but so brave decide for yourself that you’re gonna serve 2 weeks?
TSwesternkl
Jun 23 2023, 07:23 PM
QUOTE(elm0001 @ Jun 23 2023, 07:21 PM) lol you know you have to serve 2 months but so brave decide for yourself that you’re gonna serve 2 weeks? My colleague can, why me cannot?
elm0001
Jun 23 2023, 07:24 PM
QUOTE(westernkl @ Jun 23 2023, 07:23 PM) My colleague can, why me cannot? did you at least tell your manager that you’re gonna serve 2 weeks and pay in lieu?
nargcore
Jun 23 2023, 07:26 PM

QUOTE(westernkl @ Jun 23 2023, 07:23 PM) My colleague can, why me cannot? This is depending on your HOD/HR discretion. You cant say he can, why me cannot? It does not work that way. Suggest you to try talking with your superior again.
knwong
Jun 23 2023, 07:33 PM
Have you think through how to pay the remaining 1.5 months to them?
mewhoyou
Jun 23 2023, 07:33 PM

QUOTE(westernkl @ Jun 23 2023, 07:11 PM) Hi guys, i just tendered my resignation letter few days ago on 19/6, and i write there i will work until 30/6, because i need to join new company by 3/7. However my boss keep pujuk me ask me to stay & grow with company, so he rejected my resignation letter. I am seriously wanna leave this company & join new company by 3/7. According to my offer letter, my notice period is 2 months. Since now i only serve 2 weeks, will my company sue me? What will happen to me? Pls advise, thanks. I seriously need advise & opinion. just send to your HR if your boss dont want to accept. Its only a myth that bosses dont accept resignation as HR needs to accept.
Sha91
Jun 23 2023, 07:43 PM

1. Request an early release without payment then if it does not work;
2. Ask the new company if the can buy you out, if does not work;
3. Then you have to pay for the balance.
Sha91
Jun 23 2023, 07:52 PM

QUOTE(westernkl @ Jun 23 2023, 07:23 PM) My colleague can, why me cannot? You can resign all you want even 24 hours, your boss need not to accept or reject so long as it has been communicated that your desire to terminate the contract, and it must be with proper notice or payment in lieu of notice, otherwise you may get sued for breach of contract.
TSwesternkl
Jun 23 2023, 07:52 PM
QUOTE(nargcore @ Jun 23 2023, 07:18 PM) Your offer letter states 2 months notice but you are only giving your current employer 2 weeks. As you can see yourself its not justified. He cant reject your resignation letter but you are required to serve the notice.Is there any salary in lieu option? If there is you can opt to pay the company the remaining outstanding notice. Companies generally wont sue but one could never say never. If company sue me, what benefit do they have?
kcchong2000
Jun 23 2023, 07:54 PM

That why when ppl didn't inform ur new company ur notice period. And now sudah kantoi. Good luck
kcchong2000
Jun 23 2023, 07:54 PM

QUOTE(westernkl @ Jun 23 2023, 07:52 PM) If company sue me, what benefit do they have? Make u as an example. See how ur boss and HR don't like u.
patienceGNR
Jun 23 2023, 08:00 PM
QUOTE(westernkl @ Jun 23 2023, 07:23 PM) My colleague can, why me cannot? That is not how it works you dimwitted pleb.
Baconateer
Jun 23 2023, 08:04 PM
prepare to pay 1 months and 2 weeks salary.. easy.
error
Jun 23 2023, 08:36 PM
You think company put notice period for fun one issit?