9 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 > » Bottom

U Mobile Broadband : U Home 5G. Is this good?

HumanExtinction
post Jun 23 2023, 03:44 PM

364 posts

QUOTE(tester1979 @ Jun 23 2023, 03:43 PM)
do you know which modem/wifi router that is affordable for the U Home 5G?
The modem reccommended on umobile website are >RM1000 for 5G
not sure about this but i think u can try 4g router and it should work too

4g router are mostly cheaper but i do recommend huawei router. Last time i pair with unifi air really have good experience.

u can try carousell and buy second hand since u not going to use long anyway. after that just sell it back.

This post has been edited by HumanExtinction: Jun 23 2023, 03:45 PM
zerorating
post Jun 23 2023, 03:50 PM

Miskin Adab
975 posts

I'll just have to risk it.
As long as can get > 18Mbps, that is better than any prepaid plan available in the market now.
where's your kampung anyway?
if we talk small village, 5mbps already a godsend. last time i went homestay somewhere near to baling, i get 400kbps.
anyway, adjust your expectation.

This post has been edited by zerorating: Jun 23 2023, 03:54 PM
alexchew_2020
post Jun 23 2023, 03:53 PM

MOD
3,363 posts

do you know which modem/wifi router that is affordable for the U Home 5G?
The modem reccommended on umobile website are >RM1000 for 5G
oem brand cheaper... the one rm8xx abit better performance on 4g n 5g, the rm4xx~5xx performance on 4g is meh, 5g max 300mbps bottom neck.

as is oem so it not as power as it is.

else huawei h112 5g, that day see some let go 2nd rm8xx~9xx. if now got umo legal plan. probably will increase back price brows.gif brows.gif
Iceman74
post Jun 23 2023, 03:53 PM

1,407 posts

better buy a prepaid to test it out first.. if the speed like kura kura.. u cry

last time i test on my office, all show good signal but once indoor.. only celcom and Maxis really can use.. the rest vomit blood

This post has been edited by Iceman74: Jun 23 2023, 03:56 PM
alexchew_2020
post Jun 23 2023, 03:55 PM

MOD
3,363 posts

QUOTE(zerorating @ Jun 23 2023, 03:50 PM)
if we talk small village, 5mbps already a godsend. last time i went homestay somewhere near to baling, i get 400kbps.
mobile internet.. signal and the tower performance still very hard to said or judge..every location is different. it still better buy prepaid to test it out if unsure..

if poor signal of coz speed will drop badly too
if good signal speed cant goes up, 99% tower is congested.

TStester1979
post Jun 23 2023, 03:55 PM

*** O.M.G ***
1,317 posts

QUOTE(zerorating @ Jun 23 2023, 01:50 AM)
one of the towns in kedah. not convenient to share exact location but definitely not small kampung. my area there have 4G LTE for the major service providers.
Just not sure for Umobile.
Steponlego
post Jun 23 2023, 03:57 PM

938 posts

my experience living few years using mobile internet as my main internet connection with digi i150, you will need to invest in a good modem. these days, i don't know what good 5G modem/router available. back then huawei was the best for 4G. need to make sure the data band is compatible and such.

1000GB FUP will be more than enough for regular internet browsing, streaming and occasionally download games. forget about competitive online games, because ping will be high.
Avex
post Jun 23 2023, 03:57 PM

570 posts

wondering will the ip keep changing

This post has been edited by Avex: Jun 23 2023, 03:57 PM
TStester1979
post Jun 23 2023, 03:58 PM

*** O.M.G ***
1,317 posts

QUOTE(HumanExtinction @ Jun 23 2023, 01:44 AM)
not sure about this but i think u can try 4g router and it should work too

4g router are mostly cheaper but i do recommend huawei router. Last time i pair with unifi air really have good experience.

u can try carousell and buy second hand since u not going to use long anyway. after that just sell it back.
hmmmm. If I am going to buy a modem, I'll probably buy 5G. At least in future can still use. If 4G modem, I think I will just use my old phones
zerorating
post Jun 23 2023, 03:58 PM

Miskin Adab
975 posts

QUOTE(tester1979 @ Jun 23 2023, 03:55 PM)
one of the towns in kedah. not convenient to share exact location but definitely not small kampung. my area there have 4G LTE for the major service providers.
Just not sure for Umobile.
town area probably fine, but yeah better be safe than sorry.
i will get myself rm10 prepaid first,subscribe to daily internet package, do a speedtest, if okay then commit to higher internet package.
TStester1979
post Jun 23 2023, 03:59 PM

*** O.M.G ***
1,317 posts

QUOTE(alexchew_2020 @ Jun 23 2023, 01:53 AM)
oem brand cheaper... the one rm8xx abit better performance on 4g n 5g, the rm4xx~5xx performance on 4g is meh, 5g max 300mbps bottom neck.

as is oem so it not as power as it is.

else huawei h112 5g, that day see some let go 2nd rm8xx~9xx. if now got umo legal plan. probably will increase back price  brows.gif  brows.gif
wow! very expensive.

Does anyone know which 5G phone is cheapest? Would the cheap 5G phone perform similar with these 5G modem?
Boy96
post Jun 23 2023, 03:59 PM

That's a tripod.
3,848 posts

Topup rm30 for 2TB
TStester1979
post Jun 23 2023, 04:00 PM

*** O.M.G ***
1,317 posts

QUOTE(Iceman74 @ Jun 23 2023, 01:53 AM)
better buy a prepaid to test it out first.. if the speed like kura kura.. u cry

last time i test on my office, all show good signal but once indoor.. only celcom and Maxis really can use.. the rest vomit blood
haha.
Thanks for the advise.
But as I mentioned, if I am going to spend money on prepaid, might as well just get the actual plan for RM68. Should be no contract for this plan. So I can terminate after 1st month.
TStester1979
post Jun 23 2023, 04:01 PM

*** O.M.G ***
1,317 posts

QUOTE(Steponlego @ Jun 23 2023, 01:57 AM)
my experience living few years using mobile internet as my main internet connection with digi i150, you will need to invest in a good modem. these days, i don't know what good 5G modem/router available. back then huawei was the best for 4G. need to make sure the data band is compatible and such.

1000GB FUP will be more than enough for regular internet browsing, streaming and occasionally download games.  forget about competitive online games, because ping will be high.
thanks for your feedback. will take into consideration to get a modem. but will try with my old phones first.
TStester1979
post Jun 23 2023, 04:02 PM

*** O.M.G ***
1,317 posts

QUOTE(Avex @ Jun 23 2023, 01:57 AM)
wondering will the ip keep changing
what's the issue with dynamic IP?
TStester1979
post Jun 23 2023, 04:03 PM

*** O.M.G ***
1,317 posts

QUOTE(Boy96 @ Jun 23 2023, 01:59 AM)

Topup rm30 for 2TB
oh nice!
Thanks for this. Will ask them when I get the sim card.
RM30 for extra 1000GB is nice.

This post has been edited by tester1979: Jun 23 2023, 04:05 PM
Iceman74
post Jun 23 2023, 04:05 PM

1,407 posts

QUOTE(tester1979 @ Jun 23 2023, 04:00 PM)
haha.
Thanks for the advise.
But as I mentioned, if I am going to spend money on prepaid, might as well just get the actual plan for RM68. Should be no contract for this plan. So I can terminate after 1st month.
it up to u, some telco no contract, some telco got
me lazy go register every time if not work out, if u have time to register each time if not working out, then be my guest
If not, u will be staring at the package for whole 1 month not able to use it laugh.gif

there are area also pattern keluar.. some telco work ok during daytime but at night... no eye see
depending on your peak time among all your neighbours

This post has been edited by Iceman74: Jun 23 2023, 04:08 PM
alexchew_2020
post Jun 23 2023, 04:06 PM

MOD
3,363 posts

QUOTE(tester1979 @ Jun 23 2023, 04:01 PM)
thanks for your feedback. will take into consideration to get a modem. but will try with my old phones first.
modem vs hp..

signal does play some main features too to get good speed n stable connection. if your indoor signal strong. hp probably will be stronger and depends on which modem u invest into it.

for my personal experience on my area. hp signal is weak vs modem. in hp only 2 bar. modem able to get full bar. if sim in hp signal is unstable and internet line will often disconnected. no issue is sim inside modem.

depends on your area. if for future use, better get 5G modem. 4g modem still decent to use for placed dont have 5G yet.

cheap hp, can try get poco f3, f4. decent chipset and get decent speed to. if can root it, is better.
MR_alien
post Jun 23 2023, 04:08 PM

Mr.Alien on the loss
3,582 posts

QUOTE(tester1979 @ Jun 23 2023, 03:13 PM)
thank, just saw that in FAQ for U Home 5G.
Does anyone knows what is the speed after exceed 1000GB?
hardly can reach that per month

few things to consider
1. if u can get fiber, get fiber...the hardware is included
2. make sure your house is covered by U-mobile, their coverage very limited
3. 5G router/modem is not cheap, this one u have to buy yourself

if you're ok on no.2 and 3, your speed should win a lot of fiber out there
ayamxxx
post Jun 23 2023, 04:15 PM

4,061 posts

QUOTE(tester1979 @ Jun 23 2023, 03:20 PM)
That's what i am thinking too. I don't think my usage will be more than 1000GB for 3 weeks. Plan is to use for watching youtube, netflix, WFH and regular browsing.
if use PS5, yes u can. some games got 160 GB, average 60 GB.

9 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 > » Top

0.0219sec    0.77    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 16th December 2025 - 11:18 AM