12 Pages « < 7 8 9 10 11 > » Bottom

Grab biggest layoff since pandemic

lorrydriverrocks
post Jun 20 2023, 10:36 PM

268 posts

QUOTE(-PuPu^ZaPruD3r- @ Jun 20 2023, 02:50 PM)
Tai sei.. Got 1 ex high school friend working for Grab with super high position in Singapore.. Super high pay and lan c after join Grab.. Karma smile.gif
Lay off only those small ciku, then give more money to ur friend in high position. So in the end he can more lanci
TOMEI-R
post Jun 20 2023, 10:48 PM

Extraordinaire
24,228 posts

QUOTE(2feidei @ Jun 20 2023, 10:34 PM)
because for angel investors, VC, wealth funds, etc.....they don't just invest in 1 startup, they will invest in hundreds of startup, then, if out of hundreds, just 1 make money, or go for listing, the one can recover the 99 rugi liou

those who buy after listing, gudluck to u  bye.gif

founder sudah make money from angel investors, VC, wealth funds, etc, angel investors, VC, wealth funds, etc make money buy go listing, exit........u go buy open market, u wait long long lah it become valuable like Microsoft, Apple or Tesla lah....if that ever happen  laugh.gif
Yah... not to mention the "cuts" they take for acquisitions, purchases and even expenditures. whistling.gif

Anyway, maybe you should start your own startup of massage ports. I'm pretty sure many in K would support you for your business acumen. Can start by giving incentives of free "massages" for every investment.

This post has been edited by TOMEI-R: Jun 20 2023, 10:49 PM
SUS2feidei
post Jun 20 2023, 10:50 PM

Ayam tatau, ayam virgin (c)
3,158 posts

QUOTE(TOMEI-R @ Jun 20 2023, 10:48 PM)
Yah... not to mention the "cuts" they take for acquisitions, purchases and even expenditures.  whistling.gif

Anyway, maybe you should start your own startup of massage ports. I'm pretty sure many in K would support you for your business acumen.  Can start by giving incentives of free "massages" for every investment.
topkek....u want me to scam ktard isit? laugh.gif
forgotoldlogin
post Jun 20 2023, 10:52 PM

198 posts

So funny when all this tech companies come in with a bang, what to disrupt this and that but end of can’t make money. Even sell nasi lemak makes more profit. No need to disrupt anything
TOMEI-R
post Jun 20 2023, 10:52 PM

Extraordinaire
24,228 posts

QUOTE(2feidei @ Jun 20 2023, 10:50 PM)
topkek....u want me to scam ktard isit?  laugh.gif
*Ahem* Its called an Investment.

This post has been edited by TOMEI-R: Jun 20 2023, 10:54 PM
SUS2feidei
post Jun 20 2023, 10:53 PM

3,158 posts

QUOTE(TOMEI-R @ Jun 20 2023, 10:52 PM)
*Ahem* It's called an Investment.
investment is when ada return, ini investment tarak return punya laugh.gif
SUS2feidei
post Jun 20 2023, 10:54 PM

3,158 posts

QUOTE(forgotoldlogin @ Jun 20 2023, 10:52 PM)
So funny when all this tech companies come in with a bang, what to disrupt this and that but end of can’t make money. Even sell nasi lemak makes more profit. No need to disrupt anything
coz they sell u a dream, not way to make money laugh.gif

if they sell u way to make money, then, how the founder can make money? tongue.gif
TOMEI-R
post Jun 20 2023, 10:59 PM

Extraordinaire
24,228 posts

QUOTE(forgotoldlogin @ Jun 20 2023, 10:52 PM)
Yes. The worst part is they kill of traditional businesses which have been providing goods and services all these while. Do not make the same mistake like we did in killing off taxis completely.

QUOTE(2feidei @ Jun 20 2023, 10:53 PM)
investment is when ada return, ini investment tarak return punya  laugh.gif
Well, the general public can get cheaper massages subsidized by investor money for a short period of time. And how the whole industry is run gets turned around. So I guess that's the "return" we are talking about.
SUS2feidei
post Jun 20 2023, 11:04 PM

3,158 posts

QUOTE(TOMEI-R @ Jun 20 2023, 10:59 PM)
Yes. The worst part is they kill of traditional businesses which have been providing goods and services all these while. Do not make the same mistake like we did in killing off taxis completely.
Well, the general public can get cheaper massages subsidized by investor money for a short period of time. And how the whole industry is run gets turned around. So I guess that's the "return" we are talking about.
taxis is nuisance should be killed off long long time, at least here in malaysia.....never use meter, choose destination, etc....worst of the worst

and, while u so good at it, why don't u launch the biz laugh.gif
SUSGHBZDK
post Jun 20 2023, 11:20 PM

173 posts

time to yeet from the sinking ship to the next vc funded company.
i tot one cofounder not involved anymore no?

This post has been edited by GHBZDK: Jun 20 2023, 11:21 PM
delphine.88
post Jun 20 2023, 11:39 PM

143 posts

Ok la. Restructure get some money to invest in digital bank.
Else where to find money to lend later
keybearer
post Jun 20 2023, 11:56 PM

409 posts

QUOTE(TOMEI-R @ Jun 20 2023, 11:59 PM)
What if the investors are EPF, KWAP, LTAT, Khazanah, etc. though? sweat.gif
Optizorb
post Jun 21 2023, 12:13 AM

1,261 posts

btw those 1k grab employees got laid off, can go become grab drivers now.

then they get to experience their own sohainess first-hand and get to experience what drivers always faced when dealing with them laugh.gif whistling.gif

also i hope the rakan grab fb admin is one of them.

This post has been edited by Optizorb: Jun 21 2023, 12:14 AM
jack2
post Jun 21 2023, 12:15 AM

Mr
15,192 posts

when is shopee turns?
yhtan
post Jun 21 2023, 12:16 AM

8,653 posts

QUOTE(silverhawk @ Jun 20 2023, 06:35 PM)
Hope your wife has a speedy recovery man
Their overhead costs are damn high la laugh.gif

You think the tech that runs the entire thing is cheap? You think can just spin up a cloud server and be done with it?

Not to mention the cost of support to handle all the operational woes.
Their service is not a luxury game, good reliable service is not that important compared to cheap fares. To succeed, they need volume, which is why they fought hard against Uber in the early years. See who got more marketing budget to burn, winner takes all.

You don't think they know your perspective? Its valid, but it won't make them money and eventually they will die if follow what you say. They have the data to derive decisions from, they know which prices consumers can accept and what they can't. Don't be surprised if prices were A/B tested in large numbers to compare.

The stupid thing they're doing is squeezing their riders/drivers which is the life blood of the company. Without them, nothing runs. Their new rates are ridiculous, though I can see what they're trying to do. I think its the wrong move. The layoffs are to be expected, its happening to all major companies around the world.

Serious talk though, the kind of business Grab is in, is a really tough business to get working. Balancing the 3 pillars (customer, rider & self) is extremely difficult. One pillar sure kena tekan like shiet.
That's the problem with Grab, they rely too much on data and did not consult with direct stakeholders. Now u recruit so many keluar pattern driver and jeopardize their own reputation and service quality.

QUOTE(Brotherjoe @ Jun 20 2023, 07:43 PM)
Rush hours still very hard to find grab car.. missed the pre pandermic time..
3am still find get grab car to penang airport. Now macam very hard.
Siapa mau buat 3am job with this ciput low fare, reach Penang airport then bangau for don't know how long only can get a job out. Some more midnight job is tough with far pick up, can goes up easily 5-10km just to pick up.

QUOTE(alexandersuk @ Jun 20 2023, 08:05 PM)
All grab drivers have moved to in drive.
optizorb tengok ini cincai comment, as if indriver sudah become no.1 laugh.gif

QUOTE(Lembu Goreng @ Jun 20 2023, 10:34 PM)
11% is huge number, i think since starting they have not fire staff like this big scale, must be pressure from the shareholders especially softbank.
yhtan
post Jun 21 2023, 12:18 AM

8,653 posts

QUOTE(GHBZDK @ Jun 20 2023, 11:20 PM)
time to yeet from the sinking ship to the next vc funded company.
i tot one cofounder not involved anymore no?
tan hooi ling macam mau quit by end of this year, i think she don't have the capability to manage this amount of staff.

QUOTE(Optizorb @ Jun 21 2023, 12:13 AM)
btw those 1k grab employees got laid off, can go become grab drivers now.

then they get to experience their own sohainess first-hand and get to experience what drivers always faced when dealing with them  laugh.gif whistling.gif

also i hope the rakan grab fb admin is one of them.
itu rakan grab admin only approve positive post, those negative to grab confirm won't post up punya whistling.gif
SUSSihambodoh
post Jun 21 2023, 12:24 AM

436 posts

QUOTE(silverhawk @ Jun 20 2023, 06:35 PM)
Hope your wife has a speedy recovery man
Their overhead costs are damn high la laugh.gif

You think the tech that runs the entire thing is cheap? You think can just spin up a cloud server and be done with it?

Not to mention the cost of support to handle all the operational woes.
Their service is not a luxury game, good reliable service is not that important compared to cheap fares. To succeed, they need volume, which is why they fought hard against Uber in the early years. See who got more marketing budget to burn, winner takes all.

You don't think they know your perspective? Its valid, but it won't make them money and eventually they will die if follow what you say. They have the data to derive decisions from, they know which prices consumers can accept and what they can't. Don't be surprised if prices were A/B tested in large numbers to compare.

The stupid thing they're doing is squeezing their riders/drivers which is the life blood of the company. Without them, nothing runs. Their new rates are ridiculous, though I can see what they're trying to do. I think its the wrong move. The layoffs are to be expected, its happening to all major companies around the world.

Serious talk though, the kind of business Grab is in, is a really tough business to get working. Balancing the 3 pillars (customer, rider & self) is extremely difficult. One pillar sure kena tekan like shiet.
Using the term "A/B tested" already shows you have dabbled in marketing quite a bit.

Another point to add is Grab probably over extended themselves. During the pandemic almost everyone was ordering food but nowadays people rarely do that. So it makes sense to trim the fat first and find other sources of income.
Vinci777
post Jun 21 2023, 12:28 AM

No Title
1,616 posts

Gonna see more Ex-Grab title in Linkedin soon
louiszzz
post Jun 21 2023, 08:29 AM

60 posts

QUOTE(JimbeamofNRT @ Jun 20 2023, 06:47 PM)
this kind of co also can get US$100M funds from investor  doh.gif
lol funny joke is they done retrenchment then found out that they use more money than expected so now they change the plan to change the employee policy and also KPI which impossible to do it one

in cantonese they say dun have so big head but want wear so big helmet

now the property agent try to boikot them and also like those small competitor *Edge prop or Mudah Prop also do better and well than propertyguru and iproperty

and the viewership and lead from propertyguru and iproperty are dropping tremendous , internal everyone know this but they just keep blame this to like too many holiday and also market issue.

they try hard to cover everything
JimbeamofNRT
post Jun 21 2023, 08:39 AM

the Original Lanji@_ Chicken Rice Shop Since 2002
1,902 posts

QUOTE(louiszzz @ Jun 21 2023, 08:29 AM)

lol funny joke is they done retrenchment then found out that they use more money than expected so now they change the plan to change the employee policy and also KPI which impossible to do it one

in cantonese they say dun have so big head but want wear so big helmet

now the property agent try to boikot them and also like those small competitor *Edge prop or Mudah Prop also do better and well than propertyguru and iproperty

and the viewership and lead from propertyguru and iproperty are dropping tremendous , internal everyone know this but they just keep blame this to like too many holiday and also market issue.

they try hard to cover everything
and they think AI stuff can do everything that human can do one is it?

like I said lah , all these co top management are very good at TKSS, doing flowery presentations and all, but when the result came in? whistling.gif

12 Pages « < 7 8 9 10 11 > » Top

0.0237sec    0.67    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 21st December 2025 - 10:53 PM