lucifah
post Mar 7 2012, 11:08 PM

St. Fu
7,948 posts

QUOTE(masz94 @ Mar 7 2012, 10:58 PM)
Yes... Say example... ur bike need 2 litres of oil... When u fill in the oil, the oils will be at the oil pan... exactly 2 litres... U'll see it at high level... when ur un the engine... The crankshaft will (stir ?)the oil to coat the cylinder wall & Piston...

So ur oil level, maybe left around 1.2 litres.... Imagine what happened if u top up 0.8 litres of oil... The total oil level will be around 2.8 litre....

0.8 litre more than the required amount....

When u wanna start the bike later, u will have problem... oil expands when heated....when the oil level is too high.. the oil will start penetrating the combustion chamber through the piston ring... then black/grey smoke will come out of ur exhaust & ur air filter will be soaked with oil... Oil will also leak from ur air filter... A lot....

To solve this, u have to do top overhaul.... shocking.gif

So if ur bike were cooled down before u measure the level, atleast there will be 1.8-1.9 litres of oil resting at the oil pan... So if u top up 100 ml or so, the engine won't be effected....
So it's better for us to wait the engine to cool down....  laugh.gif

Hope this helps...
QUOTE(monaz @ Mar 7 2012, 11:03 PM)
start the bike for few minutes, say 3 minutes. Off the engine and wait another few minutes until the engine oil settle down. Look atthe glass. Oil level should between maximum and minimum. I mean in the middle of max and min indication
thanks for the replies. i've just checked, and u guys are right. the oil level is now correct, after the engine has cooled down, and when it's on upright position

now still geram coz can't race the engine past 4k rpm mark - break in period. soo slow...
lucifah
post Mar 7 2012, 11:27 PM

St. Fu
7,948 posts

QUOTE(monaz @ Mar 7 2012, 11:16 PM)
sorry cant remember what is your new bike  hmm.gif

entry level er6-n 2012

the most funniest thing is i ran out of gas just after speeding out from a traffic light

engine sputtered, and died suddenly. in the middle of the road. soooo malu

guess i was too excited riding it out of the shop and just forgot to fill up the tank.

end up have to push the bike to the side of the road, walk 5 mins (luckily) to the nearest shell station and fill up an empty mineral bottle with some petrol.

damn malu.

the only saving grace is i didn't wear a full face helmet.

QUOTE(T600 @ Mar 7 2012, 11:17 PM)
4000rpm for 1000km, that's going to bored your leg shut lol... engine break-in is old skool and also a myth. maybe you can just ride it the way you are going to ride it later...

the manual booklet recommends break in

i've done break-in's for some of my cars for the past few yrs, and until now, the mecahnics are still at awe how wonderful my car engine is after all those years

so i guess i have to suck up the boredom and stay at the 4k rpm line for a while... perhaps gonna take a leisure ride this weekend to rake up some few hundred km's... wink.gif

edit: but i have to agree with your article at some point. my new asx, changing the oil after the critical first 1,000km - the oil is ultra clean. it's almost transpaernt in color (fully synthethic 5w oil)

This post has been edited by lucifah: Mar 7 2012, 11:29 PM
lucifah
post Mar 11 2012, 12:29 PM

St. Fu
7,948 posts

guys,

how important is sticking on a tank pad?

i know it's more to aesthetic thingy, but is it necessary to have one to avoid scuffing the tank?

plus, there's so many variety of tank pads, and most of them looks the same (carbon look vinyl), but prices varies from rm 15 to 100+

i know some are imitation, but does it make any difference slapping on a rm 30 tank pad and a rm 90 one? i mean, they are just vinyl stickers, right?

lucifah
post Mar 11 2012, 10:27 PM

St. Fu
7,948 posts

QUOTE(ikiey @ Mar 11 2012, 08:59 PM)
About the same as mine also, small2 only...
About rev matching, ---> Clutch in, (gear down+blip throtle), n then release clutch... With practice, damn syiok w0o0o...
release the clutch slowly or just let it go?

lucifah
post Mar 11 2012, 10:41 PM

St. Fu
7,948 posts

QUOTE(T600 @ Mar 11 2012, 10:36 PM)
now everybody is a throttle blipper now  brows.gif
it's more like me getting annoyed with sudden decelaration / lurching when shifting down the gears at very low rpm

need to learn how and when to release the clutch, at very low rpm (damn break in period!)

lucifah
post Mar 11 2012, 11:03 PM

St. Fu
7,948 posts

that is sad... RIP

and how ironic, just after a post about a hot lady on a bike on a track... and still, i want to know whose wife is that?
lucifah
post Mar 13 2012, 10:45 AM

St. Fu
7,948 posts

QUOTE(sanosizo @ Mar 13 2012, 09:55 AM)
twin = more and quicker torque?
i4 = top speed?

triumph = best of both?
not to mention 4 cylinder engines sounds very nice

while a twin will sound like a mesin jahit... nod.gif

lucifah
post Mar 14 2012, 12:18 AM

St. Fu
7,948 posts

my 1st few days of riding the er6-n, i get better treatment at the petrol station. LOL!

before this, i was on a scooter, and they boh layan one

today, even the cute pump girl smile at me...

riding a big cc bike is nice... biggrin.gif biggrin.gif biggrin.gif

lucifah
post Mar 14 2012, 11:28 AM

St. Fu
7,948 posts

QUOTE(monaz @ Mar 14 2012, 01:49 AM)
Btw, petrol at my place is 1 riyal for premium (RM0.80). Super is 0.80 (around RM0.60 maybe)  wub.gif
dang... that's very affordable

here, i can only afford ron 95. incidentally, the ron95 pump is yellow in color biggrin.gif

Added on March 14, 2012, 11:30 am
QUOTE(phobian @ Mar 14 2012, 09:12 AM)
Congrats on your new 6n. Just remember, riding this big CC bikes is not about speed but more towards control and manoeuvring at low speeds.

roger that bro. since going from scooter, (both brakes are using hand levers), i almost always forgot to use the rear brake (foot pedal) on the bike... luckily, instict got the best of me, and managed to avoid some embarassing possible sliding moments at very low speed (1st gear, clutch play, no throttle) weaving in and out of heavy, standing still traffic

This post has been edited by lucifah: Mar 14 2012, 11:30 AM
lucifah
post Mar 17 2012, 06:10 AM

St. Fu
7,948 posts

guys, again, i need your advice

how do you people handle that very annoying "engine braking"?

you know when you just release the accelerator when going into a corner, or trying to slow down, you release the throttle. then the bike will start to lurch forward, because of engine braking

do you people just let it be, or in my case, i pull the clutch, and let it "coast freely"?

is my technique correct? will it cause more harm than good (i.e. wearing out the clutch plate faster?) or will i thrash the new gearbox faster?

also, when you guys when stopping at traffic lights (or any kind of stops), downshift to neutral while the bike is slowing down, or when the bike has completely stopped?

advice. advice.

This post has been edited by lucifah: Mar 17 2012, 06:12 AM
lucifah
post Mar 17 2012, 10:42 AM

St. Fu
7,948 posts

QUOTE(NoobboyZzZ @ Mar 17 2012, 07:31 AM)
drive it like manual car  laugh.gif
btw i ride my clutch motor , normally i will put it N before reach or jus release the clutch and wait traffic
engine braking cant do much nid ask the taiko since V engine have more engine braking if i aint wrong
QUOTE(T600 @ Mar 17 2012, 10:33 AM)
+1

learn to feather the clutch, do not dump the clutch at some point... assume you have clocked less than 100km, give yourself some time, I'm actually became a better rider after 3000km mark, everything seems smoother, clutch releases, throttle control at low speed, feathering the clutch at very low speed while filtering traffic etc...

ER6 is very smooth at low speed, it is almost impossible to stall the engine at very low rpm... unlike inline four cylinders engine, you have to rev above 3000rpm to be able to fully release the clutch, if not it will shudder like it is about to stall lol...
erm... points taken

so, my riding style of pulling the clutch to "coast" the bike during corners or when slowing down is not correct?

if you ask me to drive it like a manual car, that's how i drove them - but some ppl say the way i drive, though comfortable (no jerking), is not good for the clutch plates...

pls give some more sage advise, bro... for a newbie like me... blush.gif

p/s T600: it's 350km now. but lots of very short rides (less than a few km's). have to find some lubricants for the chain now. bike is super dirty as it's been wet and rainy days for the past few days...

edit drill: bike installed with rear seat cover. cost rm 780. to buy or not to buy? since i'm forever alone at the moment, so no waifu or gaifu to tag along

This post has been edited by lucifah: Mar 17 2012, 11:37 AM
lucifah
post Mar 17 2012, 02:00 PM

St. Fu
7,948 posts

QUOTE(phobian @ Mar 17 2012, 12:28 PM)
Lucifah, get use to it. Personally, i prefer bike with stronger engine raking rather than relying heavily on brakes to slow down. Just make sure u get to the right gear and powerband to negotiate through a corner.

If u put the seat cowl, how are you going to take te cute girl at the gas station for a ride? I find the 6n/f's rear seat the best compared to Zs. I would say keep it. The seat cowl is just aesthetic.
but... but... it just looks sooo nice on the bike... nod.gif - i mean BOTH the seat cowl, and the cute girl (on the bike) wub.gif

anyway all guys, thanks for all your advice

still need to learn how to ride properly, esp when i'm still not comfortable with the bike weight, gear changes and clutch play, and those massive double disc brakes, slippery when wet (my ego 125lc front disk is smaller than the er6-n's rear!)
lucifah
post Mar 18 2012, 12:41 AM

St. Fu
7,948 posts

QUOTE(whatsupbro @ Mar 18 2012, 12:00 AM)
guys... ducati launching their 848 streetfighter on monday... anyone goin?
how much does it cost?

fell in love with that bike, but with the money i have, the er6-n is the closest i can get
lucifah
post Mar 20 2012, 01:05 AM

St. Fu
7,948 posts

planning to get a paddock stand (easier to clean bike + lubricate the chain)

1. is it necessary to install bobbins first?
2. any difference between cheap rm20+ bobbins and rm50+ bobbins?
3. any difference between rm150+ paddock stand and rm300+ stand?

lucifah
post Mar 22 2012, 09:28 AM

St. Fu
7,948 posts

guys,

after 2 weeks from a complete noob on clutch & gear bike, i noticed i can sometime change gears (upshift & downshift) without even engaging the clutch, and it feels very smooth

what exactly happened? will it cost damages to the clutch plates / gear cog teeths ?
lucifah
post Mar 22 2012, 11:12 AM

St. Fu
7,948 posts

QUOTE(masz94 @ Mar 22 2012, 10:06 AM)
DO not downshift without using the clutch...... Upshift can.....
most of the times, i forgot to engage the clutch before shifting, sweat.gif

and may i know why i can upshift, but not downshift w/o clutch?

QUOTE(whatsupbro @ Mar 22 2012, 10:52 AM)
hey hey... esok Paul Senior of Orange County Chopper will unveil the 1 Malaysia Chopper at PWTC..

Im going.. anyone coming.. free event ma... hahah.. biggrin.gif  whistling.gif

http://malaysianriders.wordpress.com/2012/...laysia-chopper/
http://www.facebook.com/events/397879813574247/
btw.. anyone here have a newly bought bike that is KAW KAW Standard.. are u willing to lend it to us for a video review?? sad.gif

it's hard being a poor Motorcycle News organization for now.. anyone..  icon_question.gif  icon_question.gif
will mention ur name in credits la  rclxms.gif  rclxms.gif
i have a kaw-kaw stock er6-n, but you already made a review on it wink.gif

another 1M branded thingy? seriously? yesterday it was gas cylinder. now a chopper? what relevance does it has to out flailing economy? another smokescreen by govt? (ara... sorry for some political emotions in a bike thread)

This post has been edited by lucifah: Mar 22 2012, 11:13 AM
lucifah
post Mar 24 2012, 02:46 PM

St. Fu
7,948 posts

QUOTE(masz94 @ Mar 24 2012, 02:18 PM)
Yeah... rempit ruins the bike name.... Me won't even consider the bike.. sad case....  sad.gif

Since my mech informed that my guzzi won't be ready soon... sad.gif

I'm planning to buy a 150cc bike for my commute.... Wanna pass down my Lagenda 1110R to my bro....

Sadly RR is out of the list....
how many 1's your lagenda has?

all the time, i only see 110cc lagenda, aka 110R

i have yet to see 1,110cc lagenda 1110R like yours

and also alang2 la u get a 150cc bike. seriously, you'll feel it very underpowered

not bragging, but after just 2 weeks of riding a 650cc bike, and i got back to ride my 12hp ego 125LC - it feels seriously underpowered! halp!

This post has been edited by lucifah: Mar 24 2012, 02:47 PM
lucifah
post Mar 24 2012, 07:18 PM

St. Fu
7,948 posts

just bough a paddock stand and installed a pair of bobbin pins on my er6-n

bike already at 350km (!!!), so need to lube the chains, hence the need for the stands

made lots of deep scratches on the lower swingarm, trying and learning how to use the stand alone sad.gif

but when it's properly up, lubing the chain and cleaning the bike seems soo much easier and more accessible biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by lucifah: Mar 24 2012, 07:18 PM
lucifah
post Mar 26 2012, 12:26 PM

St. Fu
7,948 posts

QUOTE(T600 @ Mar 26 2012, 11:39 AM)

hmmm lol...
looks ugly and has nothing special at all - no single disctintive and outstanding feature that showcase malaysia - except for the fugly paintjob

dunno how much NAZA spent on this bike? should be a good rm300 - 400k

and after that, they will get "tax exemption" from govt as this will considered as CSR and charity

so clever...

on another note, anybody knows where i can get hold of nolan n104 helmets in malaysia? including postage?
lucifah
post Mar 26 2012, 10:16 PM

St. Fu
7,948 posts

QUOTE(kapalterbang_737 @ Mar 26 2012, 06:39 PM)
Scary man..could cause death yo  sweat.gif

shit man,,,

that's one fvcked up woman driver

no respect at all to bikers

i have to agree that she must have done something in the first place that caused the biker to kick her car

i hope she gets some serious jail time for attempted murder

have to admit, this video got me on my nerves - as a biker, and a car driver, and as a public road user myself

Added on March 26, 2012, 10:33 pm
QUOTE(dvng @ Mar 26 2012, 09:00 PM)
Nolan 104 can obtain from Mecinda or NSK, Sentul selling at RM1200.
thanks. got any contact no for the shops? how reliable are the shops?

i'm afraid i'd get a high grade replica, rather than the real deal as many helmet manufacturer now have turned to china for their low and mid level helmets...

always prefer italian - if not the bike, then just the boots and helmets ok lar... hehehehe

This post has been edited by lucifah: Mar 26 2012, 10:33 PM

9 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Top

0.0566sec    0.53    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 1st December 2025 - 08:27 PM