lucifah
post May 31 2012, 07:47 PM

St. Fu
7,948 posts

QUOTE(qqmeng @ May 31 2012, 06:12 PM)
k....  got it... maybe i shld go for a used Er6 eh? well... fair enough....

thx guys smile.gif
but don't fall into the same trap like many newbies i've seen

ER6 is a TWIN cylinder engine, and doesn't sound like the "normal" superbike you always hear

those are FOUR cylinder engine, producing a higher pitch engine noise, which is synonim to big bike

the twin cylinder engine noise is akin to a sewing machine

be warned, and don't be dissapointed.

i saw 2 guys in my hometown who ditched their versys 650 and er6-n for Z750 and Z1000 respectively after barely a few weeks as they did not expect the engine noise to be so so like tat one

as for me, i'm happy with whatever sound the er6-n produces. at high speed, u only hear the wind noise.

Added on May 31, 2012, 7:51 pm
QUOTE(technosakai @ May 31 2012, 06:46 PM)
Well, I think getting a Er6 is more than enough? It has the power for urban riding. Good power out of turns.. can go on the highway with top speed 200+ That's enough of speed to be on the highway... Can take the bike up to Genting or Cameron to layan corners...  No need to get such a high powered bike like the ZX6R right?? Well just my opinion. What do you guys think? Of course, getting a bike like ZX6R or any high powered bike is your choice cuz your money. What I'm saying here is just for everyday commuting and weekend TT or something like that. smile.gif
the bike might be able to go that fast

but when u reach 160, 180 - you will feel like being thrown out the bike, as the wind resistance is very violent on a naked bike

even at 140 ur shoulders are strained as you try to hold the bike

This post has been edited by lucifah: May 31 2012, 07:51 PM
lucifah
post May 31 2012, 08:02 PM

St. Fu
7,948 posts

QUOTE(qqmeng @ May 31 2012, 08:01 PM)
1) i am aware of the "Pitch", well i think i can bear with it.... ok... i think my EGO can handle it tongue.gif

2) my intention is to travel outstation with it. oh... FYI, i m from kuantan, n i travel to KL pretty often... so i thot i cld ride there once a while... but man! only at +-140km/hr? i m not sure how to survive at tht speed... my average driving speed is around 160-180km/hr depending on which car i drive.... at 140km/hr?? now i hv to think twice...

anyway thx again... it really helps...
the ER6-F shouldn't have that problem as it has plenty iof fairings

i was talking about the nakerd ER6-N
lucifah
post May 31 2012, 08:12 PM

St. Fu
7,948 posts

QUOTE(qqmeng @ May 31 2012, 08:04 PM)
ah...ok.. i thot it applies to all naked .... pheeew
err... all naked bikes will have this kind of problem, unless you have very big muscles to hold onto the bike

i think you misunderstood something here. there are two version of ER6

ER6-n, naked

ER6-f, faired

lucifah
post May 31 2012, 08:22 PM

St. Fu
7,948 posts

QUOTE(qqmeng @ May 31 2012, 08:17 PM)
so basically these 2 are the same, except for the fairing, hence ER6-"f", right?

[b]so am i safe to say tht any naked bike, once it is faired, the problem of the wind resistance will be very much minimize ? [b/]

sorry i m a true noob here
this one you have to ask pro.

i oso noob. only been riding for 3 months or so only
lucifah
post May 31 2012, 10:15 PM

St. Fu
7,948 posts

QUOTE(phobian @ May 31 2012, 09:22 PM)
I agree that if you ride on a 3/4 upright position at speeds of 180 km/h above, the rider would take a massive toll of wind resistance to his body, shoulders and legs. But maybe it is just me and I got used to it and it does not bother me at all.

I stand tall at 165cm weighting 67kgs, average Asian built with bulging stomach due to excessive entertainment. Due to my average built size, I would tuck in completely in a race-like position where my helmet view port is just right in front of me. The screen I am using on my Z1000 is not even bubble-d comparing to Powerbronze or similar to sports bike type double bubble. I could go on like that without feeling stress until I run out of fuel. Again, maybe it is due to the adrenaline rush gunning the highway at 250km/h.

qqmeng - just go with the Z1000SX. You cant go wrong with that.
you sir, have balls of steel

i am almost the same built as you are, plus a bit of belly pot (again, due to same reason), and i can't even past 140 until now. lutut ketar. like jelly i tell you

lucifah
post May 31 2012, 11:43 PM

St. Fu
7,948 posts

QUOTE(qqmeng @ May 31 2012, 10:54 PM)
Tht makes three of us... About the same build! Same height ...

And as u see, diff ppl hv diff point of view ... Hahaha.... I m back to square one! LOL
my er6-n is my daily ride to office, in urban traffic, thus i need a street bike

my 1st choice was a ducati streetfighter, but alas, my first budget is only as big as a 2nd hand er6-n

but when i 1st saw the 2012 er6-n in nov last year, there's no turning back.
lucifah
post Jun 1 2012, 11:59 PM

St. Fu
7,948 posts

QUOTE(ewan8811 @ Jun 1 2012, 11:19 PM)
Lucifah, you Mirian? I once rode with my dad using the Z750 with LeoVince GP exhaust & my dad using Harley, the sound of my bike gone because of my dad's harley xD
nor mirian. but siburian laugh.gif

well, whatever exhaust you have, when a harley rides by, it's gonna win hands down on the noise department whistling.gif

my neighbor like to rev his harley glide and when he does that, many car alarms will sound off

aiya...

but very nice thumping sound
lucifah
post Jun 2 2012, 12:14 AM

St. Fu
7,948 posts

QUOTE(ewan8811 @ Jun 2 2012, 12:03 AM)
Yeap. Hahahah. In my neighbourhood everytime my dad start the bike for sure lots of alarm will go off xD Pandei klaka sarawak?
pande jak ku kelaka. mun sik, bukan org serawak namanya. lepeh ku nunggah. wink.gif

QUOTE(masz94 @ Jun 2 2012, 12:04 AM)

Wah...a lot of young ppl here... me 18 u 20... got others young too....  shocking.gif
me old fag. when 20 oso no money to buy a cheap ordinary cub bike.
lucifah
post Jun 2 2012, 09:31 AM

St. Fu
7,948 posts

QUOTE(ewan8811 @ Jun 2 2012, 01:37 AM)
Yeap, fell in love with it after I saw one of my dad's friend using it. Here's the photo of ex-Z750

woah... kuching bikes. kau d kuching kah pok?

and a white M3 in the back. sweet ride.
lucifah
post Jun 4 2012, 08:40 AM

St. Fu
7,948 posts

QUOTE(Narako @ Jun 4 2012, 12:45 AM)
is there any two cylinder bike that has a sportbike styling like r6.

is blade 650r the only one?
ER6-F

Ninja 250

Blade 250

Megelli 250

lucifah
post Jun 5 2012, 01:49 PM

St. Fu
7,948 posts

QUOTE(junbecks @ Jun 5 2012, 09:41 AM)
hi Bro

While its true that the 650F looks more like a supersport (only slightly) the added fairings really dont add much to the aerodynamics of the bike. As some have mentioned here (and speaking from experience as I'm about 184cm) the upright seating of the ER6F really makes it a faired-street bike.

The 650F and 250R are bro and sister, they have the same purposes.
Everyday Ergonomic Riding.
Suitable turning radii for traffic jam scenarios
and good fuel economy.

The naughty naked sister is the 6N. This one probably shines less during highway runs but if 130-140 is what you like doing, it will do it just fine. (strengthen your arms a bit)

Dont worry about the in-line 2 cylinder sounds because once you reach 5000-7000 rpms it still screams like nobody's business (stock exhaust)
Parking the bike maybe you wont be showing off the sound so much.  tongue.gif

So I fully support getting either of the ER's. They're really great for beginners.

P/S: Bikes of any kind have crap aerodynamics. Not because of the bike, but because there is a rider on the bike. So really the bigger factor in determining how smooth and fast the bike can go, is its power delivery and those fat tyres.
most ppl would be very concerned by the noise from a twin

but you are right. at very high rpm, it still screams, and even with stock exhaust, can still make heads turn

Added on June 5, 2012, 1:54 pm
QUOTE(qqmeng @ Jun 5 2012, 10:34 AM)
i was thinking of hitting the highway once a while ... so i thot the fairing might help a lil ....

judging from the way i drive i doubt i ll be happy with 130-140 .... maybe 160km...

so i think i m safe to presume tht ER6-f is a better option for me ya?

seriously, i prefer ER-6n for its "naked" look ... but ER6-f is a lil more practical for me..... i hope.....
i tell you, driving a car at 160/h is nothing like riding a bike at 140km/h

at least for me (a newbie some more), at speeds exceeding 140, your senses are overwhelmed - you feel nervous, there's no comfort of walls to protect you should you fvck up, the wind noise is deafening, and your sweaty palms (inside thick gloves) make you grip your handlebars more. it's difficult to breath since air moves too fast, your body is pushed to the back even you do a semi full crouch, and even the slightest twitch of the body makes the bike jolt

trust me. i can still do 180km/h in a car with just over 100bpm heart rate, but doing 120 - 140 on a bike, it jumped to > 150bpm... maybe more. don't even dare to glance to the wristwatch when doing that speed.

This post has been edited by lucifah: Jun 5 2012, 01:54 PM
lucifah
post Jun 6 2012, 12:13 AM

St. Fu
7,948 posts

QUOTE(preakzz @ Jun 5 2012, 06:10 PM)
judging from the price, looks like a foreign registered bike. most probably singapore registered bike

yes, you can get it cheap. but is it worth it? consider COE, and also JPJ kacau...

QUOTE(farique @ Jun 5 2012, 09:12 PM)
late for work? tongue.gif

the er6-n has built in digital clock on the tachometer wink.gif

the wristwatch is the heart rate monitor nod.gif - too afraid to glance at it as cannot take eyes off the road when doing 140 liao. balls pun kecut.
lucifah
post Jun 6 2012, 10:21 AM

St. Fu
7,948 posts

QUOTE(junbecks @ Jun 6 2012, 09:31 AM)
If he were sincere, he wouldnt censor this number plate. after all, if nothing to hide, why need to censor?
actually, the last sentence, "100% legal" is the giveaway already

why must say 100%? got 90% legal also ka?

it's definitely an outcast bike, that's why selling at very attractive price... wink.gif
lucifah
post Jun 6 2012, 04:12 PM

St. Fu
7,948 posts

QUOTE(junbecks @ Jun 6 2012, 03:44 PM)
I think I've lost my desire for high speed. Maybe I'm old? just 27 actually.
I started to like motorbikes when I was 7. When I bought (grandmother bought) a diecast model Harley Davidson Fatboy for me.
It was heaven. LOL
Till today, I've always had a thing for cruisers.

If money wasnt an issue, I'd like to try out the 883 series.
But in Malaysia this is just a dream. I actually plan to move elsewhere to settle down with my ma'am. There, prices are pretty much the same as in the US however maintenance is still not cheap.

But by then, my backbone probably wont be happy with an 883. So I might like to try the Super Glide series.

Guess this is best to be in another topic, not in superbike lounge.
move over to sarawak and buy from brunei

that's what most owners here do. 3 monthly renew pass, use runner. no problem with JPJ / police since brunei license plate now looks like Selangor plates (i.e. BXX XXXX)

my neighbor is riding a super large ass ultra glide, like the one used by sultan johor. the noise is just awesome.
lucifah
post Jun 6 2012, 08:36 PM

St. Fu
7,948 posts

QUOTE(ewan8811 @ Jun 6 2012, 04:45 PM)
Yeap, agreed with Lucifah  brows.gif Lucifah, your neighbor is owner of Razz Chopper? btw, you going to BIIBBF in Pontianak?
wah... this razz chopper guy is sure very famous until LYN ppl also know him

yep, he's my neighbor (in business lar, since his kopitiam is besde my bra shop

no, can't join the tri-nation ride. never join any riding group oso, even though got a few invitation

why i wanna ride my office bike so far one? got car, nicer to drive ma... bike i use cos fastest way thru trafffic... wink.gif

QUOTE(icecolddamncold @ Jun 6 2012, 04:47 PM)
any idea what's the rough cost for renewing monthly pass + commission to runner?

what if police/JPJ blocked, we just show the pass can d?

i heard nowadays there are stricter rules governing brunei vehicles entering sarawak itself d wor hmm.gif not sure how strict it is just that a lot of hassle when wants to bring one in..
more than half of the superbike population in my town is brunei registered, due to its very attractive prices... so i dun think the fees are expensive or the enforcemetn even bothered to check,y yet
lucifah
post Jun 6 2012, 09:59 PM

St. Fu
7,948 posts

QUOTE(ewan8811 @ Jun 6 2012, 09:56 PM)
Me? I've been riding with them for 3 years dy but not on my own bike but InsyaAllah next year I thinking getting my own. hopefully i can cause price here so damn expensive.
get from brunei la bro...

brand spanking new R6 is just about 15k BND there

alphard di siggie ya kau empun juak kah? wah... org loaded tok. alin kali ku ke miri ku nyuroh kau spon.

Added on June 6, 2012, 10:00 pm
QUOTE(masz94 @ Jun 6 2012, 09:59 PM)
Haha... Insyaallah u can... ur father will encourage u....

Me after die die fight world war 7.... then only can buy a crippled bike.... beast
  ohmy.gif
fixed...

but actually, it's a mindless beast, not a crippled one since it is mechanically sound, just w/o a ECU brain... hahahah

This post has been edited by lucifah: Jun 6 2012, 10:00 PM
lucifah
post Jun 6 2012, 10:19 PM

St. Fu
7,948 posts

QUOTE(masz94 @ Jun 6 2012, 10:10 PM)
kakaka....

Finally got all parts dy.... I'm so happy.... Hopefully the bike will be okay....

The last part.... wiring harness.... Very hard to get....

If not okay ..... user posted image
worse come to worse, use the old harness

replace burnt wires

wires are easy to replace, but connectors susah sikit
lucifah
post Jun 7 2012, 04:36 PM

St. Fu
7,948 posts

QUOTE(alkt @ Jun 7 2012, 03:01 PM)
maybe lucifah booked it biggrin.gif
ph34r.gif
lucifah
post Jun 10 2012, 11:12 PM

St. Fu
7,948 posts

QUOTE(preakzz @ Jun 10 2012, 10:59 PM)
Buy this or buy new?  icon_question.gif
buy new. the 2012 looks damn nice, especially with the split seats.

only 5-6k more ma... at least you have 1 yr warranty and peace of mind, and most of all, it being virgin

anyhow, beuying a virgin, the first 800km and 1,600km will be agonizingly boring since you are limited to 4k and 6k rpm revs only...

edit: it didn;t mention the mileage, but seeing that the chain and sprocket has been replaced, i'd say it has done more than 30,000km, no?

This post has been edited by lucifah: Jun 10 2012, 11:14 PM
lucifah
post Jun 11 2012, 11:17 AM

St. Fu
7,948 posts

QUOTE(kucinggemok @ Jun 11 2012, 06:16 AM)
For the purpose of knowledge, I would like to ask below questions :

1. What is the purpose of lubricating your bike chain? i like my chain shiny and bling bling... that's all to it
2. When do you lube your chain? e.g. per 100 KM 500 - 600km
3. How do you determine with your naked eyes, that the chain is to be lubricated? (Same as Q2. Hehe) look at the odometer, reach 500km, lube
4. What brand do you use? - I use Motorex Chain Lube, my friend suggest Silkolene personal preferences
5. How do you lube your chain? paddocl stand, 1st gear, clean wd40, lube as it spins, wipe excess, dry overnight
6. Is there any difference between a standard chain and a D.I.D gold chain ?

Thanks! biggrin.gif

or you can try scottoiler if you are lazy... wink.gif

This post has been edited by lucifah: Jun 11 2012, 11:18 AM

9 Pages « < 5 6 7 8 9 >Top

0.0630sec    0.31    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 2nd December 2025 - 03:11 AM