6 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 > » Bottom

Opportunity to work in UK, is it worth it?

SUSBrookLes
post May 8 2023, 04:28 PM

1,354 posts

QUOTE(Kakistok @ May 8 2023, 07:59 AM)
I've had experience working in the US before for 7 years at the age of 27, went there single. Salary from rm3500 which I could barely save anything to earning USD8k there, US4800 after tax,
still can save about 2k (rm8k) after all expenses (including entertainment). The living cost was comparatively low in the US because of its strong currency and high purchasing power. House rental, and labour services (i.e plumbing, car service etc) are expensive but other than, they are all affordable. So I don't know if the UK falls in the same bracket. I'm aware the salary in the UK is nowhere as high in the US.
With your 11k.salary. you can save quite a bit too right?
I think looking at the situation. Until things really stabilise, I will stick to a more familiar situation right now.

You see how things change so much and they can easily introduce a new mandate to make your life tough..

I think you can still save more then that amount if you stay here. Provided you start preparing food for yourself etc. It's still more comfortable here as over there you probably have to prepare food often and share a place with others.

What are the working hours there? Lesser then here?

And with food inflation being a major issue in the west. Better to stay here.

But it depends on whether you think this will improve your career significantly. From a savings point, I dun see the point. And most likely you will probably have to spend more since you need to familiarise with the environment.

This post has been edited by BrookLes: May 8 2023, 04:57 PM
xajimx
post May 8 2023, 04:47 PM

198 posts

QUOTE(mystalyzer @ May 8 2023, 03:59 PM)
If have double income (wife working), should have no problem being stable. I have no kids so that is a difference. I lived in germany as well before (even got my Niederlassungserlaubnis). Germany I only got 55% of my gross pay after deductions, but in UK I get closer to 67%

But to answer your question, should not be more than 1 year
ah ok that's nice. i would imagine you have been there for quite sometime. does it takes long for your wife to adapt and build up her profile/proficiency to be able to work too?
do you still go back Malaysia often?
haha yea I think with kids you get a lot of tax breaks. any plans for kids? laugh.gif
sadlyfalways
post May 8 2023, 04:48 PM

1,185 posts

QUOTE(The Retailer @ May 8 2023, 01:14 PM)
In malaysia Chinese are constitutionally less than bumi, but financially? 😅
No use being rich but hated by the majority race
SUSBrookLes
post May 8 2023, 04:51 PM

1,354 posts

QUOTE(Kakistok @ May 8 2023, 07:59 AM)
I've had experience working in the US before for 7 years at the age of 27, went there single. Salary from rm3500 which I could barely save anything to earning USD8k there, US4800 after tax,
still can save about 2k (rm8k) after all expenses (including entertainment). The living cost was comparatively low in the US because of its strong currency and high purchasing power. House rental, and labour services (i.e plumbing, car service etc) are expensive but other than, they are all affordable. So I don't know if the UK falls in the same bracket. I'm aware the salary in the UK is nowhere as high in the US.
I also want to add one more thing. If there is a major recession or crash. Foreigners will be the first to be asked to leave. I think it's better you stay at the moment.

Even if you lose your job, you will still be compensated for this. You can even get tax cuts in the compensation you received.

At least if you go to say sg, anything happens you can come back immediately. And it's a more familiar environment anyway

Oh btw. I think crime is a major issue in UK. Correct me if I am wrong.

This post has been edited by BrookLes: May 8 2023, 05:08 PM
mystalyzer
post May 8 2023, 05:12 PM

394 posts

QUOTE(xajimx @ May 8 2023, 04:47 PM)
ah ok that's nice. i would imagine you have been there for quite sometime. does it takes long for your wife to adapt and build up her profile/proficiency to be able to work too?
do you still go back Malaysia often?
haha yea I think with kids you get a lot of tax breaks. any plans for kids?  laugh.gif
Nah, not going to have kids. Tax breaks not useful because childcare costs. In Germany, the problem is always language barrier. Need like 1 year to learn it full time. In UK, it's because it's too competitive, have to compete with so many foreigners as well

Went back last year, going back this year too. This is in addition to my other holidays:
https://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopic=5362211&hl=
xajimx
post May 8 2023, 05:28 PM

198 posts

QUOTE(mystalyzer @ May 8 2023, 05:12 PM)
Nah, not going to have kids. Tax breaks not useful because childcare costs. In Germany, the problem is always language barrier. Need like 1 year to learn it full time. In UK, it's because it's too competitive, have to compete with so many foreigners as well

Went back last year, going back this year too. This is in addition to my other holidays:
yea, I'm just thankful that my company doesn't require me to learn up Deutsch but on the other hand it's always nice to learn it for day-to-day conversation.
especially for my wife and kids to integrate better. damn, my 6 yo now speaks Deutsch already albeit very basic.
i need to catch up cry.gif

eh nice one! happy that you found the rhythm to living the ideal life.
may i know how old are you?
mystalyzer
post May 8 2023, 06:30 PM

394 posts

QUOTE(xajimx @ May 8 2023, 05:28 PM)
yea, I'm just thankful that my company doesn't require me to learn up Deutsch but on the other hand it's always nice to learn it for day-to-day conversation.
especially for my wife and kids to integrate better. damn, my 6 yo now speaks Deutsch already albeit very basic.
i need to catch up  cry.gif

eh nice one! happy that you found the rhythm to living the ideal life.
may i know how old are you?
early 40s. worked in Malaysia till I moved to europe in my early 30s. i'm sure in company is fine, but dealing with gov agencies is a pain without some language fluency like when doing Anmeldung
mesothelium
post May 8 2023, 06:47 PM

105 posts

I would go and not look back. I made the mistake of coming back to Malaysia 15 years ago and regret it immensely.

Truth be told, socioeconomically speaking, Malaysia has gone nowhere since I got back. And since all the political chaos we’ve been through, it feels like Malaysia has regressed from where it was in the 2000s.

Think of the bigger picture. Do you want to stay here and risk another generation of stagnation? Yes, the UK might not be in the best shape politically or economically, but career-wise, you have a lot more upside there. And that means you still have the option of moving elsewhere later on in case things don’t work out.

Think of the UK as a stepping stone, rather than the final destination.
SUSBrookLes
post May 8 2023, 07:34 PM

1,354 posts

QUOTE(mystalyzer @ May 8 2023, 06:30 PM)
early 40s. worked in Malaysia till I moved to europe in my early 30s. i'm sure in company is fine, but dealing with gov agencies is a pain without some language fluency like when doing Anmeldung
I dunno. I talk to some of my friends in Europe.
They say they hardly have any savings and they are living mostly salary pay check by salary pay check.
mystalyzer
post May 8 2023, 07:43 PM

394 posts

QUOTE(BrookLes @ May 8 2023, 07:34 PM)
I dunno. I talk to some of my friends in Europe.
They say they hardly have any savings and they are living mostly salary pay check by salary pay check.
depends on what they do, and how they live. if they eat out everyday, sure very hard to save. or if they stay in city centre instead of outskirts rental will be more expensive

you can see the thread below some of my holidays, and i go back to malaysia almost every year as well
and i'm just a regular salary earner in the UK

The Retailer
post May 8 2023, 08:08 PM

43 posts

QUOTE(sadlyfalways @ May 8 2023, 04:48 PM)
No use being rich but hated by the majority race
They dont hate us la..

Some do envy us..

But some happy to work together..

Only some politicians use us as bait
SUSBrookLes
post May 8 2023, 08:17 PM

1,354 posts

QUOTE(mystalyzer @ May 8 2023, 07:43 PM)
depends on what they do, and how they live. if they eat out everyday, sure very hard to save. or if they stay in city centre instead of outskirts rental will be more expensive

you can see the thread below some of my holidays, and i go back to malaysia almost every year as well
and i'm just a regular salary earner in the UK

I think the high tax environment just do not support savings in general. Also the low interest or even negative rates that bank gives does not incentivize people to save in the first place.

So how much do you actually save per year?
Knnbuccb
post May 8 2023, 08:25 PM

118 posts

QUOTE(BrookLes @ May 8 2023, 08:17 PM)
I think the high tax environment just do not support savings in general. Also the low interest or even negative rates that bank gives does not incentivize people to save in the first place.

I voiced that I wanna try UK most of my peers told me lol why go there celery low and tax high.....

Guess Ayam just bored of the same environment
SUSBrookLes
post May 8 2023, 08:38 PM

1,354 posts

QUOTE(Knnbuccb @ May 8 2023, 08:25 PM)
I voiced that I wanna try UK most of my peers told me lol why go there celery low and tax high.....

Guess Ayam just bored of the same environment
Normally, I would encourage if someone wants to go overseas. But not at this time.
You see. During the pandemic things can change so rapidly. And with the economic uncertainty. It's not worth the risk to be honest.
SUSBrookLes
post May 8 2023, 08:46 PM

1,354 posts

One thing that most people forget to calculate is the company contribution to EPF etc.

When I was in Singapore, I realized that I was not that highly paid actually when I actually take into account the EPF that is being paid.
mystalyzer
post May 8 2023, 09:26 PM

394 posts

QUOTE(BrookLes @ May 8 2023, 08:17 PM)

around £10k per year. not focusing so much on savings because I got private and public pension funds. still got a few hundred k in EPF too

rather spend travelling like what brits do. if lose job, can just claim housing benefits, universal credit, job seeker allowances etc
SUSBrookLes
post May 8 2023, 09:36 PM

1,354 posts

QUOTE(mystalyzer @ May 8 2023, 09:26 PM)
around £10k per year. not focusing so much on savings because I got private and public pension funds. still got a few hundred k in EPF too

rather spend travelling like what brits do. if lose job, can just claim housing benefits, universal credit, job seeker allowances etc
So what is going to happen if say government decided not to give out those benefits anymore.

of course 10K is quite a lot. But then the mentality over there is not a savers mentality.
mystalyzer
post May 8 2023, 09:51 PM

394 posts

QUOTE(BrookLes @ May 8 2023, 09:36 PM)
So what is going to happen if say government decided not to give out those benefits anymore.

of course 10K is quite a lot. But then the mentality over there is not a savers mentality.
the gov will be replaced with another one that does biggrin.gif

these benefits are normal for countries that practise high taxes (as benefits is one of the reasons why taxes are high)

if they want to remove benefits, the taxes needs to be reduced in tandem it will be more like Singapore style (low taxes and low benefits)

feynman
post May 9 2023, 12:29 AM

4,781 posts

QUOTE(Kakistok @ May 7 2023, 11:49 PM)
I'll be attending an interview next week conducted by a UK-based company, the hiring manager is a good friend of mine (a European) we used to work and hang out in the US many years ago.
Recently he contacted me and asked if I'm willing to join his team in the UK, he seems to be very keen on bringing me there. We had an unofficial chat about the role before the actual interview.

Currently, I also work in a UK company based in Malaysia. Salary around rm11k. I have no significant commitments, house (in KL) and car paid off. Married with a child.
Though I own a house, I'm renting so I could stay nearby work. After minus all my critical expenses (rent,grocery,family,utilities) I can save about 3-4k a month ( I invest half of it).

Now about the UK work, I didn't really ask my friend about the salary just yet but from what I got to know from Glassdoor, for the same exact position the salary is about 5200 pounds a month.
After-tax, that's around 3.7k. Unit rental, to have similar convenience that I have now, i.e large house, close to work... I may need to fork out around 1.2-1.5k.
Now that leaves me about 2.5k for the rest. I may need a car. And for the rest of the expenses I might be down to 1-1.5k in savings --> which equates to rm6-7k.

With all the negative economic news surrounding the UK, I'm no expert but everything just not pointing in the right direction. Inflation, rental hikes, recession.
I don't know if this is something I should be pursuing. I love the work, it's something I'm good at and no doubt - the company is an 'elite' brand in its industry - like Rolex for watches. It would be great for the CV. But I don't know if it's worth the trouble of moving there, leaving the life I have here. Do I leave for that extra rm2-3k, leaving behind my friends and family - starting all over again? I worked in the US for 7 years before and came back to Malaysia 3 years ago thinking I may not get another oversea opportunity. But here we are... if this was just another company, I might have just said no thank you - but its like a dream company to work with because of its brand.

Something for me to think about but I would like to know your thoughts about the move or experience working in the UK, any piece of advice.
I'll let others speak about living and working in the UK but talk about relocating abroad.

Without a wife and kids, you can do anything without the need to think too much. While your age may be a factor on making big decisions, you're generally footloose. You probably know that

At this stage in life, what are you looking to achieve? Are you looking for more money? More career growth? Settlement abroad? Yours answers will dictate what actions should take.

If you're looking for more money, then what you have described, this role of yours is not the right thing. It's a meagre global salary and it only looks good if your intent and purpose is to return to msia after 3 years....and that, it's a stretch, you won't be able to save enough. So that 3 years is kinda wasted, no significant savings and you're back in msia. This only makes sense if the relo results in a true growth of income....and there are only a few countries where this is possible....namely, Singapore, HK, middle east, US and maybe Australia, everywhere else is really swapping an environment for the same pay. GBP 60k a year is not what many would consider a good global salary, in the UK, yeah, you'll be firmly in the upper middle class but with runaway inflation, you gotta be very very careful with money.

If career growth is what you are looking for, will sticking in msia eventually lead to a director role for you? If there's a high chance for it, then why do this detour to the UK? Things can go horribly wrong in the UK, you may even lose that friendship if things don't turn out well. Relo will also slow down your career growth, unless you're moving to level above, if it's just a lateral move, it will set you back several years

If settlement is what you want, then you have to stick to the plan, no matter what happens. High pay or low pay, you'll just go. I don't think they is what you are looking for as you returned from the US.

hopefully this helps you think about it.
Knnbuccb
post May 9 2023, 01:43 AM

118 posts

QUOTE(feynman @ May 9 2023, 12:29 AM)
I'll let others speak about living and working in the UK but talk about relocating abroad.

Without a wife and kids, you can do anything without the need to think too much. While your age may be a factor on making big decisions, you're generally footloose. You probably know that

At this stage in life, what are you looking to achieve? Are you looking for more money? More career growth? Settlement abroad? Yours answers will dictate what actions should take.

If you're looking for more money, then what you have described, this role of yours is not the right thing. It's a meagre global salary and it only looks good if your intent and purpose is to return to msia after 3 years....and that, it's a stretch, you won't be able to save enough. So that 3 years is kinda wasted, no significant savings and you're back in msia. This only makes sense if the relo results in a true growth of income....and there are only a few countries where this is possible....namely, Singapore, HK, middle east, US and maybe Australia, everywhere else is really swapping an environment for the same pay. GBP 60k a year is not what many would consider a good global salary, in the UK, yeah, you'll be firmly in the upper middle class but with runaway inflation, you gotta be very very careful with money.

If career growth is what you are looking for, will sticking in msia eventually lead to a director role for you? If there's a high chance for it, then why do this detour to the UK? Things can go horribly wrong in the UK, you may even lose that friendship if things don't turn out well. Relo will also slow down your career growth, unless you're moving to level above, if it's just a lateral move, it will set you back several years

If settlement is what you want, then you have to stick to the plan, no matter what happens. High pay or low pay, you'll just go. I don't think they is what you are looking for as you returned from the US.

hopefully this helps you think about it.

damn this post has a lot of wisdom

Actually my friend moved to another country to work also hoping could get more money and career progression but as you alluded to it's easier to grow career in marehsia ( despite all the policies against NB) ... Rather than go to a foreign land where you'll be disadvantaged . But then he managed to save a lot and also built up his CV , such that he would be able to return to marehsia with a promotion.

So actually unknowingly , he had created an escape route for himself..... plan A to get both money and promotion overseas partially failed , only got lots of money .... But now plan B opened up, he brought his foreign currency back to marehsia and he is living a T20 life there with a promotion. Or course can argue if he didn't go detour overseas and stayed put in marehsia instead, he could have been promoted earlier, but hey , can't say he gained nothing overseas ( money and work experience , life abroaf experience )

This post has been edited by Knnbuccb: May 9 2023, 01:44 AM

6 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 > » Top

0.0218sec    0.67    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 18th December 2025 - 11:04 AM