6 Pages  1 2 3 > » Bottom

Opportunity to work in UK, is it worth it?

TSKakistok
post May 7 2023, 11:49 PM, updated 3y ago

201 posts

I'll be attending an interview next week conducted by a UK-based company, the hiring manager is a good friend of mine (a European) we used to work and hang out in the US many years ago.
Recently he contacted me and asked if I'm willing to join his team in the UK, he seems to be very keen on bringing me there. We had an unofficial chat about the role before the actual interview.

Currently, I also work in a UK company based in Malaysia. Salary around rm11k. I have no significant commitments, house (in KL) and car paid off. Married with a child.
Though I own a house, I'm renting so I could stay nearby work. After minus all my critical expenses (rent,grocery,family,utilities) I can save about 3-4k a month ( I invest half of it).

Now about the UK work, I didn't really ask my friend about the salary just yet but from what I got to know from Glassdoor, for the same exact position the salary is about 5200 pounds a month.
After-tax, that's around 3.7k. Unit rental, to have similar convenience that I have now, i.e large house, close to work... I may need to fork out around 1.2-1.5k.
Now that leaves me about 2.5k for the rest. I may need a car. And for the rest of the expenses I might be down to 1-1.5k in savings --> which equates to rm6-7k.

With all the negative economic news surrounding the UK, I'm no expert but everything just not pointing in the right direction. Inflation, rental hikes, recession.
I don't know if this is something I should be pursuing. I love the work, it's something I'm good at and no doubt - the company is an 'elite' brand in its industry - like Rolex for watches. It would be great for the CV. But I don't know if it's worth the trouble of moving there, leaving the life I have here. Do I leave for that extra rm2-3k, leaving behind my friends and family - starting all over again? I worked in the US for 7 years before and came back to Malaysia 3 years ago thinking I may not get another oversea opportunity. But here we are... if this was just another company, I might have just said no thank you - but its like a dream company to work with because of its brand.

Something for me to think about but I would like to know your thoughts about the move or experience working in the UK, any piece of advice.

UPDATE:
Just attended the interview, my friend was one of the interviewer but his colleague was whom I'd be reporting to if I'm selected. The interview went well, personally,I felt good, I think I scored well without my friends help. biggrin.gif
I still haven't decided yet, just waiting for the offer before I make my decision. Thanks to all who have given feedback.

This post has been edited by Kakistok: May 11 2023, 11:44 PM
SUSSihambodoh
post May 7 2023, 11:58 PM

436 posts

What do you want in the long run? Migrate to UK? Just make the money?

What's important to you right now? Money? Family or career?

How old are your parents? Are you happy being away from parents? How long is the contract?

Personally, family and parents are important to me. When I'm young, I will go. But now that I am in my 30s, I want to be near my parents. I may not earn as much but at least I get to spend time with parents. These kind of things, even money can't buy. Once they are gone, there is nothing you can do to bring them back.

There are ways to make money in Malaysia too. Also I've been in the UK for a while, their lifestyle is not my cup of tea. Rather be here.
Roadwarrior1337
post May 8 2023, 12:17 AM

979 posts

Current economic situation in UK is like a time bomb. Shits way expensive when my aunt plan to come back after 20 years there

To be honest 2k pound is enough for grocery and living expense and cars are generally cheap there but you are a foreigner and when lay off comes the foreigners get the boot first
SUSBrookLes
post May 8 2023, 12:56 AM

1,354 posts

QUOTE(Kakistok @ May 7 2023, 11:49 PM)
I'll be attending an interview next week conducted by a UK-based company, the hiring manager is a good friend of mine (a European) we used to work and hang out in the US many years ago.
Recently he contacted me and asked if I'm willing to join his team in the UK, he seems to be very keen on bringing me there. We had an unofficial chat about the role before the actual interview.

Currently, I also work in a UK company based in Malaysia. Salary around rm11k. I have no significant commitments, house (in KL) and car paid off. Married with a child.
Though I own a house, I'm renting so I could stay nearby work. After minus all my critical expenses (rent,grocery,family,utilities) I can save about 3-4k a month ( I invest half of it).

Now about the UK work, I didn't really ask my friend about the salary just yet but from what I got to know from Glassdoor, for the same exact position the salary is about 5200 pounds a month.
After-tax, that's around 3.7k. Unit rental, to have similar convenience that I have now, i.e large house, close to work... I may need to fork out around 1.2-1.5k.
Now that leaves me about 2.5k for the rest. I may need a car. And for the rest of the expenses I might be down to 1-1.5k in savings --> which equates to rm6-7k.

With all the negative economic news surrounding the UK, I'm no expert but everything just not pointing in the right direction. Inflation, rental hikes, recession.
I don't know if this is something I should be pursuing. I love the work, it's something I'm good at and no doubt - the company is an 'elite' brand in its industry - like Rolex for watches. It would be great for the CV. But I don't know if it's worth the trouble of moving there, leaving the life I have here. Do I leave for that extra rm2-3k, leaving behind my friends and family - starting all over again? I worked in the US for 7 years before and came back to Malaysia 3 years ago thinking I may not get another oversea opportunity. But here we are... if this was just another company, I might have just said no thank you - but its like a dream company to work with because of its brand.

Something for me to think about but I would like to know your thoughts about the move or experience working in the UK, any piece of advice.
Since he is your friend. Have you checked with him how much you will actually be getting?
Maybe you can tell us what you will be actually getting then we can advice better.
But the thing is, there is going to be an economic crisis soon and i dunno. If say things do not work out, what is the probability of you getting a job over here?
At least when the economic crisis do happen over here, you will most probably be compensated for this.

So what happen to your current house? Are you renting it out?

How old are you BTW?

This post has been edited by BrookLes: May 8 2023, 01:06 AM
koja6049
post May 8 2023, 01:12 AM

614 posts

UK is so big, you never say which part. Definitely you cannot survive London on 3.7k with family smile.gif
Iceman74
post May 8 2023, 01:34 AM

1,407 posts

The most important question is
Do you ask your partner about this, are she and yr kid up to this changes?
How about both sides of parents?

The rest is up to you. Good prospect are hard to come by but if it doesn’t work out, do you have plan B?
If all are ok and well plan, then I don’t see why not give it a try.

This post has been edited by Iceman74: May 8 2023, 01:35 AM
LamboSama
post May 8 2023, 04:11 AM

769 posts

Economic uncertainty are happening everywhere.
Since you worked in US before you would know that being in another country gives you different perspective and experiences in life.
Proximity to EU alone can be a pro in travelling for leisure.
mystalyzer
post May 8 2023, 04:15 AM

394 posts

Hi TS, I am living in UK for almost 10 years now.

The negative economic news by youtube and western media are often way over exaggerated because GBP is still strong so it isn't that bad

I personally think it is very good opportunity and never regretted moving over

But you have to get used to the weather, the food. Salary isn't the biggest issue normally, cars are cheap. You have to take driving license again

Most importantly, which part of UK?
mystalyzer
post May 8 2023, 04:18 AM

394 posts

QUOTE(koja6049 @ May 8 2023, 01:12 AM)
UK is so big, you never say which part. Definitely you cannot survive London on 3.7k with family smile.gif
survive can. two bed flat £1.5k , £200 transport, £300 utilities and bills. Still got £1.7k for food and other expenses

a lot of people survive in London for way less
sadlyfalways
post May 8 2023, 04:26 AM

1,185 posts

QUOTE(Kakistok @ May 7 2023, 11:49 PM)

Really depends on your plan for life. I'm in the UK now and I can talk a bit about the current situation.

First of all, may we know what field your job is in? A lot of fields in the UK,US,Europe are preparing for economic downturn. Don't want to move here and become redundant soon.

As for salary, UK salary has historically been very low. Started in 2008, to stop recession they stopped salary increase. So basically we are getting 2008 salary with 2023 prices here.

Rental I have never seen 1.2-1.5k for large house anywhere in the UK, so you must live really far from London or in the countryside or somewhere hahah. Make sure you don't accidentally book old folks home or council estate housing.

Speaking of council, you have to pay council tax on property even if you rent. Most places it is around 300gbp a month, but depends on the price and band of the land your house sits on.

62K is a lot for UK standards shockingly. Most people here earn 30K, and live full, happy lives with their families.

I don't think you can do much with 62 too, but i also dont think you can go higher as fast in the UK.

I know in comparison it is much higher than 11k ringgit, but remember you dont live in malaysia, so you will be spending in gpb.

just imagine it as rm5200.

I am also in the midst of making a decision of staying here in the UK or going back to malaysia, and it is. hard.

I love public services here, i love the countryside, i love that i can be myself, i love that i am protected against discrimination by law, and not a second class citizen constitutionally even though i am a foreigner

But my parents rich in malaysia, all my money and wealth there too. if bring here it'll divide by 5.5
sadlyfalways
post May 8 2023, 04:28 AM

1,185 posts

QUOTE(mystalyzer @ May 8 2023, 04:18 AM)
survive can. two bed flat £1.5k , £200 transport, £300 utilities and bills. Still got £1.7k for food and other expenses

a lot of people survive in London for way less
actually utilities also depend on the person haha. for me since i came here i never use heater.

but yesterday i couldn't sleep because 14c was too hot for me outside, and i cried myself to sleep longing my air con back in malaysia
mystalyzer
post May 8 2023, 04:45 AM

394 posts

QUOTE(sadlyfalways @ May 8 2023, 04:28 AM)
actually utilities also depend on the person haha. for me since i came here i never use heater.

but yesterday i couldn't sleep because 14c was too hot for me outside, and i cried myself to sleep longing my air con back in malaysia
i've included council tax under utilities as well wink.gif

now is quite decent weather. not too hot or cold, should not have problems sleeping

no need air cond, just open window will do biggrin.gif
SUSBrookLes
post May 8 2023, 04:54 AM

1,354 posts

QUOTE(sadlyfalways @ May 8 2023, 04:26 AM)
Really depends on your plan for life. I'm in the UK now and I can talk a bit about the current situation.

First of all, may we know what field your job is in? A lot of fields in the UK,US,Europe are preparing for economic downturn. Don't want to move here and become redundant soon.

As for salary, UK salary has historically been very low. Started in 2008, to stop recession they stopped salary increase. So basically we are getting 2008 salary with 2023 prices here.

Rental I have never seen 1.2-1.5k for large house anywhere in the UK, so you must live really far from London or in the countryside or somewhere hahah. Make sure you don't accidentally book old folks home or council estate housing.

Speaking of council, you have to pay council tax on property even if you rent. Most places it is around 300gbp a month, but depends on the price and band of the land your house sits on.

62K is a lot for UK standards shockingly. Most people here earn 30K, and live full, happy lives with their families.

I don't think you can do much with 62 too, but i also dont think you can go higher as fast in the UK.

I know in comparison it is much higher than 11k ringgit, but remember you dont live in malaysia, so you will be spending in gpb.

I am also in the midst of making a decision of staying here in the UK or going back to malaysia, and it is. hard.

I love public services here, i love the countryside, i love that i can be myself, i love that i am protected against discrimination by law, and not a second class citizen constitutionally even though i am a foreigner

But my parents rich in malaysia, all my money and wealth there too. if bring here it'll divide by 5.5
Actually if you say ppl earn 30k there. Minus the tax, it's still about the same as Malaysia. But remember Malaysia standard of living is much lower.
mystalyzer
post May 8 2023, 05:08 AM

394 posts

QUOTE(BrookLes @ May 8 2023, 04:54 AM)
Actually if you say ppl earn 30k there. Minus the tax, it's still about the same as Malaysia. But remember Malaysia standard of living is much lower.
But UK buying power is high. eating out is definitely more expensive, but shopping at supermarket is cheaper. car is relatively cheap, but insurance and maintenance not so

Also UK tax is put to good use. NHS is free and if get PR will have access to benefits

I prefer working in UK. More competitive and learn more. Retire maybe might pick Malaysia. My pension in GBP can go a long way in Malaysia
sadlyfalways
post May 8 2023, 06:00 AM

1,185 posts

QUOTE(mystalyzer @ May 8 2023, 04:45 AM)
i've included council tax under utilities as well wink.gif

now is quite decent weather. not too hot or cold, should not have problems sleeping

no need air cond, just open window will do biggrin.gif
I too scared open window, I live on ground floor and my window opens directly to dark back alley where people normally sell and consume drugs before night out

Hell I’ve done the same back there lol
sadlyfalways
post May 8 2023, 06:04 AM

1,185 posts

QUOTE(mystalyzer @ May 8 2023, 05:08 AM)
But UK buying power is high. eating out is definitely more expensive, but shopping at supermarket is cheaper. car is  relatively cheap, but insurance and maintenance not so

Also UK tax is put to good use. NHS is free and if get PR will have access to benefits

I prefer working in UK. More competitive and learn more. Retire maybe might pick Malaysia. My pension in GBP can go a long way in Malaysia
Yeah this would be ideal, but I really don’t want to set up life in uk, bring children up and everything then retire overseas

Grandchildren for life lmao. Need to make sure can retire happily with passive income in uk too.

On the other hand, I know if I have children in Malaysia, by the time they are adults and PN has ravaged the country into Afghanistan, they would also leave and never come back. And I’ll be alone in Malaysia

So yeah a lot to think about

UK at least I am not constitutionally less than the whites, even if in practice racism is still there
SUSBrookLes
post May 8 2023, 06:27 AM

1,354 posts

QUOTE(mystalyzer @ May 8 2023, 05:08 AM)
But UK buying power is high. eating out is definitely more expensive, but shopping at supermarket is cheaper. car is  relatively cheap, but insurance and maintenance not so

Is groceries really cheaper compared to Malaysia. Like say if I buy chicken, eggs etc. Because I still think those things are cheap in Malaysia but in Britain, it's expensive especially after the price hike.

Well. Public Hospital is also cheap so.

I really still do not buy that supermarket in UK is cheaper but of course you can give me actual real life example. Wages in UK supermarket is more expensive. I dunno. And also I think with worldwide food shortages, food prices is probably increasing. But I do not see this so much over here.
kenji1903
post May 8 2023, 06:39 AM

3,785 posts

2 things bro, you cannot convert your UK savings in to MYR, if you are there for a couple of years, you will need that money for stuff like travel and education

And on education, I am unsure how old your child is and how much education is subsidised by the UK gov and what kind of residency status you have, something to ponder on

What I know about Australia is you pay international student fees if you are not a permanent resident, plus you don’t get subsidised public health care. UK might be a bit different as they only give out PRs to people working in the UK for x number or years

This post has been edited by kenji1903: May 8 2023, 06:41 AM
TSKakistok
post May 8 2023, 07:45 AM

201 posts

QUOTE(BrookLes @ May 8 2023, 12:56 AM)
Since he is your friend. Have you checked with him how much you will actually be getting?
Maybe you can tell us what you will be actually getting then we can advice better.
But the thing is, there is going to be an economic crisis soon and i dunno. If say things do not work out, what is the probability of you getting a job over here?
At least when the economic crisis do happen over here, you will most probably be compensated for this.

So what happen to your current house? Are you renting it out?

How old are you BTW?
No I didn't ask him, I would like to attend the interview first. But based on 5 glassdoor report - the average salary is around there. I don't think I would be getting way higher than this number.

My job is very niche, fewer opportunities in Malaysia, that too looking for experience roles. The current job I got from a recommendation of a former colleague.
So that is another risk to consider - if things don't work out in UK, it will be hard for me to find something again in Malaysia

Im renting out to my cousin. its only rm700.

I'm 35

TSKakistok
post May 8 2023, 07:52 AM

201 posts

QUOTE(sadlyfalways @ May 8 2023, 04:26 AM)

RnD Engineering

ABout an hour from London, I just quickly googled house for rent in that area and I saw one-two bedroom flats in that price region 1-1.5k

Yeap, a simple calculation show its just enough sweat.gif

6 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.0214sec    0.95    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 17th December 2025 - 05:45 PM