6,799 posts

First Setup:C2D X6800 B2 L628A937

24/7 Inside the Case CMstacker 830...still running..kekeke
The Setup

X6800@4ghz 500x8
Asus Maximus Formula Special Edition
OCz Titanium Aplha VX2 PC2-8000 @ 1000mhz 4-4-4-12 2.3v+Crosair Dominator Airflow Kit
XFX 8800Gts +HR03plus+FM123@702/1728/2106
Silverstone OP1000

Sandra
[attachmentid=311883]

Superpi 32m
[attachmentid=311882]

Superpi 1m
[attachmentid=311881]

Inital Thoughts good mobo but a lot of tweaking neaded.
There is still a strap problem as the older bios is better at it

I had to use the newer bios as i am running Raid 0+1 and only the new bios worked with it.

Also Arctic cooling MX2 rocks here... IDLE vs LOAD difference is only 7C when before was like 13C..

cool!!

This is damn high in synch scores!! for 1000mhz CL4 ... beats the 680 mobo
Also passed OCCT 1 hour

Pass to run 24/7 at 4ghz
ambient temp around 28-30C throughout the day. no aircon in the case benching.

Seriously for X6800 B2 stepping to be solid at 500fsb on passive cooling mobo ..
Is seriously impressive

Will be posting maybe 2 more procs within the next few days.
Hopefully by then a new bios comes out.

sishh damn tired leh to get the sub timings correct

Pros:
1.CPU temp difference with 680chipset around 6-7C idle and load around 12C but take note the 680 was using MX1 while with the X38 was with MX2
2.Insane Superpi score.
3.No problem with any type of rams but kindda sad that my new Geil rams failed memtest and had to send back to RMA.
4.Insane amount of choice for those who love rams tweaking.

Cons:
1.A lot of Overvolts and undervolts on bios set voltages.
2.Freaking Immature bios as the straps are faulty to a point
3.Raid 0+1 was a nightmare to get it working.
4.Intel Matrix Storage Program is buggy

Will be getting the bigwater 760i to cool this northbridge if it goes higher than 50C. Till then dont see any reason to cool the Northbridge.

Will post some graphic card benchies once i go off raid.Everytime getting ide det errors even at stock mhz/voltages ..think it was a bad idea running raid 10 on this so soon

Made Mistake by selling the proc so fast. .. should have done some aquamark benchies
the following will show

2nd SetupQ6600 G0 L723B284

Q6600@4.05ghz 445x9
OCz Titanium Aplha VX2 PC2-8000 @ 1067mhz 4-4-4-12 2.42v+Corsair Dominator Airflow Kit
Silverstone OP1000

Aquamark 3 scores
[attachmentid=312433][attachmentid=312435]

The straps were buggy as it didnt allow me to do 1:1. and only allowed a 1067mhz which was also buggy... it did pass 32m and 1m but i think its a false result as it failed orthos prime 1 hour but passed 30mins. Will get det ram error.Will post it in a minute.. trying to get it right still.

Decided to post later some 3dmark 3.6ghz score since at 400 the straps were fine at 1067 CL4
You are going to see why this mobo is so good with the CPU scores. Its just insane how fast this mobo is.
Also note this proc was around 5-7C cooler compared to the X6800 above for voltage to voltage

Currently pissed off i didnt run some Graphic Card Benchies for the X6800 as i was prep for the Quad for GPU benchies

My rams dont run well above 1100mhz at cl4 or even cl5 without some insane vdimm...

UPDATE
Q6600@3.56ghz 445x8
Team Xtreem PC2-6400 CL3 +Corsair Dominator Airflowkit@890 3-3-3-8mhz 2.45v
XFX 8800gts+HR03plus+FM123@702/1728/2106

Aquamark
[attachmentid=312795]

3dmark05
[attachmentid=312786]

3dmark06
[attachmentid=312788]

Superpi 1m
[attachmentid=312798]

Superpi 32m

[attachmentid=312802]

Hmm had to change the rams to more extreme rams. My Team Xtreem PC2-6400 Cl3's 1x2gb.
This because this rams can do nearly 890 Cl3's and up to 1200 cl4's with ease. Will post some insane ram overclocking with the e6850 on third setup with the rams to give better sandra scores.

Ok from what we can see here
Pros:
1.This mobo rocks on 3dmark CPU scores and also some on sm2.0 and sm3.0
2.It really works best at 1:1 ratios with low latencies

Cons:
1.Superpi 32m kinnda slow compared to some highend P35

y i did 3.56?? was because later i was going to up the multi to get 4.05ghz
also i didnt bother to reduce the vcore as i knew it will definately work at those voltages. Optimum vcore should be around 1.4-1.42v.

y this 5 benchies??
3dmark05 would show u gpu opengl performance
aquamark will show u the rams,cpu,gpu on opengl performance
3dmark06 would show u cpu scores/sm3.0 scores
Superpi 1m will show u the tight latencies on this
Superpi 32m will show u the latencies performance on long run PS can use sandra latencies test for this.

Will try again the 4ghz run as i am having problems with the GTL.
It can pass superpi 1m/32m but will fail 3dmark06 cpu test.

Ps also the reason no Asus PC Probe 2 or core temp replacement as when i plugged in the q6600 it just stopped working or crashes ramdomly

Update

scroll down below for the E6850 benchmark

This post has been edited by cstkl1: Oct 24 2007, 04:54 PM
seanl
post Oct 17 2007, 04:42 PM

734 posts

have you tried a overclocking a quad on this board?
TScstkl1
post Oct 17 2007, 04:51 PM

6,799 posts

3rd SetupE6850 G0 L720A948
The Setup Pic tongue.gif
[attachmentid=314453]
E6850@4ghz 500x8
OCz Titanium Aplha VX2 PC2-8000 @ 1000mhz 4-4-4-12 2.3v+Crosair Dominator Airflow Kit
Silverstone OP1000

Aquamark
[attachmentid=314456][attachmentid=314457]
3dmark05
[attachmentid=314454]
3dmark06
[attachmentid=314455]
SuperPI 1m
[attachmentid=314458]
SuperPI 32m
[attachmentid=314459]

This post has been edited by cstkl1: Oct 20 2007, 10:02 PM
seanl
post Oct 17 2007, 04:57 PM

734 posts

most x38 boards are still hampered by immature bios...
sup3rfly
post Oct 17 2007, 04:58 PM

Techno Slave
1,561 posts

what do u mean by the straps???? Cerrtain straps cant be use on the 0504 bios??? mind to tell which strap is not workable on the new bios??? seeing ppl talking about it in forums seems like the 266 strap is not working right as they cant hit high fsb with the new bios but the old bios can...

This post has been edited by sup3rfly: Oct 17 2007, 04:59 PM
TScstkl1
post Oct 17 2007, 05:02 PM

6,799 posts

Update: - Weird that nobody wants this proc ...kekeke

Decided on running 515x7 24/7
failed to do 4ghz 24/7
its like i cannot go pass it on air/water

definately not a heat prob.. checked, counterchecked and triple checked

sourcing for a new proc to confirm this

BIOS 0505

e6850 3.6ghz@ 9x400 1.376vcore
Team xtreem PC2-6400 cl3 @ 800 cl4

Verification Orthos 30 mins
[attachmentid=316929]

Orthos Graph Data
[attachmentid=316930][attachmentid=316928][attachmentid=316932]

take note the crazy temps drop is because of two things

1. Coolit Freezone has a temp control that will control condensation.. it will go up later cause the coolit will reduce the power supplied to tec
2. E6850 has some kind of enchance halt rubbish that reduces its its power consumption by 50 watts compared to any b3 when its idle

E6850 520x7@ 3.64ghz 1.376
Team xtreem PC2-6400 CL3 @ 1044 5-5-5-15

Verification Orthos 30 mins
[attachmentid=316945]
Orthos graph data about the same as above as i didnt change any voltages etc

This post has been edited by cstkl1: Oct 24 2007, 04:46 PM
sup3rfly
post Oct 17 2007, 05:22 PM

Techno Slave
1,561 posts

getting mine very very soon hope its working fine for me tongue.gif
i heard ppl say on 0401 the 1333 (1:2) divider is not working izzit true??? ~_~
seanl
post Oct 17 2007, 06:11 PM

734 posts

QUOTE(cstkl1 @ Oct 17 2007, 05:02 PM)

well the ddr2 ones anyways

so far my friends p5e3 is flying

third the raid drivers are driving me nuts.
maybe cuz this X38 chipset was designed for DDR3 ground up.. hmm.gif

is there any big vdrop on this board?
intothefantasy
post Oct 17 2007, 06:16 PM

1,561 posts

hows this board vs the blitz formula? is x38 ddr2 performs better then p35 ddr2?
TScstkl1
post Oct 17 2007, 06:39 PM

6,799 posts

QUOTE(seanl @ Oct 17 2007, 06:11 PM)
maybe cuz this X38 chipset was designed for DDR3 ground up.. hmm.gif

is there any big vdrop on this board?
nah vdroop is kindda small around 0.01v at stock

Added on October 17, 2007, 6:40 pm
QUOTE(intothefantasy @ Oct 17 2007, 06:16 PM)
hows this board vs the blitz formula? is x38 ddr2 performs better then p35 ddr2?
not sure the blitz cause never had a chance to get it

but my p35 foxconn mars still pawn this mobo but take note that mobo i had was a heavily modded mobo used in a ram tech labs

This post has been edited by cstkl1: Oct 17 2007, 06:40 PM
gengstapo
post Oct 17 2007, 06:40 PM

Retired enthusiast
10,688 posts

QUOTE(intothefantasy @ Oct 17 2007, 06:16 PM)
according to our fellowship DaRkSyThE, x38 better than p35

dunno for real or what tongue.gif
TScstkl1
post Oct 17 2007, 06:48 PM

6,799 posts

QUOTE(gengstapo @ Oct 17 2007, 06:40 PM)
according to our fellowship DaRkSyThE, x38 better than p35

dunno for real or what tongue.gif
cooler.... dude the 500fsb was only possible by this mobo so far
965p couldnt. p35 couldnt and the 680 could but had hard time stablizing it with so little northbridge voltages on the gigabyte

take it like this
when p35 came out it was pawned by the commando

then later with new revisions bios for the p5k deluxe it pawned everything
then came the premium and ultimately the blitz

which rulez today
this mobo just needs new revisions
heck u should see the 3dmark cpu scores are amazing... example on 3ghz 333x9 used to get 2660 on my 680 and foxconn
on this getting like 2800..kekeke

just look at the 1000mhz CL4 scores... try to reach them for sandra.. just try... not easy.. but this mobo did it..
willing to bet once they stabilize the bios straps it will be 9k already...

also how many boards here or ppl here can claim to have a 4ghz 24/7 running in the case working comp at only 1.59/1.6v only
maybe with the p5k premium possible..
even the foxconn i couldnt get those temps

all this at ambient temps of 28/30 no aircond

the issue now is straps

buyers beware if ure rams are not able to hit atleast 1100 to 1200 easily then ure going to have a freaking hard time with this mobo

This post has been edited by cstkl1: Oct 18 2007, 12:59 PM
gengstapo
post Oct 17 2007, 06:58 PM

Retired enthusiast
10,688 posts

err actually 965p can hit 500FSB la taikor

i remember my commando can do it lastime.. 500 x7(c2d e6600)

it can run PI but failed orthos smile.gif

ps: when my pc up later, i try looking for any screenie if avail

This post has been edited by gengstapo: Oct 17 2007, 06:59 PM
TScstkl1
post Oct 17 2007, 07:10 PM

6,799 posts

QUOTE(gengstapo @ Oct 17 2007, 06:58 PM)
err actually 965p can hit 500FSB la taikor

i remember my commando can do it lastime.. 500 x7(c2d e6600)

it can run PI but failed orthos smile.gif

ps: when my pc up later, i try looking for any screenie if avail
dude my e6600 also can

google

and post here
all the X6800 that hit 500fsb on stock mobos... ure gonna find that list kindda small..kekeke almost non existent

heck actually mine went to 570fsb kekek when i first tried

fluke

hmm i didnt try to stabalize above 500 cause to do 500 was easy
u know y right
for extreme procs they dont really have sweet multis
usually u can use all the multis and keep increasing the multis once u stabalize ure rams and mobo
intothefantasy
post Oct 17 2007, 10:45 PM

1,561 posts

QUOTE(cstkl1 @ Oct 17 2007, 06:48 PM)
cooler.... dude the 500fsb was only possible by this mobo so far
965p couldnt. p35 couldnt and the 680 could but had hard time stablizing it with so little northbridge voltages on the gigabyte

take it like this
when p35 came out it was pawned by the commando

then later with new revisions bios for the p5k deluxe it pawned everything
then came the premium and ultimately the blitz

which rulez today
this mobo just needs new revisions
heck u should see the 3dmark cpu scores are amazing... example on 3ghz 333x9 used to get 2660 on my 680 and foxconn
on this getting like 2800..kekeke

just look at the 1000mhz CL4 scores... try to reach them for sandra.. just try... not easy.. but this mobo did it..
willing to be once they stabilize the bios straps it will be 9k already...

also how many boards here or ppl here can claim to have a 4ghz 24/7 running in the case working comp at only 1.59/1.6v only
maybe with the p5k premium possible..
even the foxconn i couldnt get those temps

all this at ambient temps of 28/30 no aircond

the issue now is straps

buyers beware if ure rams are not able to hit atleast 1100 to 1200 easily then ure going to have a freaking hard time with this mobo
if buy 1066 ram can it be better? better then 667 and 800?
TScstkl1
post Oct 17 2007, 11:34 PM

6,799 posts

QUOTE(intothefantasy @ Oct 17 2007, 10:45 PM)
if buy 1066 ram can it be better? better then 667 and 800?
no it depends how ure rams are rated.

as i said the straps currently are lousy and more better for high mhz high latency rams.

mainly the D9GKX rather the D9GMH which concentrates on tight latencies..

updated some QD benchies...

damn regreted didnt do any gpu benchies on the C2d.. would have atleast gone 220k on aqua and would have beaten this score for the quad core..

again this is inside the case
DaRkSyThE
post Oct 17 2007, 11:49 PM

4,809 posts

@ superly.
most dividers on the 0401 bios works actually compared to the 0501.
the 5:6 divider which is most common used can work on the 0401, but works not too well on the 0501
TScstkl1
post Oct 18 2007, 12:26 AM

6,799 posts

QUOTE(DaRkSyThE @ Oct 17 2007, 11:49 PM)
@ superly.
most dividers on the 0401 bios works actually compared to the 0501.
the 5:6 divider which is most common used can work on the 0401, but works not too well on the 0501
dude also i have problems on 4:5 which almost non-existent...

hmm took out some old team ddr2 rams to do some comparison...

so far dude one thing is certain

this mobo cpu is freaking fast.

on 3dmark 3.6 at 3.6ghz qd score already 5700!!
compare to the lyn 3dmark champion pathethic score of 5519 score..(where is the spit smiley??..gee facebook cool on this part... would have hadouken that score)

but gee dude if i think if i give u my GPu and with that insane sandra u told me u will be flying on aqua scores..kekek

issh damn frust with this mobo on quad core.
getting ram errors like nobody business since its like always it will work with 1 or 2 straps and then have to try each one and tweak it till i get one thats stable...

sishh cant beleive i spent already nearly 12 hours with qd and havent finish

Added on October 18, 2007, 1:22 amok whipped out some team rams...

geee getting better

This post has been edited by cstkl1: Oct 18 2007, 01:22 AM
seanl
post Oct 18 2007, 01:56 AM

734 posts

bro, ur Quad benchies are acheived using waht sort of cooling? water?

pretty impressive overclock considering the short period of time u tinker with it...
TScstkl1
post Oct 18 2007, 02:04 AM

6,799 posts

QUOTE(seanl @ Oct 18 2007, 01:56 AM)
bro, ur Quad benchies are acheived using waht sort of cooling? water?

pretty impressive overclock considering the short period of time u tinker with it...
dude i havent even posted all the benchies
kekek already beat that top benchies
all done with coolitfreezone

cool part this is to achieve a 24/7 clock that i can always repeat
so doing it inside the case with no aircon just the fan and me typing on a lappie.

now using a different rams.. was a bit scared since this rams killed or was killed by my 680 mobo.

but what the heck...

next benchies will be 445x7 and hopefully 445x7
beat a lot of ppls benchmarks kekek with 3dmark on this mobo..

its freaking fast. stay tuned

7 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.0223sec    0.19    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 4th December 2025 - 02:58 AM