Attempting to build some meat !

TSwanna be hi-tech
post Mar 15 2023, 01:53 PM, updated 3y ago

Any self respecting GEEK, certainly owns more than a single rig
1,598 posts

Hi to all the cifu here. In attempting to build some muscles, i have been for a month now, doing minor lifting with dumbbells. I can see some minor results at my biceps.

I have also been doing cardio. I am lightweight, slim.

My issue is food, i rarely eat meat because i am fussy. I dont know how to cook meat and dnt have the time.

Should i take some protein shakes ? I am not looking to get real a totally ripped body, but at least some muscles and have a body worth looking at 😅.

So should i take protein shakes and if yes, which ones. Thank you.

axtray
post Mar 15 2023, 02:31 PM

710 posts

Protein shake won't make much difference if youre not consuming enough cals to support the protein building the muscles.

It'll help, but you can't outsupplement a bad diet
TSwanna be hi-tech
post Mar 15 2023, 04:59 PM

1,598 posts

QUOTE(axtray @ Mar 15 2023, 02:31 PM)
Protein shake won't make much difference if youre not consuming enough cals to support the protein building the muscles.

It'll help,  but you can't outsupplement a bad diet
Oh i see. Thank you for the reply. I guess i dont have much options then.
Will eggs do ? Minus the yolk. About 4 eggs a day ? Or is it too much ? Thanks.

I work out almost every day, but only for about 30mins 😅
march173
post Mar 15 2023, 05:04 PM

124 posts

Try take weight gain. Serious mass should be okay.
Also try progressive weight, up your current weight that you been lifting it become easy. Could do 1 or 2 rep of max weight that you can lift(safely)

Or if you want lean muscle, try doing calisthenics. But it will take time, 2-3month to see result
axtray
post Mar 15 2023, 06:36 PM

710 posts

QUOTE(wanna be hi-tech @ Mar 15 2023, 04:59 PM)
Oh i see. Thank you for the reply.  I guess i dont have much options then.
Will eggs do ? Minus the yolk. About 4 eggs a day ? Or is it too much ? Thanks.

I work out almost every day, but only for about 30mins 😅
Maybe can share detaisl like

Your age, height, current weight.

Then what you usually eat in a day, breakfast, lunch dinner etc.

30 mins good enough, as long as you're always progressively overloading
TSwanna be hi-tech
post Mar 15 2023, 07:46 PM

1,598 posts

QUOTE(march173 @ Mar 15 2023, 05:04 PM)
Try take weight gain. Serious mass should be okay.
Also try progressive weight, up your current weight that you been lifting it become easy. Could do 1 or 2 rep of max weight that you can lift(safely)

Or if you want lean muscle, try doing calisthenics. But it will take time, 2-3month to see result
Appreciate your input mate. I shall check out weight gain, thanks for narrowing down to the very type.

I did want to ‘up’ the weight, but thought that consistency with a lower weight should do some good. But i will try adding the weight.

Yes, lean muscle, thats my aim.
TSwanna be hi-tech
post Mar 15 2023, 08:21 PM

1,598 posts

QUOTE(axtray @ Mar 15 2023, 06:36 PM)
Maybe can share detaisl like

Your age, height, current weight.

Then what you usually eat in a day, breakfast, lunch dinner etc.

30 mins good enough, as long as you're always progressively overloading
Unker already dude. But nobody believes my age, so i will leave it at that 😄

Peanuts in the morning with light milo. Capati in the noon. Rice about twice a week in the noon. Bread and peanut butter for dinner. Milk and eggs for weekends.
But i whack coffee for dinner, thats one pleasure i look forward for. Yes its not black coffee 😅.

Aaron212
post Mar 15 2023, 08:26 PM

1,773 posts

Try to roughly estimate your calories

If u wanna gain weight then whatever u are eating u have to add extra on top

Example 2 slides of bread with peanut butter for a snack in between breakfast n lunch with hard boiled eggs

You will see the difference fast

And I recommend going to the gym for workout

Many RM5 per entry gym u can go n try out
TSwanna be hi-tech
post Mar 16 2023, 12:11 AM

1,598 posts

QUOTE(Aaron212 @ Mar 15 2023, 08:26 PM)
Try to roughly estimate your calories

If u wanna gain weight then whatever u are eating u have to add extra on top

Example 2 slides of bread with peanut butter for a snack in between breakfast n lunch with hard boiled eggs

You will see the difference fast

And I recommend going to the gym for workout

Many RM5 per entry gym u can go n try out
Estimate - ok ill do it

So i am gaining weight to build muscles ? I have been cutting food because i have a tummy !

Your advice is eat more, ok. But my problem if i eat more during the day, is that i will feel sleepy and grow my tummy bigger 😅. I do a desk job. So i am facing a computer monitor until 7pm.

That is the reason i thought of some protein shakes. Anyway i am think of eggs everyday. At night, before i start to work out. Is that ok ?
Aaron212
post Mar 16 2023, 01:20 PM

1,773 posts

QUOTE(wanna be hi-tech @ Mar 15 2023, 08:11 PM)
Estimate - ok ill do it

So i am gaining weight to build muscles ?  I have been cutting food because i have a tummy !

Your advice is eat more, ok. But my problem if i eat more during the day, is that i will feel sleepy and grow my tummy bigger 😅.  I do a desk job. So i am facing a computer monitor until 7pm.

That is the reason i thought of some protein shakes. Anyway i am think of eggs everyday. At night, before i start to work out. Is that ok ?
You cannot spot reduce fat. Ie only want to reduce tummy fat cannot

U have to do workout n some cardio build up your chest later ur tummy wont be so obvious
TSwanna be hi-tech
post Mar 17 2023, 10:07 AM

1,598 posts

QUOTE(Aaron212 @ Mar 16 2023, 01:20 PM)
You cannot spot reduce fat. Ie only want to reduce tummy fat cannot

U have to do workout n some cardio build up your chest later ur tummy wont be so obvious
True cant spot reduce.
SupermanLick
post Mar 19 2023, 02:46 PM

👊PUNCH SOHAI🗣️
1,454 posts

Unker u need to tie tummy harder, so that can proportionate body gain weights
One tummy blown, chronic diseases can't treat
TSwanna be hi-tech
post Mar 20 2023, 04:10 PM

1,598 posts

QUOTE(SupermanLick @ Mar 19 2023, 02:46 PM)
Unker u need to tie tummy harder, so that can proportionate body gain weights
One tummy blown, chronic diseases can't treat
Appreciate your reply.

Can you explain what you mean by tie tummy harder ? I dont get it
Amedion
post Mar 20 2023, 04:25 PM

It's a bird! No, it's a plane! No, it's star
3,377 posts

Typical Malaysian diet full of carbs that's why all skinny fat. Need to start balance your diet with more protein & healthy fat. Can supplement with whey protein but preferable solid food source from various source such as meat, egg, milk, tofu, etc.

The minor result is just pumped muscle which will go away. Your muscle tend to 'swell' when you push them. Its all water and blood. If you don't eat at calorie surplus then muscle don't grow. Eating at surplus also means you will gain more fat.

You don't gain muscle & lose fat at the same time so if you're not confidence with your current look then your best bet is calorie deficit to burn fat first. Not sure how big is your tummy; i guess its pretty much water retention from your diet, sugary drink, sodium, etc.

If i were you. I would start getting proactive first by going for morning walk/jog, badminton, swim or hiking. Go to gym and hit the weights to progressively overload then finish off with cardio. Gradually change my diet to more clean and more proteins/healthy fats. Lastly, i will make sure to get enough sleep, reduce stress and listen to my body making sure it can recover well.
SupermanLick
post Mar 20 2023, 09:10 PM

👊PUNCH SOHAI🗣️
1,454 posts

QUOTE(wanna be hi-tech @ Mar 20 2023, 04:10 PM)
Appreciate your reply.

Can you explain what you mean by tie tummy harder ? I dont get it
Traditional therapy to get slim like teengril

TSwanna be hi-tech
post Mar 21 2023, 10:22 AM

1,598 posts

QUOTE(Amedion @ Mar 20 2023, 04:25 PM)
Typical Malaysian diet full of carbs that's why all skinny fat. Need to start balance your diet with more protein & healthy fat. Can supplement with whey protein but preferable solid food source from various source such as meat, egg, milk, tofu, etc.

The minor result is just pumped muscle which will go away. Your muscle tend to 'swell' when you push them. Its all water and blood. If you don't eat at calorie surplus then muscle don't grow. Eating at surplus also means you will gain more fat.

You don't gain muscle & lose fat at the same time so if you're not confidence with your current look then your best bet is calorie deficit to burn fat first. Not sure how big is your tummy; i guess its pretty much water retention from your diet, sugary drink, sodium, etc.

If i were you. I would start getting proactive first by going for morning walk/jog, badminton, swim or hiking. Go to gym and hit the weights to progressively overload then finish off with cardio. Gradually change my diet to more clean and more proteins/healthy fats. Lastly, i will make sure to get enough sleep, reduce stress and listen to my body making sure it can recover well.
Everage working msian struggling with time, normal lah eat shitty food for lunch, end up with tummy.

Whey, ok. As for eggs, how many egg whites do you recommend per day ?

Been trying to keep the workout consistent. Tummy is not big. I did try to burn it off fat before working out, shed anout 4kg, i know its not much.
TSwanna be hi-tech
post Mar 21 2023, 10:23 AM

1,598 posts

QUOTE(SupermanLick @ Mar 20 2023, 09:10 PM)
Traditional therapy to get slim like teengril

Haha, ok, now i get you.
harvin6
post Mar 21 2023, 10:26 AM

516 posts

TO put on weight you need consume more calories - if you just take protein shakes and maintain same calories you will see result very2 slow .
Amedion
post Mar 21 2023, 10:31 AM

It's a bird! No, it's a plane! No, it's star
3,377 posts

QUOTE(wanna be hi-tech @ Mar 21 2023, 10:22 AM)
Everage working msian struggling with time, normal lah eat shitty food for lunch, end up with tummy.

Whey, ok. As for eggs, how many egg whites do you recommend per day ?

Been trying to keep the workout consistent. Tummy is not big. I did try to burn it off fat before working out, shed anout 4kg, i know its not much.
Its not the food being shitty. Its your pick. Now you can try to pick 50/50 protein and carb.

Depends on how much protein you need for the day then only can count how many egg whites you need. U calculate by taking your bodyweight in KG x 1.6 ..

If tummy not that big then as what i said, mostly water retention from your diet. Don't cut down calories. Just add more activities.
TSwanna be hi-tech
post Mar 21 2023, 12:51 PM

1,598 posts

QUOTE(Amedion @ Mar 21 2023, 10:31 AM)
Its not the food being shitty. Its your pick. Now you can try to pick 50/50 protein and carb.

Depends on how much protein you need for the day then only can count how many egg whites you need. U calculate by taking your bodyweight in KG x 1.6 ..

If tummy not that big then as what i said, mostly water retention from your diet. Don't cut down calories. Just add more activities.
Ok. Thx for the input, will put it in action.

0.0209sec    0.29    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 25th November 2025 - 06:31 AM