5 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 >Bottom

Sony WF-1000XM4 Battery replacement, Anyone done this in Sony Service Center?

SavageJoe
post Jul 28 2023, 11:37 AM

23 posts

QUOTE(Breaktru @ Jul 27 2023, 03:16 PM)
Yupe just collected it . Only took a week . They accept to repair mine even if I don't have the receipt but luckily registered it at Sony online .

As good as new now , thanks for the help !
Does the service centre staff told you claimable when u hand over the buds?
Called Penang service centre and the staff told me to bring in and pay RM43 to let the technician check first... sweat.gif

Thank in advance!
westlife
post Jul 30 2023, 03:03 AM

14,269 posts

QUOTE(shyan90's @ Jul 27 2023, 04:38 PM)
XM5 just launch...1399......omg....
Sony Xm4 is selling at sgd249 now. Is it worth it to get than the latest XM5 which is sgd419?
shyan90's
post Jul 31 2023, 12:28 AM

To Be Old and Wise You Must First be Young and Stupid
1,198 posts

QUOTE(westlife @ Jul 30 2023, 03:03 AM)
Sony Xm4 is selling at sgd249 now. Is it worth it to get than the latest XM5 which is sgd419?
Depends what you need...can see the review btw XM4 and 5 but I doubt the changes are minimal... I still using my XM3 and had battery change few months ago...
Unless it drop to below 1k else 1400 is too much for a pair of earbuds for my pay now...
Breaktru
post Aug 1 2023, 10:18 AM

== The World ==
1,769 posts

QUOTE(SavageJoe @ Jul 28 2023, 11:37 AM)
Does the service centre staff told you claimable when u hand over the buds?
Called Penang service centre and the staff told me to bring in and pay RM43 to let the technician check first...  sweat.gif

Thank in advance!
He didn't said much , he just took it in and gave me a service receipt .
SavageJoe
post Aug 1 2023, 10:27 AM

23 posts

Why they do thing differently in different state,anyway I going to try my luck with the RM43 mellow.gif
Rei7
post Aug 1 2023, 10:42 AM

Game, anime and headphones ❤️
1,669 posts

QUOTE(SavageJoe @ Aug 1 2023, 10:27 AM)
Why they do thing differently in different state,anyway I going to try my luck with the RM43  mellow.gif
This service center most likely didn't read the memo sent by Sony. Everything is supposedly free of charge, no need to even pay any or deposit to check and repair.
SavageJoe
post Aug 7 2023, 02:29 PM

23 posts

They replaced the buds for me free of charge and able to get back the 43 cash deposit. rclxms.gif
dpo_99_sl
post Sep 6 2023, 05:49 PM

144 posts

thanks for the info guys.
My xm4 is out of warranty for 4 months but Sony replaced it for me free of charge.
The service centre lady told me as long it's within 2 years period, they will replace it for free. Not sure how true is it.
Khan92
post Oct 12 2023, 11:30 PM

To live is to die
553 posts

QUOTE(dpo_99_sl @ Sep 6 2023, 05:49 PM)
My xm4 is out of warranty for 4 months but Sony replaced it for me free of charge.
The service centre lady told me as long it's within 2 years period, they will replace it for free. Not sure how true is it.
Hey boss was it quick the replacement? or need to wait for a few days?

which Sony center you went to?

dpo_99_sl
post Oct 18 2023, 12:51 PM

144 posts

QUOTE(Khan92 @ Oct 12 2023, 11:30 PM)
Hey boss was it quick the replacement? or need to wait for a few days?

which Sony center you went to?
I went to the service centre in JB (ARSO Electronics Sdn Bhd).
Took roughly a week.
redlum
post Nov 15 2023, 04:07 PM

129 posts

Changed my twice FOC from Sony Service Center. Good service.
Rei7
post Nov 15 2023, 05:57 PM

Game, anime and headphones ❤️
1,669 posts

QUOTE(redlum @ Nov 15 2023, 04:07 PM)
Changed my twice FOC from Sony Service Center. Good service.
Why twice ya? or you have more than one?
merchant9
post Dec 5 2023, 10:44 PM

628 posts

QUOTE(dpo_99_sl @ Sep 6 2023, 05:49 PM)
It's true. Over 2 years, they don't cover. The cost to change each side is RM250. If change one side, later second side have problems.

Any other places to get the battery replaced?

This post has been edited by merchant9: Dec 6 2023, 11:20 AM
Aimer247
post Feb 19 2024, 12:52 PM

68 posts

Mine is out of warranty for 4 months, battery drained was bad as one side can only tahan less than an hour. I send it to the sony service centre and now I gotten an notification that I can collect but the amount this RM 444. Wth? Why would I pay that amount to get a 'replaced' XM4? I might as well don't collect and just throw away my 'old' earbuds.

Called the hotline and the lady say cannot discount or waive the charges.
basilpaschal
post Feb 19 2024, 12:54 PM

178 posts

easy. did it with xm3
shyan90's
post Feb 19 2024, 03:05 PM

1,198 posts

QUOTE(Aimer247 @ Feb 19 2024, 12:52 PM)
Mine is out of warranty for 4 months, battery drained was bad as one side can only tahan less than an hour. I send it to the sony service centre and now I gotten an notification that I can collect but the amount this RM 444. Wth? Why would I pay that amount to get a 'replaced' XM4? I might as well don't collect and just throw away my 'old' earbuds.

Called the hotline and the lady say cannot discount or waive the charges.
U tell them without my approval you guys proceed to repair?? You ask them take out the new battery and return the unit to you else you lodge police report...
PalakOtakHang
post Mar 22 2024, 11:33 AM

144 posts

IDK how many of you are aware of the wf1000xm4 battery drainage issue which happened a while ago. Here is a video explaining how scummy is Sony to deal with the whole saga. TLDR: Many WF-1000XM4 were defective. A firmware update caused battery drainage issue. Sony kept the issue under the rug. If you still have xm4 under warranty, they will replace the batteries for you. If you dont, go fly kite. Sony should recall all the faulty batches of products, but of course they are not doing it because it will cost them $$$.

I was lucky I sent in for repair during final month of warranty last year. 1 year forward, now right side of my earbuds is draining significantly faster than the other side. Im in utter disbelief to learn that replacing a single side costs RM444 out of warranty. I guess I'd have to buy OEM battery replacement and DIY.

WF-1000XM5 very unlikely will have defect as happened with XM4. But, XM4 will be my last Sony TWS because of how they deal with the defects. DO NOT BUY SONY EARPHONES.

auronthas
post Jul 2 2024, 10:04 AM

AudiOphiL3
1,346 posts

QUOTE(PalakOtakHang @ Mar 22 2024, 11:33 AM)

I was lucky I sent in for repair during final month of warranty last year. 1 year forward, now right side of my earbuds is draining significantly faster than the other side. Im in utter disbelief to learn that replacing a single side costs RM444 out of warranty. I guess I'd have to buy OEM battery replacement and DIY.

Sorry to bring up the old post. Like you, I was lucky to have my 1000XM4 replaced few months before warranty expire, but now, my right earbud drain from 90% to 20% less than 20 minutes. left side seems still ok but definitely less than 6 hours. I would not consider anymore Sony wireless earbud. I think XM4 is last batch Made in Malaysia, XM5 is now made in China?

I used to be active in Sony Community Forum on this 1000XM4 battery drain issues... but Sony had closed down this community forum.
shyan90's
post Jul 2 2024, 07:30 PM

1,198 posts

QUOTE(auronthas @ Jul 2 2024, 10:04 AM)
Sorry to bring up the old post.  Like you, I was lucky to have my 1000XM4 replaced few months before warranty expire, but now, my right earbud drain from 90% to 20% less than 20 minutes. left side seems still ok but definitely less than 6 hours.  I would not consider anymore Sony wireless earbud. I think XM4 is last batch Made in Malaysia, XM5 is now made in China?

I used to be active in Sony Community Forum on this 1000XM4 battery drain issues... but Sony had closed down this community forum.
Izit? XM5 now MIC already?
You can change your battery yourself. I did mine in XM3.
PalakOtakHang
post Jul 2 2024, 09:28 PM

144 posts

QUOTE(shyan90's @ Jul 2 2024, 07:30 PM)
Izit? XM5 now MIC already?
You can change your battery yourself. I did mine in XM3.
Not sure about xm5, but i saw people complaining about link buds and another sony ear buds( dont know name, dont want to know). Always one side drain faster than the other.

5 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 >Top

0.0377sec    0.45    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 9th December 2025 - 03:12 AM