39 Pages « < 23 24 25 26 27 > » Bottom

Hobbies Rubik's thread, Hello new here

viledante
post Oct 25 2009, 09:59 PM

414 posts

QUOTE(chungdavi @ Oct 25 2009, 09:12 PM)
Get a smoother cube, develope your finger tricks........

Learn the advanced method if possible......

But beginner's method is good enough to average under 1 minute if you're fast enough.......
bought the original rubiks cube, then ask my fren to spray silicon something i dunno the detail, quite smooth rite now.

advanced method? got other method ka? sweat.gif
chungdavi
post Oct 26 2009, 12:20 AM

Keep Calm and Keep Cubing
620 posts

QUOTE(viledante @ Oct 25 2009, 09:59 PM)
bought the original rubiks cube, then ask my fren to spray silicon something i dunno the detail, quite smooth rite now.

advanced method? got other method ka? sweat.gif
I don't really recommend the Rubik's brand cube, but since your friend lubricated for you, and you said it's smooth already, so I think it's fine........

Advanced method, yar, lots and lots of algorithms to memorize........
You can refer to a few posts earlier about the advanced methods......OLL and PLL......
ultimatez_najman
post Oct 26 2009, 09:18 PM

47 posts

3x3x3 rubik cube 50s..
lemba giler...
C-Note
post Oct 26 2009, 10:46 PM

starry starry night
3,037 posts

anyone can help me with 4X4? i can only do one layer =.=

i know the right method is find the correct positions of the middle 4blocks first right? that alone killed me sad.gif
chungdavi
post Oct 27 2009, 06:15 PM

620 posts

QUOTE(C-Note @ Oct 26 2009, 10:46 PM)
anyone can help me with 4X4? i can only do one layer =.=

i know the right method is find the correct positions of the middle 4blocks first right? that alone killed me sad.gif
Solve the centers 1st, then edge pairing, then solve it like 3x3x3.......

Anyway, you can try to search around Youtube and see.......
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=5o8Vdn0LeGo

This is just part 1, you can view other parts at there.....
XaViErX
post Oct 30 2009, 08:43 PM

198 posts

For the silicon lubricant i recommend the CRC Heavy Duty Silicone Or the one from Ace ...DO NOT use WD-40 ( which is for metal NOT plastic ) and vaseline a.k.a petroluem jelly ( it SUX so MUCH that i ended up cleaning my whole cube and it spoiled my DianSheng )

I HIGHLY recommend to learn 2-Look OLL and 2-Look PLL BEFORE proceeding to FULL OLL and PLL...
chungdavi
post Oct 31 2009, 09:14 PM

620 posts

QUOTE(XaViErX @ Oct 30 2009, 08:43 PM)
For the silicon lubricant i recommend the CRC Heavy Duty Silicone Or the one from Ace ...DO NOT use WD-40 ( which is for metal NOT plastic ) and vaseline a.k.a petroluem jelly ( it SUX so MUCH that i ended up cleaning my whole cube and it spoiled my DianSheng )
I HIGHLY recommend to learn 2-Look OLL and 2-Look PLL BEFORE proceeding to FULL OLL and PLL...
By the way, where can we find the silicon lubricant??? Any shops and their location???
XaViErX
post Oct 31 2009, 09:58 PM

198 posts

QUOTE(chungdavi @ Oct 31 2009, 09:14 PM)
By the way, where can we find the silicon lubricant??? Any shops and their location???
I guess u can buy them from ur local hardware store...Don't buy the wrong one lol . Ltr ur cube spoiled... doh.gif
chungdavi
post Nov 1 2009, 12:03 AM

620 posts

QUOTE(XaViErX @ Oct 31 2009, 09:58 PM)
I guess u can buy them from ur local hardware store...Don't buy the wrong one lol . Ltr ur cube spoiled... doh.gif
Alright, thanks for the info........

By the way, is there any modified method of 2-look OLL and PLL for Megaminx???
lord_aminkin
post Nov 1 2009, 08:57 AM

♫~♫~♫~♫~♫~♫~♫~♫~♫
999 posts

Bought Rubik's cube key chain just for leisure and easy for me to carry anywhere. But it easily stuck and I'm quite irritated by it. I expect something better for such expensive price *sigh*
chungdavi
post Nov 1 2009, 02:37 PM

620 posts

QUOTE(lord_aminkin @ Nov 1 2009, 08:57 AM)
Bought Rubik's cube key chain just for leisure and easy for me to carry anywhere. But it easily stuck and I'm quite irritated by it. I expect something better for such expensive price *sigh*
I don't really understand why, but Rubik's brand cube at Toys R Us are the most expensive cubes, and yet their turnings are some of the worst turnings you can get......
zachary_row
post Nov 3 2009, 02:24 PM

63 posts

I am a cuber! I cube everyday on my way to work in the LRT and everyone stares at me as if I'm a freak. LOL. My personal best is 1:09 but has since increased thanks to my lousy cube popping all over the place. I sprayed silicone onto it and it got worse! LOL. I am looking for a good cube or one of those china DIY ones. They are supposed to be made for speedcubing. Anyone selling them here? Interested.

QUOTE(chungdavi)
I don't really understand why, but Rubik's brand cube at Toys R Us are the most expensive cubes, and yet their turnings are some of the worst turnings you can get......

Because the Rubik's brand is synonymous with rubik's cubes. That's why you pay so much for something crappy. There are many versions of the Rubik's brand but the best one is the one made in Hungary (or something like that la). Get that one and open it up, spray some silicone on it (one layer) and let it dry for 24 hours. Then assemble it and start cubing. It will have rough turns but after 300 moves or so (2 to 3 days max!) it will be super smooth. Be warned that the cubbies can pop once the silicone is too smooth so make sure you adjust the center screw to tighten the cube to your preference.

I don't know why I just told you all that stuff eventhough you didn't ask, but heck, knowledge is better passed around than kept in a jar. tongue.gif

"Once you know how to solve it, it isn't that impressive anymore."

This post has been edited by zachary_row: Nov 3 2009, 02:32 PM
lord_aminkin
post Nov 3 2009, 04:44 PM

♫~♫~♫~♫~♫~♫~♫~♫~♫
999 posts

QUOTE(chungdavi @ Nov 1 2009, 02:37 PM)
Actually I'm just looking for a cheap cube keychain but didn't found it thus opt to buy the Rubik's one. Only recently to discover there's one thread in LYN Street Market selling those for only 4 bucks. I can buy like 6 cubes with the same amount from Rubiks's brand *sigh*
wuwah
post Nov 3 2009, 09:54 PM

ai ai ai~
1,153 posts

QUOTE(zachary_row @ Nov 3 2009, 02:24 PM)
I am a cuber! I cube everyday on my way to work in the LRT and everyone stares at me as if I'm a freak. LOL.
hey, thats happen to me too!! sweat.gif especially when there is kids. they'll stare at u like their eye wanna pop out!! cool2.gif doh.gif
chungdavi
post Nov 3 2009, 11:23 PM

620 posts

QUOTE(wuwah @ Nov 3 2009, 09:54 PM)
hey, thats happen to me too!! sweat.gif  especially when there is kids. they'll stare at u like their eye wanna pop out!! cool2.gif  doh.gif
Lol, and their reaction will be even bigger when I'm solving a 7x7x7......
syumul
post Nov 3 2009, 11:28 PM

215 posts

already forget the move..huhu
zachary_row
post Nov 4 2009, 09:38 AM

63 posts

QUOTE(wuwah)
hey, thats happen to me too!!  especially when there is kids. they'll stare at u like their eye wanna pop out!!  

There was this elderly lady who had to wave in front of my face to get my attention! (I was listening to music at the same time while cubing).

Here's our conversation.

Old Lady: Thats very impressive young man! How do you do it?
Me: I learnt it.
Old Lady: How long did you take to learn it?
Me: 2 days. (She said learn it not master it rite? LOL)
Old Lady: Whoa! You must be a genius.
Me: Nah, I'm kinda retarded. (Meant it as a joke)

The old lady just stared at me! I think she really thought I was retarded. LOL.
I guess that old people have old humor too. What the heck is old humor? LOL.

This post has been edited by zachary_row: Nov 4 2009, 09:41 AM
XaViErX
post Nov 4 2009, 03:31 PM

198 posts

QUOTE(chungdavi @ Nov 1 2009, 02:37 PM)
Rubik's Brand cubes are meant to be " Broken In " , u can find the tutorial on how to " break in " a rubik's brand cube...
Click on this link to view the video~

Dun try this... Ur cube may be broken after this...But its funny anyway...
Don try this on ur cube but u can view it ( Funny )

wuwah
post Nov 5 2009, 01:33 PM

ai ai ai~
1,153 posts

148 people registered for the malaysian open. so sad i can't make it there..
zachary_row
post Nov 5 2009, 04:39 PM

63 posts

QUOTE(wuwah @ Nov 5 2009, 01:33 PM)
148 people registered for the malaysian open. so sad i can't make it there..
Got Malaysian open? Whats the record? 15 seconds? 7 seconds like Yu Nakajima? laugh.gif

39 Pages « < 23 24 25 26 27 > » Top

0.1794sec    0.46    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 28th November 2025 - 09:09 PM