15 Pages « < 12 13 14 15 >Bottom

Hedgehog Corner V4, Cuter than durians!

Cimredopyh
post Jun 2 2008, 11:56 PM

385 posts

Hi guys just to let you know i might be hard to reach this week as both Demon and Angel appear to be sick (abnormal poop, bacteria present sad.gif )
I went to the vet today and i have some rather complicated medication dosages and special diet to handle for them this week.
Those of you who i owe wheels don't worry i haven't forgotten!
I may still be able to COD for you this week but i hope you can understand if i have to delay it.
Spare a thought for Demon and Angel so they can have a speedy recovery
Cimredopyh
post Jun 6 2008, 07:11 AM

385 posts

Thanks guys for your concern and kind thoughts, I think Demon and Angel are improving slightly but it still to early to be sure ( the medicine has to be given for 7 days )
It is really INCREDIBLY DIFFICULT to give Angel her medicine, takes me over an hour each time and it needs to be done twice a day
Demon is easily fooled by injecting the medicine into mealies.

QUOTE(zondar @ Jun 6 2008, 01:33 AM)
hi , i got one male albino hedgehog, looking for female, intend to breed it.. where can you guys suggest for me to find it?
http://pimpmycomputer.blogspot.com/
Rules and Regulations for Pets Wonderland
2) Advertising of Pet sales or wanting to purchase/adopt a pet is prohibited. Do it in the Garage Sales instead.
5) STUD SERVICE or PET PAIRING discussions are prohibited. Topic will be deleted and a warning will be issued.

Fortunately for you i am too tired to grill you at length about breeding, i will make it short and and sweet.
Research and make sure you know what you are doing or you will end up with two injured hedgehogs, half eaten babies,a nice bloody mess to clean up, and expensive vet bills to pay.

Cimredopyh
post Jun 6 2008, 09:44 PM

385 posts

Over the last week or so both Demon and Angel have been having poop issues. For those of you interested to know the story read the spoiler below.

QUOTE(cassplayer @ Jun 6 2008, 10:10 AM)
yeeeeerrrrrrr dunno when oni can start having a baby hedgie... i nid proffesional trainers to teach me how to have 1 hahaha
QUOTE(cassplayer @ Jun 3 2008, 10:15 AM)
i juz got my velcro in SG for SGD2 and is 2 sides 1 metre each side
Are you located in Singapore? If you are not located in Singapore than ignore the comments below.
Hedgehogs are illegal in Singapore.
If you get one via illegal methods, you will never be able to provide vet care when the hedgehog needs it.
This would be very irresponsible and serious neglect on your part.

I agree with the others, you do not need a 'professional trainer' to learn how to care for your hedgehog.
If you truly care about it and have genuine interest, you will find that doing research on your own will be fun and interesting
Remember you are always welcome to discuss here what you have learned when you are confused or unsure
But i hope you do not expect others to spoon feed you A-Z information! laugh.gif

A simple google search will provide you with plenty of information, it is up to you to read it or not.

This post has been edited by Cimredopyh: Jun 6 2008, 09:59 PM
Cimredopyh
post Jun 6 2008, 10:05 PM

385 posts

The poo is too firm, too dark (almost black) and coated with neon green slime.
As to 'what exactly is wrong' its hard to say because so many things can cause green poo in hedgehogs

In Ferrets it's know as ECE and is often fatal. In dogs, slimey green stool is a sign of "bile dumping", which indicates liver failure.

But in hedgehogs green slime is alot less serious and could be anything as simple as stress, could be just stomach irritation caused by new food,or can also be something serious like kidney/liver issues.

For this week i am trying the diet change and antibiotics, if no improvement then only will i request for a blood test.
Cimredopyh
post Jun 6 2008, 10:09 PM

385 posts

If just once then it was probably just stress smile.gif
Cimredopyh
post Jun 6 2008, 10:19 PM

385 posts

Thank you! i really hope so too sad.gif

Its almost medicine time for Angel, time to prepare for battle with her ><
Cimredopyh
post Jun 9 2008, 04:31 AM

385 posts

QUOTE(muchan86 @ Jun 8 2008, 03:08 PM)
does she have any other symptoms rather than not finishing her food?
how bout her poo n pee? do u recognize  any changes in that?
talk bout food....
I've been starting diet for my boy... and yesterday morning I've starved him in other to make him eat another kibbles that I prepared for his diet.... but.. he dun wan to eat that!! well.. I fed him and only ate 3-4 kibbles -.-"
he din eat the whole day and till now also din touch his food.. always went to sleep n sleep.. sigh.... hungry also dun wan to eat unless I gave him back his old kibbles  doh.gif
gonna give him some apples to attract him..

If a hedgehog does not eat anything for more than 48 hours this will bring on fatty liver disease.
I seriously recommend you do the food change slowly in the way that we talked about before
Starving him and abruptly introducing a new food is going to cause havoc with tummy. It is not surprising that he refuses to eat even though you starved him.

I understand that Ken is naughty and will scatter his kibble around when you slowly add a new food laugh.gif but just close one eye and ignore his tantrum.
He will eventually have to start eating the hew food, but the slow change method will ensure he does not have to starve.
Just continue to increase the amount of new kibble while slowly reducing the old kibble. This will give his stomach the time it needs to adjust. smile.gif

When your hedgehog is overweight you do not need to limit the amount of food they eat, just switch to a food with a lower fat content.

@Nikki

scroll down on the page linked below to read a discussion we had here awhile back about superworms, btw it continues for a few posts on the next page

http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/532702/+1840

Demon and Angel still sick, but showing improvement.
Cimredopyh
post Jun 9 2008, 05:20 PM

385 posts

His face is so cute in the second pic <3
Cimredopyh
post Jun 12 2008, 06:52 PM

385 posts

Sorry guys, i do pop on to read but no energy to post. Not only Demon and Angel are sick, now me and my BF came down with the flu : /
as the saying goes 'when it rains, it pours'
Cimredopyh
post Jun 14 2008, 05:32 PM

385 posts

Actually they need wheels, its not optional.

Its not only a boredom issue, the wheel is more than just a toy, they need the wheels for health reasons. If you don't get them a wheel , your neglecting their health.
Toys like balls or TP roll cannot substitute the wheel. Those are optional toys. The wheel is a must for a healthy hedgehog.

Hedgehogs can travel for miles each night, both in the wild and on their wheels. Even if you let them out to play for a couple hours everyday you cannot substitute what they gain from running on a wheel.

Using the fact that you have no time to wash the wheel is not really a good excuse, this is something you need to be prepared for before you buy the hedgehog. If some of the breeders i know with over 20 hedgehogs (and other pets as well) can provide them all with wheels, i don't think that any of us should neglect to do so.
Cimredopyh
post Jun 14 2008, 06:19 PM

385 posts

Sorry Wei sad.gif sometime mid or end of next week will be good, Maybe we can meet with Mamata at the same time too?
Cimredopyh
post Jun 14 2008, 11:39 PM

385 posts

We make it at night or late evening after work hours. Either KLCC or Mid Valley since both can be reached by LRT
Hows that?

Anyone else want to come ? smile.gif
Cimredopyh
post Jun 16 2008, 12:18 AM

385 posts

QUOTE(muchan86 @ Jun 15 2008, 01:13 AM)
well... if its next week.. not a good time i guess.. facing my final next next week lol

say TT... but can see only me n cim that hanging to this thread.. the rest.. all boys!! lol
Oh! best of luck in your finals, if you and Nikki cant come then i will be like Ibu ayam sweat.gif

QUOTE(max-oasism @ Jun 15 2008, 05:45 AM)
emm... is hedgedog localize in asia?
Don't quite understand your question but do you mean to ask if they are a local species?
I think there are no wild species of Hedgehogs in Malaysia, only Porcupines.
The type we keep as pets does not exist in the wild. It is a cross between African and Algerian species.
Cimredopyh
post Jun 17 2008, 12:58 AM

385 posts

Read page one of this hedgehog thread.
Section 8 and 9 explain handling and socializing with your hedgie.
Cimredopyh
post Jun 18 2008, 05:27 PM

385 posts

QUOTE(muchan86 @ Jun 18 2008, 04:15 PM)
^ since u're in sunway... i recommend petshack to u smile.gif
well... the price is bit lower than pet lovers center at pyramid and I'm sure u can find lots of things such as,  hidebox for ur little hedgie smile.gif

happy shopping!!!

btw.. guysss!!!!
those who wan TT.... this coming saturday free or not?
because this saturday I'm meeting my friend at midvalley.. and i was thinking if can.. make it this friday then i can join... and Cim no need to be Ibu ayam tongue.gif
Aiya i am meeting mamata and weiwei on Friday at KLCC, just arranged it before i came online. doh.gif

Video of demons legs moving while he is asleep, dreaming about running a marathon? laugh.gif

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ovSfBd6E4O0&feature=user

Edit: out of curiosity how do you link the video so that it can be viewed in the actual post? (Thx Muchan! edited it )

This post has been edited by Cimredopyh: Jun 18 2008, 10:29 PM
Cimredopyh
post Jun 18 2008, 09:56 PM

385 posts

Friday KLCC 7 pm ( both Mamata an Wei2 coming by LRT )
Saturday is no problem for me, Ill ask Wei and Mamata see if its alright for them

what about everyone else ?

QUOTE(carebears_may @ Jun 18 2008, 06:41 PM)
aiyah Cim.. so cute the leg kicking kicking, maybe not dreaming about marathon la, EURO la.. football ni, kicking football ni.. hehe  tongue.gif
btw, how come the legs got lebam lebam like tat, red red color...?
LOL football! didnt think of that
The lebam is his footpads, i think because of his dark colour and mottled markings on the legs (the dark patches of colour) the footpads look pinkish in contrast

Mottling is like birthmarks on the body, dark coloured hedgehogs (S&P, Gray, Brown, etc) will often have it all their legs, tails, and bellies.
Light colour hedgies (Champagne, Apricot, Cinnacot etc) either have very very light or no mottling at all.

This post has been edited by Cimredopyh: Jun 18 2008, 10:26 PM
Cimredopyh
post Jun 18 2008, 10:21 PM

385 posts

Aiyo, the day maybe can change la, but the location has to be KLCC as the LRT is quite far from Mid Valley ( both of them coming by LRT )

Cimredopyh
post Jun 18 2008, 11:15 PM

385 posts

I dont mind Sunway, its abit far but im coming by car so it should be ok

However the main reason for meeting up with Wei2 and Mamata is because i need to give them their wheels. They both requested a location that is accessible by LRT, hence KLCC. Pyramid mana ada LRT ><
Cimredopyh
post Jun 19 2008, 01:03 AM

385 posts

QUOTE(bonai @ Jun 18 2008, 11:34 PM)
err.. mamata sure got car.. it's wei2 left..

pyramid a bit hard to go by public transport since only got bus & taxi to get there..

let's choose the best/simple/easy place to meet up...

p/s- let's bring our hedgies along..  thumbup.gif
err car or no car, for some reason BOTH of them asked me to meet at a place with LRT, not just wei2

Tell you what, i will proceed with my cod with 2 of them, we organize the meet up somewhere else at a different date.

I wont be bringing my hedgies i think, unless we meet at somewhere quiet like someones house.

1) they are both recovering from illness
2) both get carsick
3) hedgies all have different 'flora' in ther bodies, when introducing one hedgehog to another sometimes one of them can get sick because of the diferent 'flora' in their bodies
4) hedgehogs, unlike social outgoing animals like dogs/gliders will possibly be very stressed out by all the the new people and other hedgies around
5) i am the crazy hedgehog lady

Cimredopyh
post Jun 19 2008, 04:40 AM

385 posts

I guess TT in Sunway area since most hedgie ppl seem to be located there?

QUOTE(muchan86 @ Jun 19 2008, 01:38 AM)
Cim... bout the car sickness is normal... I mean...
If wan to bring them out... 1st.. put them in small storage box or a box which cover all surround.. means the hedgie cannot see the outside.. like this they wont feel the sickness because they cant see world is walking :lol

I had tried this with my Ken.. last time bring him out to petshack and put him inside my hand carry bag and when I arrive..he still active and no vomit at all smile.gif but.. yeah.. actually I dun really like to bring my Ken along... I mean if its glider is easy.. can bring bonding pouch and no need to care them so much.. as hedgie.. hard lar.. because they wont feel comfortable with the small carrier we put them in.... hehe
Actually not all hedgies get car sickness, and some have it worse than others (but it is very common). Angel is not too bad, she will start to puke near the end of the trip
but Demon will start puking the minute we drive out of the condo parking area, and only stop a few minutes after the journey ends.
Even when his stomach is empty he will continue to make foam and puke it out. Its really pitiful to see.
By time i get home his tummy is soaked in his own puke sad.gif
In Kens case he might not be affected by motion sickness, consider yourself lucky that you can bring him around comfortably nod.gif

Keeping them in a dark area does not guarantee they will not get sick, it helps but not for all.
Every single time i journey with them i keep them in a dark container with a blankie for them so they don't get tossed around. Even then they still puke. Tried carrying him close to my body also still puke.
Even then i don't see any need to cause them to puke and feel ill just to show them off, Ill only make them go through it if its necessary like for a vet visit.

15 Pages « < 12 13 14 15 >Top

0.0493sec    0.29    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 7th December 2025 - 03:50 AM