Saturday at Sunway ? no problem for me where exactly and what time ?
Edit: oh two people cannot make on Saturday, what about Sunday?
This post has been edited by Cimredopyh: Jun 20 2008, 04:55 PM
Hedgehog Corner V4, Cuter than durians!
Jun 20 2008, 04:53 PM
385 posts Joined: Nov 2007 From: Kuala Lumpur |
Saturday at Sunway ? no problem for me where exactly and what time ?
Edit: oh two people cannot make on Saturday, what about Sunday? This post has been edited by Cimredopyh: Jun 20 2008, 04:55 PM |
Jun 21 2008, 01:53 AM
Sure next week gives us more time to arrange things
Mamata and Wei2, nice meeting you today, if there are any problems or questions about the wheel do drop me a PM, actually theres some stuff i wanted to explain but abit kan cheong at that time because i was late XD Mamata sengaja tipu me that he is fat.....so that i would be looking around for someone fat >< |
Jun 21 2008, 06:02 PM
QUOTE(mamata @ Jun 21 2008, 08:20 AM) yeah I am so glad she likes it! shea already started using the wheels ,already fulls of poops.The first time i put the wheels she already sniff 2 it.Curios maybe.So not problem with the wheels .i hope soo.Thanks cim p/s: u were nice in that dress.btw cim ure so pretty be sure to try your best to not wet the bearing part, i oiled it for u with some wheatgerm oil (dont use stuff like WD40 in case they get curious and lick) so it should be sort of protected from water for now. Everything is stainless steel, but if possible dont wet the metal parts at all. Also i forgot to show you that you can remove the stand so its easier for you to wash, just unscrew the wingnut at the back, before you re attach make sure the bearing is tight between the head of the bolt and the nut. Hehe thank you, was having dinner with bf after that, you know how that is |
Jun 22 2008, 05:58 PM
Thats a pinto
Probably because pinto is a dominant gene, so it is not dificult to reproduce. Snowflaking is recessive, so its a bit more tricky to reproduce. Pinto is a hedgehog with patches on its body that have no pigmentation, pintos can come in any colour ( Grey pinto, cinnacot pinto etc) Pinto just like Snowflake is not a colour but a pattern ![]() taken from http://www.hedgehogsbyvickie.com/hedgehoghomepage.htm @mamata, yep you can clean with wet tissue/baby wipes just be sure to give a good clean with soap and water once in awhile. This post has been edited by Cimredopyh: Jun 22 2008, 06:20 PM |
Jun 22 2008, 06:06 PM
-Edited to remove double post-
This post has been edited by Cimredopyh: Jun 22 2008, 06:18 PM |
Jun 22 2008, 06:17 PM
Ehh how come came out double?? maybe i pressed the wrong button when i edited
Jun 22 2008, 07:46 PM
Angel is ok, poop is normal but abit constipated now ><
Demon still having green poo but less than before They are much much better but still not 100% recovered. I have alot of pictures hehehehehe, ill upload them later. |
Jun 23 2008, 05:22 PM
Bonai remember some time ago you asked about calcium supplements for hedgehogs? ( the ones that are dusted on insects)
I found out that it is not recommended because these are generally designed for reptiles who have high calcium needs and the calcium : phosphorous ratio is not suitable for hedgies ( basically its too much calcium for them ) Overdosing on calcium may cause urinary issues or stones If possible advise your fried to stop supplementing his hedgies with it. |
Jun 23 2008, 05:36 PM
Mealworms are high in fat, thats the only reason not to feed everyday.
If your hedgie is on the slim side and wheels regularly its ok to feed a small amount each day. (maybe like 2-4 mealies) But if you feed a spoonfull of mealies to a chubby hedgie everyday your asking for trouble lol This post has been edited by Cimredopyh: Jun 23 2008, 05:37 PM |
Jun 23 2008, 05:56 PM
QUOTE(bonai @ Jun 23 2008, 05:27 PM) erm actually not calcium dusted on insects/food.. it's a pure calcium mix.. something like home-made or such.. how does it looks like or how to feed i have no idea at all.. Wanted to add, That unless he knows how to correctly dose the hedgehog according to the needs of the species and its weight he is pretty much experimenting with his hedgie and that pure calcium powder. Hedgehogs do need calcium, but unless they are a female that is used for breeding there is no need to supplement it. Even then, small amounts of cottage cheese are used maybe once a week, not calcium powders. If you really want to supplement your hedgie with something supplement it with fiber. This is the one thing that even the best cat food mix lacks in. Fruits, veggies, and certain types of multi grain cereal can be fed directly or used to gutload insects. |
Jun 23 2008, 11:38 PM
You prepare fruits for your gliders often why is it trouble to do so once in awhile for the hedgehogs ?
Jun 24 2008, 01:07 AM
QUOTE(weiwei89 @ Jun 23 2008, 11:52 PM) yayaya... finally got chance on9 zo!!! Glad to hear mimi is using it I used and old toothbrush for the silent spinner too, and it worked well get the wheel from cim, look like new 1!!! still got the the advertise paper on it, luckyly dun hav the original plastic bag... o else it look like jus bought from petshop... my mimi zai oso using the wheel, but using means SHXT!!! ShXt at the whole wheel, hav to use my toothbrush to gosok it.... (joking, of course old toothbrush) p/s: cim, u are so beautiful to me.... btw, if got tt nearby my area(setapak)... plss infrom me!!! Welcome to the wheel washers club QUOTE(wanoridz @ Jun 24 2008, 12:09 AM) hey u guys Ah this is the famous "hedgie scream of death" last two night i woke up by the sound of baby crying in the middle of the night i was shock and afraid what that might be i sat up and the crying sound comes again, and it comes from my melati's box i went to her box and she look at me and make that sound again. Does anybody ever heard how hedgehog sound's like before? this is the first time i heard it since i took it from a friend of mine. If you haven't heard it before you will find it hard to believe they can make a scream LOUD enough to hear from any part of the house Most of the time they do it when in great pain from an injury or if they get trapped or stuck somewhere ( like in an unsuitable wheel or cage ) Sometimes they do it for a silly reason like if you re-arrange the cage or take away their favorite toy LOL! It is more common to hear it from females than males (not sure why) Check her whole body carefully, and observe her behavior carefully over the next few days. If you cant find anything wrong don't worry too much. Edit: You can hear the sound here, altho some people say that the sound their hedgie made is different you can get the idea of how loud it is. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=b0s3v-M-ELg This post has been edited by Cimredopyh: Jun 24 2008, 01:15 AM |
Jun 24 2008, 05:30 PM
@Tag Reptiles
I am so sorry for your loss, passing away at 4 years of age means that you had 4 wonderful years with each other. Nothing can ever take that away from you. Sleep well Amy Rose. @muchan I totally agree with you, what at absoloute MORON! Their quills are hollow, when you cut them you expose the hollow inside allowing dirt and bacteria to enter and get trapped in the quills. Its like a hedgehog walking around with and exposed wound on its back Its only a matter of time before an infection starts to happen |
Jun 25 2008, 01:16 AM
Mushroom = fungus
Our humid weather is a paradise for fungus to grow, provide a suitably damp environment and surpise!, fungus heaven. Some types of mold/fungus can make animals sick. Perhaps sun or bake the leftover bedding to get rid of any spores. Wash absolutely everything in the cage. I agree about Friskies being a very bad food, its the equivalent of eating Twisties for breakfast lunch and dinner. In future you can try mixing other brands like Blackwood/ Acana with his regular RC, just in case RC is out of stock you have a backup food that he is used to eating. This post has been edited by Cimredopyh: Jun 25 2008, 01:17 AM |
Jun 25 2008, 02:21 AM
My dear friends, yesterday night my little Demon passed away. I am sorry for not sharing this news sooner but it took me awhile to gather the courage to talk about it and look at his pictures
you may click below to view the memorial thread http://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopic=727190 |
Jun 25 2008, 04:58 PM
Thank you everyone for your kind wishes. It means more to me than you may think
I too thought that he was improving. Due to the circumstances of his death, a summary of his symptoms and the vet being unable to find the cause of the bowel irritation, it has been suggested to me that he may have suffered from cancer in the stomach. Angel is doing fine, she is due for a checkup soon. I will be sure to update you. My little girl is a big comfort to me at this time. QUOTE(TAGreptiles @ Jun 25 2008, 01:04 PM) Yes i agreeQUOTE(TAGreptiles @ Jun 25 2008, 01:04 PM) i think my Amy is the longest living one around this forum? she's the first batch along with pickles and sparkie i think... The fact that Amy is among one of 'the first batch' may have more to do with it and less to do with how little you handled her than you realize. The life expectancy used to be 5-8 years when hedgehogs first entered the pet market in North America and Canada, then 5-4 and now its not even that, 2-3 years has become the norm. No matter how well cared for they are dying younger and younger. When they first entered the pet market they were closer in relation to the 'wild' hedgehogs that they descended from, where nature would naturally kill off the sick and weak allowing the more healthy to live one and reproduce. (of course the African hedgehog we keep as pets does not actually exist in the wild, being a hybrid species, but the reasoning is still sound.) The increasing amount of disease and ever shortening life expectancy we are seeing is from a lack of genetic variability from mate pairings. I have no idea how many animals the original gene pool comes down from but i doubt it is a very large one, them being a hybrid species. When you have such a small gene pool, it's especially important that you breed very carefully, paying close attention to disease and illness. But now that pet stores are selling hedgehogs and very un-knowledgeable people are breeding potentially unhealthy animals, This causes huge problems. Because these hedgehogs that carry the genetic illnesses are potentially being bred to a hedgehog that they are related to (some times closely related). QUOTE(TAGreptiles @ Jun 25 2008, 01:04 PM) sometimes, i think you people care too much about the thing. they're solitary animals which do not need you to touch/carry/fondle them everyday. Would it be fair of me to say that you cared too little and that you missed seeing the very obvious signs of physical affection that a well bonded and socialized hedgehog can show toward their owner? I don't think its fair of me to say that. It is also unfair, and frankly rather carelessly worded, of you to judge us of caring too much about "the thing" QUOTE(TAGreptiles @ Jun 25 2008, 01:04 PM) to be honest, bonding time with my amy is only when she bath once every 2 weeks. other then the usual odd day pet and sniff session, she's just there. To be honest, handling for a bath once every two weeks is not bonding time. QUOTE(TAGreptiles @ Jun 25 2008, 01:04 PM) its not that i'm asking you all to not care about the animal. but they're like that. they prefer it to be that way. they might be affectionate, but not all the time. if you want a pet that you can bring around everywhere and touch whenever you want to, get a glider. Yes i couldn't agree more, Not all hedgehogs are affectionate, and some really do better when given space and privacy. I would also add that for those for you who like display pets, go for reptile or something like a T. Keeping a potentially affectionate animal as a display pet only would be a waste. QUOTE(TAGreptiles @ Jun 25 2008, 01:04 PM) PS: wet wood chips breeds mites. the mushroom is the least of your worries. mites can be deadly to a hedgie if untreated. to me, best bedding=newspaper. or breeder select cat litter. The ink used on Malaysian newspaper, unlike some countries, is not a non-toxic ink, and can stain the white belly fur of hedgehogs. Any damp paper or wood can harbor a variety of things. Breeder Select is made from recycled paper, and is not excluded.To me, Fleece cage liners are by far the best. The chances of getting mites is reduced almost to 0. This post has been edited by Cimredopyh: Jun 25 2008, 05:14 PM |
Jun 25 2008, 11:58 PM
QUOTE(TAGreptiles @ Jun 25 2008, 10:14 PM) I respect and understand that, just like i am sure you respect and understand that not all people who keep conventionally cute animals are "OMG so CUTE i WANT to SQUEEZE!" airheads. QUOTE(smellyocheese @ Jun 25 2008, 10:46 PM) Its just as well that you gave up on towels, towel fabric is highly unsuitable for hedgehogs. While it does require you to change it every 3 days, cloth bedding is no dirtier that any other form of bedding. It merely does not hide the dirt from your eyes and nose the way other beddings can. When maintained properly it is actually the most hygienic form of bedding. QUOTE(smellyocheese @ Jun 25 2008, 10:46 PM) Although not handled everyday, she actually became tamer. She was the hedgie who wakes up a greets people when she sees them instead of curling into a spiked up ball hissing. She willingly allows kids to handle her. and bathing her means I get to wrap her in a towel and she'd sleep on my chest with me, not going anywhere. I am in no way trying to demean your experience and memories but this is actually the standard post bath time ritual for hedgehog owners around the world. QUOTE(smellyocheese @ Jun 25 2008, 10:46 PM) personally, I do think it's true that hedgehogs probably do not need that much handling than what we think is required. I've seen many occasions where frequent handling result in falling or dropping which is a big matter or even stress (we all think spiked up balls are so so cute). In the hands of someone lacking knowledge injury can happen in so many ways, improper toys, improper housing, improper diet. Education is key to preventing injury. In fact you will run into problems if you do not familiarize yourself with handling your hedgehog with your bare hands. Simple things like the trimming of nails or even bathing can become very stressfully for both parties. In fact injury can happen if the owner does not know how to handle a squirming hedgehog. Limiting of handling is no way of guaranteeing safety. Surely i don't need to go into the ruckus that will occur during the administering of medication. I also find it contradictory that you express concern of injury from handling accidents yet you appear to not have had any aversion to allowing kids to handle her. QUOTE(smellyocheese @ Jun 25 2008, 10:46 PM) My advise would be just to keep an eye on your hedgies, give them what they need (food, water, silence, darkness) and handle them occasionally. When they're younger, you can handle them more but as they're older, you don't really have to. I've learned from Amy that she never turns wild once she's been tamed. It is wonderful that you both had the luck of having a healthy and friendly hedgehog. Despite the fact that you say she was not kept in 100% optimum conditions i have no doubt in my mind that she was well cared for. But once again limiting of handling guarantees nothing and is only advisable in certain cases. Many hedgehogs mellow in their old age and welcome physical attention when they might have been less interested to cuddle as babies. Darkness is important during the night but not providing a 12:12 light and darkness cycle may induce a hibernation attempt. QUOTE(smellyocheese @ Jun 25 2008, 10:46 PM) and bathing is actually an excellent time to bond because after a bath, they're usually more relaxed (more unlikely to curl) and their quills are softer to touch making them easier to handle. Hedgehogs do not ball or raise their quills when in water because it is an anti-drown mechanism. The proof? You average hedgehog encountering water for the first time may be obviously panicking and trying to get out, but the quills will remain down. This does not mean that i disagree with you that bathing is an excellent time for bonding. In fact i couldn't agree more bathing and post bathing cuddling is a wonderful thing. My meaning was that interaction once every 14 days only is not sufficient in a vast majority of cases to form or maintain a bond. People have gone on holiday for 10 days and found that they had to start bonding all over again from square 1 Perhaps you have a misconception of what people mean when they say that you should handle your hedgehog regularly. This does not mean to molest and harass a struggling stressed out animal at any time that the whim. strikes you. They are indeed an exotic animal with all the trappings of solitary and territorial behaviour. Forming and maintaining a bond with your hedgehog requires patience and restraint above all things. This is why hedgehogs are not suitable for many people. Socialize with them for a fixed amount of time, at the same time everyday and you will likely see the results. Some notice that when they do this, often the hedgehog will be awake and waiting for playtime. Hedgehogs are after all, creatures of habit. Look two pages back, Waranoidz hedgehog Melati literally screamed for his attention when he neglected to let her out for her daily scheduled playtime I know very well that they are not like dogs and will not give you love, physical affection and trust unconditionally, with them it is something you have to earn every step of the way. The earning of this love and trust is the most wonderfully rewarding experience a hedgehog owner can have. Advising people that it is not necessary to attempt it is unfair. This post has been edited by Cimredopyh: Jun 26 2008, 12:16 AM |
Jun 26 2008, 01:44 AM
QUOTE(TAGreptiles @ Jun 26 2008, 12:35 AM) we're just giving our opinions and advices to those who're willing to take them. Absoloutely, over handling can stress anything out. I do not condone over handling, But i do not agree to discouraging socialization with your hedgehog via regular interaction. What i ment to say is that, they're just like that. They're not domesticated. They're solitary in nature, and like humans, the stress factor comes to play. whatever it is your intentions are, which i doubt is ever bad, daily handling makes them stressed out. Which can lead to death as well. QUOTE(TAGreptiles @ Jun 26 2008, 12:35 AM) what we're trying to get through here is, its not fair to tell a person they cant keep one. but when they do, do it right. and right does not always means, playing with them everyday, bathing them every 5 days or how many days bla bla bla, keeping them in this linen thing, right could just simply mean, keep then alive and well, and most important of all...happy. My point exactly, do it right. QUOTE(TAGreptiles @ Jun 26 2008, 12:35 AM) In terms of letting children handle her, which we do loads and loads of time over, you should actually get to understand your lil creature first. we do not let children pet it for fun, hold them for fun, or taking pictures for money, we're just telling them and teaching them the value of all life. I'll ask you this. I never said it was wrong to let children handle them, read my comment again. I said that is was contradictory to discourage over handling and then condone handling by young children. When you first brought back Demon, what did your grandmother say? I bet it sounded something like, what did you bring that ugly thingy back home? why dont you just get a dog/cat/chicken/horse? Believe me i understand my little creature very well. My own education started very young. The irony of using a grandmother as example. I was raised primarily by my maternal grandmother due to the fact that my mother is a single working parent. I no longer live at home, i now live with my boyfriend. Over CNY i brought Demon home for a week to meet my grandmother and my mother. My 85 year old grandmother sat on the floor because she wanted to hold him in her lap. Later she got down on her hands and knees to peek at him playing in a chongkak set that she keeps under a side table. My mother was giggling when he chewed her blouse and anointed. She repeatedly reminded me to keep the family cats far from him as they are preadator animals and he is a pery animal Both of them kept their movements slow and their voices quiet as i had told them much about how sensitive to new environments they can be. When they prepared our reunion dinner they saved some chicken and cod fish to be plain cooked and asked me to feed it to him. I had not requested this of them. He didn't show any interest in it but the thought was appreciated. I am dreading breaking the news of his passing to them when i see them this weekend. Especially my grandmother, she is a soft hearted lady and has always been very sensitive to the passing of any of our family pets. QUOTE Education and awareness starts young. To teach a kid something that is contradicting what their parents teach them is a hard task. One day, when you get your own exotic little animals, try talking to a pre-school owner if you could just go in, show and tell about your pets, teach children that hedgies dont shoot quils or snakes are not always dangerous, you will get what i'm trying to convey here. you wanna know why is it do hard to promote responsible pet ownership to malaysians in general? Head down to the SPCA or Pet Epicure in Taman Melawati, or any organizations that does rescue work. So do not ever mock the work and the cause that we're fighting for. Believe me, every precaution had been taken and looked into on the event of a meet and greet session. What do you think i am doing here in LYN ? I know you mean no harm to us. I'm not flame baiting. Do what you think its best for your animals, stop judging people for how they handle their pets. Hedgehogs or not. Other then that, have a nice day, and i hope you will find your way to another lil hedgie that would make both of you happy for a very very long time. Also a notable trait is that you done your research before having one which is never ever a bad thing. I am not here to spam. I do not spend my time in Kopitiam or in the Garage sales. To be honest other than making some wonderful friends along the way i do not gain anything for my time spent advising people here. Sometimes reading the stupid things Malaysian people do to their pets here makes me not want to ever come back. Id benefit more by spending my time in other forums where the care standards are higher and i can learn from the more experienced and knowledgeable. In my own little way I am here to help educate. If you feel that is not good enough or has no value whatsoever than so be it. I did not mock you, nor do i have any intention or interest to. I wonder why you make such broad and offensive assumptions about me. I have just as much right as you do to state my view and opinions. And defend what i believe to be right. And i do not pull these out of my top hat. i am merely passing along the information i have learn from those more knowledgeable and experienced than me. No one is judging you for the way you cared for Amy or any of your animals. You are the one who came here and judged. How about you take your own advise, step off that high horse and not be so quick to judge others? This post has been edited by Cimredopyh: Jun 26 2008, 01:45 AM |
Jun 26 2008, 01:52 AM
| Change to: | 0.0509sec