10 Pages  1 2 3 > » Bottom

[2023] iPhone 15 Pro/Pro Max Discussion, The ultimate iPhone.

attw
post Aug 29 2023, 11:27 AM

32,468 posts

This can’t come soon enough… just sold my 14 Pro Max and am living on a 12 Mini… the battery life gives me anxiety throughout my day… Sigh…
attw
post Aug 29 2023, 12:06 PM

32,468 posts

QUOTE(Piers @ Aug 29 2023, 11:29 AM)
perhaps getting magsafe battery pack?
Uhuh, that was the first thing I did after getting the phone, haha.. The battery pack is much heavier than the phone, so ironic…

QUOTE(fruitie @ Aug 29 2023, 11:33 AM)
laugh.gif Mini. That's too little for daily usage. tongue.gif
Yeah, we are here again on iPhone thread camping for new iPhone. biggrin.gif
Hahaha, yeah, I needed a temporary phone and this was the cheapest option out there - didn’t wanna spend too much coz all iPhones with lightning ports are about to become dinosaurs after next month laugh.gif
attw
post Aug 30 2023, 10:05 AM

32,468 posts

QUOTE(ahlin @ Aug 30 2023, 12:55 AM)
Here we go again, bro! Haha
We never learn, do we? laugh.gif

QUOTE(XeactorZ @ Aug 30 2023, 09:08 AM)
13/9 1am, not going to camp midnight laugh.gif
I am way too old to camp at 1am… Sleep more important… Hahaha

Besides, nothing about Apple event surprises us anymore since Steve Jobs’ passing… Same old, same old… wink.gif
attw
post Aug 31 2023, 09:31 AM

32,468 posts

QUOTE(Justin.Loong @ Aug 30 2023, 12:18 PM)
The base Pro Max RRP is already at 5799, increasing it by USD100 means it’ll start at 6299 which is a bit much for everyone. Hopefully Apple makes a sensible decision here!
attw
post Sep 7 2023, 09:27 AM

32,468 posts

QUOTE(westlife @ Sep 7 2023, 08:03 AM)
The demand for iPhone pro series sure will be super high.
It’s always the case, but if rumours are true that they will release an Ultra version later on, I wonder how many people will wait? Also the price gap between the Ultra and the Pro will be significant, I’m sure, and I don’t think it’s worth paying 6k-7k for an iPhone, ultra or not, hahaha…
attw
post Sep 7 2023, 09:47 PM

32,468 posts

QUOTE(fruitie @ Sep 7 2023, 10:29 AM)
That's why I feel like they won't take the risk and announce them separately.
QUOTE(westlife @ Sep 7 2023, 11:06 AM)
i am sure ppl will still go for the ultra. since they already spend so much on an iphone, they would rather go for the best.

the poor sale of iphone 14 and 14 plus has already proven this.

i doubt they will really announce it later. this is not their usual behaviour. likely just some wrong rumour..
Yeah, it’ll likely be announced at the same time but availability will be later, I suppose. I doubt there’ll be any distinctive feature in an Ultra that will make me wanna go for it instead of a regular Pro… periscope camera? Nah, don’t need it. Titanium frame? Stainless steel or aluminium works for me. A 6000mAh battery? Now then, maybe? Hahaha…. But I doubt we’ll ever even see a 5000mAh battery in an iPhone laugh.gif
attw
post Sep 10 2023, 01:02 PM

32,468 posts

QUOTE(fruitie @ Sep 7 2023, 10:18 PM)
Quoted for future reference. I know you will get the Ultra. laugh.gif
QUOTE(GamersFamilia @ Sep 8 2023, 05:17 AM)
nod.gif
These feel like personal attacks, hahaha…. I think the wait for the highest end model will affect my decision too… the current 12 Mini I’m using is infuriating… battery life is poor and the screen is bit too small - after having used all the huge screen iPhones since iPhone 6 Plus, it’s hard to return to a small screen one as my daily driver laugh.gif

QUOTE(ezypepper @ Sep 9 2023, 03:22 AM)
Back here again after two year of hiatus since 13PM. Let’s see this time around if I wanna buy or just want to kepoh-kepoh…hahaha…
I think two years is just nice bro - make sure you get it this time! laugh.gif

QUOTE(westlife @ Sep 10 2023, 07:36 AM)
Given apple’s strong marketing strategy to differentiate their products, I am sure they will make reasons for people to willingly surrender their wallets for the highest end models.
But those of us who buy enough iPhones over the years are familiar with their tricks now, hahaha…
attw
post Sep 10 2023, 09:05 PM

32,468 posts

QUOTE(Roadwarrior1337 @ Sep 10 2023, 01:06 PM)
I on the other hand prefer the mini but ended up with 13 vanilla. Already bought that time and when I held the mini I found it to be just perfect

Battery life could be all day depending on my usage but yeah the ads on battery pack helps it somewhat

Too bad 13 mini was the last. If they made similar form factor with slightly bigger battery will also sell well

Feddup with brick phone. So damn heavy to game and browse one handed
QUOTE(andrewtho @ Sep 10 2023, 05:13 PM)
i agree with you. i have owned every single flagship 'Pro Max' since its debut (except 14 - i couldn't do it anymore) - this time i am gonna settle with the Pro only. big phones are cumbersome and i just need something more portable and compact for my daily use.

are we gunning for first batch again?  tongue.gif
Hahaha - yeah, I have tried both the vanilla 12 and 13 and I do agree they are both much easier to manage than the Pro Max - especially the weight. I remember the 12's battery life wasn't as good as the 13's but both manage to get me through a day with an average of 4-5 hours screen time. Unfortunately I can't get those kinda numbers of the 12 Mini though.

Anyways, looking forward to the launch - just hoping the prices won't be crazy considering how weak the MYR is against the USD now.
attw
post Sep 11 2023, 10:25 AM

32,468 posts

QUOTE(TOMEI-R @ Sep 10 2023, 10:42 PM)
I would say at least Rm6k for the PM model. Our weak RM says it all.
Agreed bro, we’re looking at maybe 6299 for the base… Or Apple could do us a solid and keep the 6299 for the 256GB and make that the base unit now instead of 128GB - but unlikely, hahaha…

attw
post Sep 12 2023, 12:08 PM

32,468 posts

QUOTE(westlife @ Sep 11 2023, 08:28 PM)
1080p at 30 fps for 128GB storage. no 4k at 30 fps for ProRes video recording.

if u buy 128gb, ur iphone is Castrated version.
I try as much as possible to buy only the 128GB coz I don’t do any video recording and I’m on Apple One family plan so I have more than enough storage. That, and also the fact that I change phone every year (sometimes even twice a year) and my current usage is at 35GB laugh.gif

QUOTE(tzxsean @ Sep 11 2023, 09:47 PM)
last year Msia was the 2nd batch IIRC .... already available before Oct 22
The earliest I’ve ever gotten an iPhone at launch was the 13 Pro Max two years ago which I pre-ordered via Maxis and received on October 1st!

QUOTE(samus_ng @ Sep 12 2023, 09:36 AM)
With anticipation going strong for the iPhone 15 release, what has been an effective preorder method to receive the phone on launch day for you? I will never forget my sour experience preordering physically with Machines Mid Valley last year, so I will not patron them again. I am hoping for an option to preorder online with collection in store, thinking of Switch this time. Excited for Malaysian fans to collect our titaniums on launch day Sep 29.
I’ve never pre-ordered with a retailer before - have always gone the telco route for the launch. Will likely do the same this year!

attw
post Sep 13 2023, 08:38 AM

32,468 posts

QUOTE(TOMEI-R @ Sep 12 2023, 06:23 PM)
The Iphone 15 you buy could be made in India Bharat.

https://9to5mac.com/2023/09/12/iphone-15-mo...unch-day-india/
How attw You want to have a China or India Bharat made unit? laugh.gif
If you consider the number of EVs coming out of China at the moment, I think it’s safe to say I’d pick China, hahaha…

QUOTE(yvliew @ Sep 13 2023, 02:33 AM)
quite disappointed with the price and minor upgrade from 14 pro max. Quite hard to justify the upgrade.. from iphone 11 pro all the way to 14 pro max yearly upgrade there's no hesitation for me except this time..
I think there will only ever be incremental or minor upgrades for iPhones from here on in. Maybe until the day Apple releases a foldable or something. I don’t consider the RM200 price hike as exorbitant though, considering our currency is the equivalent of toilet paper at the moment.

QUOTE(fruitie @ Sep 13 2023, 03:34 AM)
I like the zoom lens or rumored as periscope lens. I use zoom function a lot when I go watching concerts. laugh.gif Though my partner has a Samsung Ultra S23 to take videos and photos every time we watch concerts, it’s on top of our iPhone 12 PM and 13 PM but we both welcome this 5x optical zoom on iPhone 15 PM. We are definitely getting the 15 PM.
If I’m not mistaken, the last time Apple differentiated the Pro and the Pro Max cameras were in the 12 series, and both 13 and 14 series had the same set of cameras. This means that size (and obviously battery life) is not the only difference now so perhaps everyone will be gunning for the Pro Max model this round.

QUOTE(cklove96 @ Sep 13 2023, 05:36 AM)
plan to get 15 pro ,any advice for order on apple.com or switch/machines etc
If you’re paying via credit card without any instalment plans or deducting points etc., then you can just pre-order via Apple’s website. It’s been proven to be hassle free.

QUOTE(TOMEI-R @ Sep 13 2023, 07:15 AM)
Yes same cameras sensors as per 14pm.
Well that is expected of Apple no? They are not a gazillion dollar company for nothing. Lol
Hahaha, yeah, Apple doing what Apple does best! I’ve not watched the keynote - will do that tonight, but caught their YouTube ad on my feed this morning. They remain the best at overhyping a feature and convincing everyone they need it! laugh.gif

QUOTE(ftan @ Sep 13 2023, 07:32 AM)
The iPhone 15 pro max is lighter (221g) than the iPhone 14pm (240g). Good.
Hello sis! Our annual reunion here, hehehe! Are you upgrading this round?

attw
post Sep 13 2023, 08:44 AM

32,468 posts

QUOTE(westlife @ Sep 13 2023, 08:40 AM)
indeed.

basically upgrades:
1) Action button
2) usb-c (20x faster transfer speed)
3) A17 Pro chip - 10% faster for CPU and 20% for GPU
4) 5x optical zoom (for Pro Max model)
5) Precision Finding
6) Titanium frame and slimmer bezels

Maybe this is the reason why bolehland gets to buy the iphone 15 series earlier (one week later than 1 batch countries)? becos this technically means that they dun forsee it will have so high demands comparing to the past? i recalled previously when iphone is still in high demand time, they dun even announce the pre-order/launch date for second batches or 3 batches countries so early also.
I’m betting the Pro Max will still be sold out when it launches here
attw
post Sep 13 2023, 08:51 AM

32,468 posts

QUOTE(Feliex @ Sep 13 2023, 08:46 AM)
currently using 13 Pro Max, don't know want to try 15 Pro Max or not... with the current spec price it does not have many upgrades, feel want to buy the Xiaomi 13 ultra (Leica) True optical ... hmm..

advised from you needed...
If you’re asking about an iPhone vs a Xiaomi in this thread, I think you sort of can guess what answers you’re gonna get, hahaha…

Having used plenty of Xiaomi phones in the past, I can say as far as bang for buck is concerned, nobody beats them in terms of their hardware to price proposition. But their software is a mixed bag - you may love it or loathe it. I’m in the latter category hence I’ve stopped buying Xiaomi phones for a couple of years or more now.
attw
post Sep 13 2023, 09:03 AM

32,468 posts

QUOTE(Feliex @ Sep 13 2023, 08:54 AM)
I understand but Nope compared with Xiaomi, the point I mean is the: camera ... 6.5K seem buy an titanium & 3nm technology, also the iphone image nowadays is Over-sharpening + over-exposure and the flare as well,, have not been solved since iPhone 11..don't know what is the outcome from this generation.
Oh you mean purely camera performance? While I still think the final output is a lot to do with personal preference but if you read those professional reviews and what not they’ll mostly give the overall win to Xiaomi and Huawei and what not.

QUOTE(westlife @ Sep 13 2023, 08:55 AM)
bolehland iphones are cheaper than lion city in fact.

lion city iphone 15 pro starting at S$1,649 which is about RM 5,656.07
bolehland starting at From RM 5,499.

that is rm157.07 cheaper. that's for the cheapest iphone 15 pro. if go up to iphone 15 pro max higher storage option even save more...
That’s also coz the MYR is shit vs the SGD, hahaha. That said though, the RRP for the 15 Pro vs the 14 Pro in Singapore is the same right? Or did that go up too?
attw
post Sep 13 2023, 09:55 AM

32,468 posts

QUOTE(Feliex @ Sep 13 2023, 09:04 AM)
Yeah bro...but iOS stability really can't be beaten by others. Now I already in the Apple ecosystem even the smart home... but the iphone camera performace since 5x optical... cry.gif
Yeah, once you’re in the ecosystem, it’s hard to get out. I use an Android phone for work and I’ve tried most brands - Android has come a long way and I won’t say it’s less stable than iOS, it’s just every brand have their own interpretation and interface so it just feels less consistent than iOS coz Apple freaking controls everything - good or bad. I currently have a Pixel 6A and I’d argue the computational photography is better than that on the iPhone (gasps!)

QUOTE(ftan @ Sep 13 2023, 09:10 AM)
Ya wor. I’m seeing the usual regular forumers posting in this thread already. biggrin.gif

I wanted to buy early next year but getting tempted to buy it now. Lighter weight than my iPhone 14pm. I’m kinda sold on this.
Hehehe, uhuh, the usual suspects are back smile.gif You get to claim your purchases yearly, if I’m not mistaken? I’m guessing you’ve already claimed this year’s entitlement? laugh.gif Just get it! smile.gif

QUOTE(westlife @ Sep 13 2023, 09:33 AM)

I think my pick would be either natural titanium or blue titanium….
attw
post Sep 13 2023, 10:25 AM

32,468 posts

QUOTE(ftan @ Sep 13 2023, 10:10 AM)
Yup, can claim some portion coz nowadays the iPhone prices keep going up up up. I would claim at the year end.

I like the natural titanium.
Hehe, same. That would be my first choice. Blue Titanium second.

QUOTE(Feliex @ Sep 13 2023, 10:13 AM)
wonder when will telco announce the PLAN?
Usually on the pre-order day or just hours before.

QUOTE(arshad @ Sep 13 2023, 10:15 AM)
Should I upgrade from IPhone 11 or should I wait for Iphone 16? xD
Oh gawd, yes, please upgrade! So many benefits coming from the 11… Just the LCD display to OLED is a big enough jump!

QUOTE(genjo @ Sep 13 2023, 10:18 AM)
any reason ?
You may not be able to get used to the restrictions in iOS.
attw
post Sep 13 2023, 02:31 PM

32,468 posts

QUOTE(andrewtho @ Sep 13 2023, 01:47 PM)
so this time are you buying for the wifey? 😂
Wifey is currently using 14 Pro Max so I’m buying for myself first and will eventually pass to her, I guess…

But here’s the thing though…

My wife…. Prefers… Lightning cable!!! Hahaha…. We’ve got tonnes of it at home and it’s hard to change a habit that’s been going on since the iPhone 5… unlike me, she doesn’t try Android phones ever and can’t see the benefits of having USB C…
attw
post Sep 13 2023, 03:05 PM

32,468 posts

QUOTE(Andrewtst @ Sep 13 2023, 02:51 PM)
I still undecide on AW U2 or AW S9, I prefer U2 but worried whether it is too bulky or not.

It is same thickness as U1 right,  probably I should go check it out.
I told myself if the U1 gets a RM1k price cut I’ll get it before it sells out, hahaha….

Lowest I saw was 3.1k over the weekend during the 9.9 sale

This post has been edited by attw: Sep 13 2023, 03:06 PM
attw
post Sep 14 2023, 09:44 AM

32,468 posts

QUOTE(kenny16 @ Sep 13 2023, 11:33 PM)

In case you want to order from Maxis, you can register your interest now
https://www.maxis.com.my/en/devices/apple/iphone/

*One of the FAQ:
My mobile line is currently tied to a device contract, can I still pre-order?

Only mobile lines with less than a 1 month remaining contract period will be able to pre-order online.

If your remaining contract period is MORE than 1 month, you will need to terminate your contract before you can pre-order.
QUOTE(yarusaru @ Sep 14 2023, 09:41 AM)
anyone here planning to PO through MAXIS?
I’ll be going down this route. My line is tied to a contract till 1st October, so technically I should be able to pre-order… kua… in any case, if I don’t, I’ll just walk in after the launch and try my luck wherever there is stock. In no hurry to get the phone smile.gif

This post has been edited by attw: Sep 14 2023, 09:45 AM
attw
post Sep 14 2023, 10:37 AM

32,468 posts

This has become my go-to clear case with MagSafe recently… good balance between price and performance smile.gif

10 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.0287sec    0.57    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 1st December 2025 - 12:42 AM