I dont understand the long standing issue on the usb port. Whats wrong with the lightning port right now?
[2023] iPhone 15 Pro/Pro Max Discussion, The ultimate iPhone.
Feb 18 2023, 01:24 PM
Return to original view | IPv6 | Post
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]()
24,219 posts Joined: Mar 2007 From: Kuala Lumpur |
I dont understand the long standing issue on the usb port. Whats wrong with the lightning port right now?
Sep 10 2023, 10:42 PM
QUOTE(attw @ Sep 10 2023, 09:05 PM) Hahaha - yeah, I have tried both the vanilla 12 and 13 and I do agree they are both much easier to manage than the Pro Max - especially the weight. I remember the 12's battery life wasn't as good as the 13's but both manage to get me through a day with an average of 4-5 hours screen time. Unfortunately I can't get those kinda numbers of the 12 Mini though. I would say at least Rm6k for the PM model. Our weak RM says it all.Anyways, looking forward to the launch - just hoping the prices won't be crazy considering how weak the MYR is against the USD now. This post has been edited by TOMEI-R: Sep 10 2023, 10:46 PM |
Sep 11 2023, 11:55 AM
QUOTE(attw @ Sep 11 2023, 10:25 AM) Agreed bro, we’re looking at maybe 6299 for the base… Or Apple could do us a solid and keep the 6299 for the 256GB and make that the base unit now instead of 128GB - but unlikely, hahaha… They should make 256gb as the base model. 128GB just wont make the cut anymore by today's standards. But knowing Apple.... PoisonSoul, decavalera, and 1 other liked this post
Sep 12 2023, 12:05 PM
QUOTE(samus_ng @ Sep 12 2023, 09:36 AM) With anticipation going strong for the iPhone 15 release, what has been an effective preorder method to receive the phone on launch day for you? I will never forget my sour experience preordering physically with Machines Mid Valley last year, so I will not patron them again. I am hoping for an option to preorder online with collection in store, thinking of Switch this time. Excited for Malaysian fans to collect our titaniums on launch day Sep 29. Switch is good. I got my 14PM from them last year during pre-order. Everything went well and smooth. No drama. But I know many here would love the drama. QUOTE(tohff7 @ Sep 12 2023, 11:49 AM) Looking to replace my aging iPhone X since it will be EOL soon Iphones in Japan are not exactly cheaper. Moreover you might have issues claiming warranty over here in Malaysia.Got a Japan trip in mid-Oct Wondering if I can get it cheaper (tax-free) there, or just buy locally (will be nice if can get before the trip) |
Sep 12 2023, 06:23 PM
The Iphone 15 you buy could be made in
For the first time, Apple will sell new made-in-India iPhone models on launch day (via Bloomberg). That means the iPhone 15 you buy on September 22 could have been manufactured in India, a sign that Apple’s worldwide supply chain infrastructure is taking significant steps to expand beyond China. While Apple has been making iPhones in India for some time, their production schedules have lagged behind the longstanding “primary” iPhone assembly facilities in China like Foxconn. A couple of years ago, it could take six months for India iPhone models to start entering the supply chain, following their September debut. This gap has gradually reduced. Last year, Made-in-India iPhone 14 models were only about six-to-eight weeks behind. This means the iPhone 15 is the first time an India-produced latest-generation Apple device is made available on the first day of sale. The iPhone 15 production ramp in India began in early August. India factories are making iPhone 15 and iPhone 15 Plus. However, it seems Apple is still dependent on China for assembly of its most premium iPhone 15 Pro and iPhone 15 Pro Max models. Nevertheless, having Made-in-India iPhone 15 units available at launch is a significant step in Apple’s long-term plans of reducing reliance on China for manufacturing. In total, Apple suppliers in India now produce about 7% of the total number of iPhones manufactured worldwide. Apple will officially announce the iPhone 15 at its September media event later today, at 10 a.m. Pacific Time. Stay tuned to 9to5Mac for full coverage of all the announcements. https://9to5mac.com/2023/09/12/iphone-15-mo...unch-day-india/ How attw You want to have a China or This post has been edited by TOMEI-R: Sep 12 2023, 06:23 PM |
Sep 13 2023, 07:15 AM
QUOTE(HumanExtinction @ Sep 13 2023, 03:55 AM) 14 pro and 15 pro camera stay the same right? still using imx 803? Yes same cameras sensors as per 14pm.the only problem is apple need to fix their stupid over sharpening post processing, looks god damn fugly QUOTE(ASoulNamedLeo @ Sep 13 2023, 06:14 AM) iPhone 15 Pro Supports USB 3 Speeds, But Only If You Buy an Extra Cable Well that is expected of Apple no? They are not a gazillion dollar company for nothing. Lol![]() ![]() ![]() Point number 5, the fact they don't explicitly state that USB 3 cable need to be purchased separately, but instead state that USB 3 cable required. Really cekik darah to get money. This post has been edited by TOMEI-R: Sep 13 2023, 08:37 AM |
Sep 13 2023, 08:46 AM
QUOTE(ASoulNamedLeo @ Sep 13 2023, 07:21 AM) Correct, definitely within expectation but still bullsh*t practice lah. Well you know I know. It has been their practise all this while. We still cannot come to terms of not providing a charging brick for a rm6k phone citing protecting the environment excuse while on the other hand sellinh their charging brick in an additional box for rm129.But I gotta applaud Apple for making the USB 2 cable white, and the USB 3/Thunderbolt 4 Cable black colour, that means they have higher chance of selling USB 3 cable more due to black being perceived as more luxurious. Its all business and profits in the end. |
Sep 13 2023, 11:46 AM
QUOTE(attw @ Sep 13 2023, 08:38 AM) If you consider the number of EVs coming out of China at the moment, I think it’s safe to say I’d pick China, hahaha… Haha... no need convincing bro. Its auto programmed in IFags to accept whatever Apples throws at them. lol.I think there will only ever be incremental or minor upgrades for iPhones from here on in. Maybe until the day Apple releases a foldable or something. I don’t consider the RM200 price hike as exorbitant though, considering our currency is the equivalent of toilet paper at the moment. If I’m not mistaken, the last time Apple differentiated the Pro and the Pro Max cameras were in the 12 series, and both 13 and 14 series had the same set of cameras. This means that size (and obviously battery life) is not the only difference now so perhaps everyone will be gunning for the Pro Max model this round. If you’re paying via credit card without any instalment plans or deducting points etc., then you can just pre-order via Apple’s website. It’s been proven to be hassle free. Hahaha, yeah, Apple doing what Apple does best! I’ve not watched the keynote - will do that tonight, but caught their YouTube ad on my feed this morning. They remain the best at overhyping a feature and convincing everyone they need it! Hello sis! Our annual reunion here, hehehe! Are you upgrading this round? QUOTE(blacktubi @ Sep 13 2023, 09:07 AM) You can get GST refund if buy in SG as a non PR foreigner Yes. But only through airside that you could get GST refunded. So unless you are leaving SG on flight. How much difference would it make btw?Once you factor in the GST refund, it will be cheaper than buying in MYS This post has been edited by TOMEI-R: Sep 13 2023, 11:47 AM |
Sep 13 2023, 12:42 PM
QUOTE(skylinelover @ Sep 13 2023, 12:26 PM) Jangan ini machiem bro... if want to use Iphone must get it during launch. ezypepper, skylinelover, and 2 others liked this post
Sep 13 2023, 01:27 PM
QUOTE(blacktubi @ Sep 13 2023, 12:49 PM) Saving is less than RM300, not really substantial I used to buy SG Iphones back in the days when Iphones were launched at least 1 to 1 1/2 months earlier than Msia but not anymore. We are getting our Iphones much earlier now. Maybe we could be in the first batch for this series. Btw the last round I check, Apple Care for Iphones is only applicable if you send your unit back to SG. The biggest appeal is the ability of getting AppleCare+ if buying SG set. Hello! eSIM is great, I'm using it as well. I wonder if Maxis fixed their eSIM transfer these days else it will require a visit to their store for a new QR code. It's looking more like a fabric material based on those hands on review, probably something similar to Cordura fabric ![]() Click to zoom in and see the details Edit: I just had a look at my Cordura fabric mouse pad, the texture looks exactly the same. QUOTE(ChiaW3n @ Sep 13 2023, 01:18 PM) Yes. If it is your first time. Maxis quoted due to security concerns. This post has been edited by TOMEI-R: Sep 13 2023, 01:29 PM |
Sep 13 2023, 02:07 PM
QUOTE(dikae @ Sep 13 2023, 01:57 PM) From switch you get back membership points which can be used for next purchase about rm60+ iirc…also you get an extended year of protection plan from switch for only rm49 add on.. I think I got screen protection for free for last year PreOrder of the Iphone14 PM. Changing to 15 PM this round bro? |
Sep 13 2023, 02:27 PM
QUOTE(blacktubi @ Sep 13 2023, 01:35 PM) Maybe I can chip in on this. Iphone warranties are not International. This has been repeated many times and I think TS should post this on the FAQ on the first page.By law, all devices with wireless transmission require MCMC approval before they can secure an import permit. Apple probably wouldn't trust MCMC enough to send them a unit for certification before their announcement. Any concerns with the warranty? I believe all Apple products come with global warranty. I actually claimed warranty of my Airpods Pro purchased here at BKK. Done within an hour. IMPORTANT RESTRICTION FOR iPHONE, iPAD, APPLE TV AND HOMEPOD SERVICE. Apple may restrict warranty service for iPhone, iPad, Apple TV and HomePod to the country where Apple or its Authorized Distributors originally sold the device. https://www.apple.com/legal/warranty/produc...ac-english.html |
Sep 13 2023, 05:39 PM
QUOTE(BuKeYi @ Sep 13 2023, 05:12 PM) If same iphone, it is still intact. This method does not work on our local esims Im afraid.If change to new iphone, following is the option you can transfer eSIM to new Iphone 1. Usually, during the iPhone setup process, you will be asked to set up the eSIM. You can simply follow the on-screen prompts to activate the eSIM. 2. If you did not transfer your eSIM during the setup process, you can go to Settings app > tap Cellular > choose Add Cellular plan to transfer eSIM. 3. In addition, if your current iPhone has installed iOS 16 or later version, you can transfer eSIM to new eSIM via Bluetooth. |
Sep 13 2023, 05:54 PM
Iphone 15 Pro and 15 Pro Max already up for sale before official release dates...
https://forum.lowyat.net/topic/5407288 This post has been edited by TOMEI-R: Sep 13 2023, 05:55 PM |
Sep 13 2023, 06:39 PM
Sep 13 2023, 07:04 PM
QUOTE(cklove96 @ Sep 13 2023, 06:43 PM) Nope. But you get bragging rights in front of your friends and on this thread. QUOTE(Andrewtst @ Sep 13 2023, 06:47 PM) Wait la bro... we know better. Moreover current Iphone availability is not so long compared to yesteryears. Max 1 month after SG. |
Sep 13 2023, 08:40 PM
Sep 13 2023, 10:28 PM
QUOTE(xavier1782 @ Sep 13 2023, 09:07 PM) Easy. For CC , just approach the E-TRS Kiosks in Changi airport when you are departing. The Kiosks are not manned. Just follow the instructions on the screen and scan your passport. But make sure you go there early for first timers. For cash you have to approach the Central Refund Counter in the Departure Transit Lounge. |
Sep 13 2023, 11:30 PM
QUOTE(hvaly87 @ Sep 13 2023, 11:05 PM) First batch countries will start pre-order on 15/9 and available starting 22/9. Malaysian preorder is one week later on 22/9 and available starting 29/9.This post has been edited by TOMEI-R: Sep 13 2023, 11:33 PM |
Sep 14 2023, 09:05 AM
QUOTE(Mavik @ Sep 14 2023, 08:04 AM) Pre-order allows for a later pick-up date right? I am not around (overseas) and will be back only later. Make sure you choose retailers or telcos which let's u pay in full and then select a later date for collection. Some retailers only collect a pre order deposit like switch and u pay the balance when you collect your phone. |
| Change to: | 0.1544sec
Time is now: 27th November 2025 - 04:50 PM |