Motorola Edge 30 Ultra / X30 Pro Discussion Thread, World's First 200MP Camera Phone

Gratitude2022
post Oct 15 2022, 06:01 PM

600 posts

QUOTE(ijuanp03 @ Oct 12 2022, 06:44 PM)
1. Turn on Google play services from settings
2. Open Lenovo browser
3. Search Google play and install apk

Or

1. Using laptop download apk file
2. Copy apk file to your phone
Guys, it's just an apk file. How you install apk files is how you install Google Play Store or any other apps
This I don't understand, since it's an APK, if didn't turn on Google play services in the setting, cannot download and install?
What's the function of this setting?
Gratitude2022
post Oct 16 2022, 07:55 AM

600 posts

QUOTE(MyProLife @ Oct 15 2022, 07:47 PM)
To enable prerequisites (eg google service framework, contact sync, etc) that build into the firmware (in order to get gms approval) but was disabled from factory for china model
Now I understand. Was disabled from factory for china model. But they put an option there. Thks

QUOTE(ijuanp03 @ Oct 16 2022, 12:34 AM)
Turning on Google Play Services from Settings --

- you are allowing Google to sync Google Apps to your phone (example Google Contacts, Gmail, Google Drive etc).

Why do you need to sync those to your phone? Very simple. So you can access them to your 3rd party apps.

You still don't get it? Again, very simple.

One REAL WORLD SCENARIO: If you are using Maybank, CIMB DUITNOW, you need to get the number from your contacts right? If your contacts are saved to GOOGLE CONTACTS, then you will NOT be able to access them directly from CIMB DUITNOW app because you did NOT allow Google Play Services on your phone.
That's why I confuse cause most phone have this service automatic don't need this option in the settings. Anyway thks
Gratitude2022
post Oct 19 2022, 11:18 PM

600 posts

The x30 pro got any screen protector that comes with the phone? I remember got casing right? I think this model not easy to get casing and tempered glass here. Where do you buy online for good casing?

Gratitude2022
post Oct 20 2022, 10:21 AM

600 posts

QUOTE(ijuanp03 @ Oct 20 2022, 10:06 AM)
1. Screen protector pre-installed
2. Stock casing included with Motorola logo and branding on the case itself
3. Stock case does NOT protect the camera bump
4. Shopee
https://shopee.com.my/product/90175201/1894...45-1666231516.9
Thks.
Gratitude2022
post Oct 22 2022, 09:53 AM

600 posts

QUOTE(pikacu @ Oct 22 2022, 12:30 AM)
found it. the little app not available at play store; Google Contact Sync

https://forum.xda-developers.com/t/no-root-...na-rom.4300581/
Wah complicated. Apkmirror safe? Later spyware embedded inside.
Gratitude2022
post Oct 22 2022, 12:43 PM

600 posts

QUOTE(pikacu @ Oct 22 2022, 10:47 AM)
not complicated. just install it, it will enable contact sync under google account. apkmirror one of safe site for years. still weird why google didn't put this at their play store

latest version can be found (seems to follow android version numbering as major version bump) : https://www.apkmirror.com/apk/google-inc/go...-contacts-sync/
Maybe you are IT guy so easy for you. Many people will not know how to disable moto stock dialer and.... then have to install Google sync and.....
Pengsan for old people

This post has been edited by Gratitude2022: Oct 22 2022, 01:31 PM
Gratitude2022
post Oct 22 2022, 01:47 PM

600 posts

QUOTE(pikacu @ Oct 22 2022, 01:42 PM)
eh, you dont need to disable moto stock dialer

just simple install google contact sync and wallah
The xda gave the instructions below leh.

Go to Settings > System > Google Play Services
2. Turn on Google Play Services
3. Install latest Google Play Store from https://www.apkmirror.com/apk/google-inc/google-play-store/
4. Install other Google Apps
5. To install Google Chrome, you MUST update "Android System Webview" first
6. Install your other apps.
*Disable first the stock Moto dialer, contacts, Lenovo Appcenter and LeCloud (as these apps will mess up your Google contacts).
7. Install Google sync contacts app attached to sync contacts.
8. Default Motorola Contactt app will sync your Google contacts (no need to install Google Contacts)
9. Default Motorola Calendar app will sync your Google calendar (no need to install Google Calendar)
Gratitude2022
post Oct 24 2022, 03:59 PM

600 posts

Why fastech sell x30 pro but allow people to pay rm 20 extra to flash global rom? I thought there is a lot of disadvantages to flash global rom for china set?
Gratitude2022
post Oct 25 2022, 07:54 AM

600 posts

QUOTE(ijuanp03 @ Oct 25 2022, 01:08 AM)
1. Because CN ROM only has 2 languages - English and Chinese
2. Because other people think CN ROM cannot use Google so they decide to flash Global ROM
3. Because Fast Tech may not be aware that flashing to Global ROM will have issues with software update and can never go back to stock/original state. Bootloader will be unlocked forever and will have a warning message everytime you restart your phone.. this is forever. No turning back once you convert.
Fastech has been selling china phones for a long time. That's why buyers cannot simply buy Moto china phone without knowledge. If even seller don't know about this, those who blindly buy Moto phones will really regret this decision.
Will Google translation work properly for this phone? Just the main phone OS cannot download languages right? App should be able to download languages

This post has been edited by Gratitude2022: Oct 25 2022, 08:05 AM
Gratitude2022
post Oct 25 2022, 02:35 PM

600 posts

QUOTE(ijuanp03 @ Oct 25 2022, 01:55 PM)
Nobody can blame Fasttech because they are not here to track the policies of different Android brands. The bootloader policy of Motorola will be different from that of Xiaomi or any other brand.

They offer converting to Global ROM as an "add-on". Buyers are not forced and should be responsible enough to do their research.

What do you mean by Google translation? Are you referring to Google Translate app or you mean whether the phone's language has been translated to English properly.

For one, don't be confused on "system language" and "app language".
System language is the universal language used by the phone - either English OR Chinese. You CANNOT download another system language. What is system? The language you see in Settings app and ALL system apps.

App language - this is the language used by a certain app. Example - Mysejahtera. That app SHOULD come up with its own set of app languages. Your phone will NOT translate the language for you. This is based on what language is available for the app which is developed by the app owner.
Fastech first time sell moto phone? If moto policy is strict, those customer paid for global rom convert will sure complain about this. Fastech will be aware and know about this.
They offer addon without any further info means it's customer risk. Luckily I know how to read Lowyat. Those complicated android site I don't read and won't know this knowledge. And fastech famous don't like people to ask questions. Q&A all written there but their Q&A don't cover this info.
Google translate has anything got to do with phone language? It's the app I am talking about. Let's say convert English to Thai. The app have to download Thai language. Will moto allow this?

Gratitude2022
post Oct 25 2022, 04:39 PM

600 posts

QUOTE(ijuanp03 @ Oct 25 2022, 03:30 PM)
Again, we cannot assume Fastech is aware about this. They simply offer things "offered" by their counterpart in China.
ok they just follow the overseas offer. who is doing the global conversation? china side or here? this offer was recently with the latest pricing. last pricing don't have.
The fact that you allow your phone to be converted from one ROM to another ROM means the customer knows the basic principle of rooting/bootloader. It's like you buying a brand new car - once you allow a 3rd party car shop to modify your electrical system means you know that the warranty will be voided. If a customer doesn't know this then they should not own a car in the first place.
I did convert Redmi china ROM to global rom before. works well. but moto side restriction is unexpected. those that buy Moto phone before do homework will be too late
"Google translate has anything got to do with phone language? It's the app I am talking about. Let's say convert English to Thai. The app have to download Thai language. Will moto allow this?"

- sorry I really don't get your question. You're talking about the app. I already gave you an example - Mysejahtera. If your phone's system language is JAPANESE, do you expect Mysejahtera to show all the wording in Japanese language? Or you expect the phone to translate Mysejahtera into Japanese? Or you expect the app to automatically download Japanese language?

The answer to all those is NO. That is not how an Android or iOS works. If you think your phone should do that, then you should look elsewhere.
Very simple saja. Can help open your Google translate app and try translate English to Thai. But I suspect the translate app should work.
Gratitude2022
post Oct 25 2022, 04:52 PM

600 posts

QUOTE(ijuanp03 @ Oct 25 2022, 04:50 PM)
Of course it works and confirmed already. Ayooo that is a very simple app.
Yalo you think too complicated. I asked a basic question saja whether google translation work or not. Well tech guy vs layman.
Gratitude2022
post Oct 25 2022, 04:57 PM

600 posts

QUOTE(ijuanp03 @ Oct 25 2022, 04:53 PM)
That one you need to ask Fasttech. You can also do it yourself at home by following instructions so no need to pay add on.
And why would I do that (referring to do it myself at home by following instructions) You already mentioned the disadvantages of converting the ROM. In fact I don't encourage anyone to do this ( converting the ROM) and I will explain to them (anyone that is doing this) clearly the disadvantages? Btw this means even security updates also the phone cannot get or just the android updates?

This post has been edited by Gratitude2022: Oct 25 2022, 07:38 PM
Gratitude2022
post Oct 25 2022, 07:26 PM

600 posts

QUOTE(ijuanp03 @ Oct 25 2022, 07:15 PM)
You are asking me if they convert here or in China. I don't know the answer so I told you to ask them directly (I will not do that for you)
And now you're telling me why would you do that?

But who told you to explain to Fastech the disadvantages? You are the one complaining about Fast Tech's service. Nobody is complaining except you.
I edited my earlier reply because u misunderstood my reply.
So this means even security updates also the phone cannot get or just the android updates?

This post has been edited by Gratitude2022: Oct 25 2022, 07:50 PM
Gratitude2022
post Nov 10 2022, 07:35 AM

600 posts

QUOTE(wolf1991 @ Nov 9 2022, 05:28 PM)
Lol maybe they really should hire you since you so highly promoting. I agree with what you mentioned on the price.

Only one thing I find it weird, you claim it's your first time buying from them but previously you mentioned something like seller will take good care of you, it is their bread and butter bla bla bla

Ignoring the potential lead time for whole process of user >seller>China>service centre >China>malaysia>seller>user.......... Buying the device itself got eta 9 days as their listing online, imagine if warranty claim.....

You sound so confident that it feel like you are very familiar with fast tech when in fact you even never experience claiming process with them πŸ˜‚

Anyhow it's a good price for the spec and close to stock Android. If someone is OK with all the pros and cons can go ahead and buy.
I dislike this option in fastech for x30 pro
Motorola flash global rom rm20 , warranty void if phone in can’t on
I would safeguard my buyers but of course someone would argue to defend but nevermind.

This post has been edited by Gratitude2022: Nov 10 2022, 07:38 AM
Gratitude2022
post Nov 10 2022, 09:23 AM

600 posts

QUOTE(wolf1991 @ Nov 10 2022, 09:14 AM)
You are seller???? The problem with import set especially x30 pro is not just the hassle in claim warranty in first year. There are potential risk of much bigger hassle if problem arise after warranty expired, by then whether seller will layan buyer in sending to China without charges is a question itself. Only can take the word by seller then as they by right only cover for the first year.

If buyer want to send to local store to repair also is a problem. As it is not available in Malaysia unlike other import counterpart, where to find the part...... Anyway that is side story and something that might be happening only in the future. Again if buyer OK with all the potential issue above can just buy it.
No la. I mean if I am a seller, I would safeguard my clients. I won't allow this upgrade as an option for moto phones even if clients wants it. Want global rom go buy ultra set.

This post has been edited by Gratitude2022: Nov 10 2022, 09:24 AM
Gratitude2022
post Nov 10 2022, 11:01 AM

600 posts

QUOTE(ijuanp03 @ Nov 10 2022, 10:55 AM)
You don't need to experience claiming warranty just to believe. If that is the case, all phone buyers (yes, ALL) should not trust any seller if they have never claimed any warranty at all. I just don't get that logic.

I am promoting Fast Tech  because I realized they are selling the cheapest import devices (not just Motorola) among all online sellers - including the other sellers I have mentioned.

Do I also need to claim warranty just to believe them? Absolutely not. Because some other people have claimed warranty from them. If this is the logic who are abiding, then by all means, don't buy something from someone if you have never claimed warranty first-hand.

Anyway, I am here to help people look for a cheaper alternative. I don't earn anything in return.
Maybe it's just me. Oh well..
Haha. Use la the word recommend.
Gratitude2022
post Nov 10 2022, 11:16 AM

600 posts

QUOTE(chilskater @ Nov 10 2022, 11:14 AM)
where to buy?
Fastech lo. Mana lagi. He will provide the link.
Gratitude2022
post Nov 10 2022, 12:07 PM

600 posts

QUOTE(wolf1991 @ Nov 10 2022, 12:00 PM)
Then you have no luck. U ask TS come out meet you and let you raba πŸ˜‚. It's quite difficult to find someone who own the device for u to feel and raba πŸ˜‹
I also wanna raba. If on let me know. Wanna experience moto CN ROM. Xiaomi CN ROM I don't like at all.
Gratitude2022
post Nov 10 2022, 01:39 PM

600 posts

ijuanp03 I wanna ask, I see tu fastech FB, got this picture for x30 pro. Your phone got option to select english (Malaysia)? Only 2 region for English? Thks

This post has been edited by Gratitude2022: Nov 10 2022, 01:39 PM

0.0325sec    0.45    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 8th December 2025 - 03:59 PM