Gambling, How you guys quit?

Lembu Goreng
post Aug 3 2023, 11:16 AM

1,129 posts

I only gamble money that I don't mind losing

When I say don't mind losing, I let it go lah. Dont even think about winning it back.

hksgmy
post Aug 3 2023, 11:21 AM

Doraemon!
7,847 posts

QUOTE(Lembu Goreng @ Aug 3 2023, 11:16 AM)
I only gamble money that I don't mind losing

When I say don't mind losing, I let it go lah. Dont even think about winning it back.
I suppose if we expanded the concept & definition of "gambling" a little wider, then taking a chance on stocks or even bonds is a form of gambling too, isn't it? If you encompass that wide a definition, then I'm guilty of "gambling" too (and I have the same mentality as you: I only buy what I can afford to lose, in terms of bonds or stocks) - but, if we focus on the context of this discussion and define "gambling" as pertaining to a game of chance say at a betting outlet or a casino, then no way would I touch it even with a ten-foot pole.
SUSBrookLes
post Aug 3 2023, 11:45 AM

1,354 posts

QUOTE(Accord2018 @ Aug 3 2023, 08:26 AM)
If you said you won 10k before that means you confirmed already lost more than that already. I said already once a person can win 1k and above means the addiction is very strong already.

Only with strong addiction can win 1000. Once you take heroin for a long time , its hard to stop due to the addiction.

My friend last time told me he only went inside 1 time and bet RM50 then lost it and never went in back again.
Your this kind of logic makes me wonder how you actually managed to survive until now.

I mean cannot believe ppl are this stupid.

When ppl talk about win, they are talking about net win.

Of course to me 10k is not that much. My salary itself is much higher then that.

You have a more serious problem then gambling. Iq problem
This one can never be solve one.

This post has been edited by BrookLes: Aug 3 2023, 11:47 AM
SUSAccord2018
post Aug 3 2023, 11:48 AM

Time Will Tell !!
9,617 posts

QUOTE(BrookLes @ Aug 3 2023, 11:45 AM)
Your this kind of logic makes me wonder how you actually managed to survive until now.

I mean cannot believe ppl are this stupid.

When ppl talk about win, they are talking about net win.

Of course to me 10k is not that much. My salary itself is much higher then that.

You have a more serious problem then gambling. Iq problem
This one can never be solve one.
Immoral is you to lie because no one can have a net win in the long term.
SUSBrookLes
post Aug 3 2023, 11:48 AM

1,354 posts

QUOTE(rooney723 @ Aug 2 2023, 11:24 PM)
yeah la, like i said lo, u also havent win big yet, why u so sure u can self control yourself? u are god that can predict your future and so sure u can control yourself when u win big? then can give me 4D numbers please?  laugh.gif

so stupid
Haha. This type of logic
No wonder lose so much loh

SUSBrookLes
post Aug 3 2023, 11:49 AM

1,354 posts

QUOTE(Accord2018 @ Aug 3 2023, 11:48 AM)
Immoral is you to lie because no one can have a net win in the long term.
I can show you so many examples of ppl doing this in sports betting.

Your tiny head just cannot comprehend.
SUSBrookLes
post Aug 3 2023, 11:50 AM

1,354 posts

QUOTE(rooney723 @ Aug 2 2023, 11:21 PM)
come back and talk when u really won a lottery first, now u talk also no use, because all u can say is a big IF  whistling.gif
It's ok.
I know myself better

Even my friend told me that money comes into my pocket will never go out one.

Btw. I will never play lottery just an example. Because I dun waste my money on impossibility.

Maybe lucky draw if win 10k. Most likely will spend only 1k of it. I dun even spend that much with my current salary

This post has been edited by BrookLes: Aug 3 2023, 11:57 AM
shin-yee
post Aug 3 2023, 11:51 AM

47 posts

Smoking habit and gambling.
Which is worst?
SUSAccord2018
post Aug 3 2023, 11:57 AM

Time Will Tell !!
9,617 posts

QUOTE(hksgmy @ Aug 3 2023, 11:21 AM)
I suppose if we expanded the concept & definition of "gambling" a little wider, then taking a chance on stocks or even bonds is a form of gambling too, isn't it? If you encompass that wide a definition, then I'm guilty of "gambling" too (and I have the same mentality as you: I only buy what I can afford to lose, in terms of bonds or stocks) - but, if we focus on the context of this discussion and define "gambling" as pertaining to a game of chance say at a betting outlet or a casino, then no way would I touch it even with a ten-foot pole.
Stock is different than in casino. Because even if shares drop, you still own the shares. If you buy margin then addiction can fast come.

Buy shares like buy a car only. wun get addicted even you know the value drops and the car is still there.

hksgmy
post Aug 3 2023, 11:59 AM

Doraemon!
7,847 posts

QUOTE(Accord2018 @ Aug 3 2023, 11:57 AM)
Stock is different than in casino. Because even if shares drop, you still own the shares. If you buy margin then addiction can fast come.

Buy shares like buy a car only. wun get addicted even you know the value drops and the car is still there.
I agree with you on this point. I mean, I know my cars are a depreciating asset class, but at least it’s something I own and I derive joy from driving them.
rooney723
post Aug 3 2023, 12:03 PM

596 posts

QUOTE(BrookLes @ Aug 3 2023, 11:48 AM)
Haha. This type of logic
No wonder lose so much loh
err lose 2k+ is alot? i didnt know 2k is alot for u, so u mean ur 10k winning is fake la is it? hahahahhaa
SUSAccord2018
post Aug 3 2023, 12:07 PM

Time Will Tell !!
9,617 posts

QUOTE(hksgmy @ Aug 3 2023, 11:59 AM)
I agree with you on this point. I mean, I know my cars are a depreciating asset class, but at least it’s something I own and I derive joy from driving them.
margin and casino are not. once lose then you will lose a lot and addiction will come and you want to win back.

Like heroin, the surge of pleasure very fast but very addictive.

hksgmy
post Aug 3 2023, 12:08 PM

Doraemon!
7,847 posts

QUOTE(Accord2018 @ Aug 3 2023, 12:07 PM)
margin and casino are not. once lose then you will lose a lot and addiction will come and you want to win back.

Like heroin, the surge of pleasure very fast but very addictive.
For some who feel they have the ability to withstand the dopamine surges associated with the thrill of a bet, then I salute them and wish them well.

Certainly, they are made of sterner stuff than I.
rooney723
post Aug 3 2023, 12:13 PM

596 posts

QUOTE(BrookLes @ Aug 3 2023, 11:50 AM)
It's ok.
I know myself better

Even my friend told me that money comes into my pocket will never go out one.

Btw. I will never play lottery just an example. Because I dun waste my money on impossibility.

Maybe lucky draw if win 10k. Most likely will spend only 1k of it. I dun even spend that much with my current salary
dont need to talk cock here, all your assumptions is just a big IF only, u have nothing to back up your claims, all bullshit and talk big je, ppl like u are the most dangerous cos u havent lost big before and are the highest risk to lose more lol

thats why i said, now im just waiting for u to reach the next stage of gambling and see how u can "control" yourself lol, have u heard of the saying, the higher u go up, the bigger u fall? hahahha, the more u win "accumulatively" now, then the more u will be potentially losing in the future

and also i am not anti gambling like u said, in fact i just went genting to gamble for fun last friday lol, but now i dont gamble as much as i do last time cos i know about the consequences, and i am fully aware of how gambling regularly can tempt someone from a casual gambler into a hardcore gambler that will lose everything

and as someone who hav gone thru the stage of winning big and then losing everything that i hav previously won and kicked out my gambling addiction, at least im more qualified to talk about this topic than someone here who never gone thru that stage but talk big like as if he is some gambling guru like that hahahhaha, win 10k accumulatively but talk until like win 10k every session LOL

skydrake
post Aug 4 2023, 09:32 AM

XiiX
992 posts

QUOTE(joykeanu @ Sep 26 2022, 03:31 PM)
Has anyone tried to stop but still come back even bet a small amount?
Because "Sometimes maybe good, sometimes maybe shit".

When u lose everything u feel depress but when u win big that moment only last maybe 1-7 days.
What is the best advise we all can use here?
wow, year old thread. i give it a try.
i quit by knowing it is a scam. how do i know it? u just need to stand on the other side to see it clearly, other side means on the dealer side. dealer don't use their own money to pay u, they use other losers money to pay u. as simple as that. the winning odds always on the dealer side, no matter how u calculate, that's their stands point, it is like they are prepare for it.
TSjoykeanu
post Aug 4 2023, 04:38 PM

36 posts

Why did I choose this path?
After I paid all of my commitment. I have gamble all whatever money I have left.

And all is gone, basically I don't even afford to buy food.
Is there any bank that could loan me in a short time?
TSjoykeanu
post Aug 4 2023, 04:42 PM

36 posts

I really need to quit for real this time.
No more looking at how much I gain/lose.

Im selling whatever I have left and restart my life.
SUSBrookLes
post Aug 4 2023, 04:51 PM

1,354 posts

QUOTE(skydrake @ Aug 4 2023, 09:32 AM)
wow, year old thread. i give it a try.
i quit by knowing it is a scam. how do i know it? u just need to stand on the other side to see it clearly, other side means on the dealer side. dealer don't use their own money to pay u, they use other losers money to pay u. as simple as that. the winning odds always on the dealer side, no matter how u calculate, that's their stands point, it is like they are prepare for it.
Like that you dun need to buy shares etc lah.
They also charge you a fee for that.

This post has been edited by BrookLes: Aug 4 2023, 04:51 PM
green_algae
post Aug 4 2023, 04:57 PM

1,003 posts

QUOTE(shin-yee @ Aug 3 2023, 11:51 AM)
Which is worst?
I know of someone who's addicted to both and I would definitely say gambling as we can tolerate his smoking but not his constant begging for money.
cms
post Aug 4 2023, 04:58 PM

763 posts

QUOTE(shin-yee @ Aug 3 2023, 11:51 AM)
Which is worst?
I would say gambling.

Never hear ppl overnight can suffer/die compared to gambling. Once u lose self control at the heat of moment, gambling can finish off your entire life savings and owe bank/along/etc. Gambling as makes your family suffer addiction and above ones income/asset and become uncontrollable.

13 Pages « < 8 9 10 11 12 > » Top

0.0260sec    0.61    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 16th December 2025 - 05:44 AM