Gambling, How you guys quit?

hksgmy
post Jul 30 2023, 02:12 AM

Doraemon!
7,847 posts

Beat way to quit is to don’t even start. Ever.
hksgmy
post Jul 30 2023, 09:22 AM

Doraemon!
7,847 posts

QUOTE(mushigen @ Jul 30 2023, 09:07 AM)
Can ban but won't be able to totally eradicate. Might as well earn that revenue.
Hi mushigen, good to see you again bro. I agree with your statement.

In life, choices are given. Alcohol, tobacco, gambling - these are all "legalized" vices. And in some areas, prostitution and in others, vaping.

Ultimately, puritanical prohibitions will only drive the above industries underground and make it unlegislated, unlicensed and unregulated, which means no safety checks, no health controls, no accountability. And will that stop the patrons from seeking such activities, no - but the government will lose a source of revenue that can be channeled back into lessening the harm such activities bring about to society and self. Example, the revenue from the tobacco tax will fund hospitals to take care of the lung diseases and lung cancers associated with smoking, and the tax from gambling can be used to fund social services and programs to support broken families due to an addict of a father (or mother).

Such is life. Imperfect.
hksgmy
post Aug 3 2023, 09:54 AM

Doraemon!
7,847 posts

QUOTE(submergedx @ Aug 3 2023, 08:46 AM)
Never start.

I grew up with cinapek background. Got bunch of cinapek friends, cinapek relatives, all of them like want to gamble each every week, let it be pokers, cards or TOTO/Magnum.

I just dont like it.

So sometimes they got topic to sembang kacang and it's awkward for me to understand what are they buying big or small.
But i think that's best for me. I just dont like it and i never gamble, i set everything in my life.
My mom in law and two sister in laws were avid punters.

My wife has cut off all contact with them after she found out how much money I’ve given them over the years. I gave what I gave out of respect and love for my wife, and she did what she did in the end out of respect and love for me.

So I have an allergic reaction to gambling - thanks, but no thanks.
hksgmy
post Aug 3 2023, 11:21 AM

Doraemon!
7,847 posts

QUOTE(Lembu Goreng @ Aug 3 2023, 11:16 AM)
I only gamble money that I don't mind losing

When I say don't mind losing, I let it go lah. Dont even think about winning it back.
I suppose if we expanded the concept & definition of "gambling" a little wider, then taking a chance on stocks or even bonds is a form of gambling too, isn't it? If you encompass that wide a definition, then I'm guilty of "gambling" too (and I have the same mentality as you: I only buy what I can afford to lose, in terms of bonds or stocks) - but, if we focus on the context of this discussion and define "gambling" as pertaining to a game of chance say at a betting outlet or a casino, then no way would I touch it even with a ten-foot pole.
hksgmy
post Aug 3 2023, 11:59 AM

Doraemon!
7,847 posts

QUOTE(Accord2018 @ Aug 3 2023, 11:57 AM)
Stock is different than in casino. Because even if shares drop, you still own the shares. If you buy margin then addiction can fast come.

Buy shares like buy a car only. wun get addicted even you know the value drops and the car is still there.
I agree with you on this point. I mean, I know my cars are a depreciating asset class, but at least it’s something I own and I derive joy from driving them.
hksgmy
post Aug 3 2023, 12:08 PM

Doraemon!
7,847 posts

QUOTE(Accord2018 @ Aug 3 2023, 12:07 PM)
margin and casino are not. once lose then you will lose a lot and addiction will come and you want to win back.

Like heroin, the surge of pleasure very fast but very addictive.
For some who feel they have the ability to withstand the dopamine surges associated with the thrill of a bet, then I salute them and wish them well.

Certainly, they are made of sterner stuff than I.
hksgmy
post Aug 4 2023, 07:22 PM

Doraemon!
7,847 posts

QUOTE(joykeanu @ Aug 4 2023, 04:42 PM)
I really need to quit for real this time.
No more looking at how much I gain/lose.

Im selling whatever I have left and restart my life.
Good luck, my friend. Don't give up.
hksgmy
post Apr 24 2024, 01:12 AM

Doraemon!
7,847 posts

Ooh.. I didn’t know he was suspended… was it because of this thread?!?
hksgmy
post Apr 24 2024, 08:30 AM

Doraemon!
7,847 posts

I think I might have said this before, but it's worth saying again: the best way to quit is to never start
hksgmy
post Apr 24 2024, 12:40 PM

Doraemon!
7,847 posts

QUOTE(-PuPu^ZaPruD3r- @ Apr 24 2024, 09:51 AM)
I only gamble in 4D and occasionally football during World Cup season

For me, it's up to the person's self control

I have friends who gamble in Genting every week. Always look for me to borrow money because always lose. Already gave them warning to stop borrowing from me as I am not their ATM
Goodness. Your friends may already have gambling addiction….
hksgmy
post Apr 24 2024, 01:22 PM

Doraemon!
7,847 posts

QUOTE(-mystery- @ Apr 24 2024, 12:49 PM)
so never start talking to girls
then why you earn so much money for if you not ejaculate at the end of it
Ok bro.
hksgmy
post Apr 24 2024, 02:20 PM

Doraemon!
7,847 posts

There is a difference between the occasional dabble and hardcore gambling. The former plays with money they can afford to burn and quits when a limit is reached.

The latter thinks he can win back what he’s lost and more.
hksgmy
post Apr 24 2024, 09:30 PM

Doraemon!
7,847 posts

QUOTE(Lembu Goreng @ Apr 24 2024, 09:22 PM)
I only gamble with money I dont mind losing
Smart man. notworthy.gif notworthy.gif
hksgmy
post Apr 25 2024, 10:57 AM

Doraemon!
7,847 posts

QUOTE(ctys2012 @ Apr 24 2024, 02:47 PM)
my dad has been gambling since i was schooling... he lost everything, his business, our house, cars... got into loan sharks, ran away to other town to start anew, but still buying toto, magnum, dmc...

gambling addiction like u said cannot be helped. he is now in SG alone working his ass at 67 yo to fund his addiction coming back once in a month when he felt like it... most of his salary will go to sentosa and mbs...

its the andrenalin and hes not getting tired of it anytime soon
OMG. He can apply for self exclusion from the 2 casinos you know…
hksgmy
post Apr 25 2024, 12:03 PM

Doraemon!
7,847 posts

QUOTE(Leto @ Apr 25 2024, 11:58 AM)
why would he? that's his heroin
Or the family could try to apply for him to be excluded
hksgmy
post Apr 25 2024, 04:43 PM

Doraemon!
7,847 posts

I’m very worried to read stories like these - it’s one thing if you gamble in RM but if you do it in SGD, the losses are 3.5 times the size…

It’s mind blowing scary
hksgmy
post Apr 25 2024, 09:45 PM

Doraemon!
7,847 posts

QUOTE(nihility @ Apr 25 2024, 05:53 PM)
There is bad side & good side of the gambling. While majority will feels that the gambling has more negative influence, it doesn't mean that gambling itself do not do good at all.

When I'm coaching my younger generation (limiting them to play during CNY only), I let them decide themselves the good & bad. I tell them to harness the good side of the gambling instead of being controlled by the gambling on the bad side.

What good do gambling do ? Daily decision making.
When you got a good cards - you focus on offense / leverage.
When you got a bad cards - you focus on damage control - as long as not losing the most = win.

In life, we will not get the best case scenario all the time, when we are in such position, be ready to optimize the scenario. When we are at the bad condition, we don't focus on the winning, we focus on defense / minimize the losses as much as possible. It trains brain on the strategy play almost akin to chess games - card games like lavi, chor dai dee, poker (etc).

2nd - it simulates the maths. You will be dealing with +-x/ at each games & you will be so serious with it because you are dealing with real money.

The bad thing of gambling - it is zero sum games. You do not create value to society & world. This element need to be discovered by gamblers themselves. Once they got bored winning/losing the money from/to their close family / relative / friends, they will cease to engage in gambling.

For the vast majority, it may sound too complicated. The best way to protect them will be asking them not to start.

It is just like drug - if you abuse the drug usage & you will become a junky . However, if you are trained to handle drug with correct dosage for medical purpose, ppl will know you as a pharmacist.
Medically speaking, some are more prone to the risks of addiction from gambling than others because of the way their neural pathways are formed genetically. Some are just more sensitive to dopamine highs than others.
hksgmy
post Apr 26 2024, 07:52 PM

Doraemon!
7,847 posts

QUOTE(-PuPu^ZaPruD3r- @ Apr 25 2024, 05:18 PM)
But u might win 3.5x more mah.. Hehe.. Gambling is like that.. A lot of risks involved
Wahlao…. This is dangerous mathematics bro hahahaha

0.0207sec    0.47    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 16th December 2025 - 03:40 PM