QUOTE(frankliew @ Aug 7 2024, 10:53 AM)
USD 4.48 now... Climb Back
4.505 now... rclxms.gif

whose credit is it now?
Wedchar2912
post Sep 6 2024, 09:28 PM

3,678 posts

QUOTE(boyboycute @ Sep 6 2024, 06:49 PM)
Over the years, Unker have seen many amateurs investors fight the market and continue to average down to reduce cost basis. Their reasoning is always "I invest for long term". Unker pity them. They're stuck with their own reasoning. Similar to those who chased sky high property prices years ago

Unker have been through probably 3 recession and have seen many invincible assets go to dirt prices. I think you also DCA into S&P500 religiously.

One day, when your portfolio is decimated, you can PM me to learn from Unker. Unker can't help all your followers. Bookmark this post. You'll need it one day. Unker pray for you and your hard earned money.
not taking sides... as I always believe in diversification.

but the first part of the sentence of your last para... implies malaysia will be performing so so so well that in order for someone's portfolio, which is heavily invested in non-ringgit assets, to be decimated, it would need ringgit to appreciate by 1000% vs all major currencies in the world. Essentially Malaysia will be a major financial superhouse....
Can Unker boyboy share how that can happen? I do like to see a difference of option in investment view.
Wedchar2912
post Sep 8 2024, 02:41 PM

3,678 posts

QUOTE(boyboycute @ Sep 8 2024, 10:50 AM)
Unker doesn't have crystal ball except for two saggy ones. Unker cannot predict the future unlike you who can see the demise of your own country. It's similar to those who left US and UK and said their own country is going to collapse.

Unker doesn't have the superman ability to see that far. God will laugh if Unker forecast more than a year. What Unker can do is to check EPF account dividend every year and estimate how much Unker is going to make via dividend versus someone who Kung Fu their money here and there thinking they know what's going to happen.

Like what Unker said in previous posts, Unker doesn't know how to use Excel but using common sense, Unker knows EPF dividend is going to surpass all returns from FX gain and cost. This doesn't include emotional anguish watching MYR continue to appreciate against SGD after transferring money to Singapore. You can read Unker common sense here.
https://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopi...ost&p=109741680

On diversification, Unker fully support it. Everyone must diversify. But problem here is some experts are advocating "FULLY DIVERSIFY AWAY" from Malaysia and justify that whatever they're doing is true diversification.

Unker was suspended for a month because trying to advocate different point of view. Looks like this forum is turning into a homogeneous forum.

If you check all Unker posts, Unker tried to give "wake up call" many times before the SGDMYR massive collapse but no one cares. They reported Unker many times and when after SGDMYR collapsed, Unker came back and reminded everyone how much money they have lost transferring money to SGD including EPF dividend and related costs.
Unker kena suspended.

Unker is only a messenger. Unker doesn't cause the collapse in SGDMYR.  Don't kill the messenger. Don't be sore losers
ok, so basically it is just your view. I do appreciate your explanation, but in same time was hoping that you had some solid rationale for you to indicate that a portfolio heavily invested in non-ringgit assets would be decimated.

diversification also means not all in ringgit assets. I am glad i shifted half of my EPF out starting Sept/Oct last year. gains far outweight ringgit move from 4.6xx to 4.3xx.
Wedchar2912
post Sep 10 2024, 01:33 PM

3,678 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Sep 10 2024, 12:07 PM)
Come let me throw some cold water. It's very easy to outperform the EPF. Just buy s&p500 or qqq. 30 years dow the road you will get double or what EPF can give. Problem is most people don't want to wait 30 years. Conservatively 7%p.a for 30 years. Less conservative, would be 10%p.a for 30 years.
I only dare to claim that I got really lucky this year when I decided to take my excess EPF funds and invest overseas... basically already made more than 10 years worth of return when compared to EPF.

now looking for a or some good rationales for repatriating those funds back to Malaysia... so far, no one could tell me convincingly that the economy of Malaysia is or will be doing well, which will allow ringgit to appreciate convincingly... headache.
Wedchar2912
post Sep 10 2024, 04:21 PM

3,678 posts

QUOTE(boyboycute @ Sep 10 2024, 03:21 PM)
Again Unker doesn't have crystal ball. Maybe someone here have superb ability to predict the ending of EPF and Malaysia.

Unker heard similarities of such arguments in 1980s when rich fella sent their money, wife , kids and mistress to UK because the future was brighter there.

Read more here. Unker eyes blurred trying to type so much on Lowyat forum

https://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopi...ost&p=109741680
Oooo. 1980s should be long enough to see any long term pattern.

Since this is a usdmyr thread. Fx is an indicator rite? This seems to be what we all here are indicating.

what was 1980s gbpmyr rate?
On same token, what was SGDMYR and usdmyr back in 1980s?
For added measure, audmyr also in 1980s.

Wedchar2912
post Sep 10 2024, 05:33 PM

3,678 posts

QUOTE(boyboycute @ Sep 10 2024, 04:51 PM)
Trying to compare developed countries currencies vs developing country like Ringgit is like trying to compare UK vs US or UK vs Australia when those countries were still in developing stage.

All developed countries were  once "developing countries" in the past. Unker is not saying that our country is perfect. In fact, no country is perfect.

A better measurement is purchasing power parity of your currency locally. Just take a look at the living conditions of average Joe in US, Australia and Singapore. Are they living a better life over time? Does stronger currency translate into the prosperity of US, Australia and Singapore? If yes, how come many of them migrated to South East Asia including Malaysia?

Do you know most Singaporean live in HDB? Most Malaysian live on landed properties.
Do you know Australian & UK are suffering now due to high inflation ? Many can't afford to buy a home in their own country. Many tent cities for homeless are in US and Australia. Kesian ....
Looks like their capitalism policy doesn't work for everyone.
In Malaysia,Unker see so many nice new luxury cars flying around these days. Malaysian are going for vacation 3 times a year. Family eating out every day.We're certainly living in golden era despite whatever the media said about Malaysia. Anyone can massage the statistics to fit their own objectives. Most importantly, what's your reality living in Malaysia?

It's better to live like a" King in a small country " than living like a peasant in a big country.
Lol. Uncle really like to tell stories and shift goalposts. From claiming portfolio in non ringgit being decimated to see people converting to fcy/gbp/SGD losing money to people suffering in UK to quality of life.

OK lar.i do appreciate the stories unker boyboy tell, but I have yet to see any solid and serious discussion.

With that, I won't kacau unker with probing questions anymore. Peace.

Wedchar2912
post Sep 10 2024, 05:36 PM

3,678 posts

QUOTE(MGM @ Sep 10 2024, 04:46 PM)
If i remember correctly in 1980, GBPMYR=7+, AUDMYR=3+
I actually have the impression that gbpmyr was like between 3 to 4.while audmyr was a lot closer to below 2.
1980s that is. Then again, i was a baby then. So definitely no memory at all. Haha.
Wedchar2912
post Sep 10 2024, 07:45 PM

3,678 posts

QUOTE(boyboycute @ Sep 10 2024, 06:27 PM)
EPF dividend will easily surpass whatever FX gain. Just common sense compounding
lol... which smart alec will just keep whatever converted in non interest bearing anything... only super old people will do that I think... like keeping money in some tin can.

oo oo... in 1980s, lets convert 400K ringgit to GBP 100K and leave it there... then claim EPF dividend will surpass any FX gain? haha. (my bad... i just could not resist this example after your statement above).

Wedchar2912
post Sep 10 2024, 08:14 PM

3,678 posts

QUOTE(MGM @ Sep 10 2024, 07:57 PM)
Sorry i just checked, in early 1980s, GBPMYR was 5.20 to 5.50, n AUDMYR was 2.50 to 2.80. Late 1980s then MYR strengthen. After that weaken until now.
I dont regard GBP & AUD as strong currency unlike SGD.
Many european countries r infiltrated n falling apart. UK is failing. OZ too depend on commodity n China but should still be ok.
ASEAN will be the dark horse if they strengthen  up their finance base while economy is booming.
you are right.... in 1980 or 81, it was thereabout 5 for GBPMYR.
in 1983 it was 3.3xx for GBPMYR...
for whole 1980s decade, GBPMYR was between 2.7 to 5.xx.

Scary to think about it.
(lazy to check audmyr but i think the gyration would be similar)

SGDMYR I know was like 1.5 to 2.xx back in 1980s.

Wedchar2912
post Sep 10 2024, 11:36 PM

3,678 posts

QUOTE(gashout @ Sep 10 2024, 09:31 PM)
EPF past average is 6%. So every 12 years double the money.

1980 to 2024 is 44 years. Close to 48 years. We make it 4 cycles of doubling.

16x because 2x then 4x then 8x and 16x

So 400k basically becomes 6.4 mil today's money.

I think he's just trying to say the power of compounding the 8th wonder of the world. Forex exchange mmg cannot beat power of compounding.
makes no sense... comparing a passive investment scheme like EPF to handicapped long term FX holding position without even doing proper deployment of funds. just makes no sense to leave the funds there not invested.
Wedchar2912
post Sep 11 2024, 12:05 PM

3,678 posts

QUOTE(dwRK @ Sep 11 2024, 07:28 AM)
that guy is low key trolling... comparing apples to oranges... lol
QUOTE(Medufsaid @ Sep 11 2024, 09:15 AM)
agreed, should've been ignored many pages back
yeah, agreed... too much goalpost shifting and changing stories...
Wedchar2912
post Sep 12 2024, 03:09 PM

3,678 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Sep 12 2024, 02:44 PM)
Rian or shine, how cheap or expensive the ringgit, I will continue to convert my RM once I hit RM10k mark.
This is also a form of DCA. smile.gif it's VCA. smile.gif

Wedchar2912
post Sep 22 2024, 04:17 PM

3,678 posts

QUOTE(nexona88 @ Sep 22 2024, 02:55 PM)
He is like our seniors in lowyat forum...

Got even Elite tag for the profile...

Always give some good points on forex, & finance stuff... The guy to go previously....

The one who say don't diversified for the sake of it... Must be with reason & clear objectives... Target ROI must be clearly defined... Risk taking etc.
very curious... can share his userid? wanna see what he mentioned decades ago...

definitely before my time here...
Wedchar2912
post Sep 23 2024, 01:14 PM

3,678 posts

QUOTE(Medufsaid @ Sep 23 2024, 11:57 AM)
sure

oo... the end july/early aug crash was scary rite? my portfolio suffered same same like yours....

looks like it was good that both of us didn't go defensive after that.... rclxms.gif
Wedchar2912
post Sep 23 2024, 04:16 PM

3,678 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Sep 23 2024, 03:40 PM)
I don't do bonds for 3 reasons
1. Have expire date
2. Payout not increasing with time
3. Expensive at $250,000 per bond

A well run company can continue paying dividends and even increasing to far longer than a bond can.

That is what I was taught.
Also, if I may add, bonds are not really instrument of wealth generation. More of preservation. Plus clearly not as sexy as options.

BTW, nowadays got retail bonds around with much smaller notional. Illiquid but this is where sometimes can pick up good value.

US Bills min notional is like 1K.i usually throw my usd position into these.

This post has been edited by Wedchar2912: Sep 23 2024, 04:16 PM
Wedchar2912
post Sep 23 2024, 11:08 PM

3,678 posts

QUOTE(kiwifruit0 @ Sep 23 2024, 10:30 PM)
what if the precious shares got called away
happy... as one then can restart again earlier... no need to wait till expiration.
Wedchar2912
post Sep 24 2024, 12:04 AM

3,678 posts

QUOTE(kiwifruit0 @ Sep 24 2024, 12:01 AM)
but the shares already fly... sweat.gif
yeah... already went up...
covered call is just one of the strategy to take advantage of certain views. will never be the best strategy for all scenarios...

Wedchar2912
post Sep 26 2024, 03:00 PM

3,678 posts

QUOTE(nexona88 @ Sep 26 2024, 01:21 PM)
Fuhyooo...

If rates keep maintain...

And USD / MYR movement like now, maintain till 2025...

We might be even looking at rates of 3.00 MYR vs USD...

And probably SGD at 2.00 🔥💪
i prefer whatever movement to happen by year end... make it fast and painful/painless (like removing a damn sticky bandage fast fast).

all my fantastic gains in equity market overseas is being suppressed when I look at them in ringgit terms.... lol

Wedchar2912
post Sep 26 2024, 08:05 PM

3,678 posts

QUOTE(nexona88 @ Sep 26 2024, 05:25 PM)
Don't think all can happen & settled by year end...

Probably would still over 2025 too...

Heart must be steady boss...
You take the risk... Forex risk must be counted too...
Think long term... And pray you won't lose much...
ripping off the bandage effect is what I want....
also want ringgit to reach its new stable lvl for me to start converting ringgit to sgd/usd again. more opportunities outside, at least that is what I am experiencing.

ringgit strengthening just dampen the return by 10 to 15%... whistling.gif

Wedchar2912
post Sep 27 2024, 02:43 PM

3,678 posts

QUOTE(nexona88 @ Sep 27 2024, 02:27 PM)
Some people would be crying father mother if indeed happen..

Because many is surviving in strong SGD especially those in JB & Johor overall...

Business will be effected from Singaporean
they should not cry. they left for SG to earn good money and better career prospect rite? 2.5 is still decent.. i hope they will continue to send funds back to Malaysia to help our economy.... (for them is to take care of their family members or parents)

6 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Top

0.0242sec    0.21    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 16th December 2025 - 05:48 PM