102 Pages « < 6 7 8 9 10 > » Bottom

USD/MYR and SGD/MYR

Meow Supreme P
post Nov 20 2022, 07:54 PM

Probation

I'm afraid of what's going to happen after the recent GE outcome.

I have some MYR in FDs but I am wondering if I should convert them to SGD or choose USD?

But, where to keep those money after conversion?
ky33li
post Nov 20 2022, 08:10 PM

313 posts

QUOTE(CommodoreAmiga @ Nov 20 2022, 04:43 PM)
I think whatever you put there should be long term. Not moving back...until i say sayonara and my waris takes over. This fund should not be for emergency purpose. Separate emergency money should be kept here. Local FDs can also be treated as emergency money. Make it in small amount like 10k each. Lose interest only.
agree. that’s how i view SGD long term, not bringing back. in case one day MYR becomes turkish lira hahaha
xander2k8
post Nov 20 2022, 10:10 PM

4,689 posts

QUOTE(CommodoreAmiga @ Nov 20 2022, 04:43 PM)
I think whatever you put there should be long term. Not moving back...until i say sayonara and my waris takes over. This fund should not be for emergency purpose. Separate emergency money should be kept here. Local FDs can also be treated as emergency money. Make it in small amount like 10k each. Lose interest only.
I only put long term and exchange when you need it when the rates favourable otherwise you just losing it to others to enjoy

Let the next gen earn themselves instead of harping from current generation 🤦‍♀️
xander2k8
post Nov 20 2022, 10:12 PM

4,689 posts

QUOTE(Meow Supreme @ Nov 20 2022, 07:54 PM)

I have some MYR in FDs but I am wondering if I should convert them to SGD or choose USD?

So many places you just to need to know where is secure and accessible anytime

QUOTE(ky33li @ Nov 20 2022, 08:10 PM)
agree. that’s how i view SGD long term, not bringing back. in case one day MYR becomes turkish lira hahaha
Won’t be like Turkish lira because by the time before it happens white flags all around and riots will happened before that 🤦‍♀️
Ramjade
post Nov 20 2022, 10:13 PM

24,422 posts

QUOTE(Meow Supreme @ Nov 20 2022, 07:54 PM)

Just invest it. If you are holding SGD, just buy their banks giving 4%p.a and increasing every year automatically 6-7% (being conservative here) or buy their reits. Giving 5-7%p.a and growing automatically 0-2%p.a

If US so many choices.
CommodoreAmiga
post Nov 20 2022, 10:41 PM

3,864 posts

QUOTE(xander2k8 @ Nov 20 2022, 10:10 PM)
I only put long term and exchange when you need it when the rates favourable otherwise you just losing it to others to enjoy

Let the next gen earn themselves instead of harping from current generation 🤦‍♀️
Well, I am not a spender...now I want to be a minimalist....material objects doesn't interest me...more objects to me, is just more stuff to manage which I don't want. I only spend money when necessary, not because I am stingy, but because I am just not interested. Hence might as well leave the money for my waris.
What I truly enjoy is something which I need to do, which doesn't requires lots of money once the basic tools are acquired. Needs lots of time and efforts...not so much money.

The only thing which I spends big are probably travel, but I dont do it often. And the older I get, probably the less I will travel since can't walk already by that time.
xander2k8
post Nov 21 2022, 04:35 PM

4,689 posts

QUOTE(Fate Collide @ Nov 21 2022, 12:11 AM)
Ic. Thx for let me understand more how monetary works.
Just wait BNM next policy meeting as they will definitely hike 25 basis point to 3% which their average OPR and back to pre pandemic levels
Hansel
post Nov 22 2022, 11:40 AM

9,361 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Nov 20 2022, 04:13 PM)
Kasi you satu like. Been doing that for a long time.
You learnt from me !
xander2k8
post Nov 22 2022, 02:50 PM

4,689 posts

QUOTE(Fate Collide @ Nov 22 2022, 02:33 PM)
I saw some fd already offered more than that. 😀
OPR is not equal to FD 🤦‍♀️

It is just a policy rate in order for the banks to transact money

Why FD is higher because some banks are desperate for money or liquidity hence offering higher % to exchange your time for it?
xander2k8
post Nov 23 2022, 04:40 PM

4,689 posts

QUOTE(Fate Collide @ Nov 23 2022, 04:34 PM)
Yup. Anyway good for ringgit appreciation.
Not necessary true RM been depreciating even OPR increase 🤦‍♀️

RM is now tied to several factors mainly domestic macroeconomics and China trading performance with Malaysia

The recent drop is due to China macroeconomics news mainly as you can see that China Covid lockdown news affecting Asian currencies

RM is only most traded onshore hence any global macroeconomics have small bearing on it
MystiqueLife
post Nov 24 2022, 11:48 AM

475 posts

Back to 4.52, not bad.
darksideofthemoon
post Nov 24 2022, 02:27 PM

75 posts

That was fast.
frankliew
post Nov 24 2022, 02:41 PM

664 posts

Nice, hopefully 3.20
xander2k8
post Nov 24 2022, 02:59 PM

4,689 posts

QUOTE(darksideofthemoon @ Nov 24 2022, 02:27 PM)

That was fast.
Factored in PM10 good news tracking USDMYR instead as SGD follows USD using NEER policies 🤦‍♀️
MystiqueLife
post Nov 24 2022, 04:33 PM

475 posts

Ringgit bulldozed today, hopefully the momentum is there
xander2k8
post Nov 24 2022, 07:19 PM

4,689 posts

QUOTE(MystiqueLife @ Nov 24 2022, 04:33 PM)
Ringgit bulldozed today, hopefully the momentum is there
Now breaking 4.48 territory and should be 4.40 come formation of cabinet by Monday
frankliew
post Nov 25 2022, 11:05 AM

664 posts

SGD 3.25 very fast achieve 3.20
TSumboy
post Nov 25 2022, 06:57 PM

226 posts

QUOTE(frankliew @ Nov 25 2022, 11:05 AM)
SGD 3.25 very fast achieve 3.20
I am looking forward to it biggrin.gif
More cash for my investment
TSumboy
post Nov 25 2022, 06:58 PM

226 posts

QUOTE(Fate Collide @ Nov 25 2022, 01:00 AM)
Time to book ticket to vacation 🤑
Great
Christmas is coming
It is time for a long awaited vacation
CommodoreAmiga
post Nov 26 2022, 06:03 PM

3,864 posts

I wait next week to change more Yen. Going to Japan. 🤩

102 Pages « < 6 7 8 9 10 > » Top