USD/MYR and SGD/MYR

ky33li
post Nov 20 2022, 08:10 PM

313 posts

QUOTE(CommodoreAmiga @ Nov 20 2022, 04:43 PM)
I think whatever you put there should be long term. Not moving back...until i say sayonara and my waris takes over. This fund should not be for emergency purpose. Separate emergency money should be kept here. Local FDs can also be treated as emergency money. Make it in small amount like 10k each. Lose interest only.
agree. that’s how i view SGD long term, not bringing back. in case one day MYR becomes turkish lira hahaha
ky33li
post Feb 23 2024, 06:45 PM

313 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Feb 23 2024, 06:04 PM)
Don't listen to banks. Do what you think is right for your money. A very good example is me. I have been converting my money since the days of SGD 3.0 and USD 4.2. Every year ringgit continue to drop, I just convert. People say expensive. I just continue to convert. What is expensive now can be cheap in the future. Of course if US drop interest rate to zero, then reverse also can happen (unlikely) maybe push it down to max 3%
Good. I need them support for few more days then salary in. Will convert ASAP.
agree with Ramjade because I do the same but i only start when SGD is RM3.09.
ky33li
post Feb 23 2024, 06:57 PM

313 posts

QUOTE(silentsurfer @ Feb 23 2024, 03:24 PM)
Yes, their rates are always low. Even now it is around 0-0.5% pa but i think they frequently have promotional rates. Now OCBC has a 3.0%p.a for a year fd. I am considering putting into FD for now as if I do convert into sgd, these will be my safety nest and I prefer least risk for these monies.

I did think about stocks but these present some risks in bad times or during recession. Even reits are not spared if i am not mistaken. Having to open a CDP and a brokerage account is also a little troublesome.

I also want to get an idea of what other forummers who keep significant amounts in sgd do with their stash. Thank you all.
open account with syfe and deposit into their guaranteed returns of 3.8%

0.0193sec    0.56    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 13th December 2025 - 02:55 AM