242 Pages « < 6 7 8 9 10 > » Bottom

Automatic Gate, How much do you need to install one ?

kelvyn
post Jun 23 2011, 01:12 PM

3,173 posts

QUOTE(weikee @ Jun 23 2011, 11:45 AM)
kelvyn, what is the Chinese term for Galvanise?  When i ask for quote worry they don't know this English term.
according to google translator smile.gif

镀锌

You can ask your gate fabricator..

BTW, if you are galvanising the gate, you need to apply the following surface protection system. Else, there will not be proper adhesion between the paint and the galvanised surface. After sometime the paint will start peeling off. sad.gif

1. Hot dip galvanising
2. Etching primer - can get from most hardware shops
3. Finish coat - can be Micaceous Iron Oxide or the normal Nippon/ Jotun paint

Many of the workshop (I meant those the make the gate & grille) does not know this. This what what I come across when I was try to do up my front gate. They just apply the normal red oxide and the finishing coat. Few months/ years later, the paint starts coming off. sad.gif
However, the galvanising remains if properly done.
bteoh
post Jun 27 2011, 01:43 AM

158 posts

QUOTE(periwater @ Jun 22 2011, 01:47 PM)
My price includes stainless steel bolt, nut and railing (track).
is part of the autogate system or grill contractor? or becoz u buy both so give good stuff??

wonder if this is not given , then its just normal steel rail that would rust?
kelvyn
post Jun 27 2011, 10:36 AM

3,173 posts

QUOTE(bteoh @ Jun 27 2011, 02:43 AM)
is part of the autogate system or grill contractor? or becoz u buy both so give good stuff??

wonder if this is not given , then its just normal steel rail that would rust?
these items cost just a very small fraction of the overall gate cost. Mostly included.
Just a word of caution in using the stainless steel rail (where the gate's roller slides on). They can get rusty if you use strong acid to wash your car porch floor. Happened to mine when my maid used acid to wash the car porch floor after the renovation work sad.gif
kicit
post Jun 29 2011, 11:48 PM

88 posts

Please find out the information on the flyer,anyone interest to install a safety Autogate system, kindly please PM me or email to me wkchan886@hotmail.com.Attached Image Attached Image
crischong
post Jul 3 2011, 12:43 PM

QUOTE(Intel@Atom @ Jun 15 2011, 10:41 PM)
YES, INCLUDE INSTALLATION BUT EXCLUDING CABLING.
BUT THE CONTRACTOR IS LOCATED AT MELAKA
hi Intel@Atom,

i actually sourcing the contractor of auto gate based in melaka.

but i wondering people talking about other brand of autogate in here, and in melaka mostly i saw the advertising is showing only dcmoto auto gate?

example like FAAC, CASA and others....

I need the auto gate information but is based in melaka smile.gif

Added on July 3, 2011, 1:23 pm
QUOTE(TubeNRibbon @ Jun 9 2011, 11:53 PM)
just share with everyone my autogate installed by a friend of mine. I'm using FAAC autogate and so far didn't give me any problem.

FAAC DoMoSwing

Lets me know if you need to get this autogate system.
Hi TubeNRibbon,

how many years of warranty of the FAAC covered to u?

and one more question, did u modify ur gate, or use the original gate which come from house?

I wish not to change my gate (due to cost saving), and should able to know the gate provided from developer are not really that good quality.

is it to install better quality of auto gate motor, need to have good gate at least with mid steel gate? not the kosong steel gate from developer?

sorry if the question look silly smile.gif

This post has been edited by crischong: Jul 3 2011, 01:23 PM
phoenix69
post Jul 4 2011, 02:14 PM

1,836 posts

Hi. What do you guys think of "Legate" - http://www.bte.com.my/
Their price is quite pricey but very good at selling their technical points.
What impressed me especially was that they use
stainless steel rollers and the rail is 100 % solid stainless steel (not hollow).

Added on July 4, 2011, 2:21 pm
QUOTE(lizziewong @ Jun 16 2011, 12:45 PM)
This is the picture of my gate. My children said I am so shameless when I said this is the nicest gate  blush.gif on our street.  They said I have omitted to disclose that, most houses on my street are very old.... haha...

Anyway, just want to share the pictur.  Note that the track and the roller are stainless steel, and the gates are fixed to the pillar by way of a 4 ft high panel (fixed to the pillar by a few wal plugs).  The bottom part of the gate is not wood (cant remember if its aluminium or powder coated steel) because it would be lighter and maintenance free (vs the wood type).    The flowers and the leaves are a little bit more special than those seen normally, look a bit 3D.

This guy service so far I think ok lah...  I also got him to do my pergola, parameter fencing grille, grill for front door, and folding grille for my balcony door too.   The flowers and leaves are not too bad, and the design look better than those I see in the pattern book (that grille guys carry).

Uploaded with ImageShack.us
Nice gate. Can you please PM me the contractor contact. Thanks

This post has been edited by phoenix69: Jul 4 2011, 02:22 PM
loong1111
post Jul 5 2011, 08:09 AM

29 posts

QUOTE(phoenix69 @ Jul 4 2011, 02:14 PM)
Hi. What do you guys think of "Legate" - http://www.bte.com.my/
Their price is quite pricey but very good at selling their technical points.
What impressed me especially was that they use
stainless steel rollers and the rail is 100 % solid stainless steel (not hollow).

Added on July 4, 2011, 2:21 pm

Nice gate. Can you please PM me the contractor contact. Thanks
Last time legate is good but nw i think their quality drop already. I think their production manager changed already. U have to pay the maintaince service fee every year to maintain the warranty. Using stainless steel solid pipe to make rail is a stupit action. Most important is the foundation of the rail. Actually their technical point r outdated already. Nw there are alot autogate with better features. Im personally doing r&d on smart autogate sytem. However not going to launch so fast.

Added on July 5, 2011, 8:21 am
QUOTE(kelvyn @ Jun 27 2011, 10:36 AM)
these items cost just a very small fraction of the overall gate cost. Mostly included.
Just a word of caution in using the stainless steel rail (where the gate's roller slides on). They can get rusty if you use strong acid to wash your car porch floor. Happened to mine when my maid used acid to wash the car porch floor after the renovation work  sad.gif
This is base on what type of stainless steel they r using. Normally 304 wont rust. For rail for the gate. I can recommend to use schedule 40s 3/4inch pipe( actually is 1 inch). It is ss304 and sirim approved. Normally it is used to transfer acid or chemical liquid.

This post has been edited by loong1111: Jul 5 2011, 01:10 PM
weikee
post Jul 5 2011, 10:35 AM

12,019 posts

QUOTE(kelvyn @ Jun 23 2011, 01:12 PM)
according to google translator  smile.gif 

镀锌

You can ask your gate fabricator..

BTW, if you are galvanising the gate, you need to apply the following surface protection system. Else, there will not be proper adhesion between the paint and the galvanised surface. After sometime the paint will start peeling off.  sad.gif

1. Hot dip galvanising
2. Etching primer - can get from most hardware shops
3. Finish coat - can be Micaceous Iron Oxide or the normal Nippon/ Jotun paint
Many of the workshop (I meant those the make the gate & grille) does not know this. This what what I come across when I was try to do up my front gate. They just apply the normal red oxide and the finishing coat. Few months/ years later, the paint starts coming off.  sad.gif
However, the galvanising remains if properly done.
kelvyn, i think #2, and #3 they don't do it. Maybe i got to do it myself. The Erching primer is it clear or grey? If grey that mean I got to paint it again.
kelvyn
post Jul 5 2011, 10:55 AM

3,173 posts

QUOTE(weikee @ Jul 5 2011, 11:35 AM)
kelvyn, i think #2, and #3 they don't do it. Maybe i got to do it myself. The Erching primer is it clear or grey? If grey that mean I got to paint it again.
Depend on your gate fabricator. I bought the etching primer and MIO; and pass them to my fabricator to use. He applied them using his spray equipment. The finishing is much better than painting with a brush.

The etching primer is important for galvanised surface. If you apply the normal red oxide, it will not bond properly with the galvanised surface. The primer is the first coat after the galvanised surface. Thus, it is the most important coat. If the bond is not good, after some time, the paint will start peeling off. So, whatever paint that is painted on top of the primer will be of no use.

If I recall correctly, the etching primer that I used was Olive Green in colour.

As for the MIO, they comes in either grey, black and another lighter colour which I cannot recall. I used MIO for its durability as well as for its texture (like the surface of fine grade sand paper)
Alternatively, you could use the normal Acrylic finishing paint.

This post has been edited by kelvyn: Jul 5 2011, 10:56 AM
weikee
post Jul 5 2011, 11:06 AM

12,019 posts

QUOTE(kelvyn @ Jul 5 2011, 10:55 AM)
Depend on your gate fabricator. I bought the etching primer and MIO; and pass them to my fabricator to use. He applied them using his spray equipment. The finishing is much better than painting with a brush.

The etching primer is important for galvanised surface. If you apply the normal red oxide, it will not bond properly with the galvanised surface. The primer is the first coat after the galvanised surface. Thus, it is the most important coat. If the bond is not good, after some time, the paint will start peeling off. So, whatever paint that is painted on top of the primer will be of no use.

If I recall correctly, the etching primer that I used was Olive Green in colour.

As for the MIO, they comes in either grey, black and another lighter colour which I cannot recall.  I used MIO for its durability as well as for its texture (like the surface of fine grade sand paper)
Alternatively, you could use the normal Acrylic finishing paint.
Ok, Than i need to talk to the grill person.
kelvyn
post Jul 5 2011, 11:31 AM

3,173 posts

QUOTE(weikee @ Jul 5 2011, 12:06 PM)
Ok, Than i need to talk to the grill person.
Ya.. just buy the paint and pass to him to use. He could be reluctant as he is worried about the cost. Since he may not have used them before, he will most probably be skeptical. I believe after your "project" he will claim to be expert with galvanised gates biggrin.gif

p/s. I did not deduct the paint cost from my fabricator's payment although he mentioned for me to do so.. The cost is small as compared to the headache of repainting the gate every now & than..
weikee
post Jul 5 2011, 01:30 PM

12,019 posts

Can a normal steel gate use this primer?
papaya2
post Jul 5 2011, 02:07 PM

387 posts

bro, any suggest good moto for auto gate (swing type)? budget around 1.8k + installation, but exclude wiring as i have installed armour cable by my wiring man. thanks
kelvyn
post Jul 5 2011, 04:40 PM

3,173 posts

QUOTE(weikee @ Jul 5 2011, 02:30 PM)
Can a normal steel gate use this primer?
Do you mean etching primer?
Yes, can be use. All surface must be clean and dry before applying. Clean away any rust.
Just like what ever paint you use, surface preparation is most important. Else whatever that you apply on would be useless.

you can refer here:

http://www.nipponpaint.com.my/professional...=14&rangeID=114
loong1111
post Jul 5 2011, 05:05 PM

29 posts

QUOTE(papaya2 @ Jul 5 2011, 02:07 PM)
bro, any suggest good moto for auto gate (swing type)? budget around 1.8k + installation, but exclude wiring as i have installed armour cable by my wiring man. thanks
For swing gate, i recommand to use arm type motor. Dont use dc motor gfm905 similar motor as it is not suitable for swing gate. I can recommand u maxstone sw720. Taiwan imported motor. I have compared to oae a333. The gearbox , motor and structure r alot better than local arm. The price also quite cheap. May i know ur location?
papaya2
post Jul 5 2011, 05:43 PM

387 posts

if the gfm905 not suitable for swing type, wht type actually suitable? folding or sliding?
loong1111
post Jul 5 2011, 05:57 PM

29 posts

Suitable for folding but also not for big folding gate. Normally recommanded below 16ft. I have tried on 26ft folding. Result is crack crack sound while going to stop. I still have the sample video but not with me nw. It look great but sound not great. Confirm gear broken if installed
kelvyn
post Jul 5 2011, 05:58 PM

3,173 posts

QUOTE(loong1111 @ Jul 5 2011, 06:05 PM)
For swing gate, i recommand to use arm type motor. Dont use dc motor gfm905 similar motor as it is not suitable for swing gate. I can recommand u maxstone sw720. Taiwan imported motor. I have compared to oae a333. The gearbox , motor and structure r alot better than local arm. The price also quite cheap. May i know ur location?
Bro,
care to elaborate on why you say DC motor not suitable for swing gate?
If not suitable for swing gate, then what are they suitable for?
loong1111
post Jul 5 2011, 06:05 PM

29 posts

Dc moto use gear to lock the gate been open. If u use abit strenght to pull the gate, it will crack the gear. For arm type, it use screw type concerpt to lcok the gate. Can u imaging how r u going to pull out bolt and nut. If u use strenght to pull the gate, normally motor wont spoil but the wall plug will been pull out or the welding point broken.

Added on July 5, 2011, 6:06 pmAnyway, dc moto arm suitable for swing gate.

This post has been edited by loong1111: Jul 5 2011, 06:06 PM
papaya2
post Jul 5 2011, 06:31 PM

387 posts

QUOTE(loong1111 @ Jul 5 2011, 06:05 PM)
Dc moto use gear to lock the gate been open. If u use abit strenght to pull the gate, it will crack the gear. For arm type, it use screw type concerpt to lcok the gate. Can u imaging how r u going to pull out bolt and nut. If u use strenght to pull the gate, normally motor wont spoil but the wall plug will been pull out or the welding point broken.

Added on July 5, 2011, 6:06 pmAnyway, dc moto arm suitable for swing gate.
bro, quite make sence, i will re-consider yr points. I'm still approaching few seller for best quotation, will buy it before this month.

242 Pages « < 6 7 8 9 10 > » Top

0.0185sec    0.53    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 26th November 2025 - 06:00 PM