gym workout routine
TSspursfan
Aug 1 2022, 09:38 AM, updated 3y ago

anyone can suggest good routine for weekend only (saturday and sunday) gym goer?
i'm currently doing arm and shoulder on saturdays and chest, back and legs on sundays. if it's a long weekend, i rearrange the split to be closer to PPL.
mrhrs
Aug 1 2022, 09:42 AM

only workout at the gym on weekends only? I prefer to split the upper and lower body plus cardio on both sessions.
lorkh
Aug 1 2022, 09:50 AM

can't do at least 4 days a week?
TSspursfan
Aug 1 2022, 09:54 AM

my current routine
saturday barbell overhead press plate raise dumbbell lateral raise bent over dumbbell lateral raise barbell bicep curl close grip preacher's curl wide grip preacher's curl tricep pushdown skullcrushers overhead tricep extensions
sunday squat deadlift leg extensions lunges close grip lat pulldown wide grip lat pulldown overhand bent over row underhand bent over row bench press incline bench press decline bench press chest fly (machine)
8-12 reps / set. 5 sets each.
i'm still new to this. i didn't touch the barbell till 2 months ago. started adding deadlift to the routine around a month ago.
Roadwarrior1337
Aug 1 2022, 10:01 AM
Only weekend go gym ? Very little improvement can be observe
Split 2 upper body on monday(back) and Tuesday (chest)
Thurs is arms
Friday is legs
Sat focus on your core
Joe1997
Aug 1 2022, 10:12 AM

not a sifu here, just a regular gym goer. But i think 2 days are too packed? Try split to 3 or 4 days. Unless your weekdays also have some activities that keep your body engaged like boxing, martial arts or any cardio sesh.
TSspursfan
Aug 1 2022, 10:30 AM

yeah. it's packed. it feels like i'm trying to kill myself on sundays. well, if i can only go on weekends, there's nothing much that i can do about it. just asking if there's anyone that can suggest a better routine. not trying to grow huge. i just want to keep my weight after i stop doing cardio. QUOTE(Roadwarrior1337 @ Aug 1 2022, 10:01 AM) Only weekend go gym ? Very little improvement can be observe Split 2 upper body on monday(back) and Tuesday (chest) Thurs is arms Friday is legs Sat focus on your core i do see small improvements. i guess that's just newbie gains. further growth is unlikely. This post has been edited by spursfan: Aug 1 2022, 10:32 AM
Armesh
Aug 1 2022, 11:52 AM
For proper bodybuilding, you need train 1 hour a day, 6 days a week. MINIMUM. If want 4 days/week, then u need train 1.5 hours a day.
Just run a PPL split.
Don't forget to count ALL your calories, carb, protein & fat by self cooking all your food. So thats another 2 hours everyday.
TSspursfan
Aug 1 2022, 02:25 PM

i am doing 6 hours a week. split over 2 days.
not doing proper bodybuilding. just trying not to go back to obese and maybe gain a bit of strength in the process.
Armesh
Aug 1 2022, 04:20 PM
QUOTE(spursfan @ Aug 1 2022, 02:25 PM) i am doing 6 hours a week. split over 2 days. not doing proper bodybuilding. just trying not to go back to obese and maybe gain a bit of strength in the process. For general/military level fitness, no need waste time/money/petrol go gym. Do 2~3 sets of pushups and pullups to failure daily. For legs can do single leg squats/db lunges or just sprints. Diet eat maintenance calories (use TDEE calculator). 2g protein per kilo bodyweight. So 70 kilo guy eat 140g protein. After 6 months you shud be able to eyeball this diet quite accurately without counting calories for the rest of your life. This post has been edited by Armesh: Aug 1 2022, 04:20 PM
SupermanLick
Aug 1 2022, 09:40 PM
QUOTE(spursfan @ Aug 1 2022, 09:54 AM) my current routine saturday barbell overhead press plate raise dumbbell lateral raise bent over dumbbell lateral raise barbell bicep curl close grip preacher's curl wide grip preacher's curl tricep pushdown skullcrushers overhead tricep extensions sunday squat deadlift leg extensions lunges close grip lat pulldown wide grip lat pulldown overhand bent over row underhand bent over row bench press incline bench press decline bench press chest fly (machine) 8-12 reps / set. 5 sets each. i'm still new to this. i didn't touch the barbell till 2 months ago. started adding deadlift to the routine around a month ago. U need some energy drink and powder Low energy, low gain Water sum sum drink
TSspursfan
Aug 1 2022, 11:31 PM

QUOTE(SupermanLick @ Aug 1 2022, 09:40 PM) U need some energy drink and powder Low energy, low gain Water sum sum drink i'm doing my current weekend workout routine on an empty stomach, and no water.  i know, i'm doing a lot of wrong stuff. i can handle the nutrition part. as for workout, it's strictly weekend only. lots of guys trying to help, but the answer isn't really what i'm asking for.
CSW1990
Aug 10 2022, 09:28 AM
QUOTE(spursfan @ Aug 1 2022, 02:25 PM) i am doing 6 hours a week. split over 2 days. not doing proper bodybuilding. just trying not to go back to obese and maybe gain a bit of strength in the process. Just curious, 6 hours workout split over Saturday & Sunday only.. your body can tahan on Monday? For me if I do squat and deadlift on one same day and the 2nd day most likely I cannot workout and need additional sleep in day time… From what I saw from YouTube if only 1 or 2 days to work out weekly, should just choose those will involve whole body muscles to work out, for example deadlift, squat , bench press, Barbell shoulder press, barbell row , pull up etc
TSspursfan
Aug 10 2022, 12:24 PM

QUOTE(CSW1990 @ Aug 10 2022, 09:28 AM) Just curious, 6 hours workout split over Saturday & Sunday only.. your body can tahan on Monday? For me if I do squat and deadlift on one same day and the 2nd day most likely I cannot workout and need additional sleep in day time… From what I saw from YouTube if only 1 or 2 days to work out weekly, should just choose those will involve whole body muscles to work out, for example deadlift, squat , bench press, Barbell shoulder press, barbell row , pull up etc I'm new. Still lifting very light. Plus, I had an old knee injury. First priority is not to break anything.  I think those routine are not done on consecutive days. Nobody same will tell you to squat heavy 2 days in a row. The only choices for weekend warriors are upper body lower body split or push pull split. Progress will be slower, since I only hit those muscles once a week. I'm ok with that. I don't feel much on Monday mornings. DOMS start to be felt on Monday evening. Tuesday mornings are the worst.
axtray
Aug 11 2022, 04:07 PM
if for 2 days only and over the weekend, I'd go for
Push Saturday (chest and shoulder, slot in tricep if have time) Pull and Legs Sunday
Im following this split for my weekend workout. And the sunday seems high volume, but the only leg workout I do is few sets of heavy squat and cleans/power cleans. The rest are pull workouts. and can get done in less than 2 hours.
chairboy
Dec 27 2022, 05:10 PM
QUOTE(spursfan @ Aug 1 2022, 09:54 AM) my current routine saturday barbell overhead press plate raise dumbbell lateral raise bent over dumbbell lateral raise barbell bicep curl close grip preacher's curl wide grip preacher's curl tricep pushdown skullcrushers overhead tricep extensions sunday squat deadlift leg extensions lunges close grip lat pulldown wide grip lat pulldown overhand bent over row underhand bent over row bench press incline bench press decline bench press chest fly (machine) 8-12 reps / set. 5 sets each. i'm still new to this. i didn't touch the barbell till 2 months ago. started adding deadlift to the routine around a month ago. Just curious about how much time you spend completing the routine? Would recommend you to focus on 1-2 compound lifts + 2-3 accessory lifts each day, no more. Don't spend too much time on variation (>>> too many curls on Saturday). 2 days seems too packed. You can get light dumbells/pullup bar/resistance bands for weekday workout at home. Focus on barbell exercise in the gym. This post has been edited by chairboy: Dec 27 2022, 05:11 PM
TSspursfan
Dec 27 2022, 06:22 PM

QUOTE(chairboy @ Dec 27 2022, 05:10 PM) Just curious about how much time you spend completing the routine? Would recommend you to focus on 1-2 compound lifts + 2-3 accessory lifts each day, no more. Don't spend too much time on variation (>>> too many curls on Saturday). 2 days seems too packed. You can get light dumbells/pullup bar/resistance bands for weekday workout at home. Focus on barbell exercise in the gym. way too long. I'm still changing the routine. Figuring things out myself as I don't have a trainer. But yeah, I'm definitely cutting the sets and exercises.
chairboy
Dec 27 2022, 07:29 PM
QUOTE(spursfan @ Dec 27 2022, 06:22 PM) way too long. I'm still changing the routine. Figuring things out myself as I don't have a trainer. But yeah, I'm definitely cutting the sets and exercises. Try to limit a session to 45-60 mins. Intensity > rep count. Focus on compound movement e.g. squat, deadlift, press, bench, pullup, row. Those exercises recruit multiple muscle groups and prime your body strength wise, giving best bang of bucks. Organise your routine to prevent pull and push muscles imbalance. And oh yeah don’t skip leg day. Good luck! This post has been edited by chairboy: Dec 27 2022, 07:30 PM
TSspursfan
Dec 27 2022, 08:17 PM

QUOTE(chairboy @ Dec 27 2022, 07:29 PM) Try to limit a session to 45-60 mins. Intensity > rep count. Focus on compound movement e.g. squat, deadlift, press, bench, pullup, row. Those exercises recruit multiple muscle groups and prime your body strength wise, giving best bang of bucks. Organise your routine to prevent pull and push muscles imbalance. And oh yeah don’t skip leg day. Good luck! i did like 3 hours on empty stomach.  if i do say 1 warm up set, then 2 hard sets each for overhand and underhand rows, is that good? or, just stick with 1 variation?
Roadwarrior1337
Dec 27 2022, 08:20 PM
Honestly only weekend u will not see gains
But u will burn some calories to makan makan for the day
Atleast 3 to 4 time a week like Monday, Wednesday, Friday and sat or sun. Days in between is for rest day but u have to go hard on your sessions so rest days to cure DOMS
Rome wasn’t built in a weekend. Key word in any build is consistency