Contractor charges me for smoothing my housewalls
JimbeamofNRT
Jul 25 2022, 03:50 PM
QUOTE(max_cavalera @ Jul 25 2022, 03:47 PM) What for need to smooth the wall? I thought naturally its almost impossible to smooth the wall or is not worth it. Just paint it je lah… If got a crack area i just use putty je to tampal and smoothen it and paint over it TS house made in last century kah? popcorn walls one?
Zenith5229
Jul 25 2022, 03:52 PM

Up car dy
homicidal85
Jul 25 2022, 04:51 PM

QUOTE(cempedaklife @ Jul 25 2022, 03:43 PM) typically, what they mean is, the wall is not smooth enough, after you paint, you still see some imperfection. whats the difference with every other wall? all walls have imperfections. why does TS need to pay an additional 5k to smoothen his?
kamfoo
Jul 25 2022, 04:52 PM
no need ler
AnythingK
Jul 25 2022, 04:53 PM

Smoothing and patching walls don't cost this much, yes you kena upcar already. And most probably he didn't even "smooth,patch" anything, or maybe just a tiny part of the walls only.
Yes, you kena upcar already.
cempedaklife
Jul 25 2022, 05:11 PM
QUOTE(homicidal85 @ Jul 25 2022, 04:51 PM) whats the difference with every other wall? all walls have imperfections. why does TS need to pay an additional 5k to smoothen his? depends on developer workmanship. based on your question, i guess you never see bad workmanship from contractor side, which is good for you
c64
Jul 25 2022, 05:15 PM
Later say need to paint again...after paint say need to skim again...
Cyberbullies
Jul 25 2022, 05:19 PM

QUOTE(stauffenberg88 @ Jul 25 2022, 02:22 PM) Hello, I am renovating my house. Previously, my contractor quote me an amount to paint my whole house wall. Now he said my wall is not smooth, want to charge me additional RM5000 to smoothen my wall. Is it normal that contractor charges us separately the smoothing part when he also quoted me separately me for painting and construct new walls? Does RM5000 make sense for a 22 x 75 house. I feel like it's too expensive and mcm kena up car like that. This is called skim coating. 2 layers (base coat and then top coat). Remember to ask him to include corner beads (important). Otherwise no point. I'd say it's worth it.
pgsiemkia
Jul 25 2022, 05:21 PM
QUOTE(stauffenberg88 @ Jul 25 2022, 02:22 PM) Hello, I am renovating my house. Previously, my contractor quote me an amount to paint my whole house wall. Now he said my wall is not smooth, want to charge me additional RM5000 to smoothen my wall. Is it normal that contractor charges us separately the smoothing part when he also quoted me separately me for painting and construct new walls? Does RM5000 make sense for a 22 x 75 house. I feel like it's too expensive and mcm kena up car like that. Go find a new contractor, water fish. PM if need help.
AdisonMak
Jul 25 2022, 05:42 PM

QUOTE(homicidal85 @ Jul 25 2022, 03:39 PM) why the heck do you need to smoothen your walls? usually the smoothing is done by the wet works (cement work) contractor. did your old wet work contractor run away? rm5k is a lot. if he is saying the whole house punya wall all rough and not smooth, what the fuk? how did that happen? is it really all rough cement or just slightly not smooth? <snipped for shorter quotes> usually, if its already been painted before, you shouldnt need to resmoothen. Probably meant these imperfection will occur if not skim coat it.  Although it is consider VO at this point. I assume the contractor didn't do site visit before the quote or?
CoffeeDude
Jul 25 2022, 06:43 PM
QUOTE(stauffenberg88 @ Jul 25 2022, 02:22 PM) Hello, I am renovating my house. Previously, my contractor quote me an amount to paint my whole house wall. Now he said my wall is not smooth, want to charge me additional RM5000 to smoothen my wall. Is it normal that contractor charges us separately the smoothing part when he also quoted me separately me for painting and construct new walls? Does RM5000 make sense for a 22 x 75 house. I feel like it's too expensive and mcm kena up car like that. One point I think nobody mentioned is the finishing paint that you are using. If you are using a glossy / shiny reflective paint, then skim coat is recommended. Else you will see all the uneven surfaces when light shines on the glossy paint. If you use matt paint then uneven surface is not so obvious.
TSstauffenberg88
Jul 25 2022, 06:46 PM
Hello, everyone.. thanks for your comments and advise. I have uploaded some photos of my wall.. The contractor is still working on my other wall extension/kitchen/room extension.
He is not forcing me or something. He asks me if I wanted and of course being a noob I am in construction, I said okay.. He hasnt started it. Im sure I can still pull back.
homicidal85
Jul 26 2022, 09:54 AM

QUOTE(stauffenberg88 @ Jul 25 2022, 02:22 PM) Hello, I am renovating my house. Previously, my contractor quote me an amount to paint my whole house wall. Now he said my wall is not smooth, want to charge me additional RM5000 to smoothen my wall. Is it normal that contractor charges us separately the smoothing part when he also quoted me separately me for painting and construct new walls? Does RM5000 make sense for a 22 x 75 house. I feel like it's too expensive and mcm kena up car like that.     Personally, i would be fine with this unevenness. I wouldnt pay 5k to smoothen it. once you paint it and put deco/furniture on the wall, you will hardly notice the unevenness.
jojolicia
Jul 26 2022, 10:02 AM
QUOTE(CoffeeDude @ Jul 25 2022, 06:43 PM) One point I think nobody mentioned is the finishing paint that you are using. If you are using a glossy / shiny reflective paint, then skim coat is recommended. Else you will see all the uneven surfaces when light shines on the glossy paint. If you use matt paint then uneven surface is not so obvious. This
ts1
Jul 26 2022, 11:38 AM
5k just put wallpaper la