10 Pages « < 5 6 7 8 9 > » Bottom

Ask my anything about tires, I am a tire engineer

littlefire
post Oct 25 2024, 11:56 AM

2,712 posts

QUOTE(amscouzach57 @ Oct 25 2024, 12:52 PM)
Toyo Proxes CR1.
Agree, if want budget tires the best in local market now is Toyo CR1.
littlefire
post Oct 28 2024, 09:30 AM

2,712 posts

QUOTE(kahwaiCoyG @ Oct 26 2024, 11:28 AM)
Is ps4 perform better than ps5? I have come across some other series like Conti and Bridgestone, but it starts with 1k per donut. Considering vitour v01r as well but not sure how it performs on wet
It is a fact PS4 perform more better, PS5 only good in better tread wear but because of this the traction performance drop.

If you want lower budget tyres go for middle range tyres like Falken FK520, Hankook Ventus S1 evo 3, Maxxis Victra Sport or Giti Sport S2
littlefire
post Oct 28 2024, 11:16 AM

2,712 posts

QUOTE(DM3 @ Oct 28 2024, 10:57 AM)
Ps4 now also no more,been using it till now but femes fr peel off chunks
Most premium tires example like Bridgestone, Yokohama also same, due to rubber compound.
You want better performance, quiet and better braking performance you need to be soft, once soft if you drive in poor road condition a lot the rubber confirm will peel off, this is normal and will not impact overall tire unless it is worn down until the safety limit.

You dont like rubber peel off, get those cheaper tires with harder material compound but you loss on the benefits as per feedback above.
littlefire
post Nov 1 2024, 08:50 AM

2,712 posts

QUOTE(ExCrIpT @ Oct 31 2024, 02:54 PM)
how many years can a tyre last before needing to change ? some say 7, some say up to 10.
more than 50% thread left and always parked under a shade.
https://www.michelin.com.my/auto/advice/cha...g-do-tyres-last

Max 10 years
After 5 years have them checked by a professional at least once a year.

Read, professional. Not some roadside tire shop will keep using fear mongering to tell you need to change after 5 years.
My tires most around 5~7 years now, always keep in good tire pressure, do proper allignment, rotation & balancing nearly every year.
Yesterday sent 1 of my classic 1971 beetle over to tire shop to rotate, balance the tires 2019 year still in good condition without any cracks or hardening. The tire shop say if did not always drive in bad road condition, keep under sun shade the tires easily can last around 10 years.

This post has been edited by littlefire: Nov 1 2024, 08:52 AM
littlefire
post Nov 14 2024, 10:05 AM

2,712 posts

QUOTE(kahwaiCoyG @ Nov 12 2024, 03:14 PM)
Hi guys, can we actually mix different series of tyre in front and rear wheel?
Let say im having Continental MC7 in front wheel, and planning to change my rear wheel to SC7, is there any concern? It is a RWD car
If your not demanding driver, no issue. But if you always like to drive in corners high speed or speed demon then not recommend. As different tires act differently during emergency (braking), traction & cornering ability. Just imagine when entering in corner high speed and suddenly need emergency braking, if either 1 side of the tires more poor perform you might just loss control.
littlefire
post Dec 19 2024, 08:59 AM

2,712 posts

QUOTE(g00glesYYl @ Dec 16 2024, 07:05 PM)
Goodyear Assurance Maxguard SUV => RM644.00 (lazada)
Michelin Primacy 4 => RM701 (Toyota SC)
Toyo Proxes CR1 SUV => RM538 (Toyota SC)
Bro, Michelin & Toyo tires just get from outside. Why want to buy from Toyota SC which they also markup higher?

Just google the nearest official distributor from Michelin & Toyo malaysia website and ask them quote for you.
littlefire
post Dec 19 2024, 09:15 AM

2,712 posts

QUOTE(ek @ Dec 15 2024, 11:19 PM)
Hi sifu, is there any quieter tyre as compare with stock Toyo Proxes R46 225/22/19 on Mazda CX8?  I plan to swap Toyo out for quieter and if possible those better grip under web condition.  A friend was recommending UC6 to me.
Bridgestone Alenza 001
Hankook Ventus Prime 4
Nexen RU1 SUV
Yokohama BluEarth-XT AE61
Toyo Proxes CR1 SUV/ CF2 SUV
Michelin Primacy SUV
Goodyear Efficientgrip SUV

Most tires when new also quieter, tires after a while when harden or low treads will create more road noise.
Even some tires manufacturer purposely put noise maker like small bumps in treads to create more tire noise when hit the safety wear limit.

littlefire
post Dec 20 2024, 08:55 AM

2,712 posts

QUOTE(ayamxxx @ Dec 19 2024, 12:31 PM)
I think the chunks issue are happened to those performance tyres when they using a grippier rubber, softer rubber. Instead of harder rubber like those in Eco Tyres model.
Yes, depends on the manufacturer rubber formula. Not only performance, most premium brands even for normal comfort range also like softer compound as it is more comfort, safer (shorter braking distance) and silent compare to harder compound. Weakness is faster wear & easy to chip off the treads.
littlefire
post Dec 26 2024, 11:09 AM

2,712 posts

QUOTE(DM3 @ Dec 21 2024, 04:36 PM)
U need go for Ps5 already,the cheaper version is already s1evo3 damn good already
If you go do research, PS5 actually a downgrade in term of performance when compared to PS4. Just go compare the Traction rating on the tires itself you will know. PS4 - AA, PS5 - A (Only 1 A). The only thing PS5 good over PS4 is comfort and higher wear rating (last longer compare to PS4)
littlefire
post Dec 26 2024, 11:16 AM

2,712 posts

QUOTE(Edwinlkj @ Dec 21 2024, 04:34 PM)
Hi Bros, i m currently looking for replacement for my Hankook S1 Evo 3 which is around 40k km. I got to say that Hankook S1 Evo 3 is grippy both dry and wet. My car have good soundproofing  and hence i didnt notice much noise.
I am a high mileage traveling between JB and KL. I drive between 160-200kmh and my sedan car is on the heavy side.
I wonder if there is any uhp tyres that is better than my current hankook s1 evo 3?
Size of my tyre is 245/45/R19
🙏
https://www.tyrereviews.com/Search/Size/245...9/Season/Summer

Michelin PS4
Goodyear Eagle F1 AS6
Continental SportContact 7 <- Recent EVO summer test beat Michelin and claim no1 spot (Refer link below)

https://www.tyrereviews.com/Article/2024-EV...r-Tyre-Test.htm

This post has been edited by littlefire: Dec 26 2024, 11:17 AM
littlefire
post Jan 9 2025, 09:33 AM

2,712 posts

QUOTE(DaBai89 @ Jan 8 2025, 10:29 PM)
Plan to replace cx5 tyre 225/55 r19

Looking for good wet grip + low noise

BS Alenza 001
GY Assurance maxguard
Hankook ventus prime 4
Yokohama AE61

Which of these have better tread wear?

Thank you sifu in advance
If you just concern about tread wear, go for GY Assurance.
But dont expect good NVH especially in tire noise & comfort, as usually good tread wear tires tend to be harder in rubber compound.
littlefire
post Jan 9 2025, 09:37 AM

2,712 posts

QUOTE(marche @ Jan 7 2025, 06:18 PM)
Hi all, any suggestion for a good tyre to replace my PS4?

PS5 is out of stock everywhere
PS5 only good in comfort and higher tread wear and downgrade in performance, a lot of people still prefer PS4 as the Traction rating (AA -> A in PS5) still higher and better compare to PS5. If you ask me, if want PS5 rather buy the normal Primacy 4 series and save the extra money since it is like going to become comfort touring tires. tongue.gif

littlefire
post Jan 9 2025, 09:40 AM

2,712 posts

QUOTE(giftfre @ Jan 7 2025, 10:58 AM)
Anyone here apply this insulator foam inside the tyre?
You want to use in what car?
If normal road car, foam only will add weight and will not help much

If EV, yes this will help reduce a lot of road noise as EV itself already very quiet and any additional road noise with be annoying.

If die die want to buy, just go aliexpress or taobao and buy. Plenty of cheap tire foams from China as nowadays their EV is quite a lot otr.

This post has been edited by littlefire: Jan 9 2025, 09:41 AM
littlefire
post Jan 9 2025, 06:50 PM

2,712 posts

QUOTE(ben3003 @ Jan 9 2025, 03:58 PM)
i tot it is in continental tire under contisilent technology lol. those photos of falling out is from western world forum lol. i think it may help but if not installed properly maybe will affect balancing.
After install the foam in the tires, you also need to redo all the normal balancing process when fit back on the sport rim so actual is not a big deal. laugh.gif
littlefire
post Jan 16 2025, 07:23 AM

2,712 posts

QUOTE(victorian @ Jan 15 2025, 12:52 PM)
My Myvi 2018 is currently running 185 55 15.
Is it possible for it to use 195 50 15 tyres? And if yes are there anything to take note? 

Found someone in Shopee selling CR1 185 55 15 for RM212/pcs
and CR1 195 50 15 for RM193/pcs

Was wondering why is there a price difference, 185 55 15 is always so hard to find + expensive.
We been talking on this for many times, 1st of all you need to consider your sport rim width. Ori sport rim width usually design to match with the 185 size, just imagine small feet with bigger shoes size when you run how you feel?

Besides that, by changing bigger tire wider size it will also impact fuel consuption. The money you save now on the tires, might even waste more money in long term when driving. Do take note your tire usually last around 40000~50000km. If fuel consuption increase to like even 0.01cent per km, 40000km = RM400 bro.. Is the higher fuel consuption really got savings in long term? Somemore fuel subsidies going off soon bro.

If i were you, i would rather stick to the original size with the original sport rim.
Unless you willing to go all out by changing lightweight sport rim with the suitable width to match the 195 size and in long term due to lightweight maybe still can maintain similar fuel consuption as previous.

This post has been edited by littlefire: Jan 16 2025, 07:28 AM
littlefire
post Jan 16 2025, 10:34 AM

2,712 posts

QUOTE(pspslim007 @ Jan 15 2025, 01:22 PM)
Hi, if I have a leak from the tyre valve (due to the steel cap is rusty thus it stuck really tight on the valve), for some reason, while trying to unscrew the rusted steel cap, the valve suddenly give way and became loose, is it safe for me to travel to the nearest tyre shop (5.9km) to get it fixed or is it too risky & may cause the tyre to have much more serious issue down the road?
Do you have spare tires? Use that 1 to replace first. If really dont have, ask the tyre shop to drop by since you mentions only 5.9km usually if near tyre shop can ask their worker to go out help but need pay extra for it. Please confirm with the tire shop before telling them to drop by.
littlefire
post Jan 17 2025, 01:58 PM

2,712 posts

QUOTE(Susuwatari @ Jan 17 2025, 11:46 AM)
Sifu, do you know the differences between T005A and T005B? I asked around on Shopee, it seems only 2023 Turanza are available, is it too old?
2023 old? Bro, u tot tires is banana/food izzit? laugh.gif

Tires can last at least 10 years bro, nothing to worry.
A lot of people prefer at least 1~2 years tire, 1st cheaper price and 2nd tire composition is more stable/mature.

T005A - Is design for Asia pacific region

Not sure with the T005B, but previously A version is for Asia pacific region and got slight different treads design or rubber composition as compare to original T005 which is design for Europe or US market. Even with A or B revision, Turanza is more towards premium touring tires similar category to like Michelin Primacy 4 series.

littlefire
post Jan 22 2025, 09:06 AM

2,712 posts

QUOTE(kracy @ Jan 22 2025, 01:12 AM)
Hi, any recommendation for 2018 Mercedes Benz C200?
Front: 225/45R18
Rear: 245/40/R18

Thank you in advance
Budget? Driving style? Can accept non-flat tires or not?
Too many varienty, tires need to match what owner needs, better you give more info so that people can recommend suitable tires.

littlefire
post Jan 23 2025, 08:56 AM

2,712 posts

QUOTE(kracy @ Jan 23 2025, 06:38 AM)
Budget about 500-1000 per tire
Normal driving. Occasional long distance highway driving.
Preferably smooth and quiet drive
Can accept run flat tire

Currently using continental UC6 for front tire and bridgestone potenza s001 rft for rear

Tq.
Yes, with that kind of budget can get Michelin Primacy 4 series.
Since just want smooth and quiet drive, Primacy 4 would be sufficient.
Other options, Bridgestone Turanza T005 or Hankook Ventus Prime 4.
littlefire
post Feb 6 2025, 12:42 PM

2,712 posts

QUOTE(GamersFamilia @ Feb 5 2025, 10:25 PM)
Imported used tyre, are they safe and good?
Buy from halfcut shop izzit? You need to know the date, usually max is 10 years from manufacturing date.
2nd is the tires all season, summer or snow tires? If snow just skip, too loud to drive on the roads.
3rd is tire condition, is there any long/deep cracks on the sidewall or treads? Treads depth still ok?

Usually we only buy imported used tyre for training purpose, like to go for drift, track or gymkana traning rounds. If lucky can get performance tires at cheap price, but those are not suitable on-road and only on competition gound.

This post has been edited by littlefire: Feb 6 2025, 12:43 PM

10 Pages « < 5 6 7 8 9 > » Top

0.0401sec    0.39    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 28th November 2025 - 05:55 PM