10 Pages « < 6 7 8 9 10 >Bottom

Ask my anything about tires, I am a tire engineer

littlefire
post Feb 7 2025, 09:43 AM

2,707 posts

QUOTE(GamersFamilia @ Feb 7 2025, 06:36 AM)
Not half cut
Basically this shop specialist on usef tyres, their tyres basically from 2020 until 2024 tyres
Those shop also sure got mix with half-cut tires. As per same need to identify the tires type, manufacturing date and condition before buy.
littlefire
post Feb 17 2025, 09:12 AM

2,707 posts

QUOTE(Susuwatari @ Feb 15 2025, 06:21 PM)
Is Primacy 4 quiter than Turanza T005?
https://www.tyrereviews.com/Compare/Turanza...S-Primacy-4.htm

There are a lot of reviews/comparison online, please utilize your google search.

littlefire
post Mar 19 2025, 01:41 PM

2,707 posts

QUOTE(ry8128 @ Mar 19 2025, 12:56 AM)
Hi ts and sifus here. Looking to change my tyres and would love some feedback.

Currently using primacy 4 and i already locked my next tyres to be either bridgestone turanza t005a or hankook ventus prime 4. Any feedback between this 2?
- main priority is wet handling and braking, as i usually drive fast during rain. My cruising speed during dry days and rainy days are the same
- second priority is noise and longetivity.
- budget not an issue
- definitely wont be going back to primacy 4 as i would like to try other brands. Primacy 5 also no for now, but most likely will be next (after either t005a/vp4).

Only interested in touring tyres, not performance tyres. Thank you  notworthy.gif
Turanza T005a already 1 generation old, Hankook Ventus Prime 4 is the latest spec.

https://www.tyrereviews.com/Tyre/Hankook/Ventus-Prime-4.htm

https://www.tyrereviews.com/Compare/Turanza...tus-Prime-4.htm

Easily VP4 outpace Turanza T005a

Unless Bridgestone bring the latest Turanza T6, if not VP4 all the way

https://www.tyrereviews.com/Compare/Turanza...tus-Prime-4.htm

This post has been edited by littlefire: Mar 19 2025, 01:43 PM
littlefire
post Mar 19 2025, 02:07 PM

2,707 posts

QUOTE(Duckies @ Mar 17 2025, 12:54 AM)
Longevity wise what is the recommended model? Michelin?
If your looking for a tires with long longevity and in budget, you can only look for mid-range tires.
Brand recommend as per below.

Falken ZE3310/320 <-ZE320 new model coming soon, if can wait for this as it beats Michelin P4 in overall performance
Hankook VP4 SUV <- Recommend this
GitiComfort SUV520

Yokohama is also good, but since they are more towards comfort/performance bias their rubber compound is more softer and easy to wear out.
But AE61 win quite a few awards in Asian tire test 2022 year due to good performance around the track.

https://auta.sg/asias-ultimate-tyre-awards-...s-suv-category/

This post has been edited by littlefire: Mar 19 2025, 02:09 PM
littlefire
post Mar 19 2025, 03:55 PM

2,707 posts

QUOTE(Duckies @ Mar 19 2025, 03:44 PM)
Don't really need performance...looking for price + longevity. How is Goodyear and Toyo in comparison with Falken, Hankook and Yoko?
Goodyear if want longevity only the Assurance Triplemaxx range

Toyo CR1 SUV for me it is consider as lower budget range, longevity should be similar to Yokohama but more towards comfort base.
littlefire
post Mar 19 2025, 04:57 PM

2,707 posts

QUOTE(Duckies @ Mar 19 2025, 05:55 PM)
Based on the price for 4 tires, CR1 is about 200 more than AE61. Not sure if CR1 worth that extra compared to AE61.

Primacy SUV+ is definitely the best but need to fork out almost 2k for all 4 tires.. Ouch
If people is quoting CR1 more expensive, that person is chopping you.
CR1 is one of the cheapest in market due to local made, usually is even cheaper than Yokohama.

This post has been edited by littlefire: Mar 19 2025, 04:58 PM
littlefire
post Mar 20 2025, 09:46 AM

2,707 posts

QUOTE(kueks @ Mar 19 2025, 10:39 PM)
want to ask those commercial building parking that use concrete as flooring

when turning, the tires will have those screeching sound,

long term will be bad for tyres? cos now daily have to turn up and down 6 floors to park at work place season parking.
Tires treads are design to wistand harsh road condition, everyday driving on the roads tires make even more noise just you did not notice it as it is not in close area. FYI, the roads surface on the open is even more worse than concrete. whistling.gif
littlefire
post Mar 20 2025, 05:30 PM

2,707 posts

QUOTE(amscouzach57 @ Mar 20 2025, 05:47 PM)
I recommend Goodyear Assurance Maxguard SUV for SUV tires. Best bang for buck tires IMHO.

Affordable, decent grip, good NVH & durable threads
For normal touring/budget Goodyear range tires i dont like is after few years their tire compound really will harden up. Benefits is treads really can last longer, but weakness the braking performance will drop significant, i got few bad experience with Goodyear tires in the past after like 3~5 years usage even the treads still thick but brakes performance really drop a lot and felt longer brakes.

littlefire
post Mar 21 2025, 09:34 AM

2,707 posts

QUOTE(ry8128 @ Mar 19 2025, 02:56 PM)
Actually, in term of reviews and age of tyre, I leaning more towards vp4 as it is newer. Just that I am still skeptical about korean tyres. Furthermore it is cheaper than t005a, so wondering is it reliable or not, lol.
Give you good price/value, then say skeptical.. doh.gif
FYI, Hankook is consider as same premium tire brand as Bridgestone/Michelin at oversea.
Only here we still treat it as mid-range tire. sweat.gif

https://www.tyrereviews.com/Tyre/

Look at the Premium category, Hankook & Dunlop also in that same Premium category.

https://www.tyrereviews.com/Article/Hankook...--Heres-why.htm

littlefire
post Mar 21 2025, 02:07 PM

2,707 posts

QUOTE(amscouzach57 @ Mar 21 2025, 01:50 PM)
My experience with VP3 was frustrating. Lack of grip in wet. Very poor aquaplaning resistance.

It was fitted on 2 cars of different sizes. The driving experience was roughly similar.

Drive slow or fast also lost grip. The bad experience dettered me from using Hankook tires ever again.
Tires manufacturer will improve by introducing newer model replacement.
Like in the past Falken a lot of people complain no use during the old ZE522 model, after ZE914 model come out the performance improved a lot.
Manufacturers for sure will listen to complains and improve in order to win back orders.

This post has been edited by littlefire: Mar 21 2025, 02:07 PM
littlefire
post Mar 21 2025, 02:34 PM

2,707 posts

QUOTE(ayamxxx @ Mar 21 2025, 03:22 PM)
Last time eyeing this falken azenis fk510, but due to less shop bring it in here, and iinm made in Japan, the price is more expansive than PS4 Michelin.
Now FK520 even more expensive, with PS5 performance even worse than PS4 i got friends direct upgrade to Falken 520.
littlefire
post Apr 24 2025, 02:13 PM

2,707 posts

QUOTE(ayamxxx @ Mar 26 2025, 07:58 AM)
Your honest opinion for UC7 on wet heavy rain traction. I was disappointed with UC6 wet traction (original equipped tyre), its skidding at turning down karak highway + rain, at not so much speed. I thought SUV handling issues, but after change the tyre, similar routes, ok back as normal tyre. On FB car group, similar feedback for UC6 until saw plenty of owner sold their half used UC6 at affordable price, rm100-120/pcs for 225-55-19. No doubt they UC series is quiet but thats about it
FYI, Continental already updated the UC6 SUV tire range to UX7.

https://www.continental-tires.com/my/en/b2c...tracontact-ux7/
littlefire
post Apr 24 2025, 02:15 PM

2,707 posts

QUOTE(Jenglot @ Apr 23 2025, 02:49 PM)
Hai,

I'm looking for 225/50 R18 tires for my Estima. I'm considering these options so far: 1) MC07, 2) Primacy 5. Are there any other options I should consider?"
Budget? What your need? Just want comfort, quiet? Different tire brand/model got their pro & con, so need to know your priority.
littlefire
post Apr 24 2025, 03:21 PM

2,707 posts

QUOTE(Jenglot @ Apr 24 2025, 03:50 PM)
budget between 600-700 pcs.. I prefer comfort + quiet ride.
If you can pay so much money then go for Michelin Primacy series.

littlefire
post Apr 24 2025, 03:29 PM

2,707 posts

QUOTE(ayamxxx @ Apr 24 2025, 03:41 PM)
Traction A only
https://www.continental-tires.com/content/d...oredownload.pdf

Base on its broacher, there is a chart that indicate the wet/dry braking performance improved over the old UC6 SUV tires.
The traction is for wet braking performance, for grade A i believe majority of normal SUV drivers on the roads are sufficient.
littlefire
post Apr 25 2025, 03:26 PM

2,707 posts

QUOTE(Optizorb @ Apr 25 2025, 03:40 PM)
how's your review of this place. You change tyres and do alignment here also? Or just buy tyres and install somewhere else? Faced any problems before?

Cause their google reviews quite scary. Take long time few hours to change tyres is one thing and can close an eye due to their price. But it seems they always use scam tactic towards customers as well? Say rim bengkok, lower arm not good, camber out, etc etc etc..

What i worried is they purposely bengkok your rim when removing/installing the tyres.. Or maybe not on purpose but cause they employ bangla workers, so maybe its just poor workmanship.. Then end up buy cheap tyres yes but have to fork out for other stuffs due to "damages".. That one not worth the headache.

anyway i enquired for185/55R15 Goodyear Maxguard. Shopee selling 220. if use vouchers can go down to 187. They selling 159 only wtf..  rclxub.gif

The price really tempting but damn the reviews are scary
If your so scare, just buy the tires alone and go other place to install. rolleyes.gif

I have done that a lot of times buying tires online & from other tire shop and ship/transport it to my house and also my friend's tire shop, nothing wrong about it.

This post has been edited by littlefire: Apr 25 2025, 03:27 PM
littlefire
post Apr 28 2025, 06:09 PM

2,707 posts

QUOTE(chongkiatz @ Apr 26 2025, 12:23 PM)
Looking for 175 65 15 tyre ,there is 3 brand that the shop recommended to me

DUNLOP J6 - very good cheap price
Hankook ECO - Slightly expensive
Toyo Cr1 - Most expensive among 3

Just a 2nd car that used to send kid to school , which actually do u guys prefer? Or just go with Dunlop j6 actually will do?
Toyo CR1 should be in middle range, not most expensive. Your tire shop should be middle person or not direct distributor for Toyo tires.
Dunlop J6 is also made in Malaysia tire, but personally my experience for budget Dunlop rubber type are harder and not so good in term of comfort.

You should get a tire shop which is a real dealer for Toyo tires, get to the website and check nearest authorize Toyo tire shop for quote, i believe should be more competitive.

https://www.toyotires.com.my/dealer/

littlefire
post Apr 29 2025, 09:16 AM

2,707 posts

QUOTE(chongkiatz @ Apr 28 2025, 11:23 PM)
How about dunlop D06? Would be better choice?
Depends, my experience with Dunlop usually for cheaper tire range they are more towards longevity.
But in term of comfort, is on the lower side.
So if you dont care about comfort and just want a budget tire which can last for a while than Dunlop should meet your criteria.
littlefire
post Apr 29 2025, 11:01 AM

2,707 posts

QUOTE(chongkiatz @ Apr 29 2025, 10:59 AM)
Yup , just looking for good budget tyre since this is my 2nd car , morning fetch kid to school , then afternoon fetch kid back , then sending tuition , that all only  biggrin.gif driving mostly 80-100km/h , rarely above 100km/h since it busy city drive with traffic light
before this use something more expensive continental , tyre made 2020 year  , so plan to change it since already hit 5 year mark , or it stil can be use for another year? Because i read somewhere the tyre better only use for 5 year and have to change. The tyre tread i think stil left about 35-40% because just a 2nd car , so kind like wasted for expensive donut but only use for sending kid to school
FYI, most my household tires lasted 7~8 years and even my father classic car already near 10 years.
A lot of tire shop like to use fear monger tactic to scare users to change tires, if you really look into most major tire website recommendation is max 10 years, 5 year onwards get mechanic/tire expert to check and advice (Luckily my mechanic/tire shop is good/professional and not always push/put pressure or scare people to change). If no serious crack on sidewall, inner treads, tread height still not yet reach the wear indicator why not use it?
littlefire
post Apr 29 2025, 01:24 PM

2,707 posts

QUOTE(chongkiatz @ Apr 29 2025, 12:13 PM)
Owh izit? Damn i thought that donut must be changed once it hit 5 and max 6 year , as long as the tyre no cracked sign and it stil good to go? Because i know i not kind of racing ppl that need my donut to be in TOP condition to taking sharp corner , and basically i also wont speedy on raining road because after having my kid and family , i learn to driving safe and no more need for speed style of driving. Because my own & family safety first.
Really thx for your advice , look like i just need to monitor my tyre , if it start to give crack sign then only i will send to workshop to confirm to replace new unit  biggrin.gif
https://www.michelin.com.my/auto/advice/cha...g-do-tyres-last

Tyre age limit : the 10-year threshold
If the tyres have not been replaced 10 years after their date of manufacture, Michelin recommends replacing them with new tyres as a precaution. You can check our partners' tyre shops at Tyreplus to get your tyres replaced

From 5 years of use
In 5 years, your tyres will probably have been run over many different surfaces and perhaps have suffered shocks. After 5 years of use, have them checked by a professional at least once a year. This will ensure that they have not been damaged prematurely and that they do not endanger you or your passengers.

This post has been edited by littlefire: Apr 29 2025, 01:24 PM

10 Pages « < 6 7 8 9 10 >Top

0.0458sec    0.35    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 27th November 2025 - 02:35 AM