QUOTE(nebousuke @ Jul 8 2024, 04:39 PM)
Register of interest on the device. Sorry..Sony SONY Xperia 1 & 5 series.. IV, V, VI generation
Sony SONY Xperia 1 & 5 series.. IV, V, VI generation
Jul 8 2024, 08:31 PM
4,412 posts Joined: Jan 2013 |
Jul 9 2024, 12:23 PM
110 posts Joined: Aug 2019 |
Basically I feel Sony Xperia 1 VI seem quite cool as I am very particular with some requirements:
1. I don't like Punchhole, Notch, etc. Minimum Bezel are ok as long as the screen display 100% of its contents. 2. Dual Front Stereo Speaker is a must 3. 3.5mm Audio Port is a must 4. 6000mah or similar Battery Life 5. OLED with above 90hz and Brightness above 800nit or similar Screen Quality 6. Stock/Clean Android UI 7. At least 6.5 Size Inch screen or above 8. At least 2 new android version update 9. Low hardware failure rate or phone hardware simply died before even have at least 2 years of usage 10. High Performance hardware to ensure all Apps run 100% smoothly and capable to handle game like Pokemon TCG LIVE (Trading Card Game) without issue (able to support Genshin Impact or high performance game is a plus but I don't really play them) Things I kinda used to: 1. Notification LED on screen 2. Double Tab to Wake Up/Sleep Phone 3. On Screen Fingerprint Scanner 4. Split screen feature 5. Lock screen picture auto change to new picture (setup the pictures folder by myself) everytime I wake up the phone in lock screen to check the Time Things I want to have: 1. SD card slot as I noticed my ROG Phone 6 is already used up its 80%+ storage space already 2. Better Selfie and Main Camera Quality 3. Better 1st Party Accessories such as Great Design and Quality Phone Case 4. Lighter overall weight after apply temper glass and phone case 5. Better build quality and durability with Good Water & Dust Resistance I am kinda interested to get the latest Sony Xperia 1 VI too, my 1st Smartphone is Sony Xperia SP, however Sony phone is kinda always feel too overpriced so I have move on to ASUS brand after that. Currently using ROG Phone 6 for 2 years, everything is fine but the Camera is kinda too mediocre also Speaker seem like degraded after Android 14 updates, also battery seem having some degrade as well. I did Won a ROG Phone 8 Pro at Feb 2024, but because ROG Phone 8 has punchhole, no more dual front speaker, so without second thought I sold the phone and remain my current ROG Phone 6. I have no experience with Sony Xperia phone like after 10 years, so wonder if Sony Xperia phone is still reliable? As I also aware the phone may cost around RM6k, which is a huge amount that I never spend on phone (I only spent RM3.6k Max on a phone before), I would like to hear some advice from you all, if moving to Sony Xperia 1 VI would really worth it? This post has been edited by testinglabha: Jul 9 2024, 12:30 PM |
Jul 9 2024, 01:49 PM
944 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Kittyland, Dreamland Joined: TODAY, 12:00 AM |
Reliability:
I am currently using Xperia Pro-i, the hardware is nice but my wifi is not working anymore after about 2 years 7 months. It's a hardware issue (wifi came back if I smack the phone hard and restart but it wouldn't hold for long), although likely to be fringe cases because no one reported it. Other than that buttons are working well, not flimsy. Performance: I am not gaming so I can't comment on that front. But day to day operation browsing YouTube and stuff, it's working well, no slow down, not sluggish, it gets warm but that's Snapdragon 888 issue. Camera: Don't believe the hype. The camera is good but it takes work to make it good and it also depends what you want to get out of your camera. If you like the "HDR" look, where both the highlight and shadow shows a lot detail in the JPEG well this is not camera for you. I happen to like more contrasty look, so Xperia is fine for me, even then the JPEG is really not really good. Problem with Xperia is they apply a lot of compression on the their jpeg so details are loss especially for jpeg captured by the telephoto and ultrawide module. To get the most out of your camera, you need to rely on the RAW, RAW mode is really easy to access because the camera UI allows it to be toggled without going deep in the menu (this is true for Xperia 1 V and prior, not sure for Xperia 1VI), the RAW is relatively ok to work with, but compared to RAW from dedicated camera (I have a lumix LX5), it's a little tougher, takes more adjustment to get to a look that I like. On video side, if Video Pro is available (again this is something that is not available in Xperia 1 VI from the start), it captures one of the best quality video because you can manually adjust the shutter to reduce jittery movement, the tools in video pro makes it so much fun to capture video, people always comment my video output looks very smooth and that largely has to do with the control i have with shutter speed. So there you have it, some of the pros and cons of Xperia phone |
Jul 9 2024, 02:11 PM
QUOTE(nebousuke @ Jul 9 2024, 01:49 PM) Reliability: Glad to know the button still fine after 2 years+ for Xperia Phone, because my ROG Phone 6 Power Button have fell off. I think Xperia 1 VI should able to perform very well as my current ROG Phone 6 is a 8Gen+ chip compare to its latest 8 Gen 3 chip.I am currently using Xperia Pro-i, the hardware is nice but my wifi is not working anymore after about 2 years 7 months. It's a hardware issue (wifi came back if I smack the phone hard and restart but it wouldn't hold for long), although likely to be fringe cases because no one reported it. Other than that buttons are working well, not flimsy. Performance: I am not gaming so I can't comment on that front. But day to day operation browsing YouTube and stuff, it's working well, no slow down, not sluggish, it gets warm but that's Snapdragon 888 issue. Camera: Don't believe the hype. The camera is good but it takes work to make it good and it also depends what you want to get out of your camera. If you like the "HDR" look, where both the highlight and shadow shows a lot detail in the JPEG well this is not camera for you. I happen to like more contrasty look, so Xperia is fine for me, even then the JPEG is really not really good. Problem with Xperia is they apply a lot of compression on the their jpeg so details are loss especially for jpeg captured by the telephoto and ultrawide module. To get the most out of your camera, you need to rely on the RAW, RAW mode is really easy to access because the camera UI allows it to be toggled without going deep in the menu (this is true for Xperia 1 V and prior, not sure for Xperia 1VI), the RAW is relatively ok to work with, but compared to RAW from dedicated camera (I have a lumix LX5), it's a little tougher, takes more adjustment to get to a look that I like. On video side, if Video Pro is available (again this is something that is not available in Xperia 1 VI from the start), it captures one of the best quality video because you can manually adjust the shutter to reduce jittery movement, the tools in video pro makes it so much fun to capture video, people always comment my video output looks very smooth and that largely has to do with the control i have with shutter speed. So there you have it, some of the pros and cons of Xperia phone Camera I usually prefer contrast looking pic too, I would like to start play with Toy Photography or non-moving object from my personal collection such as Nendoroid, Blu-Ray, etc. Also I rarely take picture, usually maybe take some pic for Food, Natural Scenery, maybe some rare group photo selfie with friends. My ROG Phone 6 seem able to do its job without too much concern, but not sure if Xperia 1 VI camera will actually and great upgrade from the ROG Phone 6 camera performance and quality or nt. I don mind play around with RAW and some lightroom mobile apps editing. I rare take video, but i usually only take video for live performance, usually in a dark environment room concert. My main concern maybe is the sound quality, video quality as long is clear and smooth should be fine. |
Jul 9 2024, 02:38 PM
QUOTE(testinglabha @ Jul 9 2024, 02:11 PM) Glad to know the button still fine after 2 years+ for Xperia Phone, because my ROG Phone 6 Power Button have fell off. I think Xperia 1 VI should able to perform very well as my current ROG Phone 6 is a 8Gen+ chip compare to its latest 8 Gen 3 chip. Sound quality is good compared to my wife's s21 Ultra because it has a dedicated mono mic facing where the camera lenses are, still true for Xperia 1 VI, I guess.Camera I usually prefer contrast looking pic too, I would like to start play with Toy Photography or non-moving object from my personal collection such as Nendoroid, Blu-Ray, etc. Also I rarely take picture, usually maybe take some pic for Food, Natural Scenery, maybe some rare group photo selfie with friends. My ROG Phone 6 seem able to do its job without too much concern, but not sure if Xperia 1 VI camera will actually and great upgrade from the ROG Phone 6 camera performance and quality or nt. I don mind play around with RAW and some lightroom mobile apps editing. I rare take video, but i usually only take video for live performance, usually in a dark environment room concert. My main concern maybe is the sound quality, video quality as long is clear and smooth should be fine. Xperia are really expensive hardware for the given spec, there are more capable camera centric phone. And if you want stable performance phone there is the galaxy ultras which cost much less right now. But there isn't really much phone out there with all the features and form factor combined, nice looking hardware with very minimal bulges, dedicated shutter button, front facing camera and uninterrupted screen with punch hole, weigh less than 200g and clean Android UI. The only thing that really doesn't jive with me in Mark VI is the 19.5:9 screen ratio, I would really wish they retain 21:9, for the price we are paying Sony can actually afford to keep 21:9 screen with LTPO feature. |
Jul 9 2024, 04:27 PM
![]() Did a google, it label with RM6499, previously i remember it won't label with price, even though click in, it is still just Notify Me button, but in the google page this seem like a legit price. ![]() RM6499 Price may be official retail price, but possible official sony malaysia store will have discount price, this price is really steep, I was hopping it sell around RM5999 come with: 1. Style Phone Case with Stand 2. WH1000xm5 if RM6499, unless it come with: 1. Style Phone Case with Stand 2. WH1000xm5 3. 30w Sony Charger 4. 2 years warranty just hope it stay below RM6299 with at least gift of: 1. Style Phone Case with Stand 2. WH1000xm5 3. 30w Sony Charger This post has been edited by testinglabha: Jul 9 2024, 04:33 PM |
Jul 9 2024, 04:36 PM
https://msldigital.com.my/product/pre-order...ered-by-bravia/
Seem like it is official, very likely will be announce by Official Sony Malaysia soon. ![]() RM6499 come with: 1. Xperia VI 2. case (normal case) 3. tempered glass 4. Sony WH-1000XM5 (YESSSS THIS IS HAVE MORE VALUE!) and the price is kinda steep... hope SONY Malaysia would offer better DEAL! This post has been edited by testinglabha: Jul 9 2024, 04:40 PM |
Jul 9 2024, 06:11 PM
OK, according to my trust me bro "source":
RM6499 come with: 1. Xperia VI 256GB Storage 12GB RAM 2. Clear Case 3. Tempered glass 4. Sony WH-1000XM5 5. Sony Official Style Cover Casing with Stand (If you have do the Registration On Interest Online Survey Form, this item will be ship separately upon purchase) I feel...the whole offer package is kinda okay i guess...? assuming - Clear Case (RM20) - Tempered glass (RM30) - Sony WH-1000XM5 (RM1500) - Sony Official Style Cover Casing with Stand (RM200) it's RM1750 bundle gift that you will actually use them practically daily. so the phone would cost around RM4749? |
Jul 9 2024, 07:16 PM
QUOTE(testinglabha @ Jul 9 2024, 04:36 PM) https://msldigital.com.my/product/pre-order...ered-by-bravia/ MSL digital is basically Sony centre in Midvalley. I have already "pre-ordered", I also had registered my interest at Sony website previously although there isn't any acknowledgement per say so not sure, eitherway I wouldn't be using the Sony case, will sell it off because I would he using 600D aramid casing, it's thin and toughSeem like it is official, very likely will be announce by Official Sony Malaysia soon. ![]() RM6499 come with: 1. Xperia VI 2. case (normal case) 3. tempered glass 4. Sony WH-1000XM5 (YESSSS THIS IS HAVE MORE VALUE!) and the price is kinda steep... hope SONY Malaysia would offer better DEAL! This post has been edited by nebousuke: Jul 9 2024, 07:16 PM |
Jul 10 2024, 01:13 AM
It is official now. However can't proceed the payment in official Sony store yet since the the host is not ready to accept the money transfer. Lol
Eventually will get wh-1000xm5, 1 Sony style case, transparent case and tempered glass.. Hmm if u are Sony member u may have some vouchers or points to further deduct the price.. 192g is a good weight as compared to 230g++ flagship. Believe me, it is still a phone and if u really need a good camera, don't get a phone but get a camera with a prime lens. It's much value added for long term. Smartphone camera is only good enough for daily usage.. Approach by Sony on telephoto zoom is more on Versatile lens. However, the compensation is dynamic aperture from f/2.3 to 3.5.. it is not practical for a lowlights situation for a zoom lens. Any other fixed aperture lens on smartphone is even better at digital zoom. However u won't get the compressed looks like actual optical zoom.. your background will get closer to object if go with real optical zoom.. Lastly, many powerful China phone nowadays but their camera control won't really give u a full control. U lower down the exposure, it will help brighten up the image after shutter button pressed or trigger night mode.. it's like WTF.. it is really depends on user preference. All smartphones can get good photos nowadays. The rest are depending on your pocket & preference |
Jul 10 2024, 05:21 PM
QUOTE(ChuanHong @ Jul 10 2024, 01:13 AM) It is official now. However can't proceed the payment in official Sony store yet since the the host is not ready to accept the money transfer. Lol Oh dayum, I didn't really check if I have any vouchers or points but the 0% instalment was pretty useful, I took the plunge too soon with Sony Centre at Mid Valley.Eventually will get wh-1000xm5, 1 Sony style case, transparent case and tempered glass.. Hmm if u are Sony member u may have some vouchers or points to further deduct the price.. 192g is a good weight as compared to 230g++ flagship. Believe me, it is still a phone and if u really need a good camera, don't get a phone but get a camera with a prime lens. It's much value added for long term. Smartphone camera is only good enough for daily usage.. Approach by Sony on telephoto zoom is more on Versatile lens. However, the compensation is dynamic aperture from f/2.3 to 3.5.. it is not practical for a lowlights situation for a zoom lens. Any other fixed aperture lens on smartphone is even better at digital zoom. However u won't get the compressed looks like actual optical zoom.. your background will get closer to object if go with real optical zoom.. Lastly, many powerful China phone nowadays but their camera control won't really give u a full control. U lower down the exposure, it will help brighten up the image after shutter button pressed or trigger night mode.. it's like WTF.. it is really depends on user preference. All smartphones can get good photos nowadays. The rest are depending on your pocket & preference |
Jul 10 2024, 07:47 PM
QUOTE(nebousuke @ Jul 10 2024, 05:21 PM) Oh dayum, I didn't really check if I have any vouchers or points but the 0% instalment was pretty useful, I took the plunge too soon with Sony Centre at Mid Valley. I have 5% discount on official Sony online store. So I decided to get it there. While Sony store did called me and informed stock ready in store.. |
Jul 11 2024, 12:01 PM
Jul 11 2024, 12:21 PM
ACT5 discount didn't work for me, but I have a 50 ringgit birthday discount voucher. Argh, too late for me.
Jul 11 2024, 12:38 PM
QUOTE(nebousuke @ Jul 11 2024, 12:21 PM) ACT5 discount didn't work for me, but I have a 50 ringgit birthday discount voucher. Argh, too late for me. Actually ACT5 discount code work at the beginning of the day around 10pm 9th July? But the next morning it seem like didn't work anymore, I end up just use new member RM30 + RM1.6 (200 reward point) and have the RM31.6 discount.If ChuanHong did using ACT5 discount code, maybe he's the only one able to apply that discount before Sony realise the loses and Block the code immediately. For now I just using 24 months 0% interest instalment and sold the Headphone, so my deal would be: RM6467 - Sony WH-1000XM5 (Selling Price RM1080) = Total Price RM5387 for full package no additional accessories add on, etc needed 1. Xperia 1 VI 256GB Storage 12GB RAM (RM5137?) 2. Clear Case (RM20?) 3. Tempered Glass (RM30?) 4. Sony Official Style Cover Casing with Stand (RM200?) This post has been edited by testinglabha: Jul 11 2024, 01:20 PM |
Jul 11 2024, 01:33 PM
I just got an email from Sony saying that I can use ACT5 now, after I left the item in the cart, the sent me an email with ACT5 discount. WTF Sony, way to make me piss off for doing early purchase. Haha
Jul 11 2024, 01:36 PM
QUOTE(nebousuke @ Jul 11 2024, 01:33 PM) I just got an email from Sony saying that I can use ACT5 now, after I left the item in the cart, the sent me an email with ACT5 discount. WTF Sony, way to make me piss off for doing early purchase. Haha Even u try apply it, it wont workbased on my experience, it work at the beginning of the day around 10pm 9th July on the 1st Shipment Screen before final check out screen? But the next morning when i proceed to the next Check out screen, it seem like didn't work anymore, either it is a bug and will never work when u try to check out, or it being block after someone use it and sony found out they losing money. or Sony noticed I placing the discount in Cart and try to stop it immediately before i made the discount purchase. Maybe wait for TS reply, see how did he get the 5% discount. The best discount you can do now is only RM31.6 for new member discount or any voucher code that is not being block by Sony for this specific product yet. This post has been edited by testinglabha: Jul 11 2024, 01:42 PM |
Jul 11 2024, 01:47 PM
QUOTE(testinglabha @ Jul 11 2024, 01:36 PM) Even u try apply it, it wont work You are right mate, it doesn't work. I think it's a bug, even the birthday voucher suddenly gone and missing. Their payment portal is a bit cuukoobased on my experience, it work at the beginning of the day around 10pm 9th July on the 1st Shipment Screen before final check out screen? But the next morning when i proceed to the next Check out screen, it seem like didn't work anymore, either it is a bug and will never work when u try to check out, or it being block after someone use it and sony found out they losing money. or Sony noticed I placing the discount in Cart and try to stop it immediately before i made the discount purchase. Maybe wait for TS reply, see how did he get the 5% discount. The best discount you can do now is only RM31.6 for new member discount or any voucher code that is not being block by Sony for this specific product yet. |
Jul 11 2024, 09:36 PM
QUOTE(testinglabha @ Jul 11 2024, 12:01 PM) 5% discount are you using ACT5 code? or it is your personal reward discount that only eligible to your account? QUOTE(nebousuke @ Jul 11 2024, 12:21 PM) ACT5 discount didn't work for me, but I have a 50 ringgit birthday discount voucher. Argh, too late for me. QUOTE(testinglabha @ Jul 11 2024, 12:38 PM) Actually ACT5 discount code work at the beginning of the day around 10pm 9th July? But the next morning it seem like didn't work anymore, I end up just use new member RM30 + RM1.6 (200 reward point) and have the RM31.6 discount. im using ACT5.. early bird to checkout & did my payment.. =) cause i did put 1 V in my cart and i received ACT5 quite early.. 8 july.. then 9th july i added 1 VI after announcement.. i also received same email.. that time payment channel didnt open yet.. so payment keep failing.. I received the code after Sony announced at night. But I tried payment on that night but keep failing. Then early morning 7am I proceed again and payment successful and order successful with discount.. i heard in FB page there is 1 ppl check with CS and replied it is something wrong and they removed it.. so i bought at at 61xx.. i saved RM324.95.. luckily i placed my order before 8am working hour.. hahahaha.. they fulfilled my order at 2pm++.. then i check tracking id, parcel pickup this evening.. i believe i will receive it by tmr.. also, have to hide it away from my wife.. If ChuanHong did using ACT5 discount code, maybe he's the only one able to apply that discount before Sony realise the loses and Block the code immediately. For now I just using 24 months 0% interest instalment and sold the Headphone, so my deal would be: RM6467 - Sony WH-1000XM5 (Selling Price RM1080) = Total Price RM5387 for full package no additional accessories add on, etc needed 1. Xperia 1 VI 256GB Storage 12GB RAM (RM5137?) 2. Clear Case (RM20?) 3. Tempered Glass (RM30?) 4. Sony Official Style Cover Casing with Stand (RM200?) im thinking to sell the headset or if no 1099 price, then i potentially use it for myself.. although i still using WH-1000XM3 and WF-1000XM4.. XM5 seem extra for me and i dont want my wife noticed i have bought new phone actually.. LOL.. new headset is too obvious for her This post has been edited by ChuanHong: Jul 11 2024, 09:45 PM Attached thumbnail(s) |
Jul 11 2024, 09:54 PM
QUOTE(ChuanHong @ Jul 11 2024, 09:36 PM) im using ACT5.. early bird to checkout & did my payment.. =) cause i did put 1 V in my cart and i received ACT5 quite early.. 8 july.. then 9th july i added 1 VI after announcement.. i also received same email.. that time payment channel didnt open yet.. so payment keep failing.. I received the code after Sony announced at night. But I tried payment on that night but keep failing. Then early morning 7am I proceed again and payment successful and order successful with discount.. i heard in FB page there is 1 ppl check with CS and replied it is something wrong and they removed it.. so i bought at at 61xx.. i saved RM324.95.. luckily i placed my order before 8am working hour.. hahahaha.. they fulfilled my order at 2pm++.. then i check tracking id, parcel pickup this evening.. i believe i will receive it by tmr.. also, have to hide it away from my wife.. yea, ACT5, the 5% discount for Xperia 1 VI is a mistake by Sony, initially I able to get the discount but I didn't proceed the transaction immediately, but since it is not for everyone I glad u are the few or the only lucky one who get this mistake discount from Sony hahahahahahahim thinking to sell the headset or if no 1099 price, then i potentially use it for myself.. although i still using WH-1000XM3 and WF-1000XM4.. XM5 seem extra for me and i dont want my wife noticed i have bought new phone actually.. LOL.. new headset is too obvious for her The headphone is quite old released on May 2022, so it's value will drop from RM1799 to RM1500 or lower brand new (online got a lot of good discount deal too) and it's demand on the market is kinda low too, now with few others oso getting this Xperia 1 VI deal, i believe market will fill up with the cheap price stock now. I pretty lucky able to secure a buyer for RM1080 immediately (pay me deposit already) even before I have the headphone with me hahahahahaha but i believe i will receive the whole package tmr as well. This post has been edited by testinglabha: Jul 11 2024, 09:55 PM |
| Change to: | 0.0330sec
Time is now: 19th December 2025 - 05:30 AM |