SG Savings Bond (SSB) & Treasury Bills (T-bills), Guaranteed by Singapore Government
Apr 6 2023, 12:24 PM
8,667 posts Joined: Aug 2019 From: Penang <-> Singapore |
Latest SSB rates reported in BT 040423:
» Click to show Spoiler - click again to hide... « |
Apr 11 2023, 01:47 PM
|||||||||||||||
This week's MAS Bill auction results:
Source: 4-week: https://www.mas.gov.sg/bonds-and-bills/auct...date=2023-04-14 12-week: https://www.mas.gov.sg/bonds-and-bills/auct...date=2023-04-14 Both 1-month and 3-month COY below 4%. |
|||||||||||||||
Apr 12 2023, 06:39 PM
Sorry for being late. Messed up with my Bloomberg FXFA settings.
FXFA yield curves settings can be seen in this screenshot: » Click to show Spoiler - click again to hide... « By the way, I bid 3.8%, based on MAS last published' data: https://eservices.mas.gov.sg/statistics/fda...ssuePrices.aspx Offshore Euro Sing yields 3.55-3.61 whereas onshore last quoted 4.0085. So about right, halfway between the two. » Click to show Spoiler - click again to hide... « MAS will publish its semiannual policy review this Friday. All eyes on SGD NEER slopes and bands. This post has been edited by TOS: Apr 12 2023, 06:40 PM |
Apr 13 2023, 02:18 PM
Show posts by this member only | IPv6 | Post
2,543 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
T bill cut off yield 3.75% TOS and harmonics3 liked this post
Apr 13 2023, 02:54 PM
||||||||||||
QUOTE(ikanbilis @ Apr 13 2023, 02:18 PM) Ahya missed by 5 basis points...
Source: https://www.mas.gov.sg/bonds-and-bills/auct...date=2023-04-18 This post has been edited by TOS: Apr 13 2023, 03:27 PM |
||||||||||||
Apr 14 2023, 08:00 AM
MAS policy statement: https://www.mas.gov.sg/news/monetary-policy...atement-14apr23
QUOTE MAS will therefore maintain the prevailing rate of appreciation of the S$NEER policy band. There will be no change to its width and the level at which it is centred. This policy stance will continue to reduce imported inflation and help curb domestic cost pressures. |
Apr 15 2023, 10:16 AM
SG Straits Times: 6-month Treasury bills still popular as investors seek ‘safe’ investments
https://www.straitstimes.com/business/6-mon...afe-investments |
Apr 16 2023, 06:14 PM
OCBC 8 month 3.88% CPF FD has been temporarily halted...
https://www.ocbc.com/personal-banking/depos...deposit-account Soured from lzydata/HWZ. This post has been edited by TOS: Apr 16 2023, 06:15 PM |
Apr 18 2023, 11:22 AM
Hurry up for CPFIS applicants!
SG 1 year T-bill auction will close at 12 pm today for DBS (OCBC is 9 pm). This post has been edited by TOS: Apr 18 2023, 02:57 PM |
Apr 18 2023, 02:53 PM
|||||||||||||||
Source: 4-week: https://www.mas.gov.sg/bonds-and-bills/auct...date=2023-04-21 12-week: https://www.mas.gov.sg/bonds-and-bills/auct...date=2023-04-21 Both 1-month and 3-month COY below 4%, dropped by 10 bps from last week. |
|||||||||||||||
Apr 18 2023, 04:30 PM
6,235 posts Joined: Jun 2006 |
bro TOS... the auction is weekly issit... bid too low rugi... bid too high miss out one week have to wait next round...
just thinking how it compares with rhb mca... also had a look at ibkr excess cash rates... HUF at 14%... lol... |
Apr 18 2023, 08:22 PM
QUOTE(dwRK @ Apr 18 2023, 04:30 PM) bro TOS... the auction is weekly issit... bid too low rugi... bid too high miss out one week have to wait next round... yo rarely see you here in SG Treasury market thread. I remember you once told me you don't have CDP account in SG.just thinking how it compares with rhb mca... also had a look at ibkr excess cash rates... HUF at 14%... lol... Auction for 6 month T-bill is done biweekly (once every 2 weeks), auction for 1 year T-bill is done quarterly (Jan, April, July, October) Today (for CPF) and tomorrow (for cash application) will be the deadline for the second 1 year T-bill issuance for this year. You can refer to MAS's issuance calendar here: https://www.mas.gov.sg/bonds-and-bills/auct...suance-calendar --------------------- Comparing 6 month and 1 year rates for RHB MCA vs MAS T-bill, the rates are pretty similar, but SG T-bill is better by 20-30 basis points (and add another 5-10 basis points to adjust for rate conventions, i.e. discount rate is always lower than bond-yield equivalent which is the FD rate quote convention), so they still earn some spreads. RHB MCA data: https://www.rhbgroup.com/treasury-rates/mul...osit/index.html MAS T-bill data: https://eservices.mas.gov.sg/statistics/fda...ssuePrices.aspx ------------------------ I have looked at RHB MCA for some time after you keep writing about it in almost every thread I read Another big hidden danger with RHB MCA is that your foreign currency money is part of BNM's FX reserve and is at the mercy of Malaysia's regulators. (Last time in late 90s, CLOB saga scared many Sporeans and illustrated what could happen in a crisis). But of course you may have different views on such matters, just a risk to point out. Last thing is I don't believe in is the PIDM for foreign currencies. That is impossible for a simple reason: Malaysia can't print foreign currencies. Guaranteeing USD, EUR, SGD etc. is impossible when you cannot create the money in the first place. There is a reason why SDIC in Singapore doesn't guarantee foreign currency deposits in SG banks. That said, if one can stomach the risks aforementioned, I think RHB MCA is a pretty good substitute for Wise and for investors moving money in/out of Malaysia. The rates and fees look reasonable. This post has been edited by TOS: Apr 18 2023, 08:23 PM |
Apr 18 2023, 09:30 PM
QUOTE(TOS @ Apr 18 2023, 08:22 PM) yo rarely see you here in SG Treasury market thread. I remember you once told me you don't have CDP account in SG. thanks bro... i do lurk around for knowledge so i dun become obsolete too fast... Auction for 6 month T-bill is done biweekly (once every 2 weeks), auction for 1 year T-bill is done quarterly (Jan, April, July, October) Today (for CPF) and tomorrow (for cash application) will be the deadline for the second 1 year T-bill issuance for this year. You can refer to MAS's issuance calendar here: https://www.mas.gov.sg/bonds-and-bills/auct...suance-calendar --------------------- Comparing 6 month and 1 year rates for RHB MCA vs MAS T-bill, the rates are pretty similar, but SG T-bill is better by 20-30 basis points (and add another 5-10 basis points to adjust for rate conventions, i.e. discount rate is always lower than bond-yield equivalent which is the FD rate quote convention), so they still earn some spreads. RHB MCA data: https://www.rhbgroup.com/treasury-rates/mul...osit/index.html MAS T-bill data: https://eservices.mas.gov.sg/statistics/fda...ssuePrices.aspx ------------------------ I have looked at RHB MCA for some time after you keep writing about it in almost every thread I read Another big hidden danger with RHB MCA is that your foreign currency money is part of BNM's FX reserve and is at the mercy of Malaysia's regulators. (Last time in late 90s, CLOB saga scared many Sporeans and illustrated what could happen in a crisis). But of course you may have different views on such matters, just a risk to point out. Last thing is I don't believe in is the PIDM for foreign currencies. That is impossible for a simple reason: Malaysia can't print foreign currencies. Guaranteeing USD, EUR, SGD etc. is impossible when you cannot create the money in the first place. There is a reason why SDIC in Singapore doesn't guarantee foreign currency deposits in SG banks. That said, if one can stomach the risks aforementioned, I think RHB MCA is a pretty good substitute for Wise and for investors moving money in/out of Malaysia. The rates and fees look reasonable. yes i dun have cdp... just trying to understand various options and opportunity costs... now salivating over the 14% HUF interest rates...if only i charted it earlier... lol... as for rhb mca... i think i only brought up maybe 3 times... only for specific folks... 20 card fee imho is ok... i dun sweat thess stuff unlike some ppl... the mca can hold myr so maybe pidm just for that... lol... i try find out later... imho pidm more like insurance pool lah... not printer... anyways thanks for the info again... |
Apr 18 2023, 11:37 PM
QUOTE(dwRK @ Apr 18 2023, 09:30 PM) thanks bro... i do lurk around for knowledge so i dun become obsolete too fast... Yes, PIDM covers foreign currency deposits, as they stated here officially: https://www.pidm.gov.my/en/how-we-protect-y...overage-for-disyes i dun have cdp... just trying to understand various options and opportunity costs... now salivating over the 14% HUF interest rates...if only i charted it earlier... lol... as for rhb mca... i think i only brought up maybe 3 times... only for specific folks... 20 card fee imho is ok... i dun sweat thess stuff unlike some ppl... the mca can hold myr so maybe pidm just for that... lol... i try find out later... imho pidm more like insurance pool lah... not printer... anyways thanks for the info again... But there is one line in their 2021 (latest) annual report worth mentioning (in section 22, Financial Risk): QUOTE a. Foreign currency risk PIDM is currently not materially exposed to any currency risk as most of the transactions were transacted in Ringgit Malaysia denominated currency. Source: https://www.pidm.gov.my/pidm2022/files/71/7...e4358445798.pdf (PDF page 80/89) Interpreted in another way, that means they do not hold lots of foreign currencies to insure against your deposit lost in case banks go belly up. They don't provide much info on insurance premiums for foreign currency deposits anyway, so hard to tell lah. |
Apr 19 2023, 12:06 AM
QUOTE(TOS @ Apr 18 2023, 11:37 PM) Yes, PIDM covers foreign currency deposits, as they stated here officially: https://www.pidm.gov.my/en/how-we-protect-y...overage-for-dis my more simplistic interpretation... up to 250k myr... dun care what currency you have... snapshot taken the day before belly up... sorry your currency value went up... we pay you in myr.. hahaha But there is one line in their 2021 (latest) annual report worth mentioning (in section 22, Financial Risk): Source: https://www.pidm.gov.my/pidm2022/files/71/7...e4358445798.pdf (PDF page 80/89) Interpreted in another way, that means they do not hold lots of foreign currencies to insure against your deposit lost in case banks go belly up. They don't provide much info on insurance premiums for foreign currency deposits anyway, so hard to tell lah. in real life they will salvage whatever... you may get mix of currency if they come out short... TOS liked this post
Apr 19 2023, 05:31 PM
Deadline for 1-year T-bill bid is 9 pm tonight. Here are the Bloomberg FXFA screenshots. Offshore yields data sourced from Bloomberg London.
Onshore: 3.76-3.81 % » Click to show Spoiler - click again to hide... « Offshore: 3.43-3.52% » Click to show Spoiler - click again to hide... « I will bid 3.5% p.a., anticipating the hot demand... US debt ceiling issue will force up US rates in coming months and make the safer SG T-bills "overpriced" for some time I guess. |
Apr 20 2023, 02:48 PM
||||||||||||
ikanbilis must be too sad until can't post auction result here. As expected, this 1-year auction is damn hot. 3 times bid-to-cover ratio. COY 3.58% p.a.
Source: https://www.mas.gov.sg/bonds-and-bills/auct...date=2023-04-25 This post has been edited by TOS: Apr 20 2023, 04:07 PM ikanbilis liked this post
||||||||||||
Apr 25 2023, 03:01 PM
|||||||||||||||
Source: 4-week: https://www.mas.gov.sg/bonds-and-bills/auct...date=2023-04-28 12-week: https://www.mas.gov.sg/bonds-and-bills/auct...date=2023-04-28 Cooler response than last week. Both 1-month and 3-month COY just shy of 4%. ------------------------- 6 month T-bill auction tomorrow. Auction bid deadline is 9pm today (for DBS/OCBC online application). Will share with you guys the Bloomberg screenshot later this evening. Also today is last day to apply for SSB May 2023. harmonics3 liked this post
|||||||||||||||
Apr 25 2023, 06:59 PM
As promised, the Bloomberg FXFA screenshots:
6M offshore yields: 3.63-3.68% p.a. » Click to show Spoiler - click again to hide... « 6M onshore yield last quoted 4.12% p.a. » Click to show Spoiler - click again to hide... « I will bid 3.7% p.a. based on MAS's data (3.75% p.a.): https://eservices.mas.gov.sg/statistics/fda...ssuePrices.aspx |
Apr 25 2023, 07:15 PM
I studied Bloomberg's FXFA function in greater detail. Since I am looking at discrepancy of FX implied yield compared to current spot yields, Bloomberg recommends manually choosing the yield curves. » Click to show Spoiler - click again to hide... « For both SGD onshore and offshore, recommended curve is SGD OIS SORA. For USD it is SOFR. » Click to show Spoiler - click again to hide... « With this new setting: Onshore rates are 3.47-3.49% p.a. » Click to show Spoiler - click again to hide... « Offshore rates are 3.63-3.69% p.a. » Click to show Spoiler - click again to hide... « At least the discrepancy is less than the previous setting. I will be using this new Bloomberg-recommended setting in my future posts. Also, in the future I will only mention the last quoted yield for the old setting here without screenshot since the last quoted yield is fixed when market is close anyway. This post has been edited by TOS: Apr 25 2023, 07:15 PM on2920 liked this post
| Change to: | 0.0313sec
Time is now: 13th December 2025 - 02:49 AM |