QUOTE(Raddus @ Sep 6 2022, 12:52 AM)
yep cause tanks are still force multiplier in warsirreplaceable. same logic as if AA are so good, why are planes not obsolete?
Military Thread V29
Sep 6 2022, 11:19 AM
4,254 posts Joined: Nov 2011 |
Sep 6 2022, 11:35 AM
0 posts Joined: Aug 2018 |
QUOTE(marfccy @ Sep 6 2022, 12:33 AM) despite all these variables, the first hit itself mostly already damage the optics, sensors and whatnot on the tank's external and partially the internals. the crew and innards mostly intact but without external optics, sensors etc theyre as good as blindfolded. i was watching a simulation on tank shells onto even modern tanks, a simple basic AP round itself while have no chance of penetrating western tanks armor from front, the kinetic impact is strong enough to render crew concussed and damage to systems, crippling the tank. Your posts are getting more inane. What makes you so sure the first hit will damage the optics or sensors or even the battle manage system on board. In fact, tanks have been known to take hits and dish out just fine. This is not a computet game. Injury to tanks or combat kills or outright destruction are totally different things.imagine a situation like this. you and your tank crew are moving from post A to post B, suddenly a tank round/ATGM hits you. everything went dark, sensors kaput, optics cant see externally anymore and suddenly tank halts because the driver is incapacitated or tracks broken. what do you do? exit tank to be ambushed or stay inside and await the inevitable 2nd round that could potentially rip the internals? you get the gist no doubt abt this, but my point is ATGM are outpacing the western tanks even more. ATGMs are designed to destroy tanks, obviously they have the advantage considering the tanks are much more limited by weight and sizing. no point building an indestructible tank to only be crippled by it being too heavy or immobile for use I would agree that atgms are dangerous to tanks. But i will not agree that atgms are outpaced by tanks period. Futhermore, tank armour is being improved upon to deal with the latest missiles and tanks now even come with active protection systems. Add that to tactics. Countries are buying more tanks. The euros, Us, china, russia, etc. all have ongoing tank projects. The poles threw away their pt71s, gave their leo2s back to germany (as the germans want to reconstitute their tank force) and buying several hundred korean tanks |
Sep 6 2022, 11:54 AM
QUOTE(Mai189 @ Sep 6 2022, 11:35 AM) Your posts are getting more inane. What makes you so sure the first hit will damage the optics or sensors or even the battle manage system on board. In fact, tanks have been known to take hits and dish out just fine. This is not a computet game. Injury to tanks or combat kills or outright destruction are totally different things. wait, youre telling me a heavy dense kinetic projectile travelling at supersonic speeds will not damage the external sensors and optics of the tanks when impacted? I would agree that atgms are dangerous to tanks. But i will not agree that atgms are outpaced by tanks period. Futhermore, tank armour is being improved upon to deal with the latest missiles and tanks now even come with active protection systems. Add that to tactics. Countries are buying more tanks. The euros, Us, china, russia, etc. all have ongoing tank projects. The poles threw away their pt71s, gave their leo2s back to germany (as the germans want to reconstitute their tank force) and buying several hundred korean tanks youre severely underestimating how strong ATGMs are. like i said, they might not penetrate from 1st hit due to systems like APS, or how they negate the warheads but the impact alone is extremely strong and will damage the externals and internals of the tanks. already a huge compromise in the tank's capability if it gets hit. how sure are you the systems are running fine? this is correct, this is why APS are extremely valuable + other protection systems to combine to maintain highest level of survivability. youre still missing the point at the end, my point is tanks are now used differently compared to WW2 era due how dangerous ATGMs are. not the complete obsoletion of tanks! geez, countries wont stop using tanks because AT exists. |
Sep 6 2022, 12:23 PM
Show posts by this member only | IPv6 | Post
3 posts Joined: Feb 2014 |
So, is the FA-50 deal confirmed? abmawie liked this post
Sep 6 2022, 12:36 PM
QUOTE(marfccy @ Sep 6 2022, 11:54 AM) wait, youre telling me a heavy dense kinetic projectile travelling at supersonic speeds will not damage the external sensors and optics of the tanks when impacted? That is presumptous. Tanks are built to take hits. Ive explained before that many variables are involved. An atgm attack against a tank will not necessarily destroy its optics, sensors etc.youre severely underestimating how strong ATGMs are. like i said, they might not penetrate from 1st hit due to systems like APS, or how they negate the warheads but the impact alone is extremely strong and will damage the externals and internals of the tanks. already a huge compromise in the tank's capability if it gets hit. how sure are you the systems are running fine? this is correct, this is why APS are extremely valuable + other protection systems to combine to maintain highest level of survivability. youre still missing the point at the end, my point is tanks are now used differently compared to WW2 era due how dangerous ATGMs are. not the complete obsoletion of tanks! geez, countries wont stop using tanks because AT exists. My point on better armour and APS is to support the contention that atgms have not outpaced tanks as tank defences have improved as well. Ive never said that atgms are not dangerous. What has usage of tanks in ww2 got 2 do with this? Ive said that tanks need to be used with proper tactics from the onset. Tactics change depending on the adversity faced. This post has been edited by Mai189: Sep 6 2022, 12:38 PM |
Sep 6 2022, 05:29 PM
291 posts Joined: Sep 2016 From: muar, johor |
tanks are easily found by drones which can fly at high altitude.
Sep 6 2022, 05:38 PM
142 posts Joined: Sep 2021 From: In Your Head |
Sep 6 2022, 05:51 PM
Performance of Merkava tanks:
https://defense-update.com/20070614_lebanon...ts%20penetrated QUOTE The IDF employed several hundred tanks in combat. According to official reports, about ten percent were hit by various threats. Less than half of the hits penetrated QUOTE A colonel commanding an armored brigade, which bore the brunt of battle, mentioned in an interview that during the war that hundreds of antitank missiles were fired on his unit and in total only 18 tanks were seriously damaged. Of those, missiles actually penetrated only five or six vehicles and according to statistics, only two tanks were totally destroyed, however, both by super-heavy IED charges. Performance of Challenger 2 tanks: https://nationalinterest.org/blog/the-buzz/...eeds-some-21634 QUOTE One Challenger 2 was allegedly struck by seventy RPGs—and emerged with its crew unscratched. Another survived seventeen RPGs and a Milan missile, and despite the battle damage, was back in combat the next day. Western tanks are not indestructible.But they sure as hell not easy to knock out. This post has been edited by Mai189: Sep 6 2022, 05:56 PM |
Sep 6 2022, 05:57 PM
Sep 6 2022, 07:02 PM
115 posts Joined: Apr 2013 |
QUOTE(issac99289928 @ Sep 6 2022, 05:29 PM) Only if the enemy doesn't have proper fighter jet or money to get 4th or 4.5 generation fighters up in the air armed with air to air missiles. Armenia for example doesn't have working aircraft with radar and air to air missiles to detect and shoot down Azerbaijan drones using the hilly & mountainous terrain to hide from ground based radar. Hence, these Azerbaijan drones could take sweet time designate targets for guided & unguided artillery strikes or air strikes. Russia over Ukraine, the Russians were too poor to carry out tactical SEAD operations to destroy most of Ukraine S300 long range SAM and medium range SAM. This means Russian aircraft have to fly low level whenever going into Ukraine. Russian fighters not able to fly high altitude won't be able to detect and destroy Ukraine drones from far. Ukraine drones often loiter low near Ukrainian held areas to keep safe |
Sep 6 2022, 07:04 PM
Sep 6 2022, 07:11 PM
QUOTE(Mai189 @ Sep 6 2022, 05:51 PM) Performance of Merkava tanks: US Javelin top down attack missiles already being copied by EU made NLAW and soon Russia & China will come up with theirs after cache of fresh javelins & NLAW already fell into Russian forces hand. This means western MBT too are now vulnerable to top down attack missiles due to thinner armour on turret top. https://defense-update.com/20070614_lebanon...ts%20penetrated Performance of Challenger 2 tanks: https://nationalinterest.org/blog/the-buzz/...eeds-some-21634 Western tanks are not indestructible.But they sure as hell not easy to knock out. MBT and IFV will come up with layer of top armour on automated turrets. No more crew in turret and need thicker top armour apart from active protection system that could destroy missiles coming from above. Time for new generation MBT. |
Sep 6 2022, 07:20 PM
QUOTE(marfccy @ Sep 6 2022, 11:54 AM) wait, youre telling me a heavy dense kinetic projectile travelling at supersonic speeds will not damage the external sensors and optics of the tanks when impacted? Mai189 is right that a tank being hit won't necessarily destroy the CITV, visual thermal optical sights of tanks. It depends where the missile pr projectiles hit and how big is the warhead. youre severely underestimating how strong ATGMs are. like i said, they might not penetrate from 1st hit due to systems like APS, or how they negate the warheads but the impact alone is extremely strong and will damage the externals and internals of the tanks. already a huge compromise in the tank's capability if it gets hit. how sure are you the systems are running fine? this is correct, this is why APS are extremely valuable + other protection systems to combine to maintain highest level of survivability. youre still missing the point at the end, my point is tanks are now used differently compared to WW2 era due how dangerous ATGMs are. not the complete obsoletion of tanks! geez, countries wont stop using tanks because AT exists. Man portable ATGM usually have smaller warheads meant to penetrate tanks on thinnest armour delivering warhead to kill crew or detonate ammo stowage in order to spark cookoff. Attack helicopter or vehicle mounted ATGM such as AGM-114 or Vikhr would have bigger warheads to create more damage to tanks penetratimg thicker armour. Proper air to ground missiles that weighs over 500lb such as AGM-65, Kh-29, Kh-38, Kh-25 would deliver heavier blow that would destroy tanks for real that are carried by aircraft. Raddus liked this post
Sep 6 2022, 07:33 PM
QUOTE(jayraptor @ Sep 6 2022, 07:20 PM) Mai189 is right that a tank being hit won't necessarily destroy the CITV, visual thermal optical sights of tanks. It depends where the missile pr projectiles hit and how big is the warhead. like i mention, i disagree. even with a small warhead the impact is still significant to introduce stress to the tank. especially the sensors and optics which arent as robust as the armor. they are built to take hits like what Mai189 said but they are still damaged in the processMan portable ATGM usually have smaller warheads meant to penetrate tanks on thinnest armour delivering warhead to kill crew or detonate ammo stowage in order to spark cookoff. Attack helicopter or vehicle mounted ATGM such as AGM-114 or Vikhr would have bigger warheads to create more damage to tanks penetratimg thicker armour. Proper air to ground missiles that weighs over 500lb such as AGM-65, Kh-29, Kh-38, Kh-25 would deliver heavier blow that would destroy tanks for real that are carried by aircraft. think of it like in rock climbing equipment, there is a reason carabiners are changed often as during climbs you introduce microfractures and stress to the equipment. would you have more confidence using a brand new carabiner or one thats been through 20 climbs? |
Sep 6 2022, 07:45 PM
QUOTE(marfccy @ Sep 6 2022, 07:33 PM) like i mention, i disagree. even with a small warhead the impact is still significant to introduce stress to the tank. especially the sensors and optics which arent as robust as the armor. they are built to take hits like what Mai189 said but they are still damaged in the process Refer IDF Merkava Mk4 and Saudi M-1A2 that suffered ATGM from Hezbollah & Houthi rebels. Numbers of their optics were intact and because they have separate ammo storage from crew compartment, the ATGM injured or killed some of the crew and the tanks were driven back or towed back for repairs. Tanks optics are shielded comes with bulletproof glass to sustain certain amount of hits, robust enough to sustain staggering hits.think of it like in rock climbing equipment, there is a reason carabiners are changed often as during climbs you introduce microfractures and stress to the equipment. would you have more confidence using a brand new carabiner or one thats been through 20 climbs? |
Sep 6 2022, 08:07 PM
142 posts Joined: Sep 2021 From: In Your Head |
Does Malaysia manufacture her own tanks?
Sep 12 2022, 02:19 PM
901 posts Joined: Feb 2012 |
QUOTE(marfccy @ Sep 6 2022, 07:33 PM) like i mention, i disagree. even with a small warhead the impact is still significant to introduce stress to the tank. especially the sensors and optics which arent as robust as the armor. they are built to take hits like what Mai189 said but they are still damaged in the process The thing about tank is that it's cost effective.think of it like in rock climbing equipment, there is a reason carabiners are changed often as during climbs you introduce microfractures and stress to the equipment. would you have more confidence using a brand new carabiner or one thats been through 20 climbs? And countries which have conscription would buy lots of tanks. For you maybe a life is worth any amount of dollars, but for a country there's a dollar value fixed to a conscription head. And they can afford to lose hundred or thousands of lives for such & such amount of money. Regardless of ATGM can destroyed a tank or not. ATGM is useful to stop the enemies marches but won't do you any good if you want to regain territories. |
Sep 12 2022, 02:40 PM
QUOTE(marfccy @ Sep 6 2022, 07:33 PM) like i mention, i disagree. even with a small warhead the impact is still significant to introduce stress to the tank. especially the sensors and optics which arent as robust as the armor. they are built to take hits like what Mai189 said but they are still damaged in the process Sure. You disagree. I said previously that tanks are in fact (to the contrary robust) i.e. built to take hits and dish it out esp. Western tanks. You keep bringing up non relevant items as a means of comparison.think of it like in rock climbing equipment, there is a reason carabiners are changed often as during climbs you introduce microfractures and stress to the equipment. would you have more confidence using a brand new carabiner or one thats been through 20 climbs? The proof of the pudding is the increasing number of countries that are increasing their tanks stockpiles right now. Here is an interesting observation about Russian tank losses in Ukraine: https://warontherocks.com/2022/09/the-tank-...ture-of-combat/ QUOTE Despite their effectiveness, modern anti-tank guided missiles were not the primary killers of Russian tanks. According to an adviser to Ukraine’s most senior military officer: “[A]nti-tank missiles slowed the Russians down [during the advance towards Kyiv], but what killed them was our artillery. That was what broke their units.” Indeed, countless videos posted by the Ukrainian military have confirmed this, including those showing the ill-fated offensive by Russia’s 6th Tank Regiment in Brovary in mid-March. In addition to artillery, many Russian tanks were destroyed or disabled by Soviet-era systems, such as TM-62 anti-tank mines. Javelins, next generation light anti-tank weapons, and Ukrainian-made Stugna-P anti-tank systems have been effective, but they are just one component of Ukraine’s anti-tank efforts. Indeed, they likely destroyed a relatively smaller share of Russia’s tanks during its offensive in the Donbas, where Russia conducted a more coherent combined-arms operation. It is also important to note that public sources may not provide a representative view of how Russian tanks were damaged. Russian tanks struck by Stugna-P or Javelins are much more likely to be filmed and uploaded to social media than tanks damaged by mines, which may not be recorded as frequently. Of course, artillery battalions are not cheap, so the available evidence regarding tank losses in Ukraine does not particularly support the argument that we are seeing a “swing in favor of smaller and cheaper defensive weapons.” Ukraine has also suffered heavy tank losses, losing 244 tanks as documented by Oryx, of which 128 were destroyed. It does not appear most of these losses were from anti-tank guided missiles either. This post has been edited by Mai189: Sep 12 2022, 02:40 PM |
Sep 12 2022, 02:58 PM
Sep 12 2022, 03:51 PM
See the serial number i.e. no. 673 of rightmost F16V or that this is the 73rd F16s that SG bought^ The serial numbers are in consecutive order or follow one after the other: ![]() ![]() Other serial numbers of F16 No.75 : ![]() No. 91 : ![]() No.92 : ![]() No.96 : https://www.straitstimes.com/singapore/rsaf...ning-detachment This post has been edited by Mai189: Sep 12 2022, 03:53 PM miuk liked this post
| Change to: | 0.0226sec
Time is now: 4th December 2025 - 06:00 PM |