EU plans one mobile charging port for all, in setback for Apple

differ
post Apr 26 2022, 09:14 AM

404 posts

QUOTE(msacras @ Apr 26 2022, 08:24 AM)
Actually, physically Lightning port is more resilient (especially female) and smaller.

Type-C on the other hand some very tight some very loose. And the female connector can get damaged or stressed if you insert the male cable off-angle.
I using USB C for donkey years also never experienced such issue leh. 3 phones and 2 notebooks.
msacras
post Apr 26 2022, 09:14 AM

1,767 posts

QUOTE(c64 @ Apr 26 2022, 09:09 AM)
And you have evidence lightning female port better than usb-c in breakable limits?
It’s basic physics, female lightning have more structural supports than female USB-C.

This post has been edited by msacras: Apr 26 2022, 09:14 AM
c64
post Apr 26 2022, 09:15 AM

711 posts

QUOTE(msacras @ Apr 26 2022, 09:14 AM)
It’s basic physics, female lightning have more structural supports than female USB-C.
Yah yah. No evidence. rolleyes.gif
darkterror15
post Apr 26 2022, 09:17 AM

359 posts

or just be creative make your own usb c port full screen display for iphone.

SUSEBBattlefield
post Apr 26 2022, 09:19 AM

Ramadass Vijandren
637 posts

QUOTE(msacras @ Apr 26 2022, 08:32 AM)
What if it’s the female port which is damaged?

Like I said, female Lightning is very resilient, meanwhile some female USB-C can get damaged quite easily.
Then Make repairs modular and easy, and parts easy to source.
Apple has no excuse to keep using that stupid cable.
They should be industry standard, not creating new standards.
msacras
post Apr 26 2022, 09:27 AM

1,767 posts

QUOTE(c64 @ Apr 26 2022, 09:15 AM)
Yah yah. No evidence.  rolleyes.gif

aq_admiral2020
post Apr 26 2022, 09:35 AM

73 posts

tl;dr

What about wireless charging?
c64
post Apr 26 2022, 09:46 AM

711 posts

QUOTE(msacras @ Apr 26 2022, 09:27 AM)

This is "normal usage"? rolleyes.gif

Try show evidence of 100,000 cucuk and uncucuk like IKEA test.
marfccy
post Apr 26 2022, 09:58 AM

Le Ponyland!!!
4,254 posts

QUOTE(c64 @ Apr 26 2022, 09:09 AM)
And you have evidence lightning female port better than usb-c in breakable limits?
there were tests did before for USB-C ports few years back, they tested it by plugging in plug out continuously to simulate wear and tear

mind you, USB-C were rated 10,000 cycles. but it worn out after just 1000 cycles. its still usable but the cable is shaking left and right causing disconnection often.

i get this on my office laptop + docking station almost a year ago, sikit2 move the laptop can connection can be lost. same for my USB-C MBA friends who constantly screams for blood whenever she lost connection with external HDD via the dongle lel. ive been using ipong 6 and XR since 2014 until now and i rarely get issues on the lightning port connection vs USB-C

not saying lightning is better in specs, but in terms of durability? so much more since its a solid connector vs USB-C's which has a fragile looking connector in middle for female side.

QUOTE(Namelessone1973 @ Apr 26 2022, 08:29 AM)
But I think USB c is cheaper as they are more mass produced. If spoilt, you just buy a new cable
it is cheaper only if theyre the cheap types. proper USB-C cables arent cheap if you need them to deliver in performance

read this on how convoluted this new "standard" is

https://www.androidauthority.com/state-of-usb-c-870996/
c64
post Apr 26 2022, 10:01 AM

711 posts

QUOTE(marfccy @ Apr 26 2022, 09:58 AM)
there were tests did before for USB-C ports few years back, they tested it by plugging in plug out continuously to simulate wear and tear

mind you, USB-C were rated 10,000 cycles. but it worn out after just 1000 cycles. its still usable but the cable is shaking left and right causing disconnection often.

i get this on my office laptop + docking station almost a year ago, sikit2 move the laptop can connection can be lost. same for my USB-C MBA friends who constantly screams for blood whenever she lost connection with external HDD via the dongle lel. ive been using ipong 6 and XR since 2014 until now and i rarely get issues on the lightning port connection vs USB-C

not saying lightning is better in specs, but in terms of durability? so much more since its a solid connector vs USB-C's which has a fragile looking connector in middle for female side.
it is cheaper only if theyre the cheap types. proper USB-C cables arent cheap if you need them to deliver in performance

read this on how convoluted this new "standard" is

https://www.androidauthority.com/state-of-usb-c-870996/
Again, all this is just you say, totally no evidence at all.

My USB-C all perfect. No comment about MBA since i don't buy any Apple products. Just because Apple can't make a good USB-C port doesn't means other's can't. I have no issues with my USB-C port from Nintendo Switch to tons of Android phones and PC laptops.
acbc
post Apr 26 2022, 10:02 AM

9,048 posts

Actually, physically Lightning port is more resilient (especially female) and smaller.

Type-C on the other hand some very tight some very loose. And the female connector can get damaged or stressed if you insert the male cable off-angle.
Type C need to buy quality cables and not those from RM 2 shops. Buy those with a proper resistor inside like Ugreen, Baseus and other branded ones.

Those problems u described were mostly due to bad quality cables. Lightning also has bad quality cables sold at RM 2 shops.
c64
post Apr 26 2022, 10:04 AM

711 posts

QUOTE(acbc @ Apr 26 2022, 10:02 AM)
Type C need to buy quality cables and not those from RM 2 shops. Buy those with a proper resistor inside like Ugreen, Baseus and other branded ones.

Those problems u described were mostly due to bad quality cables. Lightning also has bad quality cables sold at RM 2 shops.
Yep. I only use high quality ones like Ugreen, Anker and Baseus. In fact, i have one Baseus 100W PD USB-C cable expected to arrive today.
Skylinestar
post Apr 26 2022, 10:06 AM

Mega Duck
10,476 posts

QUOTE(c64 @ Apr 26 2022, 10:04 AM)
Yep. I only use high quality ones like Ugreen, Anker and Baseus. In fact, i have one Baseus 100W PD USB-C cable expected to arrive today.
Usb2.0?
marfccy
post Apr 26 2022, 10:21 AM

Le Ponyland!!!
4,254 posts

QUOTE(c64 @ Apr 26 2022, 10:01 AM)
Again, all this is just you say, totally no evidence at all.

My USB-C all perfect. No comment about MBA since i don't buy any Apple products.  Just because Apple can't make a good USB-C port doesn't means other's can't. I have no issues with my USB-C port from Nintendo Switch to tons of Android phones and PC laptops.
just do a quick check online on users reviews + youtubers on their view on USB-C ports, the features are strong which is what most want and love but on the durability side, its really bad.

its akin to micro USB, if it doesnt happen good for you. but to those who been thru micro USB hell you know what it is like

speaking of nintendo switch, my friend's USB-C dock station is already loose kek. but no issue to still plug cause its still solidly parked there instead of being moved around like other charging cables. but it tells alot on the durability of USB-C itself if its shaky after 1yrs of use
msacras
post Apr 26 2022, 10:22 AM

1,767 posts

Even stock or branded aftermart chargers/cables also can have multiple fitness. Some very loose while some barely able to fit in (I even plugged some that’s so damn tight to the point the cable rather broke than get disconnected).

Meanwhile Lightning’s fitness are mostly standardised as they all using Apple provided connectors or same mold.

This post has been edited by msacras: Apr 26 2022, 10:24 AM
TSNamelessone1973
post Apr 26 2022, 11:11 AM

320 posts

QUOTE(msacras @ Apr 26 2022, 10:22 AM)
Even stock or branded aftermart chargers/cables also can have multiple fitness. Some very loose while some barely able to fit in (I even plugged some that’s so damn tight to the point the cable rather broke than get disconnected).

Meanwhile Lightning’s fitness are mostly standardised as they all using Apple provided connectors or same mold.
https://www.lifewire.com/usb-c-vs-lightning-5206813

https://www.tronsmart.com/blog/47_5-reasons...-lightning.html

https://www.wired.co.uk/article/apple-light...onnector-eulogy
acbc
post Apr 26 2022, 11:12 AM

9,048 posts

QUOTE(msacras @ Apr 26 2022, 10:22 AM)

Lightning only sold by Apple under MFI license. Other manufacturers cannot even buy the mold or circuitry without paying Apple. Enterprising people will clone the connectors leading to loose connection or broken pins after several months of use.
SUSnasiputih
post Apr 26 2022, 11:19 AM

256 posts

will using lube help?
SUSnasiputih
post Apr 26 2022, 11:22 AM

256 posts

wha is the effect of low quality cables? will it spoil the phone?
Maknusia
post Apr 26 2022, 11:28 AM

997 posts

So far no issue on my phones which uses USB-C for more than 4-5 years already! (Realme and huawei)

My new notebook also uses USB-C for charging/power, been good for last couple of months.

9 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 > » Top

0.0241sec    0.45    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 13th December 2025 - 03:50 AM