EU plans one mobile charging port for all, in setback for Apple

TSNamelessone1973
post Apr 26 2022, 06:23 AM, updated 4y ago

320 posts

BRUSSELS, Sept 23 (Reuters) - The EU aims to have a common charging port for mobile phones, tablets and headphones under a European Commission proposal presented on Thursday in a world first, with the move impacting iPhone maker Apple (AAPL.O) more than its rivals.

The move has been more than 10 years in the making, with the European Union executive touting environmental benefits and 250 million euros ($293 million) in annual savings for users.

Under the Commission's proposal, a USB-C connector will become the standard port for all smartphones, tablets, cameras, headphones, portable speakers and handheld videogame consoles. Chargers will also be sold separately from electronic devices.

The EU executive will revise its eco-design regulation in the near future so that the external power supply is interoperable, which is the last step for a common charge.

The Commission said it was not targeting Apple and only acted because companies were not able to agree on a common solution despite a decade of talks, which have reduced the number of mobile phone chargers to three from 30.

Apple pushed back against the proposal.

"We remain concerned that strict regulation mandating just one type of connector stifles innovation rather than encouraging it, which in turn will harm consumers in Europe and around the world," the company said in a statement.

It also voiced concerns about the 24-month transition period for companies to comply with the legislation once it is adopted.

"My job is to kill off these sea snakes whenever I can," he told a news conference.

Breton also dismissed Apple's comments as old refrains.

"I have known these companies for years. Every time we put (forward) a proposal, they start to say 'oh, it will be against innovation'. No, it's not against innovation, it's not against anyone. Like everything the Commission does, it's for consumers," he said.

IPhone and Android users have long complained about having to use different chargers for their phones. The former is charged from a Lightning cable while Android-based devices are charged using USB-C connectors.

Half the chargers sold with mobile phones in 2018 had a USB micro-B connector, while 29% had a USB-C connector and 21% a Lightning connector, according to a 2019 Commission study.

The proposal needs the green light from EU member states and EU lawmakers following which companies will have two years to adapt their devices.

https://www.reuters.com/business/media-tele...ple-2021-09-23/
TSNamelessone1973
post Apr 26 2022, 08:29 AM

320 posts

QUOTE(msacras @ Apr 26 2022, 08:24 AM)
Actually, physically Lightning port is more resilient (especially female) and smaller.

Type-C on the other hand some very tight some very loose. And the female connector can get damaged or stressed if you insert the male cable off-angle.
But I think USB c is cheaper as they are more mass produced. If spoilt, you just buy a new cable
TSNamelessone1973
post Apr 26 2022, 08:43 AM

320 posts

QUOTE(msacras @ Apr 26 2022, 08:32 AM)
What if it’s the female port which is damaged?

Like I said, female Lightning is very resilient, meanwhile some female USB-C can get damaged quite easily.
Like I say, it's cheaper to replace even if the female port is damaged.

Why do you say lightning port is not so easy damaged?

If it's so bad, why Apple uses USB C for their other devices except iPhones?
TSNamelessone1973
post Apr 26 2022, 09:00 AM

320 posts

QUOTE(c64 @ Apr 26 2022, 08:51 AM)
Honestly...I haven't break any ports other than ancient PCs serial COM port with male pins sticking out. Unless you are some Hulkzilla, it's impossiburubto break ports under normal usage.
Exactly. Even to old USB non C types, I can still use for some older devices.

The only time my USB C port spoilt was when I accidently drop a powerbank.

However, you can easily replace the cable with a new one.
TSNamelessone1973
post Apr 26 2022, 11:11 AM

320 posts

QUOTE(msacras @ Apr 26 2022, 10:22 AM)
Even stock or branded aftermart chargers/cables also can have multiple fitness. Some very loose while some barely able to fit in (I even plugged some that’s so damn tight to the point the cable rather broke than get disconnected).

Meanwhile Lightning’s fitness are mostly standardised as they all using Apple provided connectors or same mold.
https://www.lifewire.com/usb-c-vs-lightning-5206813

https://www.tronsmart.com/blog/47_5-reasons...-lightning.html

https://www.wired.co.uk/article/apple-light...onnector-eulogy
TSNamelessone1973
post Apr 26 2022, 02:09 PM

320 posts

QUOTE(M4A1 @ Apr 26 2022, 02:01 PM)
of course is wrong.
i never agree on that

dun change topic brows.gif

today EU control charging port
next year EU will control ur handphone battery
next next year EU will said oh only 6gb ram will do ....

is this what u want?
It all depends on why EU are doing it?

Why can't there be a standardized charging port?

Isn't it better for everyone?

I am sure you'll say its up to individual to decide.

However, the role of government whether it is democratic or autocratic is to set policies where they think it is the best for the people.
TSNamelessone1973
post Apr 26 2022, 03:09 PM

320 posts

QUOTE(M4A1 @ Apr 26 2022, 02:14 PM)
problem is yes...today u said standardized charging port
tmr will u said retina display > amoled? then every phone SHOULD USE retina display?
then next year , no more snapdragon, meditek , SHOULD USE apple m1 chip??

is just a small freaking phone charging
there are over 20-50 brands of phone outside

if ppl think lighting sucks , ios sucks...
buy la samsung...huawei , xiaomi , oppo , SONY , motorola...

no one force u to use lightning.

i dun see why EU must force apple in this issue.

u think pepsi too sweet?
drink coke...drink 100 plus lor.

u think maggie sucks?
buy cintan la laugh.gif  laugh.gif

set policies where they think it is the best for the people
sounds like cccp said baidu is better then google  laugh.gif
Why the heck you jump the gun?

Like I say before, governments makes decisions like this because they deem it is beneficial to the public. Isn't making charging cables cheaper beneficial?

You are linking standardization for public benefits with enforcing monopolies which most governments won't do unless it's an autocratic government. Even China does not enforce such monopolies.

This post has been edited by Namelessone1973: Apr 26 2022, 03:10 PM
TSNamelessone1973
post Apr 26 2022, 03:59 PM

320 posts

QUOTE(M4A1 @ Apr 26 2022, 03:28 PM)
u are a joke seriously
there are 1001 thing to make beneficial to the public...housing and transport and education fee and healthcare.
which cost thousandssssssssssssssss

got time care about mini charging cable? doh.gif
who da heck care about 10-20$ charging cable  doh.gif

public always as a choice...u feel apple expensive?
buy huawei, buy xiaomi la.
no one force u to buy apple lightning cable.

if u are android user....why u worry apple lightning cable? which has nothing to do with u ?

is like u are myvi user...u worry ferrari charging expensive on their car seat hmm.gif
Are you that stupid? Do you think governments only look into major issues only?

Why EU are looking into such issues? Basically, there are complaints from consumers and they come up with ruling after studying the issue.

There is no issue about what you want to buy. You like iPhone, you buy iPhone. You like Android, you buy Android.

However, EU wants to standardize charging ports and they got supports from most people except iSheeps like you.

I use iPhone and I feel the ruling is for the betterment of consumers.
TSNamelessone1973
post Apr 26 2022, 05:14 PM

320 posts

QUOTE(M4A1 @ Apr 26 2022, 04:02 PM)
ya android user complain about iphone lightning  laugh.gif

question, why only standardize charging ports ?
why not standardize chipset? screen size?  hmm.gif
mediatek lousy..should ban n replace by apple m1  laugh.gif
Did consumers complain about chipset, screen size, etc.?

You think EU so free and just make such decisions for fun?

TSNamelessone1973
post Apr 26 2022, 05:28 PM

320 posts

QUOTE(M4A1 @ Apr 26 2022, 05:16 PM)
did iphone user complain about lightning?

how many IPHONE USER complain to EU or their govt about iphone lightning?
1?20?30?  hmm.gif  hmm.gif
Do you even know that this issue was brought up way back in 2009 and they were not specifically targeting Apple. At that time there were too many types of charging ports and the EU had to look into the issue because of consumer complaints

Years of negotiations and initiatives within the EU have resulted in the drop of the number of different chargers for consumer electronics from 30 to just 3 dominant standards. The Council of the EU and the European Commission have now finally chosen USB-C as the common charging port format.

The European Commission estimated EUR 250 million could be saved from unnecessary purchases of charges and that the measures would reduce the amount of electronic waste by 1,000 tons per year.

The European Commission tabled the proposal in September after concluding in a study that the internal market is not exploiting its full potential “as continuing fragmentation of the market for charging interfaces and charging communication protocols… results in a lack of consumer convenience and an increase in e-waste.”

0.0204sec    0.61    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 12th December 2025 - 09:31 AM