38 Pages « < 24 25 26 27 28 > » Bottom

LYN Toyota Corolla Cross V1, C-Segment SUV

touristking
post Jun 21 2024, 11:32 AM

5,831 posts

QUOTE(RagingCandy @ Jun 18 2024, 12:38 PM)
Bcz Honda using diff type of hybrid system. Try to Google it. Got pros and cons.
I know their differences. And their drawbacks. Honda's switch to engine above ~100 kph and become less powerful than the 1.5T. Didn't realize Toyota's switch mainly to engine at lowly 60 kph

Cavino
post Jun 21 2024, 01:19 PM

842 posts

QUOTE(touristking @ Jun 21 2024, 11:32 AM)
I know their differences. And their drawbacks. Honda's switch to engine above ~100 kph and become less powerful than the 1.5T. Didn't realize Toyota's switch mainly to engine at lowly 60 kph
That is becoz Toyota HSD system powered the wheel using both electrical motor and engine using the complex planetary gear aka power splitting gear/device when necessary at most speed except for low speed when it tries to use the motor as much as possible as it is mostly a parallel hybrids except again at higher speed. Once it hit mid-range, both motor and engine powering the wheel at most times with the planetary gear juggling the power going into the transaxle...superbly efficient setup. Unfortunately for Honda, Toyota owned the right, meaning Honda has to find another way to powered its hybrid thus the experimental IMA, iDCD and finally the iMMD where finally Honda did it right that it can finally matched up HSD albeit with its own weakness and strength.

Honda iMMD is a serial hybrids that mostly runs on motor at below 100km/h with engine powering the motor. It is only a 90-100km/h onwards (depending on the how we tekan minyak), it clutched in the engine to run it the transaxle directly....direct to drive. Otherwise it will still be the motor powering the wheel at most times.

There is always an argument that Honda iMMD is a more complex setup but in reality HSD is a much more complex setup with it's planetary gear system that include a CPU to manipulate 2 sources of energy to power the wheel at the same time (micro juggling between the motor and engine power source). However it's complexity is right on the gear system itself leaving the rest with a simpler minimal gear setup.

iMMD has to run clutches (gear sets) for the engine direct drive setup, more parts to replace and maintain. It is actually a simpler setup but require more mechanical parts to divert the engine power back into the system for direct drive capabilities thus reducing in mechanical reliability vs the efficient HSD setup.

I like the iMMD system more than HSD coz it actually gives more EV experiences at low to mid end drive, when it runs low, the engine charge up the battery and it still runs mostly on EV mode while HSD at least on Toyota Cross only runs pure EV on low drive and will switch to combined power once it runs low. As mentioned, it comes at the cost of more mechanical parts, gears, etc meaning more risk of failure, definitely more wear and tear in future. With reliability issues at stake, HSD still trumped if you combine reliability with efficiency. iMMD is no way less efficient, it produced low mileage savings that are on par with HSD, they just have more room to improve on reliability due to usage of more gears and other parts to produce this result. On long term reliability, I don't think any manufacturer can matched the much researched and proven HSD system coz a decade down the road, I am not sure if I regret getting the iMMD or not if and when any of the clutches and gears start wear and tear and need repair and replacement.

Amazing when both setup uses similar 2 motors system (1 traction, 1 generator) but went entirely different ways to achieve the same result.

On less powerful than turbo, sure lar, Atkinson engine is fuel efficiency but no power wan but cannot fight Otto engine on power much less when you include turbo into the equation. See what happened to Cross 1.8 atkinson engine, already the standard Cross 1.8 NA engine underpowered (western get 2.0, also consider a bit lackluster by them), With Atkinson running at highway, 1.8 really no energy. At least CRV has 2.0 atkinson and rely on the motor for better torque acceleration but then it is a heavier and bigger car. The advantage I can see over the HSD is under 100km/h, the torque comes mostly from the motor, so it might have stronger torque up to mid end.

My 2 cents only....my own understanding but might be wrong interpretation on the power flow especially on Toyota HSD system. The planetary gear system algorithm for power flow is a black box, at least for me, other parts super direct and easy to maintain. iMMD although have more parts are a simpler setup to understand.

This post has been edited by Cavino: Jun 21 2024, 01:36 PM
sjteh
post Jun 25 2024, 10:33 PM

222 posts

Any cc owner involve in yesterday recall?
Can share experience.
Cos called up SC, it said wait for calls if involve.
AbbyCom
post Jun 28 2024, 12:25 AM

457 posts

QUOTE(sjteh @ Jun 25 2024, 10:33 PM)
Any cc owner involve in yesterday recall?
Can share experience.
Cos called up SC, it said wait for calls if involve.
Really topkek, called up SC, SC staff also don't know what's the recall about. Say affected cars will get call from them.
sjteh
post Jun 28 2024, 05:24 PM

222 posts

QUOTE(AbbyCom @ Jun 28 2024, 12:25 AM)
Really topkek, called up SC, SC staff also don't know what's the recall about. Say affected cars will get call from them.
Wahhhh...
Really palm face lor...
cypher
post Jul 25 2024, 07:49 AM

CYPHER - CRAPPY SPEAKER
2,118 posts

Any idea if malaysia will get 2.0L version?

Biasa with 2.0l car already
Cavino
post Jul 25 2024, 10:30 AM

842 posts

QUOTE(cypher @ Jul 25 2024, 07:49 AM)
Any idea if malaysia will get 2.0L version?

Biasa with 2.0l car already
I doubt Asean market will have 2.0 for this generation of Cross. That is mainly for western market.
cypher
post Jul 25 2024, 07:32 PM

CYPHER - CRAPPY SPEAKER
2,118 posts

QUOTE(Cavino @ Jul 25 2024, 10:30 AM)
I doubt Asean market will have 2.0 for this generation of Cross. That is mainly for western market.
That's what cause me dilemma, drive eife 1.8 grs, really tak biasa with it, sad case if does not release here.
Cavino
post Jul 26 2024, 09:30 AM

842 posts

QUOTE(cypher @ Jul 25 2024, 07:32 PM)
That's what cause me dilemma, drive eife 1.8 grs, really tak biasa with it, sad case if does not release here.
100% not release 2.0 for facelift. Just look at Thailand Facelift release. 1.8 only. So forget abt Cross if you cannot tahan 1.8 NA engine.

contagiouseddie
post Jul 26 2024, 09:23 PM

308 posts

Saw a listing on carlist using the face-lift version photos but not sure if it just clickbait. Probably they already clear nearly all stock using through the RM8K rebate?
gahpadu
post Aug 4 2024, 07:51 PM

1,438 posts

Runours said this Sept Toyota gonna introduced the FL...anybody can affirm?
sonotme
post Aug 11 2024, 10:43 PM

1,715 posts

Is it worth to get the CC now with the rebates or wait for the facelift?
Cavino
post Aug 12 2024, 09:46 AM

842 posts

QUOTE(sonotme @ Aug 11 2024, 10:43 PM)
This really depends on your preference and budget. You can be sure the estimated facelift price is definitely going up by few K.

The outer looks especially the front grill differs greatly, I prefer the older garang look but then some might prefer the slicker new front grill.

However for a few K more, you will be getting

1. A deal breaker earlier for many that has been fixed in the new FL....the Electronic Parking Brake (EPB) and its super useful (city traffic light wait and jam) Brake Hold feature.
2. This should enable the Low Speed Follow feature as well (LSF) but Thailand specs seems to not include this feature, so we can only hope they have it here but chances are slim.
3. Another deal breaker for many, the Wireless Android Auto and Carplay, now in FL.

As you can see, the main 2 deal breakers for many are fixed in Cross.

So if you can wait and don't mind the higher price tags, I will suggest to go for the Facelift version.
If you don't care for the above 2 critical changes, then by all means, they have great discount now.

This post has been edited by Cavino: Aug 12 2024, 09:47 AM
claudetan
post Aug 12 2024, 02:00 PM

711 posts

QUOTE(sonotme @ Aug 11 2024, 10:43 PM)
if can wait, wait maybe like 1 or 2 year for new CC ..... lol
alpha91
post Sep 30 2024, 09:03 PM

493 posts

Hi all, wanna ask is there any news on when the facelift will launch in Malaysia?
Cross having rebate up to 9k for now, wondering should i wait for facelift.
Cavino
post Oct 9 2024, 03:02 PM

842 posts

QUOTE(alpha91 @ Sep 30 2024, 09:03 PM)
Hi all, wanna ask is there any news on when the facelift will launch in Malaysia?
Cross having rebate up to 9k for now, wondering should i wait for facelift.
Latest news from Wapcar indicated it might be launch as early as November or within these few months.

It seems the current stocks are running out. Some central region no more stocks That might the indication that they have stop production on current Cross liao....

So if you are waiting for EPB feature (electronic parking brake) and Wireless Android Auto and Carplay, hold your purchase (expect higher pricing for FL).

If you don't mind these 2 features and like the current looks (the engine no change in FL), by all means go for the high discount if you can still get the stock.
contagiouseddie
post Oct 9 2024, 03:22 PM

308 posts

QUOTE(Cavino @ Oct 9 2024, 03:02 PM)
Latest news from Wapcar indicated it might be launch as early as November or within these few months.

It seems the current stocks are running out. Some central region no more stocks That might the indication that they have stop production on current Cross liao....

So if you are waiting for EPB feature (electronic parking brake) and Wireless Android Auto and Carplay, hold your purchase (expect higher pricing for FL).

If you don't mind these 2 features and like the current looks (the engine no change in FL), by all means go for the high discount if you can still get the stock.
SA got mentioned basically RM8K increment. So expect a 150K CC. They basically allow the Chinese SUV to eat them up alive. And eventually lost the market.
Cavino
post Oct 9 2024, 03:28 PM

842 posts

QUOTE(contagiouseddie @ Oct 9 2024, 03:22 PM)
SA got mentioned basically RM8K increment. So expect a 150K CC. They basically allow the Chinese SUV to eat them up alive. And eventually lost the market.
For hybrid, they still have the advantage, for petrol engine, the Chinese SUV are extremely tempting, huge, high tech, looks great and inexpensive.

The only thing Toyota have, are long term reliability (not that great nowadays but still...they are proven long term reliable). Engine wise, I still think T have major advantage, not due to high power, etc...but more on proven reliability and efficiency. Long term parts availability, oem parts, etc all easily available even after a decade. Bang your car a decade later, many half cut to reuse, new OEM parts, support from T for older cars will still be there.

The Chinese SUV are still lacking in reputation in these area.

Added note: One of the biggest issue with Chinese SUV is resale value. They updated their model very fast and even lower the prices especially the EV. That makes the early bird suddenly lose a huge amount of value besides the usual annual price depreciation.

Looks what happen the BYD Atto3. Dropped 18K for new model which is good for new buyers but screwed the existing cars value.

What frustrated us on Japanese brand is price ALWAYS goes UP. But then again, it also maintained the value of existing models. Aish...we keep complaining car keep going up in pricing yet we want to maintain value of old models. If new models same price with old model, the old models price will drop even harder. A chicken and egg thing.

This post has been edited by Cavino: Oct 10 2024, 02:44 PM
alpha91
post Oct 14 2024, 12:52 PM

493 posts

QUOTE(Cavino @ Oct 9 2024, 03:02 PM)

Hi, thank you so much for the info. I think i will go for current model with rebate. The facelift seems will increase price too.

QUOTE(contagiouseddie @ Oct 9 2024, 03:22 PM)
8k? that is a lot. meaning hybrid will be above 150k mega_shok.gif
because what i heard is around 5k although not confirmed.

Is there anyone can provide the fuel consumption for hybrid vs non hybrid here? i watched a youtuber review say V spec can only do 11km/L.
AbbyCom
post Oct 14 2024, 04:25 PM

457 posts

QUOTE(alpha91 @ Oct 14 2024, 12:52 PM)
Hi, thank you so much for the info. I think i will go for current model with rebate. The facelift seems will increase price too.
8k? that is a lot. meaning hybrid will be above 150k  mega_shok.gif
because what i heard is around 5k although not confirmed.
Is there anyone can provide the fuel consumption for hybrid vs non hybrid here? i watched a youtuber review say V spec can only do 11km/L.
The hybrid averages about 5L/100km or 20km/l mix of city start-stop and highway cruising. If purely highway cruising with pulse and glide. can get sub 4L/100km or more than 25km/L.

38 Pages « < 24 25 26 27 28 > » Top

0.0360sec    0.58    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 19th December 2025 - 03:48 AM