38 Pages « < 21 22 23 24 25 > » Bottom

LYN Toyota Corolla Cross V1, C-Segment SUV

dev/numb
post Feb 10 2024, 10:00 PM

691 posts

Pauline website says the new model has full glass roof. I wonder which Tanjung Rambutan patient is sitting on the ASEAN Toyota board, approving this heatstroke catalyst for the Southeast Asian climate. >_>
ZeneticX
post Feb 11 2024, 12:34 AM

stars for what
12,413 posts

QUOTE(dev/numb @ Feb 10 2024, 10:00 PM)
Pauline website says the new model has full glass roof. I wonder which Tanjung Rambutan patient is sitting on the ASEAN Toyota board, approving this heatstroke catalyst for the Southeast Asian climate. >_>
Dont worry we are not gonna get it here anyway
Cavino
post Feb 13 2024, 09:03 AM

842 posts

QUOTE(ZeneticX @ Feb 11 2024, 12:34 AM)
Dont worry we are not gonna get it here anyway
Ya lor, in this cutthroat and cut cost market, removing the roof is one of the best move to cut cost. Look what happened to CRV glass roof and I'm glad for it. Unless they come out with another higher spec with glass roof but as you can see in Thailand, the hybrid top spec pricing shoots thru the roof for those specs.
Cavino
post Feb 13 2024, 09:05 AM

842 posts

QUOTE(SportyHandling @ Feb 10 2024, 08:47 PM)
Yes, your description is exactly the same as my thoughts after I tested the Corolla sedan GR Sport 1.8.

I've gone to YouTube to look at the new Corolla Cross 2024 and changed my mind. It actually doesn't look too good. The current GR Sport version of the Cross looks best to me.
The EPB allows Low Speed Follow ADAS to be activated. That is an important add-on in my opinion. Just adding the EPB, you get another important ADAS feature.
SportyHandling
post Feb 13 2024, 03:30 PM

623 posts

QUOTE(Cavino @ Feb 13 2024, 09:05 AM)
The EPB allows Low Speed Follow ADAS to be activated. That is an important add-on in my opinion. Just adding the EPB, you get another important ADAS feature.
I see. I'm not too familiar with the ADAS. The electronic parking brake in the new upcoming Corolla Cross is surely a welcome feature for many.

After watching few more YouTube videos of the new Corolla Cross launched in Thailand, I noticed that the GR Sport version is also available, and fortunately the front bonnet piece looks almost the same as the current Corolla Cross GR Sport that we have here. The Corolla Cross is still a good option in the SUV market as the Harrier 2.0 although looks like a dream is too costly.

This post has been edited by SportyHandling: Feb 13 2024, 03:31 PM
SportyHandling
post Feb 13 2024, 03:51 PM

623 posts

Upcoming new Corolla Cross GR Sport version. Fortunately it doesn't have the alien-looking holes of the regular versions which look like an unfinished front grille design.

vkashin
post Feb 14 2024, 12:09 PM

337 posts

QUOTE(SportyHandling @ Feb 13 2024, 03:51 PM)
Upcoming new Corolla Cross GR Sport version. Fortunately it doesn't have the alien-looking holes of the regular versions which look like an unfinished front grille design.

this looks quite similar to our malaysian market TCC GR Sport version. only updated the LED headlamp design for the front end changes perhaps?
Ichighost
post Feb 14 2024, 12:18 PM

358 posts

actually if they keep GR version front grille and upgrade all the rest rest of facelift feature in. It will have a better rugged looks.
SportyHandling
post Feb 15 2024, 12:44 PM

623 posts

QUOTE(vkashin @ Feb 14 2024, 12:09 PM)
this looks quite similar to our malaysian market TCC GR Sport version. only updated the LED headlamp design for the front end changes perhaps?
Yes, the front grille looks almost the same as the current Corolla Cross GR Sport version we currently have here. I'm not too sure about the Led headlamp design though but the overall shape and design of the vehicle look the same to me.
SportyHandling
post Feb 15 2024, 12:50 PM

623 posts

QUOTE(Ichighost @ Feb 14 2024, 12:18 PM)
actually if they keep GR version front grille and upgrade all the rest rest of facelift feature in. It will have a better rugged looks.
Yes. I've said it before, Toyota might be better off incorporating the GR Sport front grille to all the models as standard since it looks most elegant and nice. Perhaps it's a tactic for them to lure more selective or critical buyers to the GR sport version as majority of people won't care about the less-than-appealing looks and will just settle with the cheapest versions of the Corolla Cross.

This post has been edited by SportyHandling: Feb 15 2024, 12:50 PM
SportyHandling
post Feb 15 2024, 12:56 PM

623 posts

Too bad the Corolla version we are getting here is the 1.8 litre model. If I'm not mistaken, the Corolla Cross sold in Singapore is the 2.0 litre version with Dynamic Force engine in both petrol and hybrid.
jhleo1
post Feb 15 2024, 12:59 PM

4,382 posts

Don't compare to SG because most of the brands models not follow ASEAN spec. If really want, go buy from there. tongue.gif

QUOTE(SportyHandling @ Feb 15 2024, 12:56 PM)
Too bad the Corolla version we are getting here is the 1.8 litre model. If I'm not mistaken, the Corolla Cross sold in Singapore is the 2.0 litre version with Dynamic Force engine in both petrol and hybrid.
SportyHandling
post Feb 15 2024, 01:03 PM

623 posts

QUOTE(jhleo1 @ Feb 15 2024, 12:59 PM)
Don't compare to SG because most of the brands models not follow ASEAN spec. If really want, go buy from there.  tongue.gif
I'm not too sure about Asean spec but a Corolla Cross in 2.0 litre will be much more desirable than a 1.8. I hope a miracle will happen in that the next upcoming Corolla Cross here in Malaysia will get the 2.0 litre engine? 😜
ZeneticX
post Feb 15 2024, 01:14 PM

stars for what
12,413 posts

QUOTE(SportyHandling @ Feb 15 2024, 01:03 PM)
I'm not too sure about Asean spec but a Corolla Cross in 2.0 litre will be much more desirable than a 1.8. I hope a miracle will happen in that the next upcoming Corolla Cross here in Malaysia will get the 2.0 litre engine? 😜
Almost all SG cars are CBU from their origin country. For Toyota its from Japan mostly that's why they get 2.0 DF engine

SportyHandling
post Feb 15 2024, 01:33 PM

623 posts

QUOTE(ZeneticX @ Feb 15 2024, 01:14 PM)
Almost all SG cars are CBU from their origin country. For Toyota its from Japan mostly that's why they get 2.0 DF engine
I see, that may partly explain on the high prices of vehicles over there in Singapore. It is unfortunate that the Asean spec model is a 1.8 litre instead of 2.0 original from Japan. I wonder the reasons on the downsize of the engine capacity for the Asean spec, perhaps to cut down cost or something else.
voscar
post Feb 15 2024, 01:49 PM

1,526 posts

QUOTE(SportyHandling @ Feb 15 2024, 01:03 PM)
Impossible, I think they will focus on the hybrid drive
Cavino
post Feb 15 2024, 01:57 PM

842 posts

QUOTE(SportyHandling @ Feb 15 2024, 01:33 PM)
I see, that may partly explain on the high prices of vehicles over there in Singapore. It is unfortunate that the Asean spec model is a 1.8 litre instead of 2.0 original from Japan. I wonder the reasons on the downsize of the engine capacity for the Asean spec, perhaps to cut down cost or something else.
Cost cutting to lower the price and cost. No other reason.
ZeneticX
post Feb 15 2024, 02:28 PM

stars for what
12,413 posts

QUOTE(SportyHandling @ Feb 15 2024, 01:33 PM)
Actually if u dont really need the rear space and value drivability, the CX30 is a better buy than the Cross in terms of value. Simple 2.0 NA engine to maintain, 6 speed auto instead of CVT

Cavino
post Feb 15 2024, 02:47 PM

842 posts

QUOTE(ZeneticX @ Feb 15 2024, 02:28 PM)
Actually if u dont really need the rear space and value drivability, the CX30 is a better buy than the Cross in terms of value. Simple 2.0 NA engine to maintain, 6 speed auto instead of CVT
Buying CX30 is like buying a 2 seater SUV like CHR. CHR would be a match to CX30 instead of cross. The rear seats for both car only for children. Cross is a multi-purpose small family crossover. Got sufficient boot, legroom for all purpose usage. CX30 is more for fun driving, singles and young couple SUV. Quite different purpose.

This post has been edited by Cavino: Feb 15 2024, 02:49 PM
ZeneticX
post Feb 15 2024, 02:55 PM

stars for what
12,413 posts

QUOTE(Cavino @ Feb 15 2024, 02:47 PM)
Buying CX30 is like buying a 2 seater SUV like CHR. CHR would be a match to CX30 instead of cross. The rear seats for both car only for children. Cross is a multi-purpose small family crossover. Got sufficient boot, legroom for all purpose usage. CX30 is more for fun driving, singles and young couple SUV. Quite different purpose.
Hence why I said "dont need the rear space"

Anyway actually the rear space for CX30 is not an issue, its sufficient for 2 adults actually (i tried both CX30 and CX5 on the same day, both are actually almost similar). The main issue was the seatback which is almost straight, making it uncomfortable for longer journeys, and the low roof line and tall window line which makes it feel claustrophobic

This post has been edited by ZeneticX: Feb 15 2024, 03:01 PM

38 Pages « < 21 22 23 24 25 > » Top

0.0397sec    0.28    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 22nd December 2025 - 03:34 AM