LG vs Samsung TV, User please come in

TSMilo Pink
post Mar 16 2022, 09:01 AM

89 posts

QUOTE(forrest @ Mar 15 2022, 11:53 AM)
bought my first samsung TV, and used for 5 yrs and kaput, loud exploded noise, maybe capacitor blow up. Seek TV repair guy, he said repair cost too much, better buy a new one.

Second TV, try LG, but flickering line came out before 2 yrs, luckily bought extended warranty, sent it for warranty. But the result is same, repair cost is too high and they (insurance company) choose to pay me lump sum of RM1700.
TV repair guy told me nowadays TV won't last long, every brand is the same, but told me better buy from the big factory (samsung lg etc), other smaller less popular brand like Sharp they also take stock (LCD/LED panel) from big factory (Samsung, LG)

So I used that RM1700 and top up a bit and bought my 3rd TV, a samsung U series 4K TV. This time I MAX out the warranty to 5 yrs brows.gif If kaput again within 5yrs then I will have another almost free TV. So far using it for 2 yrs, so far ok.

For TS,
if you are an average user, either samsung or LG wont different too much in (2) and (3)
If you are concern (1) and (4), then just purchase extended warranty.

Last note, the duration to claim kaput TV is long, near to a month.
Thanks for the valuable sharing!

1) Can you remember how much was the insurance cost to cover for 5 years warranty?
2) How they judge how much to compensate you in the unfortunate claim (the RM1700)?

I have made the decision to go with Samsung AU7000 [U]because i dont want the LG magic remote to create another issue to me after few years down the road brows.gif brows.gif brows.gif
forrest
post Mar 16 2022, 02:57 PM

1,045 posts

QUOTE(Milo Pink @ Mar 16 2022, 09:01 AM)
Thanks for the valuable sharing!

1) Can you remember how much was the insurance cost to cover for 5 years warranty?
2) How they judge how much to compensate you in the unfortunate claim (the RM1700)?

I have made the decision to go with Samsung AU7000 [U]because i dont want the LG magic remote to create another issue to me after few years down the road  brows.gif  brows.gif  brows.gif
1) I don't remember the actual figure, roughly 300+
2) I have no idea, I didn't read the T&C for the extended warranty. I was expecting they fix it for me, ended up they said paid me lumpsum amount.
ericthai
post Mar 17 2022, 09:33 PM

427 posts

Panasonic > Samsung > LG

in terms of reliability and customer service.
bengang15
post Mar 19 2022, 04:10 PM

421 posts

My dad using samsung curve i am using LG.

1. Screen quality Samsung wins
2. UI LG wins

samsung UI is totally useless and dated. LG UI is top notch with its smart remote
BL98
post Mar 20 2022, 10:27 AM

743 posts

Should go far android tv or webos/tizen? Which one is better?
BL98
post Mar 20 2022, 10:29 AM

743 posts

Last time the salesperson would compare LG and samsung by tapping the screen. The samsung screen will flicker while LG don't. So the person say LG better...
SUSBoomwick
post Mar 20 2022, 10:33 AM

1,009 posts

Dun buy LG la..

LG will not release software update support for their TV after sometime one..

I sudah kena one from LG
dickybird
post Mar 20 2022, 11:40 AM

2,093 posts

Cheap Panasonic oled ftw
ozak
post Mar 20 2022, 11:57 AM

17,025 posts

Shopping for >60” oled TV. After my 10yrs old 60” screen kaput.

Now looking at
Sony A80J 65” Oled or LG C1 65” Oled
TSMilo Pink
post Mar 21 2022, 10:23 AM

89 posts

The previous smart uhd i had was Panasonic, but there's nothing much Panasonic can offer. Laggy UI, outdated version and weird color.

I think the few options we have are,

1) Samsung : best overall, more service centres
2) LG : best overall, better remote
3) Sony : best tv audio
4) Hisense : best value for money

The reason i didnt choose LG simply because of the remote, i was afraid it will create an issue down the road.
tudor_kg
post Mar 21 2022, 08:32 PM

33 posts

If wanna buy android dongle, can buy samsung la. If wanna use samsung tizen, just know that hotstar app still nowhere to be seen despite samsung initially saying it will be suppported. Also tizen appstore so lousy one.

Lg webos i never used
sl3ge
post Jun 3 2022, 10:51 AM

1,368 posts

Hi guys,
anyone using Samsung AU7700 or AU7000..
So far so good?
cikalakacikaci
post Jun 3 2022, 11:19 AM

107 posts

Samsung with extended warranty the best
Service is fast
cikalakacikaci
post Jun 3 2022, 11:23 AM

107 posts

QUOTE(sl3ge @ Jun 3 2022, 10:51 AM)
Hi guys,
anyone using Samsung AU7700 or AU7000..
So far so good?
Im using au7700k,mainly stream netflix,appletv,and syokTV .
So far so good
xtreme_paranoid
post Jun 3 2022, 11:36 AM

UNKNOWN
1,427 posts

Got issue display burn with my Samsung TU6900
Not even 1 year. But they come and replace whole front tv panel
Now all good
Maybe 1st version production bad
sl3ge
post Jun 3 2022, 01:30 PM

1,368 posts

QUOTE(cikalakacikaci @ Jun 3 2022, 11:19 AM)
Samsung with extended warranty the best
Service is fast
Extend the warranty to how many years?
And cost how much?
sl3ge
post Jun 3 2022, 01:31 PM

1,368 posts

QUOTE(xtreme_paranoid @ Jun 3 2022, 11:36 AM)
Got issue display burn with my Samsung TU6900
Not even 1 year. But they come and replace whole front tv panel
Now all good
Maybe 1st version production bad
Are u heavy user?
cikalakacikaci
post Jun 3 2022, 02:13 PM

107 posts

QUOTE(sl3ge @ Jun 3 2022, 01:30 PM)
Extend the warranty to how many years?
And cost how much?
2years samsung by default
+ 3 years by seller i.e harvey norman
total 5years max
iinm + rm 300 +

last time i just topup rm1000++ to get new samsung tv,50inch to 65inch upgrade after they have no parts,that was after 4years using. worth it if u have kids that always on the tv 🤣
sl3ge
post Jun 3 2022, 02:24 PM

1,368 posts

QUOTE(cikalakacikaci @ Jun 3 2022, 02:13 PM)
2years samsung by default
+ 3 years by seller i.e harvey norman
total 5years max
iinm + rm 300 +

last time i just topup rm1000++ to get new samsung tv,50inch to 65inch upgrade after they have no parts,that was after 4years using. worth it if u have kids that always on the tv 🤣
I plan buy samsung 75inch AU7700,
and my sofa can 3.8meter from TV,

do u think is it suitable, will too near or not? hmm.gif

This post has been edited by sl3ge: Jun 3 2022, 02:25 PM
cikalakacikaci
post Jun 3 2022, 02:30 PM

107 posts

QUOTE(sl3ge @ Jun 3 2022, 02:24 PM)
I plan buy samsung 75inch AU7700,
and my sofa can 3.8meter from TV,

do u think is it suitable, will too near or not? hmm.gif