Moving to Singapore after 30, Too late or never too late

TSweehournow
post Mar 1 2022, 09:45 AM, updated 4y ago

44 posts

I am currently 30 years old with 5+ years of working experience in the legal industry. For my current job I am drawing a salary of RM4600+. I work in Johor btw. I feel that I am somehow stuck due to my slow career progression so I have been thinking about moving to Singapore.

I found a potential job which offers SGD3.5k at most, which means most likely they will only be paying 3.2k (optimistic?). I know for a fact that if I move to KL I could land a job that would pay me MYR5k+. So the dilemma is should I go to SG for smaller pay (disregard the conversion) and start afresh or to KL?

Appreciate any constructive view. Thanks.

Edited:

Since some of you replied asking for more details before giving advice, i thought I should supplement more info:

1. Single. No plan to start a family. In fact no plan to get into a relationship. Can foresee myself single till the day I die.

2. My previous jobs include lawyer and legal editor. Now working as a legal exec (in house).

Update [15/06/2022]

Finally received an offer after months of job applications. Just to update anyone who read this topic. Thanks.

This post has been edited by weehournow: Jun 15 2022, 04:14 PM
clamp_wl
post Mar 1 2022, 09:48 AM

Ted Guy
1,935 posts

I am in the same predicament bro. Moving to Singapore at 32…
moonsatelite
post Mar 1 2022, 09:49 AM

737 posts

shortest answer is Singapore
Hades76
post Mar 1 2022, 09:49 AM

680 posts

My opinion, go to SG.

Assume you are a JB or Johor native, so SG is nearer to your home base.

Exposure is subjective as depends on the cases you get.

Good luck.
angkhian
post Mar 1 2022, 09:51 AM

313 posts

What do you want in the long term?
To build your roots in a new country, or to use the shortest time to find the most money? Singapore is a new ball game, and you have to really be ready to start from zero, and be humble to learn everything again. Being a foreigner in someone's country, needs a lot of resilience and patience.
immobile
post Mar 1 2022, 09:52 AM

660 posts

QUOTE(Hades76 @ Mar 1 2022, 09:49 AM)
My opinion, go to SG.

Good luck.
agreed and definitely sg for sure.
kopiride
post Mar 1 2022, 09:52 AM

785 posts

Of coz go to Singapore. After first job there, finding the next Singapore job will be much easier.
Also since u are in JB, another bonus for u.
student93
post Mar 1 2022, 09:59 AM

20 posts

U try to budget out 5 years’ earnings sg vs msia. After you realise you can pay off your home loan in JB in this 5 years, then the answer will be clear.
TSweehournow
post Mar 1 2022, 09:59 AM

44 posts

My opinion, go to SG.

Good luck.

My hometown is in Muar and now I'm working in Senai. So it really is in the middle point of SG and KL.

This post has been edited by weehournow: Mar 1 2022, 10:03 AM
TSweehournow
post Mar 1 2022, 10:00 AM

44 posts

What do you want in the long term?
To build your roots in a new country, or to use the shortest time to find the most money? Singapore is a new ball game, and you have to really be ready to start from zero, and be humble to learn everything again. Being a foreigner in someone's country, needs a lot of resilience and patience.

Ultimate goal is definitely financial freedom (or at least not having to worry about mortgage of healthcare cost once retired). Resilience and patience, then I should really move ASAP because I doubt I would have the energy to do both later.

This post has been edited by weehournow: Mar 1 2022, 10:02 AM
Don't Troll me!
post Mar 1 2022, 10:05 AM

201 posts

if you accept the social life there why not.. mind you.. it would not easy to work with singaporean.. they are very fast paced and high in result.

my friend work there for 5 years and salary is gooding (around 8k sgd) but he still eating alone everyday at canteen because all of his colleague are singaporean.
Note - he is friendly and talkative person

your choice smile.gif
TSweehournow
post Mar 1 2022, 10:12 AM

44 posts

QUOTE(Don't Troll me! @ Mar 1 2022, 10:05 AM)
if you accept the social life there why not.. mind you.. it would not easy to work with singaporean.. they are very fast paced and high in result.

my friend work there for 5 years and salary is gooding (around 8k sgd) but he still eating alone everyday at canteen because all of his colleague are singaporean.

your choice smile.gif
I am quite alright with eating alone. In fact, I have been eating alone for most of my meals after I graduated lmao.

But I get your point. You're saying it's not easy to integrate into the Singapore community? I think social life is really secondary to me as my current priority is really about work-life balance with extra ka-ching to spend. And I can manage work-life balance without much social life tbh...

c64
post Mar 1 2022, 10:15 AM

711 posts

Go Singapork. Don't look back.
mini orchard
post Mar 1 2022, 10:19 AM

14,511 posts

QUOTE(weehournow @ Mar 1 2022, 09:45 AM)
I am currently 30 years old with 5+ years of working experience in the legal industry. For my current job I am drawing a salary of RM4600+. I work in Johor btw. I feel that I am somehow stuck due to my slow career progression so I have been thinking about moving to Singapore.

I found a potential job which offers SGD3.5k at most, which means most likely they will only be paying 3.2k (optimistic?). I know for a fact that if I move to KL I could land a job that would pay me MYR5k+. So the dilemma is should I go to SG for smaller pay (disregard the conversion) and start afresh or to KL?

When single, you can work anywhere. Easy decision unless you are the only child and having aged parents with some medical conditions.
xxQue_Sera_Seraxx
post Mar 1 2022, 10:26 AM

134 posts

QUOTE(weehournow @ Mar 1 2022, 10:45 AM)

Legal industry applicable to SG context? If applicable, just move to SG when really land and get job offer la. Just land a job offer first then you do further thinking. Disregard the conversion, pretty much what is costly in SG is rental of room and entertainment. At the end, see what is your goals and objective la..
hungrygodzilla
post Mar 1 2022, 10:38 AM

456 posts

Regardless of your industry, what is your job role / title?

SGD3.5K is in the middle of nowhere, not here not there. Worst if eventually you go for PR, 20% goes to CPF, you left with about 2.8K take home.

- rental - HDB common room with aircon 800
- public transport - 150 (depending on usage or distance, i take a higher estimation)
- meals - 30 x 2 x 5 = 300 - this is 30 days 2 meal each, in hawker, plus some breakfast, plus sometime eat out with friends and colleague - 600
- personal needs - 300
- entertainment - 150

total basic is 2k per month

Things to continue:
- $ for parent, $ for saving, $ for insurance
- Ok with just renting a room, most of the time you just stay in your small room?
- Ok for 3 meals eating outside
- Ok for nobody go out with you
- Ok to spend 4-6 hours for a return trip to stay in JB to save cost? 4-6 hours is the normal jam + queue + immigration for going in and out in normal day before covid
- Ok for having to always look at price of food and menu to decide what you gonna eat with your current salary?
- Ok to stay away from your family for 1 week? 1 month? 1 year? It will start with 1 week, then you hate the jam, then you will start going back Johor 1-2 time per month, then you have covid, I have friends staying 2 years straight before getting to come back
- If you buy house in Johor, you will have extra burden, if you dont buy, how you gonna start your own family?
- Every commitment in MY, everything you owe the bank still need to pay, like your car, house, etc. Willing to give up your car? But when you come back got extra car for you to use? If not selling, you ok to leave the car to rot in Johor?
- Ready for a more stressful and competitive life in SG? I'm not kidding you, Malaysia people working style is really relaxed and slow and calm compared to SG.
- You single? attached? have family? You think you can or you know you can handle long distance relationship?

Harsh questions to answer:
- How long you been working already? Why is your salary 4.6k at 30 years old? What exactly is the problem? not taking initiative? not competitive enough? not qualified enough?
- The same problem you identify now, will it impact your salary growth in KL? will it impact in SG? Which do you think you have higher chance of moving up?
- Even if you take the offer in SG, next time you try to move to another job, people will see, 30 years old, taking almost fresh grad salary, something must be wrong, either i low ball this candidate like previous company, or i reject him

All these questions are not to discourage you, just wanna make sure you think thru properly first, if you confident life will change for the better then i say go ahead. Never too late. Also good if you single and have no loan / commitment to worry about. If you are open for SG, maybe you can open up a bit more to any other countries, might as well right? But if you still wanna come back Johor often, then can keep the choice to SG.

This post has been edited by hungrygodzilla: Mar 1 2022, 11:55 AM
chupapi_munyayo
post Mar 1 2022, 10:45 AM

398 posts

i same with u, age and working experience
but from kl
just married plan to have kids
but current income unable to feed my own enough bcz I already have huge commitments and debts (house, car, ptptn, cc)

I plan to work in SG so i can settle debt quicky, but many factors need to consider

if u are single, just go
hungrygodzilla
post Mar 1 2022, 10:46 AM

456 posts

your choice smile.gif
QUOTE(weehournow @ Mar 1 2022, 10:12 AM)
I am quite alright with eating alone. In fact, I have been eating alone for most of my meals after I graduated lmao.

But I get your point. You're saying it's not easy to integrate into the Singapore community? I think social life is really secondary to me as my current priority is really about work-life balance with extra ka-ching to spend. And I can manage work-life balance without much social life tbh...
Problem is with your friend. He might be friendly and talkative to you, but maybe he distanced himself from his SG colleague.

What if i tell you that it's easy to integrate into SG community, all the Malaysian I know that cant integrate, you know what's the common excuse? They just blame that all their colleagues are SG, but the real problem is always themselves, they discriminate SG people because they think that SG people discriminate them. I've worked in SG for more than 10 years, never in any company, big or small, old or startup will I have problem with SG and foreigners. And i never ever see any foreigner get outcasted, unless they themselves have some problem or is hard to mix with. We have meals together not just in canteen, going out for better meals away from office, good dinner, oversea holiday trips, game together, and also regular gathering after we left the company. If you cant make good friends with SG people, the problem is you.
a_dot_el
post Mar 1 2022, 11:00 AM

196 posts

Nothing is too late. Know a fella who move to SG around 40++. Now making big there. The key is yourself.
Icehart
post Mar 1 2022, 11:07 AM

14,901 posts

your choice smile.gif
Confirm friend problem.
I've no such issues with my Singapore colleagues.
When I travel down to SG, they will offer accommodation and always insist on treating me meals.
SUSBrookLes
post Mar 1 2022, 11:50 AM

1,354 posts

Go to Singapore and retire after 10 years.
erric 850
post Mar 1 2022, 12:01 PM

18 posts

QUOTE(weehournow @ Mar 1 2022, 09:59 AM)
My hometown is in Muar and now I'm working in Senai. So it really is in the middle point of SG and KL.
Confusing what you want to bring out ..?
hungrygodzilla
post Mar 1 2022, 12:02 PM

456 posts

QUOTE(Icehart @ Mar 1 2022, 11:07 AM)
Confirm friend problem.
When I travel down to SG, they will offer accommodation and always insist on treating me meals.
That's right! But still so many Malaysian felt that they are outcast by the SG colleagues. Either they really in shitty company with shitty people, but most probably, I think it's their own self esteem problem.
erric 850
post Mar 1 2022, 12:05 PM

18 posts

your choice smile.gif
lol
Meanwhile then earning 8k sgd still can’t make friend with singaporean lol
MrBaba
post Mar 1 2022, 12:06 PM

2,506 posts

Depend on what u want , go Sg if u want migrate out of Malaysia. If u got Sg PR it's a good stepping stone to migrate oversea.
SUSBrookLes
post Mar 1 2022, 12:08 PM

1,354 posts

Did you find the job by yourself or a job agent found you.

If you rent a room in Singapore, it's going to be around SGD 600.

Why do you think you will be starting afresh? I dun think you will be starting afresh just because you are going to Singapore.

Actually, conversion of currency is important. For example, 6400SGD is still "higher" then say 9750MYR.

I think that 3.2 or say 3.3k is still > 4600. But then you do not have to pay rent etc when you are in malaysia.

I think you can save quite a bit if you really manage your finance well. But i dunno. Increment in Singapore is not very fast.
hungrygodzilla
post Mar 1 2022, 12:15 PM

456 posts

QUOTE(BrookLes @ Mar 1 2022, 12:08 PM)
Did you find the job by yourself or a job agent found you.

If you rent a room in Singapore, it's going to be around SGD 600.

Why do you think you will be starting afresh? I dun think you will be starting afresh just because you are going to Singapore.

Actually, conversion of currency is important. For example, 6400SGD is still "higher" then say 9750MYR.

I think that 3.2 or say 3.3k is still > 4600. But then you do not have to pay rent etc when you are in malaysia.

I think you can save quite a bit if you really manage your finance well. But i dunno. Increment in Singapore is not very fast.
If can get S$4k+ then i will encourage TS to go for it. I think it's a comfortable ground. But by right, at 30, should be higher than that. But judging from TS current salary, anything above S$4k is really attractive for him. 3.2 - 3.3k is a bit not here not there, not too poor, also not too rich.
SUSBrookLes
post Mar 1 2022, 12:20 PM

1,354 posts

QUOTE(hungrygodzilla @ Mar 1 2022, 12:15 PM)
If can get S$4k+ then i will encourage TS to go for it. I think it's a comfortable ground. But by right, at 30, should be higher than that. But judging from TS current salary, anything above S$4k is really attractive for him. 3.2 - 3.3k is a bit not here not there, not too poor, also not too rich.
I dun think in Singapore, they actually pay 1 - 1.

Even if you compare the job postings.

A similar job in Malaysia will definitely be paid much higher then say in Singapore if you do not convert.

3K is tight.

This post has been edited by BrookLes: Mar 1 2022, 12:21 PM
waxppl
post Mar 1 2022, 12:30 PM

66 posts

30 is still very young tbh... once u gt 1st job, try work for 1-2 yr and then jump, it will be easier once u got PR
SUSTianJian

435 posts

1. if u are planning to earn money for retirement in Malaysia, sure, but will u sad or worry ur family members as u cant come back for a very long time? cause this always stops a lot of people right now

2. if the job pay u $3500, it will be $3500, won't be as what u mention $3200

3. if you're not money spending person, trust me, U can save more than $2k

4. Singaporean, not racist if u r not the racist guy or a hot temper person

5. Pr can help u save more $$ when u retired and go back to Malaysia

I also come SG work when I was going turn 30's, the life is never been better then Malaysia

This post has been edited by TianJian: Mar 1 2022, 12:31 PM
sonicscourge

436 posts

how hungry are you? Legal professionals Supply > Demand in Sgp.
waxppl
post Mar 1 2022, 12:38 PM

66 posts

QUOTE(hungrygodzilla @ Mar 1 2022, 10:46 AM)
Problem is with your friend. He might be friendly and talkative to you, but maybe he distanced himself from his SG colleague.

What if i tell you that it's easy to integrate into SG community, all the Malaysian I know that cant integrate, you know what's the common excuse? They just blame that all their colleagues are SG, but the real problem is always themselves, they discriminate SG people because they think that SG people discriminate them. I've worked in SG for more than 10 years, never in any company, big or small, old or startup will I have problem with SG and foreigners. And i never ever see any foreigner get outcasted, unless they themselves have some problem or is hard to mix with. We have meals together not just in canteen, going out for better meals away from office, good dinner, oversea holiday trips, game together, and also regular gathering after we left the company. If you cant make good friends with SG people, the problem is you.
yep... sinkies i know only discriminate ceca or some ah tiong, they dont normally discriminate malaysian laugh.gif
zephyrus9999
post Mar 1 2022, 01:01 PM

649 posts

QUOTE(waxppl @ Mar 1 2022, 12:38 PM)
yep... sinkies i know only discriminate ceca or some ah tiong, they dont normally discriminate malaysian laugh.gif
Pls lah u think they will tell u this in front of ur face? It’s all subtle and wayang show. For sure below are their stereotypes on msian: stealing jobs, depressing salaries, weird Chinese kampung accent, horrible English, tendencies to backstab gossiping in office, transform office space to Chinatown speaking mandarin all the way, doing non-prestigious 3D jobs (hairstylist hawkers cleaners drivers u name it)

The hate towards ceca is worse off, as they access to professional jobs that some sinkie can ever dream of
ameliorate
post Mar 1 2022, 01:10 PM

370 posts

Single, should go. I don't consider Sg as foreign. It is the easiest country to migrate for Msians. It's akin to moving to another abang adik place. If you don't like it can always come back, the transition is very minimal.
SUSceo684
post Mar 1 2022, 01:15 PM

Component Burner
11,667 posts

QUOTE(hungrygodzilla @ Mar 1 2022, 10:46 AM)

I think its whether that person is open to make friends or not.
I mean.. myself I have made new friends from those running events and what not.. I am MY citizen and they are true blue SG citizen since birth.

Some are so nice (back then I didn't make much money) to even treat me a meal. They all know I'm from KL.

I do not feel discriminated.. as a matter of fact in work, faster response is better than everything pending rclxub.gif

On another point. is whether you can do as the romans do in ROME or not.
They would always use shortforms. TP = traffic police, plaza SGP = plaza singapura.
So you need to keep up with the romans in rome.

This post has been edited by ceo684: Mar 1 2022, 01:19 PM
waxppl
post Mar 1 2022, 01:20 PM

66 posts

QUOTE(zephyrus9999 @ Mar 1 2022, 01:01 PM)
Pls lah u think they will tell u this in front of ur face? It’s all subtle and wayang show. For sure below are their stereotypes on msian: stealing jobs, depressing salaries, weird Chinese kampung accent, horrible English, tendencies to backstab gossiping in office, transform office space to Chinatown speaking mandarin all the way, doing non-prestigious 3D jobs (hairstylist hawkers cleaners drivers u name it)

The hate towards ceca is worse off, as they access to professional jobs that some sinkie can ever dream of
Im sure there are some sinkies that discriminate msian.. like i said, "sinkies I know", not all sinkies..

it depends on what group of sinkies u mix with, low life sinkies sure hate u for "stealing their jobs"..
Pakatan SinMa Plus
post Mar 1 2022, 01:27 PM

1,148 posts

It is not too late to start a new life in Singapore at 30 years old.

Not sure about your marital status. If you are single, looking at the offer and your current condition, i would suggest to come to Singapore and build your professional career here. However, if you are married and with kids, you might need to consider about your wife and kid too.

SUSceo684
post Mar 1 2022, 01:31 PM

Component Burner
11,667 posts

QUOTE(BrookLes @ Mar 1 2022, 12:20 PM)

A similar job in Malaysia will definitely be paid much higher then say in Singapore if you do not convert.

3K is tight.
More peanuts by 20-25% here, but in actual fact our peanuts have less disposable income and buying power.
mushigen
post Mar 1 2022, 02:08 PM

4,954 posts

1. TS, you plan to stay in Sg or JB?

2. You plan to work there for short term or long term? I know of ppl who planned short term but as their commitment increases, they are stuck there.

3. You plan to start a family? You gotta familiarise yourself with their school system when you enrol your kids there.

4. Your kids will be stuck there if they're schooled there. Can't even speak Malay wei.
hungrygodzilla
post Mar 1 2022, 02:24 PM

456 posts

QUOTE(BrookLes @ Mar 1 2022, 12:20 PM)

3K is tight.
depends on his actual job role and scope, the term "legal industry" is just too vague. A cleaner in a legal office also work in legal industry.
hungrygodzilla
post Mar 1 2022, 02:30 PM

456 posts

QUOTE(waxppl @ Mar 1 2022, 01:20 PM)
Im sure there are some sinkies that discriminate msian.. like i said, "sinkies I know", not all sinkies..

it depends on what group of sinkies u mix with, low life sinkies sure hate u for "stealing their jobs"..
of coz you have all kinda people, some more gila than the rest. Those SG that like to say "stealing our jobs" are the loser group that is lazy and anti social and just purely keyboard warrior. Can't make it in life that's why blame everybody else. The ultimate goal to work in SG is to keep climbing up the career ladder, meet and be surrounded by better and smarter people.
SUSCoolStoryWriter
post Mar 1 2022, 02:47 PM

241 posts

TS, I moved to SG recently, on EP.

It depends on your commitments and lifestyle honestly.

1) At 30, probably most people will be looking at settling down with a partner and have children. 4.6k in Johor, with wife working also probably can lead a decent life with 1 child (assuming household income probably 7-8k in Johor).

2) But 3.2k in Singapore, don't dream of starting a family. Will die. You will lead a single life possibly until your 40s. 3.2k can survive in Singapore as a single.

3) 3.2k in Singapore is fresh graduate level, not really the salary for a professional lawyer but hey again, thousands of Malaysians cross the border for half that amount.

4) Going to Singapore doesn't necessarily mean you will be better career wise. Sometimes you shoot yourself in the foot. When u return to Malaysia, employers will benchmark against 3.2k, not 10k this is very important ya. Don't assume employers so generous will offer you 12-13k. They will look at what u get in Singapore, without conversion.

5) If you ok with staying single forever, yes you can come to Singapore.

6) See point 1 and 2. Need to ask yourself, where are you now and where you want to go.

If you have any questions let me know

This post has been edited by CoolStoryWriter: Mar 1 2022, 02:48 PM
SUStolongking
post Mar 1 2022, 03:05 PM

20 posts

Salary climb fast if you work hard. Just go if you get an opportunity. What’s there to lose?
SUSAligee
post Mar 1 2022, 03:06 PM

1st Choice = Singapore
2nd choice = KL
3rd choice = JB

Others state, forget it!
These 3-States would be the Next Megapolitans cities for the next 10-years to 20-years at least due to its Mega-population concentrated!

If, border opens @ 1-March;

1st Choice = Singapore + JB
2nd choice =
3rd choice = KL

This post has been edited by Aligee: Mar 1 2022, 03:11 PM
pisces88
post Mar 1 2022, 03:12 PM

3,970 posts

Confirm SG la. 3.5k sgd - expenses i think u have nett 1.7k minimum. Thats like 5k ringgit.

If lucky you can jump to other sg company in few years, maybe salary increase 1-2k sgd.

Plus, u dont have ur own family yet. Whats stopping you to try? Worse to worse , u can come back in a year.
bsa12
post Mar 1 2022, 03:20 PM

562 posts

your choice smile.gif
This
bsa12
post Mar 1 2022, 03:22 PM

562 posts

May be should consider back to muar with same pay less competition, better living
Enjoise
post Mar 1 2022, 03:41 PM

463 posts

i would pick 4600 johor while starting other hussle/investment, but if really want to go sg
0.8 x ur current would be ideal

also take into account uu cant comeback anytime uu want with this covid situation & most probably more competitive n stressful working environment
Pakatan SinMa Plus
post Mar 1 2022, 04:05 PM

1,148 posts

QUOTE(mushigen @ Mar 1 2022, 02:08 PM)

2. You plan to work there for short term or long term? I know of ppl who planned short term but as their commitment increases, they are stuck there.

3. You plan to start a family? You gotta familiarise yourself with their school system when you enrol your kids there.

4. Your kids will be stuck there if they're schooled there. Can't even speak Malay wei.
Interesting questions. let me add in some comments.

1. TS, you plan to stay in Sg or JB? If TS choose to work in SG, then of course stay in SG, nowadays can no longer travel daily.

2. You plan to work there for short term or long term? I know of ppl who planned short term but as their commitment increases, they are stuck there. Very true, i agree with this. This happens to a lot of people

3. You plan to start a family? You gotta familiarise yourself with their school system when you enrol your kids there. Indeed, it is very different to start a new life in singapore as an individual vs a family.

4. Your kids will be stuck there if they're schooled there. Can't even speak Malay wei. yea, one can only learn 1 mother tongue (depending on your race) in school apart from English.

TSweehournow
post Mar 1 2022, 04:54 PM

44 posts

1. I plan to stay in SG. Definitely cannot tahan long commute time.

2. Plan for now is work for long term. TBH cannot see a future in MY with weak currency. I do have a house mortgage and car loan but both are manageable right now as I spend very little and is very thrifty.

3 & 4. No kid. No plan to build family. Single till dead let nurse abuse at old folks home that kind.

TSweehournow
post Mar 1 2022, 05:10 PM

44 posts

QUOTE(CoolStoryWriter @ Mar 1 2022, 02:47 PM)

1) At 30, probably most people will be looking at settling down with a partner and have children. 4.6k in Johor, with wife working also probably can lead a decent life with 1 child (assuming household income probably 7-8k in Johor).

2) But 3.2k in Singapore, don't dream of starting a family. Will die. You will lead a single life possibly until your 40s. 3.2k can survive in Singapore as a single.

3) 3.2k in Singapore is fresh graduate level, not really the salary for a professional lawyer but hey again, thousands of Malaysians cross the border for half that amount. 

4) Going to Singapore doesn't necessarily mean you will be better career wise. Sometimes you shoot yourself in the foot. When u return to Malaysia, employers will benchmark against 3.2k, not 10k this is very important ya. Don't assume employers so generous will offer you 12-13k. They will look at what u get in Singapore, without conversion.

6) See point 1 and 2. Need to ask yourself, where are you now and where you want to go.

EP means SGD 4.5k above. Nice leh. If I go with that offer then sadly it's S-pass kuli status. Anyway I did speak to the headhunter about the salary package and he said he will discuss with the potential employer. See how it goes la.

But then thanks for your reply and opinion. Wish you all the success in SG smile.gif

This post has been edited by weehournow: Mar 1 2022, 05:11 PM
TSweehournow
post Mar 1 2022, 05:13 PM

44 posts

QUOTE(hungrygodzilla @ Mar 1 2022, 10:38 AM)
Regardless of your industry, what is your job role / title?

SGD3.5K is in the middle of nowhere, not here not there. Worst if eventually you go for PR, 20% goes to CPF, you left with about 2.8K take home.

- rental - HDB common room with aircon 800
- public transport - 150 (depending on usage or distance, i take a higher estimation)
- meals - 30 x 2 x 5 = 300 - this is 30 days 2 meal each, in hawker, plus some breakfast, plus sometime eat out with friends and colleague - 600
- personal needs - 300
- entertainment - 150

total basic is 2k per month

Things to continue:
- $ for parent, $ for saving, $ for insurance
- Ok with just renting a room, most of the time you just stay in your small room?
- Ok for 3 meals eating outside
- Ok for nobody go out with you
- Ok to spend 4-6 hours for a return trip to stay in JB to save cost? 4-6 hours is the normal jam + queue + immigration for going in and out in normal day before covid
- Ok for having to always look at price of food and menu to decide what you gonna eat with your current salary?
- Ok to stay away from your family for 1 week? 1 month? 1 year? It will start with 1 week, then you hate the jam, then you will start going back Johor 1-2 time per month, then you have covid, I have friends staying 2 years straight before getting to come back
- If you buy house in Johor, you will have extra burden, if you dont buy, how you gonna start your own family?
- Every commitment in MY, everything you owe the bank still need to pay, like your car, house, etc. Willing to give up your car? But when you come back got extra car for you to use? If not selling, you ok to leave the car to rot in Johor?
- Ready for a more stressful and competitive life in SG? I'm not kidding you, Malaysia people working style is really relaxed and slow and calm compared to SG.
- You single? attached? have family? You think you can or you know you can handle long distance relationship?

Harsh questions to answer:
- How long you been working already? Why is your salary 4.6k at 30 years old? What exactly is the problem? not taking initiative? not competitive enough? not qualified enough?
- The same problem you identify now, will it impact your salary growth in KL? will it impact in SG? Which do you think you have higher chance of moving up?
- Even if you take the offer in SG, next time you try to move to another job, people will see, 30 years old, taking almost fresh grad salary, something must be wrong, either i low ball this candidate like previous company, or i reject him
All these questions are not to discourage you, just wanna make sure you think thru properly first, if you confident life will change for the better then i say go ahead. Never too late. Also good if you single and have no loan / commitment to worry about. If you are open for SG, maybe you can open up a bit more to any other countries, might as well right? But if you still wanna come back Johor often, then can keep the choice to SG.
Thanks for the reply. Appreciate the feedback.

JustAskingOnly
post Mar 1 2022, 05:54 PM

401 posts

Sure can ahh? Heard need min sgd5k salary
abelyap
post Mar 1 2022, 06:39 PM

235 posts

SG for better immediate salary.
After you famous, then up to u to choose where to stay for long term. Cust look for u then.

But i did surprised with the salary. i thought lawyer good pay man. Maybe when u r the firm partner?
Eng_Tat
post Mar 1 2022, 06:57 PM

2,216 posts

i see all also salary high, me kuli 2k pay only at age 39 lol. i comehere when i am 36..

my roughly basic expenses= room 550 all in, food 5 per meal with own drink x3x30=450, transport 200, phone 30, the rest depends on you spend. if your salary 3.5k nett will save money faster la. anyone in sg near yishun wan lepak tcss can look for me. sienzz

This post has been edited by Eng_Tat: Mar 1 2022, 07:14 PM
Thebestscammer
post Mar 1 2022, 07:26 PM

311 posts

if you're living in johor isnt it already automatic that you should aim for SG instead of KL?
just commute to SG via johor and kick back on that 6krm (3.2kSGD) job or does it not work that way?
at least your 50 pages passport will see some use compared to everyone else that has a 50 page passport but only use 3 pages at most before need to renew lol
KuzumiTaiga
post Mar 1 2022, 07:44 PM

Spends too much time with mechanical keyboards
3,317 posts

Edited:

Since some of you replied asking for more details before giving advice, i thought I should supplement more info:

1. Single. No plan to start a family. In fact no plan to get into a relationship. Can foresee myself single till the day I die.

2. My previous jobs include lawyer and legal editor. Now working as a legal exec (in house).
Wait, so you are called to the bar here in Malaya?

You're okay with the idea of not practicing in sg?
Azzqech
post Mar 1 2022, 08:10 PM

530 posts

The minimum pay for Employment Pass is now SGD5000. Not sure as a lawyer whether you can go under S-Pass with SGD2500 min. If professionals can be put under S-Pass I don't see what is the point of putting a minimum salary for EP which can be easily sidestepped by employers.

Edit: According to SG Website S-Pass is for mid-level foreign employees (eg. technician) so I guess not.

This post has been edited by Azzqech: Mar 1 2022, 08:13 PM
Pakatan SinMa Plus
post Mar 1 2022, 09:47 PM

1,148 posts

QUOTE(Eng_Tat @ Mar 1 2022, 06:57 PM)
i see all also salary high, me kuli 2k pay only at age 39 lol. i comehere when i am 36..

my roughly basic expenses= room 550 all in, food 5 per meal with own drink x3x30=450, transport 200, phone 30, the rest depends on you spend. if your salary 3.5k nett will save money faster la. anyone in sg near yishun wan lepak tcss can look for me. sienzz
Not bad. Every month still can save around 770, can use to pay installment for housing loan at malaysia.
kenny B
post Mar 1 2022, 09:50 PM

846 posts

your choice smile.gif
most likely your friend problem kek.

ts just go here to know more about working life in sg
https://forum.lowyat.net/topic/4211035
Pakatan SinMa Plus
post Mar 1 2022, 09:52 PM

1,148 posts

QUOTE(weehournow @ Mar 1 2022, 04:54 PM)

2. Plan for now is work for long term. TBH cannot see a future in MY with weak currency. I do have a house mortgage and car loan but both are manageable right now as I spend very little and is very thrifty.

3 & 4. No kid. No plan to build family. Single till dead let nurse abuse at old folks home that kind.
With ur profile n thinking, Singapore is a more suitable place for u.

Can look for me if u need to find a room in the west area. All the best in ur job hunting. 👏👏
ericangtzeann
post Mar 1 2022, 10:11 PM

123 posts

your choice smile.gif
Ts come take this advice. If u can live with this, the answer is clear.

QUOTE(Icehart @ Mar 1 2022, 11:07 AM)
Confirm friend problem.
No offence. It means your singaporean frens aren't the performance driven type.
Icehart
post Mar 1 2022, 10:22 PM

14,901 posts

QUOTE(ericangtzeann @ Mar 1 2022, 10:11 PM)
No offence. It means your singaporean frens aren't the performance driven type.
Pretty clear they are high-performance people when they are Bank, MNC VPs or CEOs of their own company.
Problem I see many Malaysian is they feel entitled or they just sucks at making friends.

Of course not to say all Singaporean are angels. I personally met a few SOB chui Singaporeans but my experience with them has always been generally positive.
TSweehournow
post Mar 1 2022, 10:59 PM

44 posts

QUOTE(KuzumiTaiga @ Mar 1 2022, 07:44 PM)
Wait, so you are called to the bar here in Malaya?

You're okay with the idea of not practicing in sg?
Yea I was called to the bar in Malaysia. I know that I could never practise outside of West Malaysia so I am fine with that idea.
Cadence16
post Mar 1 2022, 11:04 PM

45 posts

As a Malaysian who has lived and worked In Singapore for many years I would say its not hard to integrate if you blend in. Singaporeans respect performance and ability. But it is a very materialistic society, not racist but people do respect money. Some look down on Malaysians and foreigners whom they think go there because they are financially desperate, or may resent those taking their jobs. But most will respect those who do well.
I would say though that 3.5K salary for a 30 year old isn't high considering the high cost of living. So you need to think whether it is worth it. For me it would be too low. You will have to lead a really simple life.
keelim
post Mar 1 2022, 11:13 PM

941 posts

Done deal. Singapore will be a paradise for you. Push yourself, have the grit, and network you will do just fine. If you ever regret on 3 & 4, then I will have to edit my feedback.
keelim
post Mar 1 2022, 11:18 PM

941 posts

A lot of thoughts went into these four questions. Worth highlighting again to TS. Take it as a 20 year forecast and actually mean it.
Pakatan SinMa Plus
post Mar 2 2022, 08:57 AM

1,148 posts

QUOTE(Cadence16 @ Mar 1 2022, 11:04 PM)
As a Malaysian who has lived and worked In Singapore for many years I would say its not hard to integrate  if you blend in. Singaporeans respect performance and ability. But it is a very materialistic society, not racist but people do respect money. Some look down on Malaysians and foreigners whom they think go there because they are financially  desperate,  or may resent those taking their jobs. But most will respect those who do well.
I would say though that 3.5K salary for a 30 year old isn't high considering the high cost of living. So you need to think whether it is worth it. For me it would be too low. You will have to lead a really simple life.
Yea, this is a truly materialistic society, where few will take a look at you if u are poor or with lower rank. Ppl generally look up to higher rank or the rich.

But I guess this is the case for most cities in the world, even in kl.
Pakatan SinMa Plus
post Mar 2 2022, 09:00 AM

1,148 posts

Lol on number 3 and 4. But don't worry, sgp gov has a good retirement plan for you after you have become the spr or sgp citizen.
hungrygodzilla
post Mar 2 2022, 09:38 AM

456 posts

Edited:

QUOTE(weehournow @ Mar 1 2022, 10:59 PM)
Yea I was called to the bar in Malaysia. I know that I could never practise outside of West Malaysia so I am fine with that idea.
Bro, what a waste men. If you working a normal job, then you can find way better income and prospect in SG. But if you are a lawyer, then you should go to KL. You must understand that you could much easier earn a good living in KL with a legal related job VS you in SG working normal. Yes, short term, with conversion, SG income higher, but i bet that is a higher chance that on long run you can earn more in MY. Not sure why you give up so easily.

I've not heard of shortage of legal position in SG la, unlike doctor and software engineer, and from my understand and limited friends working legal stuff, they worked like mad dog in legal industry, it is absolutely brutal and unhealthy.

TSweehournow
post Mar 2 2022, 11:31 AM

44 posts

QUOTE(hungrygodzilla @ Mar 2 2022, 09:38 AM)
Bro, what a waste men. If you working a normal job, then you can find way better income and prospect in SG. But if you are a lawyer, then you should go to KL. You must understand that you could much easier earn a good living in KL with a legal related job VS you in SG working normal. Yes, short term, with conversion, SG income higher, but i bet that is a higher chance that on long run you can earn more in MY. Not sure why you give up so easily.

I've not heard of shortage of legal position in SG la, unlike doctor and software engineer, and from my understand and limited friends working legal stuff, they worked like mad dog in legal industry, it is absolutely brutal and unhealthy.
Yea I do agree with you that it is kinda a waste to give up on my bar qualification. However I do realize that I am not well suited to continue to practise as a lawyer. I am not sure if you are aware that there is an exodus of young lawyers from the pracitising field, and I just happened to be one of them.

I still appreciate your feedback on this and to a certain extent I concur with your sentiment. That is why I am specifically looking for legal related work in my job hunt, so that I do not waste my degree and legal experience.
hungrygodzilla
post Mar 2 2022, 01:17 PM

456 posts

QUOTE(weehournow @ Mar 2 2022, 11:31 AM)
Yea I do agree with you that it is kinda a waste to give up on my bar qualification. However I do realize that I am not well suited to continue to practise as a lawyer. I am not sure if you are aware that there is an exodus of young lawyers from the pracitising field, and I just happened to be one of them.

I still appreciate your feedback on this and to a certain extent I concur with your sentiment. That is why I am specifically looking for legal related work in my job hunt, so that I do not waste my degree and legal experience.
if your decision is firm, just move ahead with it and dont look back. Tomorrow is always gonna be better.
farisq
post Mar 2 2022, 01:19 PM

535 posts

QUOTE(weehournow @ Mar 2 2022, 11:31 AM)

Yes there's no shortage of demand for legal related work. All company needs legal team. Maybe to also equip yourself with future demand like legal aspect related to cybersecurity space or distributed ledger tech
JustForFun
post Mar 2 2022, 02:09 PM

Seeker
1,281 posts

Just have a go and see if you like it there, what's the worst that could happen? You can use this as a stepping stone to getting a better paying job a year or two down the road so don't worry too much about the salary.

Go and experience the life there and see if you like it, even if you regret and end up coming back you are most likely in a better position financially.
Cadence16
post Mar 2 2022, 11:26 PM

45 posts

You are young enough to give this a try but not for too long. Why not try it out for 2 years? Singapore is a land of opportunity. It is just that the lifestyle and cost of living are quite different. I moved there in my teens, adapted easily. My friends and relatives who went there to work as adults, especially after 25, didn't find it as easy to adapt. I would try to get an offer with higher pay or nego for that if I were you. Will you be on Employment Pass or S pass?
TSweehournow
post Mar 3 2022, 09:46 AM

44 posts

QUOTE(Cadence16 @ Mar 2 2022, 11:26 PM)
You are young enough to give this a try but not for too long. Why not try it out for 2 years? Singapore is a land of opportunity.  It is just that the lifestyle and cost of living are quite different. I moved there in my teens, adapted easily. My friends and relatives who went there to work as adults, especially  after 25, didn't find it as easy to adapt. I would try to get an offer with higher pay or nego for that if I were you. Will you be on Employment Pass or S pass?
I asked my headhunter to nego for a higher pay. I will see if it is possible. However I do think I will most likely be under S pass as the salary threshold for EP is too high for the current job offer.
Cadence16
post Mar 3 2022, 11:20 PM

45 posts

QUOTE(weehournow @ Mar 3 2022, 09:46 AM)
I asked my headhunter to nego for a higher pay. I will see if it is possible. However I do think I will most likely be under S pass as the salary threshold for EP is too high for the current job offer.
All the best whatever you decide. I am.sure you have heard the work culture there is quite different. Not much of work life balance. So long as you are mentally prepared.
SUSceo684
post Mar 3 2022, 11:37 PM

Component Burner
11,667 posts

QUOTE(weehournow @ Mar 3 2022, 09:46 AM)
Get in SG first and have a feel for it. Contract manager, in-house legal, you don't need to be in court for those biggrin.gif

QUOTE(Cadence16 @ Mar 3 2022, 11:20 PM)
All the best whatever you decide. I am.sure you have heard the work culture there is quite different. Not much of work life balance.  So long as you are mentally  prepared.
There work is work, in a way they're more productive as less lepaking around.
SUSLaSat
post Mar 3 2022, 11:56 PM

SG if you can save SGD500 = RM1500 already saving, every month!
Malaysia, don't think you can save that amount with Bangla Low-salary benchmark here!

If, you opt for PR after 2-years, you definitely can get higher salary as Singaporean & have more saving upto SGD1000 = Rm3000 /per month!
I had seen my friends done that, usually the 1st 5-years need to struggle abit, after that almost like SGreans already!
If borders & the JB MRT start in 2-years time, can save even more staying in JB, buy any JB Semi-D & having a HDB not a problem!

This post has been edited by LaSat: Mar 4 2022, 12:01 AM
Cadence16
post Mar 4 2022, 02:04 PM

45 posts

Give it a go since you have this opportunity. Worst scenario, if you don't like it just come back
Redshelf411
post Mar 4 2022, 02:09 PM

818 posts

If you choose to stay = what will you get from Malaysia?
mushigen
post Mar 5 2022, 01:56 PM

4,954 posts

QUOTE(LaSat @ Mar 3 2022, 11:56 PM)
Malaysia, don't think you can save that amount with Bangla Low-salary benchmark here!

If, you opt for PR after 2-years, you definitely can get higher salary as Singaporean & have more saving upto SGD1000 = Rm3000 /per month!
I had seen my friends done that, usually the 1st 5-years need to struggle abit, after that almost like SGreans already!
If borders & the JB MRT start in 2-years time, can save even more staying in JB, buy any JB Semi-D & having a HDB not a problem!
The last I checked, you cannot have any property overseas if you intend to buy hdb flat.
Cadence16
post Mar 5 2022, 02:22 PM

45 posts

QUOTE(mushigen @ Mar 5 2022, 01:56 PM)
The last I checked, you cannot have any property overseas if you intend to buy hdb flat.
You are right. Anyway you can only buy hdb if you are a citizen or PR. PRs can't buy brand new, can only buy Resale unless married to a citizen and buying together.
mushigen
post Mar 5 2022, 03:03 PM

4,954 posts

QUOTE(Cadence16 @ Mar 5 2022, 02:22 PM)
You are right. Anyway you can only buy hdb if you are a citizen or PR. PRs can't buy brand new, can only buy Resale unless married to a citizen and buying together.
I am aware of this. And even for resale flat, PR alone cannot buy, must at least marry another PR.
heavensea
post Mar 5 2022, 04:14 PM

9,616 posts

Earn sgd first, talk later.
You'll regret if didn't do it ASAP...
Gold_Moderator
post Mar 5 2022, 04:22 PM

3,139 posts

i from 84000 also. you still young , better try your luck in singapore, US , australia. sure u won’t regret. but remember one thing, singapore life very fast. even their escalator also fast than malaysia. if i were you, i will go. just don’t spend so much in geylang.
Gold_Moderator
post Mar 5 2022, 04:24 PM

3,139 posts

QUOTE(Redshelf411 @ Mar 4 2022, 02:09 PM)
easy life. and boring.
Cadence16
post Mar 6 2022, 11:33 AM

45 posts

Good for retirees
Jiaaah
post Apr 27 2022, 07:16 PM

Edited:

Reviving the thread to check in with on your decision.

Sidetrack, With the new immigration framework, I heard it's much harder for non-tech people to move to Sg. Do you have any insights on this?
simonhtz
post Apr 29 2022, 02:37 PM

312 posts

Short answer: SG. Long answer: Singapore

Give it a shot of a year or 2. If it doesn’t work out, come back.
Bossku_Johor
post Apr 29 2022, 02:46 PM

146 posts

Welcome to Singapore...

Try first...if u like u stay...don like go back....but try first....3.2 is just beginner...u can start looking for other opportunities once in

but work culture not the same...here ppl more kiasu one....if hati tissue better don't....need to have thick skin a bit....

This post has been edited by Bossku_Johor: Apr 29 2022, 02:50 PM
Man of Tomorrow P
post May 18 2022, 01:16 AM

Probation

I'm still studying and I currently have a diploma in mechanical engineering. I have a plan to work at SG for 3 months during my sem break as a technician. Is it a good idea ? . Your thoughts?
Xccess
post May 18 2022, 02:19 AM

Twinkle lil Stars
2,772 posts

Legal editor? Mind elaborate more on your jobscope? In SG, most submission are done via E-litigation, online filing be it Divorce, Power of Attorney, Letter of Administration/Grant of Probate etc etc. Just be mentally ready to pick up new stuff.

This post has been edited by Xccess: May 18 2022, 02:21 AM
smon80
post May 18 2022, 06:04 AM

100 posts

Go any enjoy and learn something there. Get some money maybe you can retired from your job do some small business back here later.
Just enjoy a diff lifestyle there, here unless you are getting over 10k paid or business here or less, working about same, only money diff.

Pakatan SinMa Plus
post May 18 2022, 08:42 AM

1,148 posts

QUOTE(mushigen @ Mar 5 2022, 01:56 PM)
QUOTE(Cadence16 @ Mar 5 2022, 02:22 PM)
QUOTE(mushigen @ Mar 5 2022, 03:03 PM)
I am aware of this. And even for resale flat, PR alone cannot buy, must at least marry another PR.
All the above are correct. Hdb is a public housing, there are many rules to follow in order to buy a hdb, such as A hdb owner could not own a foreign property, only married min 3 year sgp pr can own a hdb., and one should fulfill some other quota requirement before he/she can purchase a hdb.

There are many other rules to follow before or after one purchases a hdb too. 😂

ja836kyau
post May 18 2022, 09:05 AM

27 posts

This topic had been discussed since S$1 = RM2.5.

First mover already profit gao gao rclxm9.gif rclxm9.gif rclxm9.gif
TiramisuCoffee
post May 18 2022, 10:18 AM

1,256 posts

Since u hv no commitments no harm give it a try. Can always come back …

Good luck!
SUSDaprind
post May 18 2022, 11:18 AM

144 posts

honestly speaking, at the age of 30 to get monthly pay SGD 3.5K is quite low. I can barely survive with SGD2.7K in the past 10 years ago. But nevertheless, Good luck TS.
Docile
post May 18 2022, 11:27 AM

Naked Sleeper
404 posts

Haters will tell u 3.2k in singapore is a fresh grads pay blabla
Don't listen, go ahead
Its never too late

TSweehournow
post Jun 15 2022, 04:17 PM

44 posts

Update: I got an offer and decided to go to Singapore. Will be there in August 2022.
rexus
post Jun 15 2022, 04:52 PM

Bruh
615 posts

QUOTE(weehournow @ Jun 15 2022, 04:17 PM)
Update: I got an offer and decided to go to Singapore. Will be there in August 2022.
As a legal counsel as well?
cocobunana
post Jun 15 2022, 06:22 PM

77 posts

QUOTE(CoolStoryWriter @ Mar 1 2022, 02:47 PM)

i wouldn't encourage someone to start a family if they will be in financial difficulties, and unable to provide a comfortable living for both the parent and children

then again, i know people who earn rm1.5k who has 2 mouth to feed

but, regardless of how much you earn, shouldn't household income be taken into consideration if mau start family?

QUOTE(Thebestscammer @ Mar 1 2022, 07:26 PM)
if you're living in johor isnt it already automatic that you should aim for SG instead of KL?
just commute to SG via johor and kick back on that 6krm (3.2kSGD) job or does it not work that way?
at least your 50 pages passport will see some use compared to everyone else that has a 50 page passport but only use 3 pages at most before need to renew lol
6krm? or you mean 10krm?
Mr.Robert
post Jun 15 2022, 06:47 PM

293 posts

QUOTE(cocobunana @ Jun 15 2022, 06:22 PM)
i wouldn't encourage someone to start a family if they will be in financial difficulties, and unable to provide a comfortable living for both the parent and children

then again, i know people who earn rm1.5k who has 2 mouth to feed

but, regardless of how much you earn, shouldn't household income be taken into consideration if mau start family?
6krm? or you mean 10krm?
I disagree with ur statement.

Your grandpa can raise up 10 children with few dollars income.

Just because today's life is more competitive and monetization, it should not stop human from procreate, regardless of ur income.

TSweehournow
post Jun 15 2022, 07:26 PM

44 posts

QUOTE(rexus @ Jun 15 2022, 04:52 PM)
As a legal counsel as well?
Yes
MGM
post Jun 15 2022, 07:33 PM

18,470 posts

QUOTE(LaSat @ Mar 3 2022, 11:56 PM)

When the RTS is ready in 2026, 3.5years later, more will go Spore. Can always buy jb property joint name with siblings or parents if want to get a hdb. Money in cpf will worth more when retire in 20+ years, probably 1SGD=5MYR. By then u could be a multi millionaires (MYR)
Few hitech industries that have good futures r biomed, pharmaceutical, semi-con.

This post has been edited by MGM: Jun 15 2022, 07:43 PM
Koranshita
post Jun 15 2022, 07:47 PM

435 posts

Edited:

Update [15/06/2022]

Finally received an offer after months of job applications. Just to update anyone who read this topic. Thanks.
base on point 1: just do it!
SUSceo684
post Jun 16 2022, 08:30 AM

Component Burner
11,667 posts

QUOTE(Redshelf411 @ Mar 4 2022, 02:09 PM)
C-level taxes, failed public transport, hours of life wasted in jam~

Idk.. what is so great about Msia now (in current context) that things have gotten expensive due to inflation?
is it because of comfort zone?

Update [15/06/2022]

Congrats, hope your EP approval goes well. Can start room hunting liao.

This post has been edited by ceo684: Jun 16 2022, 08:33 AM
whydoikeep doingthis
post Jun 16 2022, 08:52 AM

40 posts

QUOTE(Mr.Robert @ Jun 15 2022, 06:47 PM)

Just because today's life is more competitive and monetization, it should not stop human from procreate, regardless of ur income.
Exhibit A : Numbnut

Grandpa.....10 kids.....few dollars.....

bruh....you still in the 1960s?
adam71
post Jun 16 2022, 09:03 AM

88 posts

Edited:

Update [15/06/2022]

How did you get the job? Jobstreet ? JobsDB?
TSweehournow
post Jun 16 2022, 09:09 AM

44 posts

QUOTE(adam71 @ Jun 16 2022, 09:03 AM)
How did you get the job?  Jobstreet ? JobsDB?
Jobstreet
TryingToSurvive
post Jun 16 2022, 09:33 AM

330 posts

QUOTE(weehournow @ Jun 16 2022, 09:09 AM)
Jobstreet
Some tips to start up,

1. I use this app called citymapper which shows the multiple routes using train and bus to get you from point A to point B.
The arrival timing of the bus and train is accurate to the minute so it should be a very good indicator on how long it will take you to travel from your house to your work place.

2. When renting room, there is alot of scams happening to ask you to pay deposit before viewing. But what I did recently was to enquire, viewing through online video call, see the owner and/or agent face to vet them, request for house ownership document to confirm that they are the house owners then only put deposit.

If you do all the foot work to find the house through ads on propertyguru and etc, then you should not have to pay agent fee. If you hire an agent to find you a house then you will need to discuss agent fee.

Deposit is normally 1 -2 months for a year tenancy
Single room rentals starts out at 500 for a decent HDB 800 for condo.

TSweehournow
post Jun 16 2022, 10:37 AM

44 posts

QUOTE(TryingToSurvive @ Jun 16 2022, 09:33 AM)
Some tips to start up,

1. I use this app called citymapper which shows the multiple routes using train and bus to get you from point A to point B.
The arrival timing of the bus and train is accurate to the minute so it should be a very good indicator on how long it will take you to travel from your house to your work place.

2. When renting room, there is alot of scams happening to ask you to pay deposit before viewing. But what I did recently was to enquire, viewing through online video call, see the owner and/or agent face to vet them, request for house ownership document to confirm that they are the house owners then only put deposit.

If you do all the foot work to find the house through ads on propertyguru and etc, then you should not have to pay agent fee. If you hire an agent to find you a house then you will need to discuss agent fee.

Deposit is normally 1 -2 months for a year tenancy
Single room rentals starts out at 500 for a decent HDB 800 for condo.
Damn thanks for such detailed explanation.

However I started surveying for common room yesterday around circle line MRT and Holand Village area. All rentals are around 900 though.
ahjummma
post Jun 16 2022, 10:58 AM

115 posts

QUOTE(weehournow @ Jun 15 2022, 07:26 PM)
Yes
Is the pay higher than SGD3.5K? I was offered SGD5K before the pandemic hit us and kinda regret a little whenever I think back about it.
I can't even save much with my current pay so I decided to stay in Msia as I can still drive around and live quite comfortably here.

This post has been edited by ahjummma: Jun 16 2022, 10:58 AM
TSweehournow
post Jun 16 2022, 11:22 AM

44 posts

QUOTE(ahjummma @ Jun 16 2022, 10:58 AM)
Is the pay higher than SGD3.5K? I was offered SGD5K before the pandemic hit us and kinda regret a little whenever I think back about it.
I can't even save much with my current pay so I decided to stay in Msia as I can still drive around and live quite comfortably here.
I was offered 4.5k. I think without car loan I could live with that pay. I do not like to go out much anyway (otaku) so the thought of not having a private car does not affect me much.

Anyway my main motivation to move there is that my condo is gonna be completed in 2 years time and I doubt with my current salry including increment I could afford the mortgage without burning a hole in my wallet. So I took a chance at the currency rate and decided to move there. Ultimate goal is to earn SGD and invest real estate in MYR.

Whether to convert citizenship or not, current plan is not to but if it affects the career advancement then might reconsider the decision.

This post has been edited by weehournow: Jun 16 2022, 11:23 AM
mushigen
post Jun 16 2022, 11:31 AM

4,954 posts

QUOTE(Mr.Robert @ Jun 15 2022, 06:47 PM)

Comparing grandpa's era with current era?

Do you want to repeat what grandpas did back then and let the children suffer financially or stop schooling after SPM?
pjbucket
post Jun 16 2022, 12:36 PM

QUOTE(weehournow @ Jun 16 2022, 11:22 AM)
I was offered 4.5k. I think without car loan I could live with that pay. I do not like to go out much anyway (otaku) so the thought of not having a private car does not affect me much.

Anyway my main motivation to move there is that my condo is gonna be completed in 2 years time and I doubt with my current salry including increment I could afford the mortgage without burning a hole in my wallet. So I took a chance at the currency rate and decided to move there. Ultimate goal is to earn SGD and invest real estate in MYR.

Whether to convert citizenship or not, current plan is not to but if it affects the career advancement then might reconsider the decision.
Aiya 4.5k then house loan sap sap sui oledi!

Wana save on rent then don’t la go find place like holl V.
Stay further out from city centre up north ke or west ke
Nearer to mrt sure expensive one
U find a few stops away from mrt la then take shuttle bus. Can save some money. It’s either convenience or money lo
Pakatan SinMa Plus
post Jun 16 2022, 01:22 PM

1,148 posts

4.5k is quite a good offer as a start here in singapore. Usually people will not consider about the citizenship conversion so soon. you will have to come and stay for a few years first, and then apply for the SPR. After that, If you like the life in singapore, and would like to build your family here/stay here for long term , then you can apply for the citizenship.

By the way, earning SGD and investing real estate in MYR is not very difficult, the more difficult thing is managing your properties in malaysia after the purchase.
ahjummma
post Jun 16 2022, 01:27 PM

115 posts

All the best bro.
SUSipohps3
post Jun 16 2022, 01:31 PM

1,974 posts

only consider to change your citizenship to Singaporean IF you have your own family and kids growing up in SG with you.
Pakatan SinMa Plus
post Jun 16 2022, 02:27 PM

1,148 posts

QUOTE(ipohps3 @ Jun 16 2022, 01:31 PM)
only consider to change your citizenship to Singaporean IF you have your own family and kids growing up in SG with you.
although most who converted are those with family and kids staying in singapore, i observe that nowadays there are also quite a number of singles who are converting to sgp citizenship. probably they like the life here in singapore, and would like to retire here.
SUSguest16888
post Jun 17 2022, 01:58 PM

135 posts

Edited:

Update [15/06/2022]

No right no wrong.
Follow heart , be happy.

Your move does not make you a millionaire ...its fated .
beebo101
post Jun 27 2022, 05:51 PM

77 posts

Dear all sifus,

tumpang question ya. If one age btw 35-39 with a year of working experience in spore with Doctorate degree. Is it possible to get PR approved ?
SUSCoolStoryWriter
post Jun 27 2022, 07:17 PM

241 posts

QUOTE(Pakatan SinMa Plus @ Jun 16 2022, 01:22 PM)
4.5k is quite a good offer as a start here in singapore. Usually people will not consider about the citizenship conversion so soon. you will have to come and stay for a few years first, and then apply for the SPR. After that, If you like the life in singapore, and would like to build your family here/stay here for long term , then you can apply for the citizenship.

By the way, earning SGD and investing real estate in MYR is not very difficult, the more difficult thing is managing your properties in malaysia after the purchase.
Hi any tips in managing property in KL while working in SG? I am in this dilemma at the moment.
SUSRolexseller123
post Jun 27 2022, 10:45 PM

227 posts

QUOTE(beebo101 @ Jun 27 2022, 05:51 PM)
Dear all sifus,

tumpang question ya. If one age btw 35-39 with a year of working experience in spore with Doctorate degree. Is it possible to get PR approved ?
Yes but why the rush?
Wait and work for another 2 years confirm get PR.
Plus if you Malaysian chinese and no bad record 99% will get.
SUSRolexseller123
post Jun 27 2022, 10:54 PM

227 posts

QUOTE(ceo684 @ Jun 16 2022, 08:30 AM)
C-level taxes, failed public transport, hours of life wasted in jam~

Idk.. what is so great about Msia now (in current context) that things have gotten expensive due to inflation?
That's not excatly fair la.
Sure Malaysia has its bad points but so is Singapore la.
Speaking about cost of living and inflation, Singapore GST is confirmed to go up to 9% in 2024 (8% in 1Jan 2023). Prices of goods and services are going to hike exponentially.
And guess what? Despite recession, interest rate hike, etc property prices and rentals going up like crazy.
Meanwhile salary except for a few sector like Technology and IT is generally flat.
Don't Troll me!
post Jun 28 2022, 12:57 AM

201 posts

your choice smile.gif
Update: my friend recently back to Malaysia and he brought back around RM600k in saving after worked at spore for 7-8 years. He plan to retired for a year but recently one local company offered him RM18k lol.. no rest day for him haha

zephyrus9999
post Jun 28 2022, 01:11 AM

649 posts

may i add on the integrating part. i can safely put a 80% figure of msian working in sg bring across the typical msian characteristics which is shunned upon and many instances msian themselves dont realize, lets make it short in point form:

- Trashing sg food on a daily basis
- huge tendency to convert office spaces into mini chinatown speaking ching chong,
- broken & poor command of english
- weird chinese accent (Being a neutral listener as a semi banana myself, i do distinguish the 'kampong' 'canto' style of msian's mandarin
- converting sgd/myr mindset in every transaction = cheapskate calculative
- huge tendency to backstab/being gossipy in workplace (Mind you this trait is common across every individual, just that msian are more fond of it)
- lower social standing / usually work eat sleep hiking save money boring routine and lifestyle

In msia we segregate btwn Eng & chinese educated. By and large in comparison, everyone in sg is what we perceive as 'Eng' educated, and most msian working in sg are chinese ed. Seen plenty alr, like chances how the fug an eastern coast kampong guy from Kelantan can integrate easily with a pure english speaking city-dweller, indulging the same life upbringing. Hence, those who harp on msian & sg having similar culture is actually a fallacy. And all these top off with xenophobia of locals against 3rd world foreigners (Malaysia is a third world country if you have not realized) snatching their PMET job (Thanks to the open leg policy of PAP gahmen).

Locals against msian in a subtle way has never been a new thing. Though we may never be able to 100% integrate, but its how much the extent that we can from 0-100%. Those from KL at least by far has more in common than those typical ones from JB, etc. Hypothetically ask urself, if ur workplace is invaded by Indo chinese who chances bear 50 50% loyalty to the country, do u still find the need to have the decency to treat them? Simply its no, cos u dont owe these transient beings anything.
burn22
post Jun 28 2022, 02:28 AM

398 posts

just go!!
take the challenges!!
maybe ur luck is better there...

maidenless
post Jun 28 2022, 07:01 AM

89 posts

QUOTE(zephyrus9999 @ Jun 28 2022, 01:11 AM)
may i add on the integrating part. i can safely put a 80% figure of msian working in sg bring across the typical msian characteristics which is shunned upon and many instances msian themselves dont realize, lets make it short in point form:

- huge tendency to convert office spaces into mini chinatown speaking ching chong,
- weird chinese accent (Being a neutral listener as a semi banana myself, i do distinguish the 'kampong' 'canto' style of msian's mandarin
- huge tendency to backstab/being gossipy in workplace (Mind you this trait is common across every individual, just that msian are more fond of it)
- lower social standing / usually work eat sleep hiking save money boring routine and lifestyle

In msia we segregate btwn Eng & chinese educated. By and large in comparison, everyone in sg is what we perceive as 'Eng' educated, and most msian working in sg are chinese ed. Seen plenty alr, like chances how the fug an eastern coast kampong guy from Kelantan can integrate easily with a pure english speaking city-dweller, indulging the same life upbringing. Hence, those who harp on msian & sg having similar culture is actually a fallacy. And all these top off with xenophobia of locals against 3rd world foreigners (Malaysia is a third world country if you have not realized) snatching their PMET job (Thanks to the open leg policy of PAP gahmen).

Locals against msian in a subtle way has never been a new thing. Though we may never be able to 100% integrate, but its how much the extent that we can from 0-100%. Those from KL at least by far has more in common than those typical ones from JB, etc. Hypothetically ask urself, if ur workplace is invaded by Indo chinese who chances bear 50 50% loyalty to the country, do u still find the need to have the decency to treat them? Simply its no, cos u dont owe these transient beings anything.
If you’re from KL and often converse in English, 9/10 Singaporeans can’t tell the difference between a local and Malaysian

This is even more true if you’re a Malaysian Chinese who claimed to be a non mandarin/hokkien speaker [banana] and studied abroad [say LSE for example]

Malaysians [regardless of race] are the easiest expat to integrate to Singapore by virtue of our common communal ties, values and looks and appearance
malleus
post Jun 28 2022, 08:12 AM

2,096 posts

QUOTE(maidenless @ Jun 28 2022, 07:01 AM)
If you’re from KL and often converse in English, 9/10 Singaporeans can’t tell the difference between a local and Malaysian

This is even more true if you’re a Malaysian Chinese who claimed to be a non mandarin/hokkien speaker [banana] and studied abroad [say LSE for example]

Malaysians [regardless of race] are the easiest expat to integrate to Singapore by virtue of our common communal ties, values and looks and appearance
if you can speak hokkien, they will even more WOW at you. speak hokkien to the hawker store aunties and you might get special treatment too

malleus
post Jun 28 2022, 08:16 AM

2,096 posts

QUOTE(CoolStoryWriter @ Jun 27 2022, 07:17 PM)
Hi any tips in managing property in KL while working in SG? I am in this dilemma at the moment.
house in Shah Alam has been vacant since we moved. But have a friend staying there at times (she alternates between her hometown and KL depending on what work she does) to help take care of the place for us.

only managed to make a trip back after 2.5 years recently, and started clearing up our things for disposal, with the plans to eventually sell it off. We're lucky somewhat, as we only moved in for about a year+ before moving, so not too much stuff accumulated yet.

SUSNew Klang
post Jun 28 2022, 08:31 AM

4,998 posts

Sounds like you are butthurt and feel embarrassed that Malaysians behave like Malaysians
SUSRolexseller123
post Jun 28 2022, 08:49 AM

227 posts

Let's be honest here. Isn't this the excat same complains by the malays in malaysia against malaysian chinese ? So i am not sure what you are trying to insinuate here? Are you closet sinkie trying to take a veiled jab at malaysian chinese?

This post has been edited by Rolexseller123: Jun 28 2022, 08:51 AM
SUSRolexseller123
post Jun 28 2022, 08:54 AM

227 posts

QUOTE(New Klang @ Jun 28 2022, 08:31 AM)
Sounds like you are butthurt and feel embarrassed that Malaysians behave like Malaysians
He probably read too much comments on edmw.
Just know that edmw opinion does not represent the opinion of majority of singaporean. Edmw is a forum for degenerate, borderline mental illness, bbfa and loser bottom feeding 20% of singaporeans to vent frustration. Its kinda like reading comments on some ketuanan forums and think it applies in general. Their comments are quite frankly laughable at best.

This post has been edited by Rolexseller123: Jun 28 2022, 08:55 AM
anakkk
post Jun 28 2022, 09:05 AM

2,119 posts

all the best to you
Pewufod
post Jun 28 2022, 09:07 AM

1,537 posts

Wishing you all the best TS !
SUSNew Klang
post Jun 28 2022, 09:15 AM

4,998 posts

QUOTE(Rolexseller123 @ Jun 28 2022, 08:54 AM)
He probably read too much comments on edmw.
Just know that edmw opinion does not represent the opinion of majority of singaporean. Edmw is a forum for degenerate, borderline mental illness, bbfa and loser bottom feeding 20% of singaporeans to vent frustration. Its kinda like reading comments on some ketuanan forums and think it applies in general. Their comments are quite frankly laughable at best.
A reason why poorer Malaysians can get jobs that Singaporeans won't do.

cloudwan0
post Jun 28 2022, 09:24 AM

236 posts

i work in IT, move to SG 6 years ago, i was mid 30 during that time
i moving my whole family (wife and 2 kids) together.
took me sometime to settle down.
beebo101
post Jun 28 2022, 04:44 PM

77 posts

QUOTE(Rolexseller123 @ Jun 27 2022, 10:45 PM)
Yes but why the rush?
Wait and work for another 2 years confirm get PR.
Plus if you Malaysian chinese and no bad record 99% will get.
Is there an age concern to get Singapore PR approvale.g chances for approval is higher for age 39 and below and when hitting 40 approval rate will be lower ?
SUSRolexseller123
post Jun 28 2022, 05:52 PM

227 posts

QUOTE(beebo101 @ Jun 28 2022, 04:44 PM)
Is there an age concern to get Singapore PR approvale.g chances for approval is higher for age 39 and below and when hitting 40 approval rate will be lower ?
Nobody knows as the criterias are not made publicy known.
However based on hearsay, if you are in a white collared job with a degree, relevant work experience and decent pay i.e. on an EP, it would be favourable.
Pakatan SinMa Plus
post Jul 1 2022, 10:57 AM

1,148 posts

QUOTE(CoolStoryWriter @ Jun 27 2022, 07:17 PM)
Is your property currently rented out?

If you do not have any family or friend who could help u to manage, you may need to engage property management agents to help u.

I think it is better to have your property tenanted (rent out or family/friend staying) than leaving it empty.

Pakatan SinMa Plus
post Jul 1 2022, 10:59 AM

1,148 posts

QUOTE(beebo101 @ Jun 28 2022, 04:44 PM)
I do not know. But I see successful PR applicants at the age 40+, probably because they are highly paid in their jobs.
TSweehournow
post Jul 4 2022, 10:58 AM

44 posts

Just to share my two cents after staying in Kulai (not far from JB) and experienced about how JB locals act in daily lives.

Firstly I do agree that Singaporeans actually act similarly to how KL folks act, especially those that speak English. I had a colleague from JB who worked in Singapore last time and he said he went to KL once and saw a group of friends talking in English. He thought they were Singaporeans visitng KL but then realized they are actually local. So that's proof no. 1. I also travelled to Singapore for a camping event with locals there in 2019 (pre-covid) and I do not feel much difference in behaviour and communication styles between Malaysians and Singaporeans, except for some terminology they used which is not common among Malaysians.

Also, I heard from my JB colleagues that apparently there are a lot of high school dropouts in JB community so their education level is lower. More surpirsed that when I started working in Kulai with most colleagues from JB, the English level here is so low that a Chinese ed people like me is considered very good in English. I even had a colleague avoid talking to my banana colleague and instead spoke to two other persons for clarification in a matter, when in that that matter PIC is my banana colleague. Imagine my shock.

Anyway this is not to discredit all Johoreans or JB people. Just my humble observation.

This post has been edited by weehournow: Jul 4 2022, 10:59 AM
TSweehournow
post Jul 4 2022, 11:05 AM

44 posts

https://pictr.com/image/BRp8Tx

Anyway just thought it would be fun and insightful (?) to share how many applications I submitted before landing an offer. 99% of those applications are Singapore jobs, and that excludes my application on LinkedIn.
SUSsinkiebaharu
post Sep 25 2022, 06:18 PM

74 posts

Who are these people recommending SG? In SG your offer is only 3.6k, in KL is 5k plus. Why would you go to SG? At your pay, you would never own a house, never own a car and you probably won't get PR for a long time, if at all. If you go KL at least you can build a career there and own a house.

With your pay, you'll be renting a room only, a room in SG even a HDB costs 1k or more in 2022. You'll be eating hawker food, taking public transport and little money for entertainment.

Lots of people want to complain cost of living is high in Malaysia, but then they buy a fancy car, rent a fancy room or whole apartment, and eat in fancy restaurants. If you live the same life you would live in SG, then you wouldn't need to complain about cost of living. You would be able to save up just fine.

This post has been edited by sinkiebaharu: Sep 25 2022, 06:43 PM
Mr.Robert
post Sep 25 2022, 06:40 PM

293 posts

QUOTE(sinkiebaharu @ Sep 25 2022, 06:18 PM)
Who are these people recommending SG? In SG your offer is only 3.6k, in KL is 5k plus. Why would you go to SG? At your pay, you would never own a house, never own a car and you probably won't get PR for a long time, if at all. If you go KL at least you can build a career there and own a house.
Wow unker so bad, try to dampen ts spirit.

Don't be disheartened ts,

Limpeh sarkpot u
Where there's a will, there's a way.
Mr.Robert
post Sep 25 2022, 06:46 PM

293 posts

If limpeh listened to limpeh and Kopitiam advice, limpeh won't be here today.

And tasted many flavors.

Am I rite? CoolStoryWriter
Sometimes u need go out of your comfort zone to grow up
SUSsinkiebaharu
post Sep 25 2022, 06:46 PM

74 posts

QUOTE(Mr.Robert @ Sep 25 2022, 06:40 PM)
Wow unker so bad, try to dampen ts spirit.

Don't be disheartened ts,

Limpeh sarkpot u
Where there's a will, there's a way.
Lol is not about dampen his spirit. Is just giving him proper advise. I'm just helping put proper perspective to have a better path in life.
SUSsinkiebaharu
post Sep 25 2022, 06:47 PM

74 posts

QUOTE(Mr.Robert @ Sep 25 2022, 06:46 PM)

And tasted many flavors.

Which advise? Do share.

And how are you doing now in SG? What have you made for yourself there? Do share.

I reread again and TS is 30 which is probably not too late to start afresh. I guess he need to suffer a few years and push a bit before can get a decent pay. Maybe about 40 got chance to be comfy and own a resale HDB. Still I think KL would have overall better chance of doing well.

This post has been edited by sinkiebaharu: Sep 25 2022, 06:54 PM
TSweehournow
post Sep 28 2022, 03:51 PM

44 posts

QUOTE(Mr.Robert @ Sep 25 2022, 06:46 PM)

And tasted many flavors.

Nvm I'm already in SG. Currently under EP and so far so good. Enjoying low dollar-to-dollar food and entertainment. Accommodation is slightly higher but manageable.
kembayang
post Sep 30 2022, 05:19 PM

1,441 posts

QUOTE(weehournow @ Sep 28 2022, 03:51 PM)
Nvm I'm already in SG. Currently under EP and so far so good. Enjoying low dollar-to-dollar food and entertainment. Accommodation is slightly higher but manageable.
Great.
What kind of room you rent? How much? Location?
TSweehournow
post Oct 5 2022, 04:49 PM

44 posts

QUOTE(kembayang @ Sep 30 2022, 05:19 PM)
Great.
What kind of room you rent? How much? Location?
Common room non sharing. 750 at old airport
kembayang
post Oct 5 2022, 05:24 PM

1,441 posts

QUOTE(weehournow @ Oct 5 2022, 04:49 PM)
Common room non sharing. 750 at old airport
Great to hear that.
All the best on your career.

0.0769sec    1.54    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 19th December 2025 - 03:18 PM