Moving to Singapore after 30, Too late or never too late
zephyrus9999
Mar 1 2022, 01:01 PM
QUOTE(waxppl @ Mar 1 2022, 12:38 PM) yep... sinkies i know only discriminate ceca or some ah tiong, they dont normally discriminate malaysian  Pls lah u think they will tell u this in front of ur face? It’s all subtle and wayang show. For sure below are their stereotypes on msian: stealing jobs, depressing salaries, weird Chinese kampung accent, horrible English, tendencies to backstab gossiping in office, transform office space to Chinatown speaking mandarin all the way, doing non-prestigious 3D jobs (hairstylist hawkers cleaners drivers u name it) The hate towards ceca is worse off, as they access to professional jobs that some sinkie can ever dream of
zephyrus9999
Jun 28 2022, 01:11 AM
may i add on the integrating part. i can safely put a 80% figure of msian working in sg bring across the typical msian characteristics which is shunned upon and many instances msian themselves dont realize, lets make it short in point form:
- Trashing sg food on a daily basis - huge tendency to convert office spaces into mini chinatown speaking ching chong, - broken & poor command of english - weird chinese accent (Being a neutral listener as a semi banana myself, i do distinguish the 'kampong' 'canto' style of msian's mandarin - converting sgd/myr mindset in every transaction = cheapskate calculative - huge tendency to backstab/being gossipy in workplace (Mind you this trait is common across every individual, just that msian are more fond of it) - lower social standing / usually work eat sleep hiking save money boring routine and lifestyle
In msia we segregate btwn Eng & chinese educated. By and large in comparison, everyone in sg is what we perceive as 'Eng' educated, and most msian working in sg are chinese ed. Seen plenty alr, like chances how the fug an eastern coast kampong guy from Kelantan can integrate easily with a pure english speaking city-dweller, indulging the same life upbringing. Hence, those who harp on msian & sg having similar culture is actually a fallacy. And all these top off with xenophobia of locals against 3rd world foreigners (Malaysia is a third world country if you have not realized) snatching their PMET job (Thanks to the open leg policy of PAP gahmen).
Locals against msian in a subtle way has never been a new thing. Though we may never be able to 100% integrate, but its how much the extent that we can from 0-100%. Those from KL at least by far has more in common than those typical ones from JB, etc. Hypothetically ask urself, if ur workplace is invaded by Indo chinese who chances bear 50 50% loyalty to the country, do u still find the need to have the decency to treat them? Simply its no, cos u dont owe these transient beings anything.