Volvo v60
W212 E300 Bluetec owners come in
Jan 29 2022, 03:32 PM
3,772 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
Volvo v60
Jan 29 2022, 03:33 PM
Show posts by this member only | IPv6 | Post
1,010 posts Joined: Apr 2005 |
QUOTE(((Xa))0102 @ Jan 29 2022, 02:45 PM) W211 facelift no SBC liao, final edition E230 and E280 are very nice to own 211 fl ada abr, but the dreaded camshaft gear issue still there.I hate him, so whatever opinion he has is invalid. E300 pre facelift or the diesel one? 230 and 280 i believe u meant the m272 v6? Ecu kong and the 722.9 tcu also kong. 😂😂 |
Jan 29 2022, 03:40 PM
2,093 posts Joined: Apr 2005 |
QUOTE(diffyhelman2 @ Jan 29 2022, 03:22 PM) But that’s the way most all racing cars and rwd are set up. Bmw inline 6 and even Honda s2000 also mounted like that. And weight distribution shifts to the back under acceleration anyway. Audi engine layout is ahead of the the front axleS2000 and BMW 6s are effectively front mid engine because the engines are behind or on top of the front axle. If Audi and BMW layout the same why Audi no claim 50/50 weight distribution like bmw? Audi nose heavy engine layout is under steer city all day unless you jam brake, then car can snap from under steer to oversteer. Haha |
Jan 29 2022, 03:46 PM
224 posts Joined: Nov 2014 From: Hell |
QUOTE(((Xa))0102 @ Jan 29 2022, 02:45 PM) W211 facelift no SBC liao, final edition E230 and E280 are very nice to own 2011 pre facelift. i forgot to mention the rooftop is leaking. when its raining, water leaks to the inside.I hate him, so whatever opinion he has is invalid. E300 pre facelift or the diesel one? be mind, this is my father's second conti liao. |
Jan 29 2022, 04:42 PM
4 posts Joined: Oct 2019 |
Big no to MB hybrids. Battery replacement issue, have to get extended warranty. Has poor resale value, worse if no extended warranty Battery weight = extra wear and tear on suspension, harder on tyres. A lot of electronics = a lot of expensive things that can go wrong in a hot and humid country, especially with batteries that need cooling. Heat and humidity will mess up a lot of other stuff, like air suspension and anything w rubber seals and gaskets. Conti cars in general, hybrid and non-hybrid, over 6 years old are a ticking time bomb. Engine/gearbox overhaul, AC system, suspension bushes, struts and steering rack, engine cooling pump, rad and hoses, all sorts of electronic control units and modules, start-stop small battery, and the dreaded sticky plastic door handle curse. If you can afford, buy a newer petrol conti, with plenty warranty left - downsize if you have to, a 3er or C with a smaller petrol engine. Otherwise go get a Japanese car. Of course, if you can throw money at problems to solve them, go ahead. incubus_skj liked this post
Jan 29 2022, 04:43 PM
4,707 posts Joined: May 2008 |
QUOTE(((Xa))0102 @ Jan 29 2022, 01:08 PM) I'm currently deciding between the E300 Bluetec and the E400 of the same generation. E400 Any user feedbacks? ![]() TIA no brainer 3.0L V6 twin tebu dumay and lordgamer3 liked this post
Jan 29 2022, 04:47 PM
2,529 posts Joined: Sep 2013 |
Buying new? Yes . U need the warranty.
Buying used with no warranty hell no |
Jan 29 2022, 05:08 PM
2,553 posts Joined: May 2013 From: Joined: Jan 2001 |
QUOTE(alpha33 @ Jan 29 2022, 03:33 PM) 211 fl ada abr, but the dreaded camshaft gear issue still there. 722.9 Conductor plate less than RM2k incl workmanship 230 and 280 i believe u meant the m272 v6? Ecu kong and the 722.9 tcu also kong. 😂😂 ECU can buy from Taobao Just that cam gear issue makes me stay away QUOTE(superbike @ Jan 29 2022, 03:46 PM) 2011 pre facelift. i forgot to mention the rooftop is leaking. when its raining, water leaks to the inside. No wonder.be mind, this is my father's second conti liao. QUOTE(RL5959 @ Jan 29 2022, 04:42 PM) Big no to MB hybrids. Valid points there. The E300/400 doesn't come with airmatic, so its fine. Gearbox, most likely the conductor plate will fail, turbo hose will bocor, bushes are wear and tear parts so its expected. ABS speed sensor is a common issue with contis, incl VW. Battery replacement issue, have to get extended warranty. Has poor resale value, worse if no extended warranty Battery weight = extra wear and tear on suspension, harder on tyres. A lot of electronics = a lot of expensive things that can go wrong in a hot and humid country, especially with batteries that need cooling. Heat and humidity will mess up a lot of other stuff, like air suspension and anything w rubber seals and gaskets. Conti cars in general, hybrid and non-hybrid, over 6 years old are a ticking time bomb. Engine/gearbox overhaul, AC system, suspension bushes, struts and steering rack, engine cooling pump, rad and hoses, all sorts of electronic control units and modules, start-stop small battery, and the dreaded sticky plastic door handle curse. If you can afford, buy a newer petrol conti, with plenty warranty left - downsize if you have to, a 3er or C with a smaller petrol engine. Otherwise go get a Japanese car. Of course, if you can throw money at problems to solve them, go ahead. I don't see myself downsizing from my current Camry, 3er or C class is out of the equation. Alternatively, i'm looking at Mark X and GS250 - but they just lack the power that contis can offer QUOTE(fantasy1989 @ Jan 29 2022, 04:43 PM) Technically a larger C43 but with 7G-TRONIC, I know but it costs almost twice as moreThis post has been edited by ((Xa))0102: Jan 29 2022, 05:37 PM |
Jan 29 2022, 05:14 PM
863 posts Joined: Apr 2019 |
QUOTE(RL5959 @ Jan 29 2022, 04:42 PM) Big no to MB hybrids. You sounds just like Scotty kilmerBattery replacement issue, have to get extended warranty. Has poor resale value, worse if no extended warranty Battery weight = extra wear and tear on suspension, harder on tyres. A lot of electronics = a lot of expensive things that can go wrong in a hot and humid country, especially with batteries that need cooling. Heat and humidity will mess up a lot of other stuff, like air suspension and anything w rubber seals and gaskets. Conti cars in general, hybrid and non-hybrid, over 6 years old are a ticking time bomb. Engine/gearbox overhaul, AC system, suspension bushes, struts and steering rack, engine cooling pump, rad and hoses, all sorts of electronic control units and modules, start-stop small battery, and the dreaded sticky plastic door handle curse. If you can afford, buy a newer petrol conti, with plenty warranty left - downsize if you have to, a 3er or C with a smaller petrol engine. Otherwise go get a Japanese car. Of course, if you can throw money at problems to solve them, go ahead. |
Jan 29 2022, 05:44 PM
111 posts Joined: Apr 2011 From: kuala lumpur |
isnt there another accompaniment to the battery that also costs a bomb, transistor or ..
whats that called again |
Jan 29 2022, 06:30 PM
685 posts Joined: Jun 2014 From: Earth |
E400 is a total different league to a E300 blue tech lmao E400 is a total sleeper with that same twin turbo M276 just like in a w213 E43 Between these definitely the E400 unless you’re looking for a car that saves fuel than it’s the E300 This post has been edited by bigmac999: Jan 29 2022, 06:32 PM dumay liked this post
Jan 29 2022, 06:39 PM
1,750 posts Joined: Feb 2009 |
Posting in maintenance nightmare tered terradrive liked this post
Jan 29 2022, 06:41 PM
1,750 posts Joined: Feb 2009 |
QUOTE(RL5959 @ Jan 29 2022, 04:42 PM) Big no to MB hybrids. There was a reason Merc decided to throw out their overpriced inferior E class hybrids 4 years ago citing "hybrid subsidy quota dah habis" when other brands were still selling their hybrids no problem also kekBattery replacement issue, have to get extended warranty. Has poor resale value, worse if no extended warranty Battery weight = extra wear and tear on suspension, harder on tyres. A lot of electronics = a lot of expensive things that can go wrong in a hot and humid country, especially with batteries that need cooling. Heat and humidity will mess up a lot of other stuff, like air suspension and anything w rubber seals and gaskets. Conti cars in general, hybrid and non-hybrid, over 6 years old are a ticking time bomb. Engine/gearbox overhaul, AC system, suspension bushes, struts and steering rack, engine cooling pump, rad and hoses, all sorts of electronic control units and modules, start-stop small battery, and the dreaded sticky plastic door handle curse. If you can afford, buy a newer petrol conti, with plenty warranty left - downsize if you have to, a 3er or C with a smaller petrol engine. Otherwise go get a Japanese car. Of course, if you can throw money at problems to solve them, go ahead. |
Jan 29 2022, 06:42 PM
3 posts Joined: Aug 2021 |
TS sure a different kind of 'woman'. like cars and knows alot abt car technical stuff
Jan 29 2022, 06:46 PM
35 posts Joined: Aug 2021 |
Jan 29 2022, 07:44 PM
1,711 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Kedah Khap Khoun Khap (4K) |
QUOTE(RL5959 @ Jan 29 2022, 04:42 PM) Big no to MB hybrids. I use to admire BMW 330e.Battery replacement issue, have to get extended warranty. Has poor resale value, worse if no extended warranty Battery weight = extra wear and tear on suspension, harder on tyres. A lot of electronics = a lot of expensive things that can go wrong in a hot and humid country, especially with batteries that need cooling. Heat and humidity will mess up a lot of other stuff, like air suspension and anything w rubber seals and gaskets. Conti cars in general, hybrid and non-hybrid, over 6 years old are a ticking time bomb. Engine/gearbox overhaul, AC system, suspension bushes, struts and steering rack, engine cooling pump, rad and hoses, all sorts of electronic control units and modules, start-stop small battery, and the dreaded sticky plastic door handle curse. If you can afford, buy a newer petrol conti, with plenty warranty left - downsize if you have to, a 3er or C with a smaller petrol engine. Otherwise go get a Japanese car. Of course, if you can throw money at problems to solve them, go ahead. But seeing all the potential problems not to mention burning my wallet later on, i guess i stick to honda city hybrid i-dcd. 4 years running now. Mileage still 40,000km-ish. Use only for going to work. 24km round trip per day. 10 minutes drive LOL. For weekends & balik kampung trip, got my wife’s honda BRV. Touch wood going to use for a very long time, even after the 8th year hybrid warranty ends. This post has been edited by Zaryl: Jan 29 2022, 07:44 PM |
Jan 29 2022, 07:57 PM
1,902 posts Joined: Sep 2012 |
Jan 29 2022, 08:00 PM
1,902 posts Joined: Sep 2012 |
QUOTE(Zaryl @ Jan 29 2022, 07:44 PM) I use to admire BMW 330e. if you are not into good handling car, well, just stick to H and T .But seeing all the potential problems not to mention burning my wallet later on, i guess i stick to honda city hybrid i-dcd. 4 years running now. Mileage still 40,000km-ish. Use only for going to work. 24km round trip per day. 10 minutes drive LOL. For weekends & balik kampung trip, got my wife’s honda BRV. Touch wood going to use for a very long time, even after the 8th year hybrid warranty ends. dumay liked this post
Jan 29 2022, 08:03 PM
4,707 posts Joined: May 2008 |
QUOTE(((Xa))0102 @ Jan 29 2022, 05:08 PM) 722.9 Conductor plate less than RM2k incl workmanship yupECU can buy from Taobao Just that cam gear issue makes me stay away No wonder. Valid points there. The E300/400 doesn't come with airmatic, so its fine. Gearbox, most likely the conductor plate will fail, turbo hose will bocor, bushes are wear and tear parts so its expected. ABS speed sensor is a common issue with contis, incl VW. I don't see myself downsizing from my current Camry, 3er or C class is out of the equation. Alternatively, i'm looking at Mark X and GS250 - but they just lack the power that contis can offer Technically a larger C43 but with 7G-TRONIC, I know but it costs almost twice as more |
Jan 29 2022, 08:06 PM
2,604 posts Joined: Dec 2012 |
E400 anytime anyday .
That V6 engine is basically an entry-level AMG engine nowadays. |
| Change to: | 0.0240sec
5 queries
Time is now: 18th December 2025 - 10:29 PM |