7 Pages  1 2 3 > » Bottom

University UCSI University Thread: The University....., ....The Experience!

Icehart
post Jun 21 2009, 03:56 PM

14,902 posts

What is the approximate cost for Foundation on Arts programme? If I pass this foundation, is there any exemption for a few semesters in Degree?
Icehart
post Jun 21 2009, 09:33 PM

14,902 posts

QUOTE(kobe8byrant @ Jun 21 2009, 04:37 PM)
Foundations provide NO exemptions for any degree subjects. If you don't mind, you can always take a diploma and they'll exempt you from the first year of your degree AND you get your Co-Op 1 and 2 exempted since you've done it in your diploma.
Thank you for the information. smile.gif
Icehart
post Jul 14 2009, 08:06 PM

14,902 posts

What's the shortest and fastest possible degree course available at UCSI university? hmm.gif
Or all courses also a 3 year program?
Icehart
post Aug 6 2009, 11:14 AM

14,902 posts

QUOTE(ik3da @ Aug 6 2009, 10:59 AM)
My brother planning to switch over from Sunway to UCSI after he finishes his pre-university course. Anyone have any idea of how is the business / accounting courses in UCSI?
Accounting courses better stick to Sunway.
Icehart
post Aug 6 2009, 12:50 PM

14,902 posts

QUOTE(ik3da @ Aug 6 2009, 11:20 AM)
In terms of? Lecturers? Course structure? Pricing? Affiliated universities? Do appreciate it if you can elaborate a bit more.
Lecturers in Sunway are more experienced than the ones you can find in UCSI.
In addition to that, you do not have to suffer from communications during group project as accounting courses in UCSI seems to have a lot of China students.
Icehart
post Dec 1 2009, 06:53 PM

14,902 posts

Hi guys, I'm doing my Act and Finance degree here in UCSI. Any seniors here care to share some tips or resources? smile.gif
Icehart
post Dec 2 2009, 05:46 PM

14,902 posts

QUOTE(pisces88 @ Dec 2 2009, 02:31 AM)
hey smile.gif which year u in? final sem for accounting and finance in jan!
Hi I am in Year 1. Care to share any tips or resources? biggrin.gif
Icehart
post Dec 29 2009, 08:03 PM

14,902 posts

Anyone attended the orientation today? Can share what's happening and what events were held at the University today? Heard that freshman will get to select subjects today.

Unfortunately, I wasn't able to attend to due work commitment issue sad.gif

Icehart
post Jan 3 2010, 11:46 PM

14,902 posts

QUOTE(skypeace @ Jan 3 2010, 11:01 PM)
Ya, the rest of engineering degrees in UCSI haven been recognized by BEM, this is bcz they are still fresh courses and don't have any fresh graduate coming out yet even the 1st batch of these courses' students. I'm taking mechanical eng. in UCSI 1st year now. i used to ask my head of department about this issue. he said in order to get recognization from BEM, the degree course  must have its 1st gratuate that complete the course only can evaluate the degree course to get recognization. and he guarantee me that UCSI will get it.
if Im not mistaken, the 1st batch student from my faculty will graduate in tis year. i jz wait to c here la. Hope he didn't lie to me. blush.gif
Btw, those courses have been approved by government, which allowing a campus to begin a new course. jz waiting for BEM.
Are you sure that once the first batch graduated already the UCSI will be automatically recognized by BEM? Can I have the name of your department head?
Icehart
post Jan 5 2010, 11:47 PM

14,902 posts

QUOTE(skypeace @ Jan 5 2010, 09:50 PM)
Im not sure. But my head jz told me so. he is Mr. Moey Lip Kean.
Wat Den have replied is true. Is not automatically get BEM recgonization aft de 1st batch graduate. The ppl from BEM will come to evaluate those syllabus or other things related 1st before recognize.
means, graduate >> evaluate >> recognize.
i think UCSI University as so called a "big" Uni wouldn't do something that cant get recognized. If not, how should they responsible to those student? UCSI themselves wil have the biggest trouble.
Well I certainly hope that UCSI will get BEM certified as I am planning to recommend UCSI to some of my friends who are keen on studying Engineering, but what I am afraid is that they will get the same empty promise of beening granted BEM recognized certificate by the time they graduate, like the current UCTI.
Icehart
post Jan 11 2010, 09:27 PM

14,902 posts

Looking for textbooks from Accounting and Finance courses too. If you have, please send me a PM. smile.gif
Icehart
post Jan 13 2010, 08:33 PM

14,902 posts

QUOTE(Maximp @ Jan 13 2010, 07:55 PM)
uni big, parking space so little...i wonder why they wanted to keep the football field at the hill there anyway? since everyone parking there...if our car mirrored shattered UCSI gonna pay us back? sigh no more parking space after 11am
True, it's so hard to find parking after the "rush hours" in the morning and I thought they were making more parking spaces when they dig around the parking at the hill, turned out it was just making a flyover for a hotel nearby as told by security guard. mad.gif
Icehart
post Jan 14 2010, 07:28 PM

14,902 posts

QUOTE(aronliew @ Jan 13 2010, 08:35 PM)
LOL...hi guys....i just joined UCSI last 3month d...i feel tat...teacher is not good as i think...
Which lecturer and what subject? Mind to enlighten on this one? smile.gif
As for me, some lecturer are good and bad, so have no choice but to self-study..

QUOTE(aronliew @ Jan 13 2010, 10:51 PM)
bout the parking...if u park ur car in the reserve area..ur car will be clamp
btw there is fukken Lot of reserve area..for lec
True, nowadays a lot of reserve parking vmad.gif
They even invaded the library parking area..

QUOTE(aronliew @ Jan 14 2010, 06:33 PM)
at least the IT lab is nice now... heard tat they going to use vista
Hope they fix the internet speed as well brows.gif
Icehart
post Jan 15 2010, 07:55 PM

14,902 posts

QUOTE(blessingyu @ Jan 15 2010, 07:54 PM)
How come Supp's timetable for Jan 2010 still not out yettt??? vmad.gif
Exam is on next week but I dunno which day is mine shakehead.gif
Huh? I thought posted at notice board already?
Icehart
post Jan 16 2010, 01:25 PM

14,902 posts

QUOTE(kink_ass @ Jan 15 2010, 11:27 PM)
speaking of parkings, at least you guys at south wing can easily purchase the monthly pass.

us, students at north wing gotta either find parking near the housing area or no choice pay rm2 parking fee like everyday cos apparently it's much more difficult for us to get the monthly access pass. alot of procedures (appealing and shits) to do.

can we voice this to the student council?
I have been doing that RM2 ever since my semester at UCSI started, the monthly passes only brings the advantage to those who exit and enter the University a lot of times per day, otherwise it will be the same as RM2 per day basis calculation. But the question is, who's going to exit and re-enter a few hours later? It's so hard to find parking in UCSI nowadays after 11 AM..
Icehart
post Jan 20 2010, 10:27 PM

14,902 posts

Guys, just a question, how do I access the Student Wifi available at South Wing?
Icehart
post Jan 30 2010, 12:30 AM

14,902 posts

QUOTE(Maximp @ Jan 21 2010, 12:16 PM)
student wifi? password and user name by default is your student id

on the other note, did you guys saw the road from phoenix plaza to ucsi changed? i saw the floor arrows changed into a single white lines (means no cutting to the left lane)
Well I figured this one out, you have to pay a visit to IT office at the Library's 4th floor and register your ID and password. smile.gif

QUOTE(blessingyu @ Jan 30 2010, 12:26 AM)
1st of Feb, Monday is public holiday for KL. UCSI holiday too?
Yes, it is.
Icehart
post Feb 8 2010, 09:57 PM

14,902 posts

QUOTE(ilovebeauty @ Feb 4 2010, 07:01 PM)
.. will be joining dis april in food scn n nutrition..
i visited the place d.. i think its an average uni.. the multipurpose hall's really stuffy  blush.gif
my questions:
1. wats the interview abt?
2. wat'd the course be like,eg:1st yr-3yr ? mind elaborating roughly?
3. the most important quest.. got leng zai mou?  hmm.gif

Added on February 8, 2010, 6:11 pmhmm no answers yet blush.gif
Lol, if you believe that you found UCSI to be your ideal university, then by all means go ahead.
If I am you, I would rethink about my other alternative (other universities).

I am not sure if your program has been changed. You will need to ask the Dean of your Faculty to check and compare with other universities. One word of advice; do not swallow all information the marketing people is telling you, instead do your own research, see the right people. The marketing people actually knows nothing about your course or program, they fed directly from the course brochure.

One last important thing; read and understand the terms and conditions on your offer letter. Do not rush to sign it. You have to remember that; UCSI reserves the right to increase the fees without prior notice or reasons, UCSI reserves the right to extend the course of your study duration and you should not make UCSI liable for that and UCSI reserves the right to change the curriculum they deemed fit.

I am one of the victim - been told the old information about my program, subsequently leaving me no choice but to transfer to another program leading to increment of RM8XX in my fees (new structure - they said) and paying irrelevant thousands of ringgit for some useless subject called "University Life".

It's your call and decision to made. Do not regret later.
(If you're driving, I strongly advises you to be patient with the parking woes. It gets full pretty early.)

This post has been edited by Icehart: Feb 8 2010, 10:00 PM
Icehart
post Mar 10 2010, 07:46 AM

14,902 posts

QUOTE(patricktiew @ Mar 6 2010, 11:27 PM)
Oh is it? i tot that only faculty of pharmaceutical sciences will face of lost of lecturer. i heard that UCSI nvr try to ask any lecturer to stay. they rather let them go and at the end, UCSI does not manage to find other lecturer to replace those r leaving. so where is the quality of education?
Hell yeah and they began to offer some unrelated course to your field into your core studies. The standard per year keeps dropping already nowadays. rclxub.gif
Icehart
post Mar 20 2010, 11:41 PM

14,902 posts

QUOTE(LovingDae @ Mar 18 2010, 04:13 AM)
sighs...
i think i am going to take pharmacy course offered by ucsi due to my financial prob after i have completed my a-levels...
cause its the cheapest...is it true that all the good lecturers have gone?anyone who is studying this course in ucsi can give me some advice?
thanks in advance  nod.gif
Why don't you enroll in other university and apply for PTPTN loan?
Erm, UCSI is good for old students but it's new course structure seriously sucks up people's money, to be honest. sad.gif

7 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.0420sec    0.83    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 22nd December 2025 - 07:05 AM