7 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Bottom

University UCSI University Thread: The University....., ....The Experience!

Icehart
post Mar 26 2010, 08:08 PM

14,902 posts

QUOTE(niel92 @ Mar 26 2010, 04:44 PM)
wanna ask~ about UCSI Engineering and Foundation Course, can i know the full fees cost? its not at ucsi homepage -.-"
You would have to refer to the Marketing department of the University. Their rates are not published because it is subjected to change without notice. smile.gif
Icehart
post Mar 30 2010, 08:29 PM

14,902 posts

QUOTE(zstan @ Mar 30 2010, 08:05 PM)
btw..ucsi still following USM syllabus..if u ask around it is of very high standards.. rolleyes.gif
No, that is only for the old course structure. Please revise this statement to reflect with the new course structure that started this year.

On the side note: Kinda agree with the message left, if you asked how is UCSI, the answer would be don't come hmm.gif

This post has been edited by Icehart: Mar 30 2010, 08:31 PM
Icehart
post Mar 30 2010, 09:32 PM

14,902 posts

QUOTE(alex890628 @ Mar 30 2010, 09:02 PM)
nop, the answer is coming. Later maybe a lot ppl will know how popular UCSI is. UCSI Education Sdn Bhd now building UCSI University Hospital in Bandar Springhill, Port Dickson, Negeri Sembilan also building UCSI Hotel & Tower at Taman Connaught right of South Wing UCSI University (Main Campus). and UCSI are renew-ing syllabus.
Popularity of a University does not depend on the amount of development activity but the quality of graduates and the recent renewal of course has caused many confusion for new students. Also, I would be happy if UCSI really care and solve some of the student's issues - parking, computer facilities, library expansion..
Icehart
post Mar 30 2010, 09:48 PM

14,902 posts

QUOTE(alex890628 @ Mar 30 2010, 09:41 PM)
these problems u listed, i cannot help u. may i know u are which faculty student? If u are Faculty of Management & IT student and u have some problem or ur frenz facing the problem, u can ask him come and find me. I will explain further to them. A lot students duno much about the renewal of course all that. Syllabus renewal will made every 3 - 5 yrs, depends on Government. Also, becoz of syllabus renewal has cause old and new structure. Subjects offered in old structure will not longer available. Btw, if you or ur frenz have any enquiries about Faculty of Management & IT, i can lend my hand on it. Besides, if you or your frenz have any complain, feel free to find me.
I am a victim in between the old course structure and the new structure and the marketing people has not been very helpful with the distribution of these vital and important information. If marketing officers have alerted on the possibility of course change, then it would really help me in making my decision, but I was completely sold with the old information, with the brochures and old cost fee structure. Nobody informed me at all. I was left to discover all these ugly truth by myself, the ugly practices. Even the website is not updated with the latest program list, what more of the brochures at marketing office?

If I knew that Auditing and Taxation were no longer offered in the new structure for Accounting and Finance, I wouldn't have choose UCSI to further my studies, seriously. sad.gif
Icehart
post Mar 30 2010, 10:11 PM

14,902 posts

QUOTE(alex890628 @ Mar 30 2010, 09:59 PM)
I can't say much about this matter (Auditing and Taxation) then. I can juz say that it was ur bad luck, becoz of syllabus renewal. Hmmm.... maybe this is ur 1st University u been, if for others University. it is juz the same, depends on when they are going to renew their syllabus and get the latest syllabus from Government. about the official web site, i dun think others University will be updated every week or month as well except the university doesn't offer much courses. Because syllabus juz get renewed not longer, old structure student still there. IT Dept juz can't change everything by now. also, if i'm not mistaken Audiring and Taxation still available till next year January or maybe May, correct me if i'm wrong.
Haiz sad.gif
Icehart
post Mar 30 2010, 10:45 PM

14,902 posts

QUOTE(alex890628 @ Mar 30 2010, 10:17 PM)
May i know why Auditing and Taxation not long available seems like affect you so much? hmmm i gonna get the new and old structure Y table later.
One word: ACCA and accountants without auditing and taxation isn't a really demanded accountant after all.
Icehart
post Apr 12 2010, 10:22 PM

14,902 posts

QUOTE(nginj @ Apr 12 2010, 07:58 PM)
guys, for the co-op 1 yr 2 student can transfer credit? as i've done my intership during my diploma.. thought of transferring that. how do i do that btw? thanks.
You cannot transfer co-op credit from one to another but you can apply for exemption to it, which is subjected to approval from the co-op supervisor. However, as far as I know, you just need to clip in the salary slip and make sure that the job was relevant to your field and your co-op will be exempted.
Icehart
post Apr 20 2010, 07:57 PM

14,902 posts

QUOTE(solite @ Apr 19 2010, 12:23 AM)
Can anyone help me to get a single room near north wing? urgent~
Or give me some number of agent,coz I am not living in kl
Male or Female and what's your budget?
Icehart
post Apr 21 2010, 08:12 PM

14,902 posts

QUOTE(nginj @ Apr 20 2010, 11:04 PM)
hey.. so i am looking for a room too single bed, preferred female housemates.. walking distance to north wing campus.. u kno anywhere, tayton myb? and the rental too?  smile.gif
No idea about North Wing sad.gif
Icehart
post Apr 29 2010, 10:30 PM

14,902 posts

QUOTE(ChrisWeiYuan @ Apr 29 2010, 10:21 PM)
anyone here is taking up marketing? i have lots of questions to ask...Course selection isnt working online....and when is the due date? i heard people said 7 days ..
You can get the course selection form for new students only. Course Selection and Add/Drop only works after 3rd May.
Icehart
post Apr 29 2010, 11:41 PM

14,902 posts

QUOTE(ChrisWeiYuan @ Apr 29 2010, 11:19 PM)
so you meant course selection online is not working right now for the new students? But i have friends who have already done it~!! and yes, i am a new students from FOMIT.. i have question on course selections..i dont know what to choose..seriously need some senior here..
I thought new students from FOMIT are not supposed to be doing your course selection as the course and the subjects for 1st semester has been laid out? Consult your dean and see, there are some mandatory subjects you need to take on your first semester.

Oh, welcome to University Life's hell. whistling.gif
Better start buying the textbook before Edward Dass gets angry..
Icehart
post Apr 29 2010, 11:56 PM

14,902 posts

QUOTE(alex890628 @ Apr 29 2010, 11:48 PM)
i dun think there are some mandatory subjects he / she need to take on his / her 1st semester IF he / she not foundation in arts student. Edward Dass? never heard before also never get lecture by him before
All new students would be required to take University Life subject taught by Edward Dass before they are allowed to proceed to next semester and there are certain core subjects they need to take before they are allowed to proceed to next semester as a condition for pre-requisite.

For accounting students, that would mean mandatory ECA, Introductory to Accounting, University Life, Business Law and one LAN subject optional.
Icehart
post Apr 30 2010, 12:08 AM

14,902 posts

QUOTE(alex890628 @ Apr 30 2010, 12:03 AM)
wowowowowo.... wait. wher and when did u heard that? I knew there is the University Life subject, but i dun think it's available for FoMIT Diploma and Foundation in Arts students. if i'm not mistaken, it is degree subject.
Yeah and Chris is doing his Marketing degree. laugh.gif

University Life applicable for all degree new students irregardless of any faculty he or she originally from. (Not sure about medicine or pharmacy program)

This post has been edited by Icehart: Apr 30 2010, 12:10 AM
Icehart
post Apr 30 2010, 08:20 AM

14,902 posts

QUOTE(ChrisWeiYuan @ Apr 30 2010, 01:05 AM)
IceHart, you are one of the senior from UCSI? and yeap...University life and ECA is compulsory subjects for me to take up..and i left 3 subjects to choose for my first semester..am i right?

Added on April 30, 2010, 1:06 amIceHart, you are one of the senior from UCSI? and yeap...University life and ECA is compulsory subjects for me to take up..and i left 3 subjects to choose for my first semester..am i right?
Check with your program coordinator, I am not very sure because last time I also thought only University Life and ECA mandatory, but turns out Business Law, FOM and Intro Acct is mandatory for me too. Regardless of what subject you take, they will reject your course selection unless you choose those few mandatory subjects.
Icehart
post Apr 30 2010, 03:26 PM

14,902 posts

QUOTE(ChrisWeiYuan @ Apr 30 2010, 09:39 AM)
What i understand is...for degree in marketing...i have to complete 10 subjects in 1 year, 2 semester...and of course ECA and University life is excluded in the 10 subjects list...If i take upe ECA, Uni Life, Biz Law, FOM, Business Accounting..and i left about 7 subjects for my sem 2....and sem 2 is a short sem.....i only can take up 3 subjects..and 4 remained..how is it suppose to be done?
There are 3 semesters in an academic calendar year depending on which intake you enter the University. If you start on May then your first year end on next year's May. Those ending this December are only for January intake students.
Icehart
post Apr 30 2010, 03:53 PM

14,902 posts

QUOTE(jason18689 @ Apr 30 2010, 03:28 PM)
Engineering very late one lah...
Not like MassComm or Accounting or Foodscience an so on...
Haven't out yet also for me
Icehart
post Apr 30 2010, 07:17 PM

14,902 posts

QUOTE(alex890628 @ Apr 30 2010, 07:12 PM)
swt..... hmmmm all results won't be released before 3rd of May except those MOE subjects (English Foundation, Basic English, Bahasa Kebangsaan, Malaysian Studies, Moral Studies, English Phonetics & Phonology and so on)
B law just released.
Icehart
post Apr 30 2010, 08:42 PM

14,902 posts

QUOTE(ChrisWeiYuan @ Apr 30 2010, 08:27 PM)
Weee..Icehard..which course did you take? Course selection is working fine for me....but i dont know what course to take up yet....any suggestion??
Here's my wild guess what it's going to be:

Your first semester is restricted to 5 subjects, so it's going to be:
  • University Life - Mandatory
  • Business Law
  • Fundamentals Of Marketing
  • Business Accounting
  • ECA
  • Optional - Business Communication or one LAN subject - Malaysian Studies / Moral Studies
University life is mandatory, it's better for you to finish business law while it's still under Sarojini, she give lots of good tips study area one, pretty accurate one rolleyes.gif, FOM not sure if it's under Linggeswarry not, because she is a good lecturer (The tips she give sibeh chun, 100% kena one - identical questions to your tutorial questions). If under Mr Quah, you're going to have a hard time trying to score for the subject. He's very strict. I suggest you take FOM because it's the fundamentals of your core major, so it gives you some idea on what marketing is about. Business accounting is very easy, should be able to score A and lastly, optional one are extra components but I'll suggest you to drop the optional part if you want to follow your degree duration because if you take the optional that would mean you're going for 6 subjects from the recommended 5.

Finish your LAN asap.

This post has been edited by Icehart: Apr 30 2010, 08:45 PM
Icehart
post Apr 30 2010, 08:49 PM

14,902 posts

QUOTE(ChrisWeiYuan @ Apr 30 2010, 08:46 PM)
i would take up the 6 subjects....=) work hard right now isnt a problem for me..after all they need total of 15 credits hour...if i dont take up Lan subject...then i will not be enough credits hour...I think i will follow your subjects...
The credit hours are just a guideline for you, you don't have to necessary follow it, but you must provide a good reason for not following it. Not to forget you should really start mixing around and start being friendly with people who can write and understand English well because they're really going to help you in your assignment.
Icehart
post Apr 30 2010, 09:11 PM

14,902 posts

QUOTE(ChrisWeiYuan @ Apr 30 2010, 09:00 PM)
Okay...sure...my class very few people....T__T about 19 people only..
Some of the subjects you're going to mix with other course students. Like FOM, for example will combine with B.A, Acc, Acc + Finance. There are around 400+ students from last semester for FOM only.

7 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Top

0.0207sec    0.84    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 21st December 2025 - 11:04 PM